Exhibitions

2018
 
 
 

HARD TO PICTURE

A TRIBUTE TO AD REINHARDT

17/06/2017 - 28/01/2018

In tandem with his writings on art and his pictorial praxis, which would culminate in the radical and emblematic works which his monochrome paintings turned out to be, in the 1930s Ad Reinhardt developed an activity as an illustrator, and published caustically witty drawings in the American press. Through a broad selection of illustrations and drawings, the exhibition underscores the artist’s great freedom of tone and commitment as much with regard to political and social issues as to art, and abstract art in particular.

Hard to picture

FLATLAND / ABSTRACTIONS NARRATIVES #2

07/10/2017 - 02/04/2018

Borrowing its title from a book written in 1884 by Edwin A. Abbott, where the leading characters are geometric forms, and the narrator, a Square, describes his discovery of a three-dimensional world, this group show deals with the way in which, from the 1960s on, artists have drawn inspiration from the formal abstract vocabularies which ran through the 20th century, infiltrating them with narratives. Flatland / Abstractions narratives #2 brings together some thirty artists from different generations.

Flatland / Abstractions narratives #2

SU-MEI TSE

NESTED

07/10/2017 - 02/04/2018

Marked by her cosmopolitan origins, between Europe and Asia, and by her interest in the world’s acoustic dimension, Su-Mei Tse’s praxis is permeated by issues such as time, memory, rhythm, and language. Assuming the most varied of forms – sculptures, videos, photographs, installations –, her works invariably create shifts between different fields.

Su-Mei Tse

JOÃO PENALVA

03/03/2018 - 16/09/2018

The Portuguese artist João Penalva creates poetic fictions, that stimulate our imagination. His visual tales, whether of an intimate character or large staged installations, combine painting, photography, video and documents; image, text and sound.

João Penalva

ANNE TERESA DE KEERSMAEKER / ROSAS: WORK/TRAVAIL/ARBEID

14/04/2018 - 15/04/2018

What would it mean for a choreography to be performed as an exhibition? 

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas: Work/Travail/Arbeid

NO MAN’S LAND

NATURAL SPACES, TESTING GROUNDS

27/04/2018 - 09/09/2018

Sanctuarization is one of the responses to ecological concerns about natural territories: the desired solution as such, but also one which results from effects induced by military or political situations.

No Man’s Land

KATINKA BOCK

SMOG / TOMORROW’S SCULPTURE

27/04/2018 - 02/09/2018

Folding, wrapping, moulding, rubbing, balancing, falling... Katinka Bock's sculptures are made from materials such as clay, stone, wood, copper, and bronze and result from simple gestures that are directly legible in the form of the artwork.

Katinka Bock

SUSUMU SHINGU

SPACESHIP

17/05/2018 - 06/01/2019

Susumu Shingu’s art could not exist without the wind. His elegant sculptures are animated by the slightest breath and thereby reveal the intangible but omnipresent nature of air.

Susumu Shingu

PAINTINGS FROM THE 1980S AND 1990S

MUDAM COLLECTION

29/09/2018 - 31/03/2019

Starting in the autumn of 2018, Mudam launches a new cycle unveiling the museum’s collection and its history. This first chapter features a rich selection of paintings from the 1980s and 1990s. It presents the diversity of possibilities offered by the medium in terms of a history of painting.

Paintings from the 1980s and 1990s

JEFF WALL

APPEARANCE

05/10/2018 - 06/01/2019

Since the late 1970s, Jeff Wall, a major art figure in recent decades, has been developing an oeuvre which has greatly changed the way we look at the photographic medium. By including it within a pictorial tradition and thinking about its relations to the other arts – painting, first and foremost, but also film, literature and theatre –, he has re-defined its essence and opened up a whole avenue of possibilities. This major exhibition brings together some thirty works by the artist, both recent and older.

Jeff Wall
Page 1 Page 2 Next >

Expositions

2018
 
 
 

HARD TO PICTURE

A TRIBUTE TO AD REINHARDT

17/06/2017 - 28/01/2018

Parallèlement à ses écrits sur l’art et sa pratique picturale, qui aboutira aux œuvres radicales et emblématiques que sont ses peintures monochromes, Ad Reinhardt a développé, dès les années 1930, une activité d’illustrateur et publié dans la presse américaine des dessins à l’humour mordant. À travers un large ensemble d’illustrations et de dessins, l’exposition souligne la grande liberté de ton et l’engagement de l’artiste tant sur des questions politiques et de société, que sur l’art notamment abstrait.

Hard to picture

FLATLAND / ABSTRACTIONS NARRATIVES #2

07/10/2017 - 02/04/2018

Empruntant son titre à un ouvrage écrit en 1884 par Edwin A. Abbott dont les protagonistes sont des formes géométriques et dans lequel le narrateur, un Carré, décrit sa découverte d’un monde tridimensionnel, cette exposition collective s’intéresse à la manière dont, depuis les années 1960, des artistes s’inspirent des vocabulaires formels abstraits qui ont traversé le XXe siècle pour les infiltrer de récits. Flatland / Abstractions narratives #2 rassemble une trentaine d’artistes de différentes générations.

Flatland / Abstractions narratives #2

SU-MEI TSE

NESTED

07/10/2017 - 02/04/2018

Marquée par ses origines cosmopolites, entre l’Europe et l’Asie, et par l’intérêt qu’elle porte à la dimension sonore du monde, la pratique de Su-Mei Tse est traversée par des questions telles que le temps, le souvenir, le rythme, ou encore le langage. Prenant des formes les plus variées – sculptures, vidéos, photographies, installations –, ses œuvres opèrent chaque fois des passages entre différents champs.

Su-Mei Tse

JOÃO PENALVA

03/03/2018 - 16/09/2018

L’artiste portugais João Penalva invente des fictions poétiques qui stimulent notre imagination. Ses contes visuels, que ce soient des œuvres intimistes ou de grandes installations, se présentent sous forme de mises en scène dans lesquelles se côtoient peintures, photographies, vidéos et documents ; images, textes et sons.

João Penalva

ANNE TERESA DE KEERSMAEKER / ROSAS: WORK/TRAVAIL/ARBEID

14/04/2018 - 15/04/2018

Que devient une chorégraphie une fois présentée selon les codes d’une exposition ? Cette question est au centre de Work/Travail/Arbeid

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas: Work/Travail/Arbeid

NO MAN’S LAND

ESPACES NATURELS, TERRAINS D'EXPÉRIMENTATION

27/04/2018 - 09/09/2018

La sanctuarisation est une des réponses aux inquiétudes écologiques portant sur les territoires naturels : celle voulue comme telle, mais aussi celle résultant d’effets induits par des situations militaires ou politiques.

No Man’s Land

KATINKA BOCK

SMOG / TOMORROW’S SCULPTURE

27/04/2018 - 02/09/2018

Plier, enrouler, mouler, frotter, trouver un équilibre, tomber... les sculptures de Katinka Bock – réalisées à partir de matériaux tels que l’argile, la pierre, le bois, le cuivre ou le bronze - résultent de gestes simples directement lisibles dans la forme de l’œuvre.

Katinka Bock

SUSUMU SHINGU

SPACESHIP

17/05/2018 - 06/01/2019

L’art de Susumu Shingu ne pourrait exister sans le vent. Ses sculptures élégantes s’animent au moindre souffle et révèlent de la sorte la présence intangible mais omniprésente de l’air.

Susumu Shingu

PEINTURES DES ANNÉES 1980 ET 1990

MUDAM COLLECTION

29/09/2018 - 31/03/2019

À partir de l’automne 2018, le Mudam inaugure un nouveau cycle dévoilant la collection du musée et son histoire. Ce premier chapitre rassemble une riche sélection de peintures réalisées durant les décennies 1980 et 1990. Il présente la diversité des possibilités qu’offre le médium au regard d’une histoire de la peinture.

Peintures des années 1980 et 1990

JEFF WALL

APPEARANCE

05/10/2018 - 06/01/2019

Figure majeure de l’art de ces dernières décennies, Jeff Wall développe depuis la fin des années 1970 une œuvre qui a profondément modifié la manière dont nous envisageons le médium photographique. En l'inscrivant dans une tradition picturale élargie et en le pensant dans ses relations aux autres arts – la peinture en premier lieu, mais aussi le cinéma, la littérature et le théâtre –, il en a redéfini l’essence et ouvert le champ des possibles. Cette exposition d’envergure rassemble une trentaine d’œuvres de l’artiste, récentes et plus anciennes.

Jeff Wall
Page 1 Page 2 Next >