MUDAM Logo

LES DÉTOURS DE L'ABSTRACTION

COLLECTION MUDAM
21/03/2012 - 04/11/2012
Share
 

“I came home with my paintbox after making a study, still dreaming and wrapped up in the work I had completed, when suddenly I saw an indescribably beautiful picture drenched with an inner glow. At first I hesitated, then I rushed toward this mysterious picture, of which I saw nothing but forms and colors, and whose content was incomprehensible. Immediately I found the key to the puzzle: it was a picture I had painted, leaning against the wall, standing on its side. The next day I attempted to get the same effect by daylight. I was only half-successful: even on its side I always recognized the objects, and the fine finish of dusk was missing. Now I knew for certain that the object harmed my paintings.”

Laurent Pariente : Sans titre, Mudam, Luxembourg, 2008, détail, Collection Mudam Luxembourg

This is how Kandinsky described his impression when the motifs, and even the primary motivations, of his painting were suddenly erased and made way for something else entirely, an arrangement of shapes and colors that gave him a glimpse of previously unsuspected possibilities. The exhibition Les Détours de l'abstraction freely echoes this slippage from representation to sensation. From then on it was about perceiving, looking closely, and other qualities, and if ‘detours’ are paths that lead from one point to another in sometimes unexpected ways, they often reveal surprises beyond expectations.

Indeed, questions of perception, erasure and activation are at the heart of the practice of Gaylen Gerber, one of whose lines of work consists of producing a neutral grey support which he then uses in various ways. Thus, when the artist was invited to work with the museum collection for the inaugural exhibition Eldorado in 2006, he produced (among other things) two immense Backdrops reproducing the dimensions of the walls of the rooms on the first floor to the nearest centimeter. Gigantic yet invisible, they were conceived as surfaces to be activated through showing the work of other artists. Echoing the Backdrops, the artworks created in collaboration with Michelle Grabner and B. Wurtz arose from a similar process. Having produced a single-format painting uniformly covered in grey, Gaylen Gerber invited them to intervene on the monochrome surface. In this way, Gaylen Gerber subverts the idea: the decisive issue is no longer simply what is seen but the context in which the artwork is perceived.

Vue de l'exposition Les Détours de l'abstraction. Collection Mudam. Avant : Dominique Ghesquière : Mur de sable, 2008. Arrière : Laurent Pariente : Sans titre, Mudam, Luxembourg, 2008. Collection Mudam Luxembourg

On a more formal level, somewhere between figuration and abstraction, the sculpture Against the Wall. Towards the Rear by Miguel Ângelo Rocha, is composed of a found object (a dissected stool) from which bursts an expanding abstract form. The initial element, which is still identifiable, seems literally to explode in the space through a play of lines that interweave in an aerial manner. Playing with this aptitude to give free rein to a form, On Kawara and Harald Klingelhöller are interested in the deconstruction of language and meaning. In On Kawara’s piece, the visitor hears a litany of dates, a veritable temporal parenthesis, the thread of which is lost after listening for a moment. In Harald Klingelhöller’s 38 Teile in Form von 19 Zeichen für Tisch und 25 Buchstaben der Worte ‘Einmal im Leben’, the letters become visual elements of a sculpture which is recomposed with each presentation.

Thus, forms appear... or re-emerge, as in the work of Raphaël Zarka. In his film Gibellina Vecchia, he breathes life back into Alberto Burri’s unfinished artwork titled the Grande Cretto, which pays homage to the victims of the village of Gibellina in Sicily which was destroyed by an earthquake in 1968. Zarka leads us through a monumental concrete maze reassembled by Alberto Burri on the ruins of former dwellings and evoking his 1960s cracked paintings in terms of form. Sharpening his gaze and ours, Zarka detects the language of modernity in ordinary-looking landscapes, as shown by his photographic series titled The Forms of Rest.

Miguel Ângelo Rocha : Against the Wall. Towards the Rear, 2007-2008, Collection Mudam Luxembourg

This singular swing of the pendulum, oscillating between the erasure and apparition of forms, is apparent in Imi Knoebel’s work, which refers to Malevich and others. Several historical figures thus hover over the exhibition, with certain artists referring to them in an obvious way, such as Nicolas Chardon and Heimo Zobernig who revisit the work of Malevich and Mondrian respectively and are both interested in the way forms are transformed into signs. Daniel Buren has, for his part, pushed the logic still further and produced, from the repeated motif of a striped fabric for awnings, a unique and immediately identifiable visual tool enabling him to highlight the particularities and qualities of a place along with previously unrevealed forms.

Blinky Palermo, who belongs to the same generation and was trained at the same school as Imi Knoebel, is particularly interested in this acknowledgement of surrounding space. Through subtle and vibrant coloured nuances his work reveals a romantic sensibility also found in Günther Förg’s paintings on lead which evolve in time and slowly tend towards erasure...

Although the work of Laurent Pariente also reacts to a given place, his practice comes more from transformation than revelation. When invited in 2008 to conceive a site-specific piece for the Grand Hall of the museum, he invented a random route that plunged the visitor into pure colour through different plays of transparence and superimposition. Rearranged for the first-floor spaces, the diaphanous coloured walls snake between the partitions like a long screen, of which one can perceive neither the beginning nor the end, forcing the visitor to cross a labyrinthine and disturbing space which implements the very components of abstraction: composition, colour, material and light.

Vue de l'exposition Les Détours de l'abstraction. Collection Mudam, 21/03/2012 - 04/11/2012, Mudam Luxembourg - Musée d'Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean

In a way, the same elements can also be found in Claire Barclay’s work. Presented for the first time in 2009 in the west gallery on the first floor, Pale Heights is a cultivated combination of sculptural and material forms. Familiar materials (such as leather, copper and wool), that are evocative but without direct references, maintain a singular relationship with the space and confer a certain degree of abstraction on the artwork which is nevertheless narrative.

Abstract art is therefore historically linked to early 20th-century avant-garde notions and to the diverse theories of rupture (notably, but not uniquely, with figurative art) that are connected to it. We know that the time for big narratives is now over, but the fact remains that the history of abstraction continues to nourish very diverse contemporary aesthetic propositions.

Bruno Peinado : Good Studd, The Pleasure Principle, 2010, Collection Mudam Luxembourg
 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

LES DÉTOURS DE L'ABSTRACTION

COLLECTION MUDAM
21/03/2012 - 04/11/2012
Share
 

« J'arrivais chez moi avec ma boîte de peinture après une étude, encore perdu dans mon rêve et absorbé par le travail que je venais de terminer, lorsque je vis soudain un tableau d'une beauté indescriptible, imprégné d'une grande ardeur intérieure. Je restai d'abord interdit, puis je me dirigeai rapidement vers ce tableau mystérieux sur lequel je ne voyais que des formes et des couleurs et dont le sujet était incompréhensible. Je trouvai aussitôt le mot de l'énigme : c'était un de mes tableaux qui était appuyé au mur sur le côté. J'essayai le lendemain de retrouver à la lumière du jour l'impression éprouvée la veille devant ce tableau. Mais je n'y arrivai qu'à moitié : même sur le côté je reconnaissais constamment les objets et il manquait la fine lumière du crépuscule. Maintenant j'étais fixé, l'objet nuisait à mes tableaux. »

Laurent Pariente : Sans titre, Mudam, Luxembourg, 2008, détail, Collection Mudam Luxembourg

C'est ainsi que Kandinsky décrit son impression lorsque les motifs, et jusqu’aux motivations premières, de son tableau s'effacent soudainement et font place à une toute autre chose, un agencement de formes et de couleurs qui lui laisse entrevoir des possibilités jusque-là insoupçonnées. Librement, l'exposition Les Détours de l'abstraction se fait l’écho de ce glissement de la représentation vers la sensation. Il s'agit dès lors de percevoir, de porter un regard attentif, d’une qualité différente, et si « les détours » sont ces chemins qui nous mènent d'un point à un autre de façon parfois inopinée, ils dévoilent souvent des surprises dépassant nos attentes.

Les questions de perception, d'effacement et d'activation sont précisément au cœur de la pratique de Gaylen Gerber, dont l’un des axes de travail consiste à produire un support neutre, de couleur grise, qu’il utilise ensuite de diverses manières. C’est ainsi qu’invité à travailler sur la collection du musée à l’occasion de l’exposition d’ouverture Eldorado en 2006, l’artiste avait entre autres produit deux immenses Backdrops qui reprenaient, au centimètre près, les dimensions des murs des salles du premier étage. Gigantesques mais invisibles, ils étaient conçus comme des surfaces à activer qui donnaient à voir les œuvres d’autres artistes. En résonance à ces Backdrops, les œuvres créées en collaboration avec Michelle Grabner ou B. Wurtz relèvent d’un processus similaire. Ayant produit un tableau au format unique recouvert uniformément de gris, il les a invités à intervenir sur cette surface monochrome. De cette manière, Gaylen Gerber décale le propos : l’enjeu n'est plus uniquement ce que l'on voit mais le contexte dans lequel nous percevons l'œuvre.

Vue de l'exposition Les Détours de l'abstraction. Collection Mudam. Avant : Dominique Ghesquière : Mur de sable, 2008. Arrière : Laurent Pariente : Sans titre, Mudam, Luxembourg, 2008. Collection Mudam Luxembourg

Dans un registre plus formel, entre figuration et abstraction, la sculpture Against the Wall. Towards the Rear de Miguel Ângelo Rocha, se compose d'un objet trouvé - un tabouret désossé - duquel jaillit une forme abstraite en expansion. L’élément de départ, encore identifiable, semble littéralement exploser dans l’espace au travers d’un jeu de lignes qui s'entrelacent de manière aérienne. Jouant de cette même aptitude à laisser libre cours à une forme, On Kawara et Harald Klingelhöller s’intéressent à la déconstruction du langage et du sens. Du premier, le visiteur entend une litanie de dates, véritable parenthèse temporelle dont on perd le fil après un instant d'écoute. Dans 38 Teile in Form von 19 Zeichen für Tisch und 25 Buchstaben der Worte ‘Einmal im Leben’ du second, les lettres deviennent des éléments visuels formant une sculpture à chaque présentation recomposée.

Ainsi, les formes apparaissent... ou resurgissent, comme chez Raphaël Zarka. Dans son film Gibellina Vacchia, il redonne existence à l'œuvre inachevée d'Alberto Burri intitulée le Grande Cretto, qui rend hommage aux victimes du village de Gibellina en Sicile, dévasté par un tremblement de terre en 1968. Évoquant formellement ses peintures craquelées des années 1960, Alberto Burri a recomposé, sur les ruines des anciennes habitations, un dédale de béton monumental à travers lequel Raphaël Zarka nous entraîne. Aiguisant son regard et le nôtre, Zarka décèle, dans les paysages en apparence les plus anodins, le langage de la modernité comme le montre sa série photographique intitulée Les Formes du repos.

Miguel Ângelo Rocha : Against the Wall. Towards the Rear, 2007-2008, Collection Mudam Luxembourg

Ce singulier mouvement de balancier, oscillant entre effacement et apparition des formes, se retrouve chez Imi Knoebel dont l'œuvre se réclame parmi d’autres de Kasimir Malevitch. Plusieurs figures historiques planent ainsi sur l’exposition, certains des artistes s’y référent de manière évidente tel Nicolas Chardon ou Heimo Zobernig qui revisitent respectivement les œuvres de Malevitch et Mondrian, tous deux intéressés par la façon dont les formes se transforment en signe. Daniel Buren a, pour sa part, poussé la logique encore plus loin et conçu, à partir d'un motif repris d'un tissu rayé pour store, un outil visuel unique et immédiatement identifiable qui lui permet de mettre en lumière les particularités et les qualités des lieux ainsi que des formes jusque-là non révélées.

Appartenant à la même génération et formé à la même école que Imi Knoebel, Blinky Palermo s’est particulièrement intéressé à cette prise en compte de l'espace environnant. Son œuvre, aux nuances colorées subtiles et vibrantes, laisse transparaître une sensibilité romantique que l’on retrouve dans les peintures sur plomb de Günther Förg qui évoluent avec le temps et tendent lentement vers l'effacement... Si le travail de Laurent Pariente réagit à un lieu donné, sa pratique relève plus de la transformation que de la révélation. Invité en 2008 à concevoir une œuvre in situ pour le Grand Hall du musée, il a inventé un parcours aléatoire qui, par différents jeux de transparence et de superposition, plongeait le visiteur dans la couleur pure. Réagencées pour les espaces du premier étage, les parois aux couleurs diaphanes serpentent entre les cloisons, tel un long paravent dont on ne pourrait percevoir le début ni la fin, obligeant le visiteur à traverser un espace labyrinthique et déroutant qui met en œuvre les composantes mêmes de l'abstraction : composition, couleur, matière, lumière.

Vue de l'exposition Les Détours de l'abstraction. Collection Mudam, 21/03/2012 - 04/11/2012, Mudam Luxembourg - Musée d'Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean

D’une certaine façon, ces mêmes éléments se retrouvent dans l’œuvre de Claire Barclay. Présentée la première fois en 2009 dans la galerie ouest du premier étage, Pale Heights est une combinaison recherchée de formes sculpturales et de matières. Des matériaux familiers - comme le cuir, le cuivre ou la laine -, à la fois évocateurs et sans références directes, entretiennent avec l’espace un rapport singulier et confèrent un degré d’abstraction à l’œuvre qui n’en est pas moins narrative.

Ainsi, l'art abstrait est historiquement lié aux notions d'avant-garde du début du XXe siècle et aux diverses théories de rupture qui s'y attachent, notamment avec l'art figuratif mais pas uniquement. On sait toutefois le temps des grands récits aujourd'hui révolu mais il n'en demeure pas moins que l'histoire de l'abstraction continue de nourrir les propositions esthétiques contemporaines les plus diverses.

Bruno Peinado : Good Studd, The Pleasure Principle, 2010, Collection Mudam Luxembourg