Exhibitions

2019
 
 
 

ARCIPELAGO BERT THEIS

IN DIFFERENT LOCATION IN LUXEMBOURG AND STRASBOURG

29/03/2019 - 25/08/2019

On the occasion of the retrospective exhibition dedicated to his work running from March 30 to August 25, 2019, the Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean joins forces with various cultural partners to showcase an ensemble of works, both existing or assembled for the first time, and create a “Bert Theis Archipelago” in Luxembourg and beyond. Thanks to their diversity, these projects bring to life the many facets of Bert Theis’ oeuvre and testify to the significance of his legacy.

Arcipelago Bert Theis

BERT THEIS

BUILDING PHILOSOPHY – CULTIVATING UTOPIA

30/03/2019 - 25/08/2019

In spring of 2019, Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean presents the first retrospective exhibition of Luxembourg artist Bert Theis (1952-2016).

Bert Theis

DANH VO

THE MUDAM COLLECTION AND PINAULT COLLECTION IN DIALOGUE

20/04/2019 - 25/08/2019

Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean and Pinault Collection are delighted to announce their collaboration which will offer the public greater insight into their contemporary art collections. A first presentation will be displayed in Mudam’s Sculpture Garden, from 20 April to 25 August 2019, with a selection of emblematic works by the Danish-Vietnamese artist Danh Vo from Pinault Collection.

Danh Vo

LATOYA RUBY FRAZIER

27/04/2019 - 22/09/2019

Coinciding with May 2019, the European Month of Photography, Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean presents a monographic exhibition for one of the most important photographers of her generation, LaToya Ruby Frazier.

LaToya Ruby Frazier

FRESH WINDOW

MUDAM COLLECTION IN THE CITY

30/04/2019 - 26/05/2019

In collaboration with the City of Luxembourg and the city’s Commercial Association, Mudam Luxembourg - Musée d'Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jeanhas invited shopkeepers and storeowners to select a work from the museum's collection for display during the month of May in their stores and premises.

Fresh Window

VIVIAN SUTER. NISYROS

MUDAM COLLECTION

25/05/2019 - 15/09/2019

Nisyros (2017) series is one of Vivian Suter's most significant works. Commissioned for Documenta 14 in Athens, the work was acquired by Mudam for its collection in 2018.

Vivian Suter. Nisyros

ETEL ADNAN ET LES MODERNES

06/06/2019 - 08/09/2019

The Lebanese poet, writer and artist Etel Adnan (*1925) has been making paintings since the 1960s, in which she explores language, translation, memory, history, landscape, abstraction and colour.

Etel Adnan et les Modernes

SUKI SEOKYEONG KANG

BALOISE ART PRIZE – MUDAM COLLECTION

31/08/2019 - 01/02/2020

Part of the presentation of recent acquisitions to the Mudam Collection displayed in autumn 2019, in the museum's Sculpture Garden, Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand- Duc Jean presents a series of sculptures by Suki Seokyeong Kang (*1977), the winner of the 2018 Baloise Art Prize.

Suki Seokyeong Kang

WORLDS IN MOTION

MUDAM COLLECTION

14/09/2019 - 01/05/2020

Worlds in Motion is a thematic presentation of paintings, sculptural installations, photography and film by some 15 contemporary artists from the Mudam Collection that address or embody movement as a physical and perceptual event.

Worlds in Motion

ANRI SALA

12/10/2019 - 05/01/2020

Anri Sala (*1974) presents his first monographic exhibition in the Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg in an ambitious installation across the galleries of level 1, the Grand Hall and the Pavilion of Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean.

Anri Sala

Ausstellungen

2019
 
 
 

ARCIPELAGO BERT THEIS

AN VERSCHIEDENEN ORTEN IN LUXEMBURG UND STRASBURG

29/03/2019 - 25/08/2019

Anlässlich der Retrospektive, die das Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean vom 30. März bis 25. August Bert Theis’ Werk widmet, schließt sich das Museum mit verschiedenen Kulturinstitutionen zusammen, um aus einem Ensemble von – bestehenden oder neuen – Werken ein „Archipel Bert Theis” entstehen zu lassen, das sich über ganz Luxemburg und gar über seine Grenzen hinaus erstreckt. Die verschiedenen Beiträge lassen in ihrer Vielseitigkeit die zahlreichen Facetten der Arbeit von Bert Theis aufscheinen und zeugen von der Bedeutung seines Erbes.

Arcipelago Bert Theis

BERT THEIS

BUILDING PHILOSOPHY – CULTIVATING UTOPIA

30/03/2019 - 25/08/2019

Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean widmet das gesamte Erdgeschoss der ersten Retrospektive des luxemburgischen Künstlers Bert Theis (1952–2016), bei der über 100 Werke zu sehen sein werden.

Bert Theis

DANH VO

LA COLLECTION MUDAM ET LA COLLECTION PINAULT EN DIALOGUE

20/04/2019 - 25/08/2019

Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean et la Collection Pinault ont le plaisir d’annoncer leur collaboration dont l’ambition est d’offrir au public un regard sur leurs collections d’art contemporain. La première présentation se tiendra dans le jardin des sculptures du Mudam, du 20 avril au 25 août 2019, avec un groupe d’oeuvres emblématiques du dano-vietnamien Danh Vo, artiste, dont plusieurs œuvres significatives font partie de la Collection Pinault.

Danh Vo

LATOYA RUBY FRAZIER

27/04/2019 - 22/09/2019

Anlässlich des Europäischen Monats der Fotografie (Mai 2019) widmet das Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean LaToya Ruby Frazier, die als eine der bedeutendsten Fotografinnen ihrer Generation gilt, eine monografische Ausstellung. 

LaToya Ruby Frazier

FRESH WINDOW

DIE MUDAM SAMMLUNG IN DER STADT

30/04/2019 - 26/05/2019

Im Rahmen einer gemeinsamen Initiative der Stadt Luxemburg und der Union Commerciale de la Ville de Luxembourg mit dem Mudam Luxemburg konnten Ladenbesitzer und Einzelhändler ein Werk aus der Mudam Sammlung auswählen, welches im Mai einen Monat lang in ihren Räumlichkeiten ausgestellt wird. 

Fresh Window

VIVIAN SUTER . NISYROS

MUDAM SAMMLUNG

25/05/2019 - 15/09/2019

Ab Mai wird im Pavillon des Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean mit Nisyros eines der bedeutendsten Werke von Vivian Suter (*1949) zu sehen sein, das anlässlich der Dokumenta 14 in Athen präsentiert und kürzlich vom Mudam erworben wurde.

Vivian Suter . Nisyros

ETEL ADNAN ET LES MODERNES

06/06/2019 - 08/09/2019

Als Dichterin, Schriftstellerin und Künstlerin lässt die Libanesin Etel Adnan mit ihrem seit den 1960er-Jahren entstandenen Werk alle künstlerischen Konventionen hinter sich. In ihrer Arbeit führt sie Bild und Wort zusammen, um Fragen rund um Sprache, Übersetzung, Erinnerung, Geschichte, Landschaft, Abstraktion und auch Farbe zu verhandeln.

Etel Adnan et les Modernes

SUKI SEOKYEONG KANG

BALOISE ART PRIZE – MUDAM SAMMLUNG

31/08/2019 - 01/02/2020

Zeitgleich zur Präsentation der jüngsten Erwerbungen und Schenkungen, die im Herbst in der Ostgalerie im Geschoss -1 stattfinden wird, bespielt Suki Seokyeong Kang (*1977), die Gewinnerin des Baloise Kunst-Preises 2018, den Skulpturengarten des Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean.

Suki Seokyeong Kang

WORLDS IN MOTION

MUDAM SAMMLUNG

14/09/2019 - 01/05/2020

Worlds in Motion ist eine thematische Präsentation von Gemälden, skulpturalen Installationen sowie fotografischen und filmischen Werken von rund 15 zeitgenössischen Künstlern aus der Mudam Sammlung, deren Thema Bewegung als physikalisches Ereignis oder Gegenstand der Wahrnehmung ist.

Worlds in Motion

ANRI SALA

12/10/2019 - 05/01/2020

Die Ausstellung von Anri Sala (*1974) im Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean in den Galerien im Geschoss 1, im Grand Hall und im Pavillon, entwickelt sich im Dialog mit der Architektur von Ieoh Ming Pei und ist gleichsam Antwort auf ihre einzigartigen Volumen und Peis Spiel mit der Symmetrie.

Anri Sala