THE COLLECTION

An international contemporary art collection

The Mudam Collection is the most important collection of contemporary art in Luxembourg. Resolutely international in its scope and ambition, the collection's holdings consist of close to 700 works of art in all media by artists from Luxembourg and around the world. A small nucleus of the collection consists of fashion and design objects. Over 54 works are the result of commissions by Mudam for its distinctive architectural context. The constitution of the collection traces back to the first acquisitions for the museum in the 1990s, the creation of the Museum of Modern Art Grand-Duc Jean Foundation in 1998, and the opening of the Museum in 2006. While the decade of the 1960s serves as an historic point of reference for contemporary art, the majority of works in the collection date from 1989 to the present. An exception to this historical span is the ensemble of furniture for the Paimio Sanatorium, designed between 1931 and 1933 by the architect Alvar Aalto, and acquired in 2002.

The process of acquiring artworks for the Mudam Collection was initiated in 1996 by the National Cultural Fund (Focuna), a public establishment presided over by Paul Reiles. The Focuna acquisitions committee includes then Bernard Ceysson, Maria de Corral, Jeff Erpelding, Lorand Hegyi, Lucien Kayser, Paul Reiles and HRH the Princess Sibilla of Luxembourg. Furthermore, in 1998 Bernard Ceysson became the first director of the Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean (Mudam) Foundation.

From 2018 to 2021, under Suzanne Cotters direction, the board members selecting the artworks for Mudam Collection, are Nancy Spector (Artistic director – Chief Curator of the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation in New York), Daniel Birnbaum (Director of Moderna Museet de Stockholm) Okwui Enwezor (Director of the Haus der Kunst in Munich). 

History

In 2000, with the arrival of Marie-Claude Beaud as director, acquisition was taken over by the Mudam Foundation. In order to advise Mudam about its acquisitions policy and to validate the quality of selected artworks and their pertinence with regard to international production, Marie-Claude Beaud created a board which included Carmen Giménez (20th century art curator at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York), Paul Reiles (vice president of the Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean Foundation and honorary director of the Musée national d’histoire et d’art, Luxembourg), Dr. Stephan Schmidt-Wulffen (rector of the Kunstakademie of Vienna) and Sir Nicholas Serota (director of the Tate Gallery, London). Sir Nicholas was replaced in 2007 by Alfred Pacquement (director of the Musée national d’art moderne du Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris).

In 2010, Enrico Lunghi (director of Mudam from 2009 to 2017) changed the members of the board. It included Barnabás Bencsik (directeur of Ludwig Museum Budapest, and afterwards director of ACAX – Agency for Contemporary Art Exchange, Budapest), Jimena Blázquez Abascal (director of the NMAC Foundation, Vejer, Cádiz, Spain), Dr. Julia Draganovic (director of Kunsthalle Osnabrück) and Paul Reiles (vice president of the Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean Foundation and honorary director of the Musée national d’histoire et d’art, Luxembourg).

In 2016, the board members were Suzanne Cotter (director of Museu Serralves, Porto), Dr. Ulrike Groos (director of Kunstmuseum Stuttgart), Hou Hanru (art director of MAXXI, Rome) and Thierry Raspail (director of Musée d’Art Contemporain de Lyon).

The Luxembourgish context

The collection is devoted to international artworks as well as to local productions. Luxembourgish artists make up around ten per cent of artists in the collection. They are chosen for their quality and relevance, without having to fulfil any quotas, and always in consultation with the scientific committee.

Mudam’s arts programme also took Luxembourg itself and its particular situation into consideration by ordering a series of new collections within a local context. Both artists who originate from this country, and those who do not, are commissioned for these productions.

La collection

Une collection d’art contemporain international

La Collection Mudam est la plus importante collection d’art contemporain au Luxembourg. D’envergure internationale, elle réunit près de 700 œuvres d’artistes luxembourgeois et du monde entier, tous mediums confondus. Une petite partie de la collection s’attache également à la mode et au design. Plus de 54 œuvres ont été commandées par le Mudam, dont beaucoup ont été conçues en réponse à l’architecture de Ieoh Ming Pei. La Fondation Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean ayant été créée en 1998, la collection s’est construite dès les années 1990 en vue de l’ouverture du musée en 2006. Si les années 1960 constituent un repère historique dans l’histoire de l’art contemporain, la majorité des œuvres de la collection date de 1989 à aujourd’hui. La seule exception antérieure à 1960, est l’ensemble de meubles conçu pour le Sanatorium de Paimio entre 1931 et 1933 par l’architecte Alvar Aalto et acquis en 2002.

Le processus d’achat des œuvres pour la Collection Mudam est initié en 1996 par le Fonds Culturel National (Focuna), établissement public présidé par Paul Reiles. Le comité d’achat du Focuna se compose alors de Bernard Ceysson, Maria de Corral, Jeff Erpelding, Lorand Hegyi, Lucien Kayser, Paul Reiles et SAR la Princesse Sibilla de Luxembourg. Par ailleurs, Bernard Ceysson devient, en 1998, le premier directeur de la Fondation Musée d‘Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean (Mudam).

De 2018 à 2020, sous la direction de Suzanne Cotter, le comité scientifique qui sélectionne les œuvres qui vont intégrer la collection du musée, est composé par Nancy Spector (Directrice artistique – Curatrice en chef de la Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation à New York), Daniel Birnbaum (Directeur du Acute Art à Londres), Okwui Enwezor (ancien Directeur de l’institution Haus der Kunst à Munich).

Historique

En 2000, avec l’arrivée de Marie-Claude Beaud à la direction, la mission d’achat est reprise par la Fondation Mudam. Afin de conseiller Mudam dans sa politique d’acquisition et de valider la qualité des œuvres choisies et leur pertinence par rapport à la création internationale, Marie-Claude Beaud crée un comité scientifique qui se compose de Carmen Giménez (curator art du XXe siècle au Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York), Paul Reiles (vice-président de la Fondation Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean et directeur honoraire du Musée national d’histoire et d’art, Luxembourg), Dr. Stephan Schmidt-Wulffen (recteur de la Kunstakademie de Vienne) et Sir Nicholas Serota (directeur de Tate Gallery, Londres). Sir Serota est remplacé en 2007 par Alfred Pacquement (directeur du musée national d’art moderne du Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris).

En 2010, Enrico Lunghi (à la tête de Mudam de 2009 à 2017) nomme de nouveaux membres du comité scientifique. Celui-ci se compose alors de Barnabás Bencsik (directeur du Ludwig Museum Budapest puis de l’ACAX – Agency for Contemporary Art Exchange, Budapest), Jimena Blázquez Abascal (directrice de la Fondation NMAC, Vejer, Cádiz, Espagne), Dr. Julia Draganovic (directrice de la Kunsthalle de Osnabrück) et Paul Reiles (vice-président de la Fondation Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean et directeur honoraire du Musée national d’histoire et d’art, Luxembourg).

En 2016, le comité scientifique a été constitué de Suzanne Cotter (directrice du Musée Serralves, Porto), Dr. Ulrike Groos (directrice du Kunstmuseum Stuttgart), Hou Hanru (directeur artistique du MAXXI, Rome) et Thierry Raspail (directeur du Musée d’Art Contemporain de Lyon).

Le contexte luxembourgeois

La collection se consacre tout aussi bien à la création internationale qu’aux productions locales. Les artistes luxembourgeois représentent ainsi environ dix pour cent des artistes de la collection. Leur choix se fait d’après des critères de qualité et de pertinence, toujours en concertation avec le comité scientifique et sans obligation de quota.

La programmation artistique du Mudam tient aussi compte de la situation particulière et spécifique du Luxembourg, en lançant une série de commandes s’inscrivant dans le contexte local. Ces productions sont tout aussi bien l’œuvre d’artistes originaires du pays que de créateurs vivant à l’étranger.