MUDAM Logo

“The materials I use are man-made or at least man-modified and as such belong to a huge category of materials/objects which are integral to the physical, intellectual and emotional lives of men. Though, in fact, one has to emphasize the physical relationship, which is parallel to the already mentioned notion of progress; a progress almost entirely of a materialistic nature. And we have such a bad physical relationship to the objects and materials we produce that it is almost embarrassing to consider the metaphysical, the poetical, the mythological.” (Tony Cragg)

Dining Motions

Tony Cragg
Dining Motions, 1982
Wood, metal, cardboard, plastic
323 x 749 cm
Collection Mudam Luxembourg
Apport FOCUNA
Acquisition 1997
© Photo: Andrés Lejona

Tony Cragg, one of the most prolific British sculptors, has produced highly diverse artwork since the beginning of his artistic career. Following his studies and his move to Wuppertal in Germany, he initially produced numerous “drawings” (as he himself puts it) forming silhouettes of people or objects from colored fragments of plastic material. Following this series, Cragg produced, among other artworks, Dining Motions (1982), in which he assembled elements of flat detritus in an apparently random manner. From the pell-mell of elements emerges a barely recognizable scene: a fork, a sausage, a knife blade... as suggested by the title. This artwork is on the threshold between assembling found objects and painting (the result of which is a wall relief) and is located in a certain Neo-Dadaist tradition. Here are to be found& characteristic elements of Cragg’s artwork such as the quest for a “path between the surreal and the metaphysical”, to quote Germano Celant. This quest translates itself into the putting into relationship of accidental shapes and the animation of the inert material through artistic intervention. Thus, the assembled artwork is greater than the sum of its parts.

Forminifera

View of the exhibition Le meilleur des mondes, Mudam Luxembourg, 31/01/2010 – 23/05/2010

Tony Cragg
Forminifera, 1994
Plaster and steel
13 elements
225 x 480 x 400 cm
Collection Mudam Luxembourg
Acquisition 1996
Apport FOCUNA
© Photo: Rémi Villaggi

Tony Cragg’s Forminifera from 1994 consists of twelve different plaster casts, some of which are standing directly on the floor, without a plinth, while others are presented on simple iron frames. Each element is perforated by myriad holes drilled deep into the material at narrow intervals. This work is part of a series with the same title, produced by Cragg in the 1990s. During this time, he also created various other works using plaster, an easy-to-process but sensitive material, which in sculpture is generally used for drafts or in the preliminary stages of a bronze casting. The title of the series refers to the smallest single-celled shell-bearing organisms on earth, the foraminifera (a Latin term meaning “hole bearers”), whose calcareous shells are riddled with pores. For Cragg, who worked in a science laboratory before studying art and remembers being fascinated by the fossils he found on the beaches of England’s south coast as a child, the structural and material similarity of his work with the tiny protists was immediately obvious. Yet he was clearly not interested in copying them. In an interview in 2004, he explained: “Later on those works were developed into work I called Forminifera, which is a fossil, a microscopic fossil skeleton. There are billions of different variations of these forms. No two are the same, which was something that amazed me from the outset about them. With these forminifera, I think we also find the very first organisms with mineral tissues, with calcium carbonate being used to make a structure by being absorbed into the tissue and being made into bone or shell or whatever. […]  I’m not really trying to copy nature or copy evolution in what I’m doing, but somehow what was important was always the idea of staying pretty near to the basics of making structures.”*

Cragg, who describes himself as a “radical materialist”, is interested in “how material touches us”. Like a researcher, he explores the properties of different materials and unlocks their sensual and emotional potential. In this process, observation is a far more incisive method than haptic contact, as the gaze, coupled with the power of imagination, penetrates deeper into the object than the simple touch. As a physical boundary for both sight and touch, the surface of sculpture represents a continuous challenge for Cragg. In the series of Forminifera, the holes are the method used to overcome this limitation visually and conceptually – a technique he had previously applied to porcelain and stone, and which he would later return to in bronze works. The holes, both metaphorically and literally, offer an insight into the sculpture, thereby altering and expanding the spectrum of sensations and emotions caused by the work.

Contrary to the formal complexity of later works, the individual elements of Forminifera are of an elementary geometric simplicity that suggests associations with everyday objects. Cragg’s experience of laboratory work inspired him to make work based on industrial glassware used in chemistry or alchemy, as in the central family of works titled Early Forms. Similarly, the shapes of the Forminifera suggests pestles, mortars and stills. So, even if, for Cragg, “material is everything”, the complexity of the real encounter with one of the artwork is eventually akin to the ultimately mystery of the process in an alchemist’s laboratory.

* Quoted in Jon Wood, ‘The Internal Game: On Titles and Titling in Tony Cragg’s Sculpture’, in Walter Smerling (ed.), Anthony Cragg, Dinge im Kopf / Things on the Mind (Cologne: Wienand, 2011), 82.

Forminifera Garden Tools

Tony Cragg
Forminifera Garden Tools, 1999
Dibble and plastic & metal fork
Collection Mudam Luxembourg
Donation 2004 - l’artiste
© Photo: Rémi Villaggi

.art

Dining Motions an Forminifera vum Kënschtler Tony Cragg an der Emissioun .art op RTL.

Jeune Médiateur

Dining Motions vum Tony Cragg erkläert vun engem “Jeune Médiateur”.

Mech géif mol interesséieren

Explikatiounen iwwer dem Tony Cragg séng Wierker aus der Mudam Sammlung an der Emissioun Mech géif mol interesséieren, wat dat hei ass? um Radio 100,7.

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

« Les matériaux que j’utilise sont fait par l’homme, ou ont du moins été modifiés par l’homme et appartiennent donc à la très grande catégorie de matériaux/objets qui font partie intégrante de l’existence humaine tant au niveau physique, qu’intellectuel et émotionnel. Il est alors nécessaire de souligner la signification de la relation physique, qui peut être vue en parallèle à la notion déjà mentionnée du progrès ; un progrès d’une nature presque entièrement matérialiste. Et notre relation physique aux objets et aux matériaux que nous produisons est tellement mauvaise qu’il est presque embarrassant de penser à la métaphysique, à la poésie ou à la mythologie. » (Tony Cragg)

Dining Motions

Vue de l’exposition Premier étage – Second degré, Mudam Luxembourg, 17/11/2010 – 10/04/2011

Tony Cragg
Dining Motions, 1982
Bois, métal, carton, plastique
323 x 749 cm
Collection Mudam Luxembourg
Apport FOCUNA
Acquisition 1997
© Photo : Andrés Lejona

Tony Cragg, un des sculpteurs britanniques les plus prolifiques, a réalisé depuis le début de sa carrière artistique une œuvre extrêmement diversifiée. Après ses études et son installation à Wuppertal, en Allemagne, il réalise d’abord de nombreux « dessins », selon ses propres termes, formant des silhouettes de personnages ou d’objets à partir de fragments en matière plastique colorée. À la suite de cette série, Cragg réalise, entre autres œuvres, Dining Motions (1982), pour laquelle il assemble de manière apparemment arbitraire des éléments de détritus plats. Du pêle-mêle des éléments surgit une scène à peine identifiable : une fourchette, un saucisson, la lame d’un couteau…, comme le suggère le titre. Cette œuvre, au croisement de l’assemblage d’objets trouvés et de la peinture, et dont le résultat est un relief mural, se situe dans une certaine tradition du Néodadaïsme. On y trouve des éléments caractéristiques de l’œuvre de Cragg comme la quête d’une « voie entre le surréel et le métaphysique » pour reprendre les mots de Germano Celant. Cette quête se traduit par la mise en relation de formes accidentelles et l’animation de cette matière inerte par l’intervention artistique. Ainsi, l’œuvre assemblée vaut plus que la somme de ses éléments seuls.

Forminifera

Vue de l’exposition Le meilleur des mondes, Mudam Luxembourg, 31/01/2010 – 23/05/2010

Tony Cragg 
Forminifera, 1994
Plâtre et acier
13 éléments
225 x 480 x 400 cm
Collection Mudam Luxembourg
Apport FOCUNA
Acquisition 1996
© Photo : Rémi Villaggi

Forminifera, de 1994, se compose de douze différentes formes en plâtre, dont certaines sont posées à même le sol, sans socle, et d’autres présentées sur de simples structures en fer. Chaque élément est perforé d’une myriade de trous profonds, percés à petits intervalles réguliers. Ce travail fait partie d’une série éponyme réalisée par l’artiste au cours des années quatre-vingt-dix. À la même époque, il crée de nombreuses autres œuvres en plâtre, matériau simple d’utilisation mais fragile, qui en sculpture est généralement utilisé pour des ébauches ou dans les étapes précédant le moulage en bronze. Le titre de la série se réfère aux plus petits organismes unicellulaires porteurs de coquilles, dits « foraminifères », dont la carapace calcaire présente d’innombrables pores. Pour Tony Cragg, qui a travaillé dans un laboratoire scientifique avant d’étudier l’art et qui, enfant, a été fasciné par les fossiles trouvés sur les plages de la côte sud de l’Angleterre, les similitudes structurelles et matérielles de son travail avec les minuscules protistes sont évidentes. Toutefois, il n’a jamais aspiré à les imiter. Dans un entretien conduit en 2004, il clarifie sa démarche : « Plus tard, ces travaux ont été développés en une œuvre que j’ai appelée Forminifera, le nom donné à un microscopique squelette fossile. Il existe sous des milliards de formes différentes. Il n’y en a pas deux de pareils, ce qui m’a immédiatement frappé. À ma connaissance, ces foraminifères comptent parmi les tout premiers organismes présentant un tissu minéralisé, le carbonate de calcium étant absorbé par le tissu et transformé en os, coquillage ou toute autre matière pour former une structure. [...] Mon travail ne s’intéresse pas à l’imitation de la nature ou de l’évolution, il s’est toujours attaché aux fondamentaux de la création de structures. »*

En tant que sculpteur, Tony Cragg, qui se décrit lui-même comme un « matérialiste radical », s’intéresse à la façon dont « le matériau nous touche ». Tel un chercheur, il étudie les propriétés de différents matériaux et tente de dégager leur potentiel sensuel et émotionnel. Pour ce faire, il privilégie l’observation comme méthode de connaissance, qui lui semble autrement plus incisive que le contact tactile, dans la mesure où le regard, couplé à l’imagination, pénètre de manière bien plus profonde les choses que le toucher. Car la surface de la sculpture, opposant à la vue et au toucher une limite physique, a de tout temps présenté un défi pour l’artiste. L’approche choisie dans Forminifera pour dépasser, à la fois visuellement et conceptuellement, cette limite prend la forme d’innombrables trous – un procédé déjà employé dans ses œuvres précédentes en porcelaine et en pierre, ensuite appliqué aux œuvres en bronze. Les perforations permettent, littéralement et symboliquement, de pénétrer la matière et, ce faisant, d’élargir le spectre de notre perception et des émotions suscitées par l’œuvre.

Contrairement à la complexité formelle de travaux ultérieurs, les éléments individuels dans Forminifera sont d’une simplicité géométrique élémentaire et évoquent des objets de la vie quotidienne. Son expérience du travail en laboratoire a notamment inspiré à l’artiste le recours à des formes de récipients industriels utilisés en chimie et en alchimie, comme dans la série des des Early Forms. Dans les Forminifera, on pourrait également voir des évocations de pilons, mortiers et autres alambics. Et si pour Tony Cragg « la matière est tout », la complexité de la rencontre avec l’œuvre d’art s’apparente en fin de compte au mystère insondable des processus à l’œuvre dans un laboratoire d’alchimiste.

* Jon Wood, « Das innere Spiel. Zu Titeln und Titelgebung bei Tony Craggs Plastiken », dans Walter Smerling (dir.), Anthony Cragg, Dinge im Kopf / Things on the Mind, Wienand, Cologne, 2011, p. 60.

Forminifera Garden Tools

Tony Cragg
Forminifera Garden Tools, 1999
Plantoir et fourchette en plastique et métal
Collection Mudam Luxembourg
Donation 2004 - l’artiste
© Photo : Rémi Villaggi

.art

Dining Motions an Forminifera vum Kënschtler Tony Cragg an der Emissioun .art op RTL.

Jeune Médiateur

Dining Motions vum Tony Cragg erkläert vun engem “Jeune Médiateur”.

Mech géif mol interesséieren

Explikatiounen iwwer dem Tony Cragg séng Wierker aus der Mudam Sammlung an der Emissioun Mech géif mol interesséieren, wat dat hei ass? um Radio 100,7.