ARCIPELAGO BERT THEIS

IN DIFFERENT LOCATION IN LUXEMBOURG AND STRASBOURG
29/03/2019 - 25/08/2019
Share
 

At once poetic and engaged, conceptual and sensitive, personal and collective, the work of Luxembourg artist Bert Theis (1952-2016) grew out of a reflection on the role art can play in society. Most notably it led to the creation of “platforms” and “pavilions” in various cities across Europe and Asia that were intended to be taken over by visitors, passers-by and locals; these were spaces for rest, contemplation, exchange or action, spaces where the idea of a “concrete utopia” takes shape.

On the occasion of the retrospective exhibition dedicated to his work running from 30 March to 25 August, 2019, Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean joins forces with various cultural partners to showcase an ensemble of works, both existing or recreated, and create a “Bert Theis Archipelago” in Luxembourg and beyond. Thanks to their diversity, these projects bring to life the many facets of Bert Theis’ oeuvre and testify to the significance of his legacy.

Bert Theis. KB Project, 2004. Collection Mariette Schiltz

Programme

Exhibition
Bert Theis. 
Building Philosophy – Cultivating Utopia
Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean
30.03 – 25.08.2019 
Opening: Vendredi 29.03.2019, 18h00 – 20h30
Curator: Enrico Lunghi
In collaboration with: Christophe Gallois
Assisted by: Marion Vergin
Mudam Luxembourg presents the first retrospective exhibition dedicated to Bert Theis. Through models, documents, photographs and videos, Building Philosophy – Cultivating Utopia offers a broad overview of the projects in the public realm that brought him to fame. The exhibition also sheds light on some of the lesser-known aspects of his work, the collages, the conceptual works that question history of art, painting and the status of images, as well as his text works.

Book Launch
Bert Theis, Building Philosophy – Cultivating Utopia
29.03.2019 | 17h00
Mudam Auditorium | EN
Conversation between Enrico Lunghi, Mariette Schiltz and the authors of the publication, Gerald Raunig, Marco Scotini and Elvira Vannini.
Moderation: Christophe Gallois
In English
Free admission
No booking required

Concert
Mark Uncle Band (vintage rock, Milan)
29.03.2019 | 20h00
European Pentagon, Safe & Sorry Pavilion, Place de l’Europe – Kirchberg
Free admission
No booking required

Performance
Isola Reunion
21.06.2019 | 18h00
European Pentagon, Safe & Sorry Pavilion, Place de l’Europe – Kirchberg 
Musical performance by Steve Piccolo and Gak Sato, inspired by John Cage’s and Marcel Duchamp’s sonorous chess game Reunion (1968).
Within the framework of the Fête de la musique
Free admission
No booking required

Workshop
UTOPISTAS
The Everyday of Earthly Delights
10.07 — 25.08.2019
A project by the 2001 architecture bureau
Participatory activities related to the question of public space and the transformation of urban space.
Detailed programme soon on: www.mudam.com

Guided tour
Art at noon
A personal view of the Bert Theis exhibition
17.06 – 23.08.2019 | 12h30 – 13h00
Throughout the summer, Nora Blaise, the artist’s niece and a student of cultural guidance, offers a special guided tour of the exhibition.
Mondays: DE | Wednesdays: FR | Thursdays: LU | Fridays: EN
Additional tour on Wednesdays from 19h00 to 19h30 in Luxembourgish.
For individual visitors and small groups (up to 5 people)
Free visit, museum admission excluded 
No booking required

Philosophical Platform
Place des Hauts Fourneaux, Avenue du Rock’n’Roll, Belval
Outdoor work visible at any time
From 22.04.2019
In collaboration with: Le Fonds Belval (fonds-belval.lu)
Installation recreated in 2019 by the Fund, with the participation of Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d'art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean

Vue de l’installation, Skulptur Projekte Münster, 1997 © Roman Mensig

Freely inspired by the staircase found in the famous School of Athens (1509–1510) fresco by Raphael, the Philosophical Platform was created in 1997 for the Skulptur Projekte in Münster, an international event dedicated to public art, and met with great critical and popular success. A newly recreated version of this major work has been made possible by the Fonds Belval and its Public Art Experience program and has been installed at the heart of the Belval site.
Bert Theis, Philosophical Platform, 1997, reconstruction 2019 | Sound: in collaboration with Raphaël Rippinger | Technical conception: Rob Engel | Reproduction: Fonds Belval with the contribution of Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean | Le Fonds Belval | Courtesy Mariette Schiltz

OUT (Office for Urban Transformation)
30.03 — 26.07.2019
LUCA Luxembourg Center for Architecture 
1, rue de l’Aciérie L-1112 Luxembourg 
Practical infos: luca.lu
Opening: Saturday 30.03.2019, 17h30
16h00 : Roundtable Fight Specific
With: Gerald Raunig (philosopher and art theorist), Marco Scotini (curator, author and art critic), Angelo C astucci (architect and cura tor), Elvira Vannini (art historian and curator)
Moderation : Enrico Lunghi ((art historian and co-curator of the retrospective Bert Theis. Building Philosophy – Cultivating Utopia)
In English and Italian
Free entry

Image © Ilmari Kalkkinen, Mamco

Travelling to different countries around the world between 2002 and 2014, from Italy to Mexico via Albania, Switzerland and Korea, the OUT project takes the form of an “office” dedicated to the question of urban transformation. A collection of documents, objects and visual materials, it is also conceived as a space that can accommodate “situations” of exchange, work and reflection. Several roundtables will take place during the exhibition at LUCA.

Tuesday 04.06.2019, 18h30
Building Utopia
With: Federica Gatta (architect, urban planner, doctor of space planning and author of the book (Contre)pouvoirs urbains ? Éléments pour une critique anthropologique de l’urbanisme participatif)), Doina Petrescu (Professor of architecture and design activism at the University of Sheffield) and Constantin Petcou (architect specializing in strategic design and semiotics, both founders of AAA (self-managed architecture workshop)), Eugenio Cosentino (architect and co-founder of the Parasite 2.0 collective)
Moderation: Philippe Nathan (architect and founder of the bureau 2001)
In English
Free admission
No booking required

Tuesday 02.07.2019, 18h30
Lieux infinis
With: Nicola Delon (architect and co-founder of the Encore Heureux collective and curator of the French Pavilion “Lieux infinis”, of the 16th Venice Biennale of architecture, 2018)
Introduction: Anna Loporcaro (in charge of the cultural programme at Mudam)
In French
Free admission
No booking required

In collaboration with: LUCA Luxembourg Center for Architecture
Curators: Angelo Castucci, Anna Loporcaro 
Coproduction of the exhibition: Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean 

F(l)ight Sketches – For Bert Theis
30.03 — 05.05.2019
Cercle Cité
Place d’Armes, Entrée rue du Curé, L-2012 Luxembourg
Practical infos: cerclecite.lu 
Opening: Saturday 30.03.2019, 11h30
13h00 – 13h30 : Musical performance by Steve Kaspar and Nataša Grujović
Guided Tours : Every Saturday at 15h00. Free entry. Free tours

Image © Angelo Castucci / Studioamatoriale

This exhibition brings together artists who gravitate around the Isola Art Center in Milan, friends of Bert Theis and conceptual or political approaches close to the artist’s.Artists: Barbara Barberis, Common Wealth (curated by Claudia Passeri), Irene Coppola,Simone Decker, Paola di Bello, Edna Gee,Karolina Markiewicz & Pascal Piron, Edmond Oliveira, Edith Poirier, Jeff Weber, avec la contribution de Renk Ozer Sarp et de Serio CollectiveProduction: Cercle CitéCurators: Angelo Castucci, Enrico Lunghi

Stirner Prothese
Parc municipal, Luxembourg 
(Between the avenue Monterey and avenue Marie-Thérèse, near the lake)
From April 2019 – 25.08.2019
In collaboration with: Ville de Luxembourg
Practical infos: vdl.lu

Image : Dessin préparatoire, Collection Mariette Schiltz

Created in 2000 for the Tutzing Evangelical Academy in Germany, the Stirner Prothese was never installed. During the Bert Theis retrospective at Mudam, the City of Luxembourg presents this “foreign object derived from the functional world of navigation, railroads and industry” for the first time in the heart of the Municipal Park, allowing viewers to “enjoy a moment of solitude”.
Bert Theis, Stirner Prothese, 2000/2019 | Technical conception: Rob Engel | Co-produced by: Ville de Luxembourg | Collection Mariette Schiltz

Utopian City
30.03 – 25.08.2019
Outdoor work visible at any time
Rotondes
Place des Rotondes, L-2448 Luxembourg
Practical info: rotondes.lu
Opening: Saturday 30.03.2019, 18h30
In collaboration with: Rotondes

Created for the façade of the Secession building in Vienna on the occasion of the group exhibition Utopian Pulse – Flares in the Darkroom (2014), this monumental collage features a 19th century painting by Jakob Alt depicting the Austrian capital as its backdrop. Relocated to the seaside by Theis, the urban space pictured becomes, in the words of the artist, the theater of “fragments and moments for new utopias”. Utopian City spreads over one of the walls of the Rotondes’ Black Box building.
Bert Theis, Utopian City, 2014 | Impression digitale sur vinyle | 340 x 900 cm | Copie d’exposition produite par Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean | Courtesy Mariette Schiltz | Collection Mariette Schiltz

The true artist…
Permanent installation
Musée national d’histoire et d’art Luxembourg
Marché-aux-Poissons, L-2345 Luxembourg
Practical info: mnha.lu
Formule Renc’Art
Bert Theis honored in May: In addition to traditional regular visits, Renc'Art offers the chance to explore a specific work every month.  luxembourgeois. Entrée libre pour ces visites.
Thursday 02.05, 19h00 (FR) | Tuesday 07.05, 12h30 (FR) | Thursday 09.05, 19h00 (DE) | Tuesday 14.05, 12h30 (DE) | Thursday 16.05, 19h00 (EN) | Tuesday 21.05, 12h30 (EN) | Thursday 23.05, 19h00 (PT) | Tuesday 28.05, 12h30 (LU)
Guided tours
On request (for groups larger than 10 people)
Booking: +352 47 93 30 214, servicedespublics@mnha.etat.lu
In collaboration with: Musée national d’histoire et d’art Luxembourg

Image © MNHA, Tom Lucas

Installed since 2003 in the staircase of the historical building of the Musée national d’histoire et d’art, The true artist... takes the form of a stained glass window that combines a conceptual approach with Art Deco aesthetics. This is a pivotal work in Bert Theis’s oeuvre, through which a formal vocabulary was put in place that the artist would regularly return to. The true artist... installation is permanently on display in the museum and can be admired from one of the galleries (Old Masters) located on the third floor of the main building.
Bert Theis, The true artist…, 2003 | Vitrail | 226 x 213 cm | Installation permanente, Musée national d’histoire et d’art Luxembourg | Collection Musée national d’histoire et d’art Luxembourg

European Pentagon, Safe & Sorry Pavilion
Permanent installation
Place de l’Europe, Luxembourg-Kirchberg
Outdoor work visible at any time
In collaboration with: Fonds Kirchberg
During the exhibition, the European Pentagon will host several events.
Detailed programme: mudam.com

http://www.mudam.com

Image © André Morin

Produced on the occasion of the Luxembourg Presidency of the Council of the European Union in 2005, the European Pentagon was first exhibited on the roof of the BOZAR – Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brussels, before being permanently installed in Place de l’Europe in Luxembourg. The words safe and sorry – that can be read from within the pavilion – are derived from the expression “better safe than sorry”. “A European pentagon that is small in size, translucent, fragile and built out of the words safe and sorry invites us obviously to reflect on the international political situation,” commented Bert Theis. 
Bert Theis, European Pentagon, Safe & Sorry Pavilion, 2005 | Acier, verre semi-transparent, bois, structure métallique | Pavillon : 564 x 1094 x 973 cm | Plateforme : 30 x 2715 x 1260 cm | Conception technique : en collaboration avec Rob Engel | Installation permanente, Place de l’Europe, Luxembourg (depuis 2007) | Produit en 2005 comme installation temporaire pour le toit du BOZAR – Palais des Beaux-Arts, Bruxelles, dans le cadre de la Présidence luxembourgeoise du Conseil de l’Union Européenne, 2005 | Collection Ministère de la Culture, Luxembourg

Warburg Spirale. Un monument aux vivants
Completion of restoration: Summer 2019
Place de la République, Strasbourg
Outdoor work visible at any time from the summer 2019
In collaboration with: La Communauté Urbaine de Strasbourg, currently Eurométropole, and the Ministère de la Culture

Image © André Morin

Located in the Place de la République in the heart of Strasbourg, the Warburg Spirale pays tribute to Jewish intellectuals, notably the German art historian Aby Warburg. A sort of “bench” in the form of an ascending spiral this “monument to the living” invites passersby to idleness. “You don’t find spirals in urban centers because they waste time. Whoever enters one has to retrace their steps to get out again,” said Bert Theis. Inaugurated in 2002, the Warburg Spirale is the object of a restoration project in 2019, the completion of which coincides with the Bert Theis retrospective at Mudam.

With the support of:

A collaboration of:

ARCIPELAGO BERT THEIS

DANS DIVERS LIEUX AU LUXEMBOURG ET À STRASBOURG
29/03/2019 - 25/08/2019
Share
 

À la fois poétique et engagée, conceptuelle et sensible, personnelle et collective, l’oeuvre de l’artiste luxembourgeois Bert Theis (1952-2016) est animée par une réflexion sur le rôle que peut jouer l’art dans la société. Elle a donné notamment lieu à la création, dans différentes villes d’Europe et d’Asie, de « plateformes » et de « pavillons » destinés à être investis par les visiteurs, les passants et les habitants – des espaces de repos, de contemplation, d’échange ou d’action, où peuvent s’esquisser les contours d’une « utopie concrète ». 

À l’occasion de l’exposition rétrospective qu’il consacre à son oeuvre du 30 mars au 25 août 2019, le Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean s’associe à différents partenaires culturels pour mettre en valeur un ensemble d’oeuvres, existantes ou recréées pour l’occasion, dessinant un « Archipel Bert Theis » à l’échelle du Luxembourg et au-delà. Dans leur diversité, les propositions réactivent les multiples facettes du travail de Bert Theis et témoignent de la portée de son héritage.

Bert Theis. KB Project, 2004. Collection Mariette Schiltz

Programme

Exposition
Bert Theis. 
Building Philosophy – Cultivating Utopia
Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean
30.03 – 25.08.2019 
Vernissage : Vendredi 29.03.2019, 18h00 – 20h30
Commissaire : Enrico Lunghi
En collaboration avec : Christophe Gallois
Assistés de : Marion Vergin
Mudam Luxembourg présente la première exposition rétrospective consacrée à Bert Theis. À travers des maquettes, des documents, des photographies et des vidéos, Building Philosophy – Cultivating Utopia offre un large panorama des projets dans l’espace public qui l’ont fait connaître. Elle dévoile aussi des aspects moins identifiés de son travail, comme ses collages, ses oeuvres conceptuelles interrogeant l’histoire de l’art, la peinture et le statut des images, ou encore un ensemble de ses text works.

Book Launch
Bert Theis, Building Philosophy – Cultivating Utopia
29.03.2019 | 17h00
Mudam Auditorium | EN
Converstation entre Enrico Lunghi, Mariette Schiltz et les auteurs de la publication, Gerald Raunig, Marco Scotini et Elvira Vannini.
Modération : Christophe Gallois
En anglais
Gratuit
Sans réservation

Concert
Mark Uncle Band (vintage rock, Milan)
29.03.2019 | 20h00
European Pentagon, Safe & Sorry Pavilion, Place de l’Europe – Kirchberg
Gratuit
Sans réservation

Performance
Isola Reunion
21.06.2019 | 18h00
European Pentagon, Safe & Sorry Pavilion, Place de l’Europe – Kirchberg Performance musicale de Steve Piccolo et Gak Sato, inspirée par la partie d’échec sonore Reunion (1968) entre John Cage et Marcel Duchamp.
Dans le cadre de la Fête de la musique
Gratuit
Sans réservation

Workshop
UTOPISTAS
The Everyday of Earthly Delights
10.07 — 25.08.2019
Un projet du bureau d'architectes 2001
Activités participatives autour de la question de l’espace public et de la transformation de l’espace urbain.
Programme détaillé disponible à partir du 15.06.2019 sur : www.mudam.com

Visite guidée
De l’art à midi
Un regard personnel sur l’exposition de Bert Theis
17.06 – 23.08.2019 | 12h30 – 13h00
Tout l’été, Nora Blaise, nièce de l’artiste et étudiante en médiation culturelle, propose une visite guidée spéciale de l’exposition.
Les lundis : DE | Les mercredis : FR | Les jeudis : LU | Les vendredis : EN
Visites supplémentaires les mercredis de 19h00 à 19h30 en luxembourgeois.
Pour visiteurs individuels et petits groupes (max. 5 pers.)
Visite gratuite, hors droit d’entrée
Sans réservation

Philosophical Platform
Place des Hauts Fourneaux, Avenue du Rock’n’Roll, Belval
Œuvre en extérieur visible à toute heure
À partir du 22.04.2019
En collaboration avec : Le Fonds Belval (fonds-belval.lu)
Installation recrée en 2019 par le Fonds Belval, avec la participation du Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean

Vue de l’installation, Skulptur Projekte Münster, 1997 © Roman Mensig

Librement inspirée de l’escalier que l’on trouve dans la célèbre fresque L’École d’Athènes (1509–1510) de Raphaël, la Philosophical Platform fut créée en 1997 pour Skulptur Projekte Münster, une manifestation internationale dédiée à l’art public. Elle y rencontra un très grand succès critique et populaire. Dans le cadre de son programme Public Art Experience, le Fonds Belval a permis une recréation de cette oeuvre majeure de Bert Theis et son installation au coeur du site de Belval.
Bert Theis, Philosophical Platform, 1997, reconstruction 2019 | Bois peint, structure métallique, son, lumière, machine à fumée | 1,2 x 23 x 10 m | Son : en collaboration avec Raphaël Rippinger | Conception technique : Rob Engel | Production : Le Fonds Belval, avec la contribution du Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean | Le Fonds Belval | Courtesy Mariette Schiltz

OUT (Office for Urban Transformation)
30.03 — 26.07.2019
LUCA Luxembourg Center for Architecture 
1, rue de l’Aciérie L-1112 Luxembourg
Informations pratiques : luca.lu
Vernissage : Samedi 30.03.2019, 17h30
16h00 : Table ronde Fight Specific
Avec : Gerald Raunig (philosophe et théoricien de l’art), Marco Scotini (curateur, auteur et critique d’art), Angelo Castucci (architecte et curateur), Elvira Vannini (historienne de l’art et curatrice)
Modération : Enrico Lunghi (historien de l’art et co-curateur de la rétrospective Bert Theis Building Philosophy – Cultivating Utopia)
En anglais et italien
Entrée libre

Image © Ilmari Kalkkinen, Mamco

Présenté entre 2002 et 2014 dans différents pays du monde, de l’Italie au Mexique en passant par l’Albanie, la Suisse et la Corée, le projet OUT prend la forme d’un « bureau » dédié à la question de la transformation urbaine. Rassemblant documents, objets et matériaux visuels, il est aussi pensé comme un espace pouvant accueillir des « situations » d’échange, de travail et de réflexion. Durant l’exposition au LUCA, plusieurs « activations » sont organisées.

Mardi 04.06.2019, 18h30
Building Utopia
Avec : Federica Gatta (architecte, urbaniste, docteur en aménagement de l’espace et autrice du livre (Contre)pouvoirs urbains ? Éléments pour une critique anthropologique de l’urbanisme participatif), Doina Petrescu (Professeur en architecture et Design Activism à l’université de Sheffield) et Constantin Petcou (architecte spécialisé en design stratégique et sémiotique, tous deux fondateurs de AAA (atelier d’architecture autogérée)), Eugenio Cosentino (architecte et cofondateur du collectif Parasite 2.0)
Modération : Philippe Nathan (architecte et fondateur du bureau 2001)
En anglais
Entrée libre
Sans réservation

Mardi 02.07.2019, 18h30
Lieux infinis
Avec : Nicola Delon (architecte et cofondateur du collectif Encore Heureux et commissaire du pavillon français « Lieux infinis », de la 16e Biennale d'architecture de Venise, 2018)
Introduction : Anna Loporcaro (chargée de la programmation culturelle au Mudam) En français
Entrée libre
Sans réservation

En collaboration avec : LUCA Luxembourg Center for Architecture
Commissaires : Angelo Castucci, Anna Loporcaro 
Coproduction de l’exposition : Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean

F(l)ight Sketches – For Bert Theis
30.03 — 05.05.2019
Cercle Cité
Place d’Armes, Entrée rue du Curé, L-2012 Luxembourg
Informations pratiques : cerclecite.lu 
Vernissage : Samedi 30.03.2019, 11h30
13h00 – 13h30 : Performance musicale de Steve Kaspar et Nataša Grujović
Visites guidées : Tous les samedis à 15h00. Entrée libre. Visites gratuites

Image © Angelo Castucci / Studioamatoriale

Cette exposition réunie des artistes gravitant autour de l’Isola Art Center à Milan, des amis de Bert Theis et des démarches conceptuelles ou politiques proches de la sienne.
Artistes : Barbara Barberis, Common Wealth (curated by Claudia Passeri), Irene Coppola,Simone Decker, Paola di Bello, Edna Gee,Karolina Markiewicz & Pascal Piron, Edmond Oliveira, Edith Poirier, Jeff Weber, avec la contribution de Renk Ozer Sarp et de Serio Collective
Production : Cercle Cité
Commissaires : Angelo Castucci, Enrico Lunghi

Stirner Prothese
Parc municipal, Luxembourg 
(Entre l’avenue Monterey et l’avenue Marie-Thérèse, à proximité de l’étang)
À partir d’avril 2019 – 25.08.2019
En collaboration avec Ville de Luxembourg
Informations pratiques : vdl.lu

Image : Dessin préparatoire, Collection Mariette Schiltz

Conçue en 2000 pour le parc de l’Académie évangéliste de Tutzing en Allemagne, la Stirner Prothese ne put y être installée. Le temps de la rétrospective Bert Theis au Mudam, la Ville de Luxembourg présente pour la première fois, au coeur du parc municipal, cet « objet étranger issu du monde fonctionnel de la navigation, du chemin de fer et de l’industrie » permettant à un spectateur d’« apprécier un moment de solitude ».
Bert Theis, Stirner Prothese, 2000/2019 | Structure métallique, colonne | 462 x 112 x 211 cm | Conception technique : Rob Engel | Co-production : Ville de Luxembourg | Collection Mariette Schiltz

Utopian City
30.03 – 25.08.2019
Œuvre en extérieur visible à toute heure
Rotondes
Place des Rotondes, L-2448 Luxembourg
Informations pratiques : rotondes.lu
Vernissage : Samedi 30.03.2019, 18h30
En collaboration avec : Rotondes

Créé pour la façade de la Sécession à Vienne à l’occasion de l’exposition de groupe Utopian Pulse – Flares in the Darkroom (2014), ce « collage » monumental a pour toile de fond une peinture du 19e siècle de Jakob Alt représentant la capitale autrichienne. Délocalisé près de la mer, l’espace urbain devient le théâtre, selon les mots de l’artiste, de « fragments et de moments pour de nouvelles utopies ». Aux Rotondes, Utopian City se déploie sur l’un des murs du bâtiment Black Box.
Bert Theis, Utopian City, 2014 | Impression digitale sur vinyle | 340 x 900 cm | Copie d’exposition produite par Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean | Courtesy Mariette Schiltz | Collection Mariette Schiltz 

The true artist…
Installation permanente
Musée national d’histoire et d’art Luxembourg
Marché-aux-Poissons, L-2345 Luxembourg
Informations pratiques : mnha.lu
Formule Renc’Art
Bert Theis à l’honneur en mai : En complément aux traditionnelles visites régulières, Renc’Art propose d’explorer tous les mois une œuvre en particulier. Cette formule est déclinée huit fois durant le mois, les mardis midi à 12h30 et les jeudis soir à 19h00, et chaque semaine, l’oeuvre sélectionnée est expliquée dans l’une des quatre langues suivantes : français, allemand, anglais ou luxembourgeois. Entrée libre pour ces visites.
Jeudi 02.05 à 19h00 (FR) | Mardi 07.05 à 12h30 (FR) | Jeudi 09.05 à 19h00 (DE) | Mardi 14.05 à 12h30 (DE) | Jeudi 16.05 à 19h00 (EN) | Mardi 21.05 à 12h30 (EN) | Jeudi 23.05 à 19h00 (PT) | Mardi 28.05 à 12h30 (LU)
Visites guidées 
Sur demande (pour groupes >10 personnes)
Réservations : +352 47 93 30 214, servicedespublics@mnha.etat.lu
En collaboration avec : Musée national d’histoire et d’art Luxembourg

Image © MNHA, Tom Lucas

Installée depuis 2003 dans la cage de l’escalier du bâtiment historique du Musée national d’histoire et d’art, The true artist… prend la forme d’un vitrail mêlant approche conceptuelle et esthétique Art déco. Il s’agit d’une oeuvre charnière dans le travail de Bert Theis, à travers laquelle se met en place un vocabulaire formel qu’il reprendra régulièrement par la suite. L’installation The true artist… est exposée de manière permanente au musée et peut être admirée depuis l’une des salles de l’étage 3 (Art Ancien) du bâtiment central du musée.
Bert Theis, The true artist…, 2003 | Vitrail | 226 x 213 cm | Installation permanente, Musée national d’histoire et d’art Luxembourg | Collection Musée national d’histoire et d’art Luxembourg

European Pentagon, Safe & Sorry Pavilion
Installation permanente
Place de l’Europe, Luxembourg-Kirchberg
Œuvre en extérieur visible à toute heure
En collaboration avec : Fonds Kirchberg
Durant l’exposition, l’European Pentagon accueillera plusieurs événements.
Programme détaillé : mudam.com

Image © André Morin

Réalisé à l’occasion de la présidence luxembourgeoise du Conseil de l’Union européenne en 2005, l’European Pentagon fut exposé une première fois sur le toit du BOZAR – Palais des Beaux-Arts à Bruxelles, avant d’être installé de manière permanente sur la Place de l’Europe à Luxembourg. Lisibles depuis l’intérieur du pavillon, les mots safe et sorry sont dérivés de l’expression anglaise better safe than sorry. « Un pentagone européen de dimensions réduites, translucide et vulnérable, construit avec les mots safe et sorry invite évidemment à réfléchir sur la situation politique internationale », commente Bert Theis. 
Bert Theis, European Pentagon, Safe & Sorry Pavilion, 2005 | Acier, verre semi-transparent, bois, structure métallique | Pavillon : 564 x 1094 x 973 cm | Plateforme : 30 x 2715 x 1260 cm | Conception technique : en collaboration avec Rob Engel | Installation permanente, Place de l’Europe, Luxembourg (depuis 2007) | Produit en 2005 comme installation temporaire pour le toit du BOZAR – Palais des Beaux-Arts, Bruxelles, dans le cadre de la Présidence luxembourgeoise du Conseil de l’Union Européenne, 2005 | Collection Ministère de la Culture, Luxembourg

Warburg Spirale. Un monument aux vivants
Achèvement de la restauration : été 2019
Place de la République, Strasbourg
Œuvre en extérieur visible à toute heure à partir de l’été 2019
En collaboration avec : La Communauté Urbaine de Strasbourg, actuelle Eurométropole, et le Ministère de la Culture

Image © André Morin

Implantée place de la République, en plein coeur de Strasbourg, la Warburg Spirale rend hommage aux intellectuels juifs, et notamment à l’historien de l’art allemand Aby Warburg. Sorte de « banc » qui prend la forme d’une spirale ascendante, ce « monument aux vivants » invite les passants à l’oisiveté : « Dans les ensembles urbanistiques on ne trouve pas de spirales, parce qu’elles font perdre du temps : qui y entre doit revenir sur ses pas pour en sortir », indique Bert Theis. Inaugurée en 2002, la Warburg Spirale fait l’objet en 2019 d’une restauration complète dont l’achèvement coïncidera avec l’exposition de Bert Theis au Mudam.

Avec le soutien de :

Une collaboration entre :