MUDAM Logo

JUST LOVE ME

REGARD SUR UNE COLLECTION PRIVÉE
09/10/2010 - 30/01/2011
Vernissage 08/10/2010 18h00
Share
 

First edition of a series of exhibitions showing the diversity of approaches in collecting contemporary art, in and out of Luxembourg. Every exhibition is a subjective view, by one or several curators of Mudam, on a private collection.

A collection is not develop in the same way by a museum than it is by a private collector. Unlike the museum (which seeks, regardless of the nature of its collection, a certain objectivity according to criteria defined by specific knowledge and occurring within an institutional framework related to structures of the same type), the private collector sets his own ground rules, the first of which is to follow his whims.

A private collection is a grouping which reflects the lifestyle and wishes of its author who, in daily life, surrounds himself with artworks and objects that are pleasing and enriching. In a way, the collector carries out a personal quest made unique by his knowledge, judgement, flair and audacity.

Collecting is therefore not just some insignificant activity. It involves, first of all, personal commitment. The collector establishes a collection which in return establishes himself. This is even more true in the case of a collector interested in contemporary art: very often acquiring a contemporary work of art involves meeting the artist and, consequently, a dialogue and a special relationship is established.

Mudam therefore wanted to present some of these particularly unique private collections of international contemporary art that can be found in Luxembourg or in the Greater Region. For the first part of Regard sur une collection privée, Mudam chose a collectors couple who, already a number of years ago, started to modestly gather artworks they liked. In their house, from one room to another, sometimes in corners, one comes across famous, even historic, artists such as Donald Judd and Andy Warhol rubbing shoulders with emerging talents. This makes for a extraordinarily free and eclectic collection, the central thread of which is the intuition of the person who carefully selects the pieces, but also the intimate relationship maintained with the artworks, an attachment that Tracey Emin’s piece aptly sums up: “Just Love me” murmurs the neon hanging over the kitchen door.

Showing this collection to the public already lends it a new dimension. But can the selection presented at Mudam preserve the feeling of pleasure associated with living with the artworks on a daily basis? The challenge is not to stultify the collection when it is presented in the museum, as well as the will for the collectors, who know these pieces so well, to rediscover them and perhaps be surprised again by their daily presence, once the exhibition is closed.

Thus, the fifty chosen artworks are linked to this domestic dimension - people and their habitat - through a selection concerning forms and architecture (Carl Andre, Richard Artschwager, Dan Flavin, Imi Knoebel...) or the body and its presence (John Baldessari, Sarah Jones, Hermann Nitsch...). Other works reproduce the idea of private space. The visitor is invited to wander through and encounter artworks worthy of a contemporary cabinet of curiosities containing the horn of Mark Dion’s unicorn, the graphic work of Bruce Nauman or Wim Delvoye, a Luc Tuymans painting as well as a small canvas by Marlène Dumas...

Vues de l'exposition Just Love me . Regard sur une collection privée © Photos : Andrés Lejona

Artists

Jackie McAllister
Curtis Anderson
Carl Andre
Angela Bulloch
Richard Artschwager
John Baldessari
Robert Barry
Vanessa Beecroft
Keith Brumberg
Lawrence Carroll
Wim Delvoye
Eddy De Vos
Mark Dion
Marlene Dumas
Olafur Eliasson
Tracey Emin
Jan Fabre
Saul Fletcher
Sylvie Fleury
Fischli & Weiss
Dan Flavin
Günther Förg
Robert Gligorov
Douglas Gordon
Pierre Granoux
Gregory Green
Marie-Ange Guilleminot
Keith Haring
Georg Herold
Jenny Holzer
Rebecca Horn
Jörg Immendorff
Sarah Jones
Donald Judd
Ilya Kabakov
Mike Kelley
Joseph Kosuth
Hubert Kiecol
Imi Knoebel
Sol LeWitt
Tony Matelli
Mark Milloff
Robert Morris
Bruce Nauman
Olaf Nicolai
Hermann Nitsch
Raymond Pettibon
Huan Yong Ping
Sigmar Polke
Richard Prince
Antoine Prum
Gerhard Richter
Thomas Ruff
Nora Schattauer
Nedko Solakov
Berend Strik
Rosemarie Trockel
Luc Tuymans
Andy Warhol
Lawrence Weiner
Franz West
Dana Wyse
Peter Wüthrich

Curators
Enrico Lunghi
Clément Minighetti

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

JUST LOVE ME

REGARD SUR UNE COLLECTION PRIVÉE
09/10/2010 - 30/01/2011
Vernissage 08/10/2010 18h00
Share
 

Première édition d'une série d'expositions visant à mettre en valeur la diversité des approches des collectionneurs d'art contemporain, au Luxembourg et ailleurs. Chaque exposition donnera lieu à un regard subjectif, porté par un ou plusieurs curateurs du Mudam, sur une collection privée.

Une collection ne s’invente pas de la même façon pour un musée et un collectionneur privé. Un musée recherche une certaine objectivité, quelque soit la nature de ses collections. On y travaille selon des critères définis par des savoirs spécifiques et son action s'effectue dans un cadre institutionnel, en relation avec des structures du même type. Le collectionneur privé, au contraire, fixe ses propres règles du jeu, la première étant de suivre ses désirs.

Une collection privée reflète ainsi l'art de vivre et les envies de son auteur. Celui-ci s’entoure au quotidien d’œuvres et d'objets qui le ravissent et l'enrichissent. Il mène, en quelque sorte, une quête personnelle, rendue unique par ses connaissances propres et par son jugement, accompagnés d'un certain flair et d'audace.

Collectionner n'est donc pas un acte anodin. Il s’agit d’un véritable engagement personnel. Le collectionneur constitue une collection qui, en retour, le constitue. Ce qui est d'autant plus vrai lorsqu'il s'intéresse à l'art de son temps : à travers l'œuvre s'opère, le plus souvent, la rencontre avec l'artiste, et un dialogue, une relation privilégiée, s'instaure.

Mudam a eu envie de présenter certaines de ces collections privées d'art contemporain international qui s’affirment dans leur singularité, au Luxembourg ou dans la Grande Région. Pour le premier volet de Regard sur une collection privée, le choix est tombé sur un couple de collectionneurs qui, modestement, depuis de nombreuses années déjà, a réuni des œuvres au fil de ses envies. Dans leur maison, d’une pièce à l’autre, parfois dans les recoins, les travaux d'artistes célèbres voire historiques tels que Donald Judd ou Andy Warhol, côtoient ceux des plus jeunes, en devenir. Se dessine ainsi une collection aussi libre qu'éclectique, dont l’un des fils conducteurs est l’intuition de celui qui sélectionne, mais aussi la relation intime qu'il entretient avec les œuvres, attachement que l’œuvre de Tracey Emin résume à merveille : « Just Love me » murmure le néon accroché au-dessus de la porte de la cuisine.

Faire découvrir cette collection au public lui donne déjà une nouvelle dimension. Mais encore a-t-il fallu, à travers la sélection présentée au Mudam, préserver ce souffle, faire sentir ce plaisir de vivre avec des œuvres au quotidien. Gageure donc de ne pas figer un ensemble dès lors qu'il est présenté dans une salle de musée. À ceci s'ajoute la volonté de, pourquoi pas, faire redécouvrir certaines œuvres aux collectionneurs qui les connaissent pourtant, pour que, une fois l'exposition terminée, ils puissent à nouveau se laisser surprendre par leur présence quotidienne.

Ainsi, la cinquantaine d'œuvres choisie par Mudam considère délibérément cette dimension domestique - l’homme et son habitat - à travers une sélection d’œuvres s’interrogeant sur les formes et l’architecture (Carl Andre, Richard Artschwager, Dan Flavin, Imi Knoebel...) ou sur le corps et sa présence (John Baldessari, Sarah Jones, Hermann Nitsch...). D'autres ensembles restituent, quant à eux, l'idée d'espaces privés. Le visiteur est invité à flâner, à croiser des œuvres dignes d'un cabinet de curiosités contemporain, dont la corne de licorne de Mark Dion, des œuvres graphiques de Bruce Nauman et de Wim Delvoye, une peinture de Luc Tuymans ou encore une petite toile de Marlène Dumas...

Vues de l'exposition Just Love me . Regard sur une collection privée © Photos : Andrés Lejona

Artistes

Jackie McAllister
Curtis Anderson
Carl Andre
Angela Bulloch
Richard Artschwager
John Baldessari
Robert Barry
Vanessa Beecroft
Keith Brumberg
Lawrence Carroll
Wim Delvoye
Eddy De Vos
Mark Dion
Marlene Dumas
Olafur Eliasson
Tracey Emin
Jan Fabre
Saul Fletcher
Sylvie Fleury
Fischli & Weiss
Dan Flavin
Günther Förg
Robert Gligorov
Douglas Gordon
Pierre Granoux
Gregory Green
Marie-Ange Guilleminot
Keith Haring
Georg Herold
Jenny Holzer
Rebecca Horn
Jörg Immendorff
Sarah Jones
Donald Judd
Ilya Kabakov
Mike Kelley
Joseph Kosuth
Hubert Kiecol
Imi Knoebel
Sol LeWitt
Tony Matelli
Mark Milloff
Robert Morris
Bruce Nauman
Olaf Nicolai
Hermann Nitsch
Raymond Pettibon
Huan Yong Ping
Sigmar Polke
Richard Prince
Antoine Prum
Gerhard Richter
Thomas Ruff
Nora Schattauer
Nedko Solakov
Berend Strik
Rosemarie Trockel
Luc Tuymans
Andy Warhol
Lawrence Weiner
Franz West
Dana Wyse
Peter Wüthrich

Commissaires
Enrico Lunghi
Clément Minighetti