ADAM LINDER

FULL SERVICE
06/02/2019 - 03/03/2019
Share
 

Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean aims to present contemporary art in all its forms. Adam Linder: Full Service is an experimental project that takes place in the galleries over a period of four weeks. During this time each of the five services in the cycle will be performed, gradually overlapping and eventually superseding one another, reminiscent of a moving exhibition with continuously changing content. Created by classically trained dancer and choreographer Adam Linder (*1983), this iteration of the work will be the first presentation in Europe of the complete choreographic cycle of all five services. 

Adam Linder, Service No. 5: Dare to Keep Kids Off Naturalism, Kunsthalle Basel, 2017. Performers : Leah Katz, Justin F. Kennedy, Noha Ramadan, Stephen Thompson © Photo : Nicolas Gysin / Kunsthalle Basel

Made between 2013 and 2017, the Choreographic Services are a performative group of projects devised for presentation in museums and art galleries, and are aimed at questioning the representation of the body, its relationship to physical language and addressing head on the role and value of performance in contemporary art. 

In his services, Adam Linder's working raw material is the body of a dancer, and more precisely the physical labour of the body as reinvented based on the modi operandi of the service based economy. Any museum or gallery that chooses to present the services must sign a contract providing a full and accurate description of the relationship between the performers (the dancers), the choreographic service they provide (the dance), and the cost of their work (dancing). In combination, this group of variables determines the duration of each service and the overall cost of the project. 

The Adam Linder: Full Service exhibition is the result of a collaboration between the Mudam Luxembourg - Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean and the CCA Wattis Institute for Contemporary Arts in San Francisco. 

Biographical note 

Adam Linder (born in Sydney in 1983) is a dancer and choreographer based in Berlin. After completing his studies in classical dance, he worked at the Royal Ballet of London, the Michael Clark Company and Meg Stuart's Damaged Goods. 

He has put together several stage works, including Kein Paradiso, which earned him the prestigious Mohn Award at the Hammer Museum's Made in L.A. Biennale in 2016. Also that year, he participated in the Biennale of Sydney and the Liverpool Biennial. His choreographic services were recently presented at the Serralves Foundation in Porto (2018), the South London Gallery in London (2018), the Kunsthalle Basel (2017), the Schinkel Pavilion in Berlin (2016) and the Institute of Contemporary Art in London (2015). A monograph published by the Hammer Museum entitled Who Is Surfing Who: Adam Linder has been available since March 2018.

Performances

Mudam Luxembourg has hired all five services, giving an overview of Adam Linder’s singular approach to dance and performance. Each one is presented over the course of four weeks, across one gallery. Each service is performed successively, but they also overlap in different combinations, creating new hybrids and juxtapositions of bodies and movements.

Full Service is a survey exhibition of all five Choreographic Services by Adam Linder. Dancers are working on Wednesdays from 16h00 to 21h00 (from 14h00 to 18h00 on 06.02.2019) and from Thursday to Sunday from 12h00 to 18h00 (13h00 to 18h00 for Service nº 5).

Service nº 1: Some Cleaning (2013)

Choreographic Service No. 1: Some Cleaning, 2013. Duration variable, one dancer. Pictured at Kunstverein Hannover. Performer: Enrico Ticconi

Service Nº 1: Some Cleaning (2013)
06.02 - 10.02.2019
A dancer is hired to choreographically clean a specific location using a toolbox of actions that physically and symbolically organise, dust, calibrate and restructure the space.

Service nº 2: Some Proximity (2014)

Choreographic Service No. 2: Some Proximity, 2014. Duration variable, two dancers and a writer. Pictured at Museum of Modern Art, Warsaw. Performer: Justin Kennedy © Bartosz Stawiarski. A project of Silberkuppe, Berlin and Live, Frieze, London

Service Nº 2: Some Proximity (2014)
06.02 - 24.02.2019

An art writer produces real time critical reflections at the location of hire whilst two dancers become a conduit for this criticism by translating the text into vocal and physical flows.

Service nº 3: Some Riding (2015)

Choreographic Service No. 3: Some Riding, 2015. Duration variable, two dancers. Pictured at Institute of Contemporary Arts, London. Performers: Frances Chiaverini, Adam Linder © Mark Blower. Commissioned by ICA, London

Service Nº 3: Some Riding (2015)
13.02 - 17.02.2019

Two dancers generate a theoretical and contextual understanding for the Choreographic Services series from within the performance itself. They deploy an ‘adagio-esque Popping’ to physically punctuate two essays written by Sarah Lehrer-Graiwer and Catherine Damman.

Service nº 4: Some Strands of Support (2016)

Choreographic Service No.4: Some Strands of Support, 2016.Duration variable, two dancers. Pictured at Wattis Institute. Performers: Andrew Hardwidge, Adam Linder © Allie Foraker. Commissioned by Schinkel Pavillon, Berlin 

Service Nº 4: Some Strands of Support (2016)
20.02 - 24.02.2019

Emphasizing that sculptures may not be as resilient or assured as inanimate objects are often presumed to be, two dancers work in partnership to provide ‘Hair Care’ for a suitably upright sculpture or statue in the form of oscillatory movement aided by the use of hair prostheses.

Service nº 5: Dare to Keep Kids Off Naturalism (2017)

Choreographic Service No.5: Dare to Keep Kids Off Naturalism, 2017.Duration variable, four dancers. Pictured at Wattis Institute. Performers: Stephen Thompson, Noha Ramadan © Allie Foraker. Commissioned by Kunsthalle Basel, co-produced by Kunsthalle Basel and South London Gallery

Service Nº 5: Dare to Keep Kids Off Naturalism (2017)*
27.02 - 03.03.2019

Choreographic Service No. 5 (2017) Four performers occupy an empty white space wearing modular costumes to create eight everchanging fictive situations. They reconsider and challenge the relationship between their theatrical sensibilities and the exhibition space.
*Parental advisory: This performance includes some nudity.

Danseurs
Andrew Hardwidge, Josh Johnson, Leah Katz, Justin F. Kennedy, Adam Linder, Robert Malmborg, Noha Ramadan, Brooke Stamp, Enrico Ticconi et Stephen Thompson

Dispositif d’affichage
conçu et réalisé par Shahryar Nashat

Les critiques d’art
pour la performance Some Proximity :
Hannah Gregory et Jonathan P. Watts

Prêt d’oeuvre
pour la performance Some Strands of Support :
Luc Wolff, Starter Kit, 2001
Courtesy Lëtzebuerg City Museum

Remerciements
Anthony Huberman, Leila Grothe, Shahryar Nashat, Andrea Niederbuchner, Anna von Glasenapp et Guy Thewes

Adam Linder: Full Service is presented in collaboration with CCA Wattis Institute for Contemporary Arts, San Francisco

Curators:
Vincent Crapon
Anna Loporcaro

ADAM LINDER

FULL SERVICE
06/02/2019 - 03/03/2019
Share
 

Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean ambitionne de représenter l’art contemporain sous toutes ses formes. Il met ainsi à l’honneur, pour la première fois en Europe, les cinq « services chorégraphiques » créés par le danseur et chorégraphe Adam Linder. Adam Linder: Full Service est un projet expérimental qui se déroule dans les galeries sur une période de 4 semaines pendant lesquelles les services se suivent et se superposent, telle une exposition dont le contenu évolue en continu. 

Adam Linder, Service No. 5: Dare to Keep Kids Off Naturalism, Kunsthalle Basel, 2017. Performers : Leah Katz, Justin F. Kennedy, Noha Ramadan, Stephen Thompson © Photo : Nicolas Gysin / Kunsthalle Basel

Créés entre 2013 et 2017, les cinq « services chorégraphiques » sont un ensemble de projets imaginés et conçus pour les espaces des musées et des galeries d’art qui questionnent la place et la représentation du corps et de la performance dans l’art contemporain. 

Dans ces services, le matériau de travail d' Adam Linder est le corps du danseur, ou plus exactement, le travail de ce corps qui y est dès lors repensé selon les modes de fonctionnement de l’économie de service. Ainsi, chaque institution qui souhaite les présenter doit signer un contrat qui décrit précisément la relation entre les performeurs (les danseurs), le service chorégraphique qu’ils fournissent (la danse), et le coût de leur travail (danser). C'est cet ensemble qui détermine la durée du projet. 

L’exposition Adam Linder: Full Service est le fruit d’une collaboration entre le Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean et le CCA Wattis Institute for Contemporary Arts à San Francisco. 

Note biographique 

Adam Linder (né en 1983 à Sydney) est un danseur et chorégraphe installé à Berlin. Après une formation en danse classique, il a notamment travaillé au sein du Royal Ballet de Londres, de la Michael Clark Company et de la compagnie Meg Stuart’s Damaged Goods. Il a créé plusieurs oeuvres scéniques, dont Kein Paradiso, qui lui a valu le prestigieux Mohn Award à l’occasion de la biennale Made in L.A. du Hammer Museum en 2016. La même année, il a participé à la Biennale de Sydney et à la Biennale de Liverpool. Ses services chorégraphiques ont récemment été présentés à la Fondation Serralves à Porto (2018), à la South London Gallery à Londres (2018), à la Kunsthalle Basel (2017), au Schinkel Pavillon à Berlin (2016) et à l’Institute of Contemporary Art à Londres (2015). Une monographie publiée par le Hammer Museum et intitulée Who Is Surfing Who: Adam Linder est disponible depuis mars 2018. 

Performances

Mudam Luxembourg a choisi de louer les cinq Services chorégraphiques d’Adam Linder, offrant ainsi une vue d’ensemble de l’approche singulière de l’artiste de la danse et la performance. Chacun de ces services est présenté pendant quatre semaines, investissant un espace d’exposition. Chaque service est interprété successivement, mais ils se chevauchent également au sein de différentes combinaisons, donnant lieu à de nouvelles juxtapositions et hybridations entre les corps et les mouvements.

L'exposition Full Service rassemble les cinq Services Chorégraphiques de l’artiste Adam Linder. Les danseurs sont au travail les mercredis de 16h00 à 21h00 (de 14h00 à 18h00 le 06.02.2018) et du jeudi au dimanche de 12h00 à 18h00 (de 13h00 à 18h00 pour le Service nº 5).

Service nº 1: Some Cleaning (2013)

Choreographic Service No. 1: Some Cleaning, 2013. Duration variable, one dancer. Pictured at Kunstverein Hannover. Performer: Enrico Ticconi

Service nº 1: Some Cleaning (2013)
06.02 - 10.02.2019
Un performeur vient nettoyer, rafraîchir ou remettre en ordre un espace en particulier de manière chorégraphique et à l’aide d’un éventail d’actions lui permettant d’organiser, de dépoussiérer, d’ajuster et de restructurer l’espace physiquement mais aussi symboliquement.

Service nº 2: Some Proximity (2014)

Choreographic Service No. 2: Some Proximity, 2014. Duration variable, two dancers and a writer. Pictured at Museum of Modern Art, Warsaw. Performer: Justin Kennedy © Bartosz Stawiarski. A project of Silberkuppe, Berlin and Live, Frieze, London

Service nº 2: Some Proximity (2014)
06.02 - 24.02.2019

Un critique d’art élabore en direct des réflexions critiques sur le lieu même où il est invité à travailler tandis que deux danseurs relaient ce texte en le traduisant à travers leurs propositions vocales et corporelles.

Service nº 3: Some Riding (2015)

Choreographic Service No. 3: Some Riding, 2015. Duration variable, two dancers. Pictured at Institute of Contemporary Arts, London. Performers: Frances Chiaverini, Adam Linder © Mark Blower. Commissioned by ICA, London

Service nº 3: Some Riding (2015)
13.02 - 17.02.2019

Deux danseurs récitent deux essais de Catherine Dammanand et Sarah Lehrer-Graiwer, sur les notions d’incarnation et de performance. Bougeant de manière lente et progressive (adagio), ils produisent aussi des sons de claquement; sorte de rebonds robotiques qui viennent ponctuer leurs mouvements et la lecture des textes.

Service nº 4: Some Strands of Support (2016)

Choreographic Service No.4: Some Strands of Support, 2016.Duration variable, two dancers. Pictured at Wattis Institute. Performers: Andrew Hardwidge, Adam Linder © Allie Foraker. Commissioned by Schinkel Pavillon, Berlin 

Service nº 4: Some Strands of Support (2016)
20.02 - 24.02.2019

Deux danseurs se moquent, taquinent, domptent, contraignent ou tapotent un objet vertical ou une statue choisie par le client, à travers des mouvements oscillatoires et à l’aide de prothèses capillaires. Cet acte est habité par les notions de rituel, de fantasme et de désir. Il est absolument plausible que l’objet est en fait au service des danseurs.

Service nº 5: Dare to Keep Kids Off Naturalism (2017)

Choreographic Service No.5: Dare to Keep Kids Off Naturalism, 2017.Duration variable, four dancers. Pictured at Wattis Institute. Performers: Stephen Thompson, Noha Ramadan © Allie Foraker. Commissioned by Kunsthalle Basel, co-produced by Kunsthalle Basel and South London Gallery

Service nº 5: Dare to Keep Kids Off Naturalism (2017)*
27.02 - 03.03.2019

Quatre danseurs, vêtus parfois de costumes élaborés, travaillent ensemble à la réalisation de huit scénarios explicitement « anti naturels ». Ils reconsidèrent et remettent en cause la relation entre leurs sensibilités théâtrales et l’espace d’exposition.
*Indication aux parents : Cette performance inclus une scène de nudité.

Danseurs
Andrew Hardwidge, Josh Johnson, Leah Katz, Justin F. Kennedy, Adam Linder, Robert Malmborg, Noha Ramadan, Brooke Stamp, Enrico Ticconi et Stephen Thompson

Dispositif d’affichage
conçu et réalisé par Shahryar Nashat

Les critiques d’art
pour la performance Some Proximity :
Hannah Gregory et Jonathan P. Watts

Prêt d’oeuvre
pour la performance Some Strands of Support :
Luc Wolff, Starter Kit, 2001
Courtesy Lëtzebuerg City Museum

Remerciements
Anthony Huberman, Leila Grothe, Shahryar Nashat, Andrea Niederbuchner, Anna von Glasenapp et Guy Thewes

L’exposition Adam Linder: Full Service est le fruit d’une collaboration avec le CCA Wattis Institute for Contemporary Arts de San Francisco

Commissaires :
Vincent Crapon
Anna Loporcaro