17/11/2010 - 10/04/2011

Through the works in its collection, Mudam explores a spirit that, since Marcel Duchamp, continues to infuse contemporary artistic creation. The practices of misappropriation and irony serve the critical spirit of the artists and give them the distance and the filters necessary to bring a sense of play to the serious business of their quest.

Christoph Büchel : No Future, 2008, Collection Mudam Luxembourg

Since the end of the last century, subversion, appropriation and recuperation are all practices that numerous contemporary artists have indulged in with undisguised pleasure. First in line is Marcel Duchamp, an inveterate chess player who, with a magisterial stroke, forced a stalemate in art in 1917 by exhibiting a urinal signed R. Mutt. Above all, the Dada movement (a name chosen at random from a dictionary) invented a playful, anti-establishment artform in response to the rational madness of a society profoundly effected by a murderous world conflict. Whether they seek to critique our habits and certainties or are merely interested in the poetry of daily life, these artists (who are often endowed with a biting humour) share a taste for play and do not hesitate to demolish the codes of art and society.

View of the exhibition Premier étage – Second degré. Collection Mudam
© Photo: Andrés Lejona

General Idea was an artists’ collective in the 1980s that was emblematic of the art of subversion, mocking the shortcomings of a materialistic society by turning its own imagery against it, by way of corporate, publicity and press visuals. The Pasta Paintings are eloquant in this way as everybody can immediately recognize the Visa and Mastercard logos rendered in pasta.

The appropriation of media techniques and pratices in order to highlight their vacuousness is also characteristic of Claude Closky’s art. Guili-Guili lays out to infinity a series of drawings made up of pages taken from magazines, the original meaning of which is undermined by the artist. A comic effect arising from inoffensive balloons containing onomatopaeia and interjections is difficult to resist: “Argh”, “Tagada” and “Caramba” sanctimoniously exclaim the protagonists of this world of glossy images.

Beaurin Domercq : Beaurin Domercq, 1998, Collection Mudam Luxembourg

Some artists display a deliberately provocative or punk attitude, including Albert Oehlen with the Spanish title of his painting Bobo Alegre conjuring up the figure of the “Happy Imbecile”, John Giorno whose invectives are brazenly presented on coloured backgrounds, and Christoph Büchel who invited a quartet of charming eighty-year-olds to sing “God Save the Queen” by the Sex Pistols. No Future. Yes, but which one?

Other more zany ones don’t hesitate to put themselves in somewhat ridiculous situations such as Heimo Zobernig in his video N°24 where he faces (in a combat with heroic undertones) assaults from the colours red, green and blue which try to make him literally disappear. It is the artist fighting against abstract art in a way… The poetry of the absurd also permeates the “'pataphysical” films by João Maria Gusmão and Pedro Paiva in which the laws of physics seem to be abolished and the supernatural comes surreptitiously to the fore.

Avant-plan : Jürgen Drescher : Zu groß für übers Sofa, 1984, Collection Mudam Luxembourg

Another, more prosiac, sort of game using appropriated objects and pre-existing forms is deployed in the work of artists such as Tony Cragg and Jürgen Drescher. One “paints” with the help of found materials while the other rips out his kitchen floor and mounts it as a painting-sculpture. Moreover, subversion seems to intrude in all fields of creative activity: the designer Sam Baron takes up the production of traditional Portuguese earthenware and reinterprets vernacular forms while stylist Martin Margiela invents objects with multiple functions.

While the first floor of the museum is now devoted to the thematic presentation of the collection, the exhibition Premier étage - Second degré offers an introduction, without preconceptions, to artworks in which subversion and poetry, humour and criticism are mixed together and collide.

À gauche : Martin Margiela : Veste artisanale « Sac de Voyage » & Handbag, 2006. À droite : Walter Van Beirendonck : Terror Mask, 2003 - 2004

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

Nous trouver

+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

PREMIER ÉTAGE - SECOND DEGRÉ

COLLECTION MUDAM
17/11/2010 - 10/04/2011
Share
 

À travers les œuvres de sa collection, le Mudam aborde un esprit qui, depuis Marcel Duchamp, n'a cessé de souffler sur la création contemporaine. Les pratiques du détournement et de l'ironie servent à l'esprit critique des artistes en leur procurant de la distance et des filtres nécessaires pour la partie ludique dans leurs recherches souvent sérieuses.

Christoph Büchel : No Future, 2008, Collection Mudam Luxembourg

Depuis le début du siècle dernier, le détournement, l'appropriation, la récupération sont autant de pratiques auxquelles bon nombre d'artistes contemporains s’adonnent avec un plaisir non dissimulé. Marcel Duchamp en premier lieu, joueur d'échec invétéré, qui d’un coup magistral fait pat l'art en exposant en 1917 un urinoir signé R. Mutt. Et surtout le mouvement Dada, au nom choisi au hasard dans le dictionnaire, qui invente un art à la fois ludique et contestataire en réponse à la folie rationnelle d'une société profondément marquée par un conflit mondial meurtrier. Qu'ils cherchent à prendre à défaut nos habitudes et certitudes ou plus simplement qu’ils s'intéressent à la poésie du quotidien, ces artistes, dotés d’un humour parfois ravageur, partagent le goût du jeu et n’hésitent pas à démonter les codes de l’art et de notre société.

Vue de l’exposition Premier étage – Second degré. Collection Mudam
© Photo : Andrés Lejona

General Idea, dans les années 80, fut un collectif d’artistes emblématique de l'art de la subversion, moquant les travers d'une société matérialiste en retournant contre elle son imagerie : visuel corporate, publicité, presse. À ce titre les Pasta Paintings sont éloquentes, chacun y reconnaît immédiatement les logos des cartes de crédit Visa et Mastercard composés de pâtes alimentaires.

L'appropriation des techniques et pratiques des médias pour mieux en souligner la vacuité est également caractéristique de l'art de Claude Closky. À l’infini, Guili-Guili décline une série de dessins constitués de pages prélevées dans les magazines dont l’artiste sape la portée initiale. D’inoffensifs phylactères contenant onomatopées ou interjections entraînent un effet comique auquel il est difficile de résister : « Argh », « Tagada » ou « Caramba » s’exclament ainsi benoîtement les protagonistes de ce monde d’images glacées.

Beaurin Domercq : Beaurin Domercq, 1998, Collection Mudam Luxembourg

Certains artistes affichent une attitude délibérément provocatrice, punk, à la manière d'Albert Oehlen dont le titre espagnol de son tableau Bobo Alegre convoque la figure de « l'Imbécile heureux », de John Giorno dont les invectives s’affichent effrontément sur fond coloré, ou encore de Christoph Büchel qui invite un quatuor de charmantes octogénaires à interpréter le « God Save the Queen » des Sex Pistols. No Future. Oui, mais lequel ?

D'autres, plus loufoques, n'hésitent pas à se mettre dans des situations flirtant avec le ridicule à l’instar de Heimo Zobernig dans sa vidéo N°24 où il fait face, dans un combat aux accents héroïques, aux assauts des couleurs rouge, verte et bleue qui tentent de le faire littéralement disparaître. L’artiste luttant contre l'art abstrait en quelque sorte… C'est également une poésie de l'absurde qui parcourt les films « 'pataphysiques » de João Maria Gusmão et Pedro Paiva où les lois de la physique semblent abolies et le surnaturel avoir subrepticement pris le pas.

Avant-plan : Jürgen Drescher : Zu groß für übers Sofa, 1984, Collection Mudam Luxembourg

C'est une autre sorte de jeu, plus prosaïque, usant de l'appropriation d'objets ou de formes existantes qui se déploie dans les travaux d’artistes tels que Tony Cragg ou Jürgen Drescher, l’un « peignant » à l’aide de matériaux récupérés, l’autre prélevant directement le sol de sa cuisine pour l’ériger en tableau-sculpture. Dans tous les champs de la création, le détournement semble d’ailleurs s’immiscer : le designer Sam Baron reprend la production de faïence traditionnelle portugaise et en réinterprète les formes vernaculaires tandis que le styliste Martin Margiela invente des objets à fonctions multiples.

Cependant que le premier niveau du musée est désormais dédié à la présentation thématique de la collection, l'exposition Premier étage - Second degré propose de découvrir sans a priori des œuvres où subversion et poésie, humour et critique se mêlent et s’entrechoquent.

À gauche : Martin Margiela : Veste artisanale « Sac de Voyage » & Handbag, 2006. À droite : Walter Van Beirendonck : Terror Mask, 2003 - 2004