Exhibitions

2018
 
 
 

HARD TO PICTURE

A TRIBUTE TO AD REINHARDT

17/06/2017 - 28/01/2018

In tandem with his writings on art and his pictorial praxis, which would culminate in the radical and emblematic works which his monochrome paintings turned out to be, in the 1930s Ad Reinhardt developed an activity as an illustrator, and published caustically witty drawings in the American press. Through a broad selection of illustrations and drawings, the exhibition underscores the artist’s great freedom of tone and commitment as much with regard to political and social issues as to art, and abstract art in particular.

Hard to picture

FLATLAND / ABSTRACTIONS NARRATIVES #2

07/10/2017 - 02/04/2018

Borrowing its title from a book written in 1884 by Edwin A. Abbott, where the leading characters are geometric forms, and the narrator, a Square, describes his discovery of a three-dimensional world, this group show deals with the way in which, from the 1960s on, artists have drawn inspiration from the formal abstract vocabularies which ran through the 20th century, infiltrating them with narratives. Flatland / Abstractions narratives #2 brings together some thirty artists from different generations.

Flatland / Abstractions narratives #2

SU-MEI TSE

NESTED

07/10/2017 - 02/04/2018

Marked by her cosmopolitan origins, between Europe and Asia, and by her interest in the world’s acoustic dimension, Su-Mei Tse’s praxis is permeated by issues such as time, memory, rhythm, and language. Assuming the most varied of forms – sculptures, videos, photographs, installations –, her works invariably create shifts between different fields.

Su-Mei Tse

JOÃO PENALVA

03/03/2018 - 16/09/2018

The Portuguese artist João Penalva creates poetic fictions, that stimulate our imagination. His visual tales, whether of an intimate character or large staged installations, combine painting, photography, video and documents; image, text and sound.

João Penalva

ANNE TERESA DE KEERSMAEKER / ROSAS: WORK/TRAVAIL/ARBEID

14/04/2018 - 15/04/2018

What would it mean for a choreography to be performed as an exhibition? 

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas: Work/Travail/Arbeid

NO MAN’S LAND

NATURAL SPACES, TESTING GROUNDS

27/04/2018 - 09/09/2018

Sanctuarization is one of the responses to ecological concerns about natural territories: the desired solution as such, but also one which results from effects induced by military or political situations.

No Man’s Land

KATINKA BOCK

SMOG / TOMORROW’S SCULPTURE

27/04/2018 - 02/09/2018

Folding, wrapping, moulding, rubbing, balancing, falling... Katinka Bock's sculptures are made from materials such as clay, stone, wood, copper, and bronze and result from simple gestures that are directly legible in the form of the artwork.

Katinka Bock

SUSUMU SHINGU

SPACESHIP

17/05/2018 - 06/01/2019

Susumu Shingu’s art could not exist without the wind. His elegant sculptures are animated by the slightest breath and thereby reveal the intangible but omnipresent nature of air.

Susumu Shingu

PAINTINGS FROM THE 1980S AND 1990S

MUDAM COLLECTION

29/09/2018 - 31/03/2019

Starting in the autumn of 2018, Mudam launches a new cycle unveiling the museum’s collection and its history. This first chapter features a rich selection of paintings from the 1980s and 1990s. It presents the diversity of possibilities offered by the medium in terms of a history of painting.

Paintings from the 1980s and 1990s

JEFF WALL

APPEARANCE

05/10/2018 - 06/01/2019

Since the late 1970s, Jeff Wall, a major art figure in recent decades, has been developing an oeuvre which has greatly changed the way we look at the photographic medium. By including it within a pictorial tradition and thinking about its relations to the other arts – painting, first and foremost, but also film, literature and theatre –, he has re-defined its essence and opened up a whole avenue of possibilities. This major exhibition brings together some thirty works by the artist, both recent and older.

Jeff Wall
Page 1 Page 2 Next >

Ausstellungen

2018
 
 
 

HARD TO PICTURE

A TRIBUTE TO AD REINHARDT

17/06/2017 - 28/01/2018

Parallel zu seinen Schriften zur Kunst und seinem malerischen Schaffen, das schließlich zu so radikalen und symbolischen Werken wie seinen monochromen Gemälden führte, war Ad Reinhardt seit den 1930er Jahren auch als Illustrator tätig, der in der amerikanischen Presse bissig-humoristische Zeichnungen veröffentlichte. Die Ausstellung unterstreicht die große Freiheit in der Ausdrucksweise sowie den Einsatz des Künstlers sowohl im Bereich politischer und gesellschaftlicher Themen als auch in der abstrakten Kunst.

Hard to picture

FLATLAND / ABSTRACTIONS NARRATIVES #2

07/10/2017 - 02/04/2018

Diese Gruppenausstellung übernimmt ihren Titel von einem literarischen Werk Edwin A. Abbotts aus dem Jahr 1884, dessen Protagonisten geometrische Formen sind und in welchem der Erzähler, ein Quadrat, seine Entdeckung einer dreidimensionalen Welt beschreibt. Sie widmet sich der Art und Weise, wie sich Künstler seit den 1960er Jahren von den abstrakten Form-Vokabularen inspirieren lassen, die das 20. Jahrhundert durchdrungen haben, um sie mit Geschichten zu unterwandern.

Flatland / Abstractions narratives #2

SU-MEI TSE

NESTED

07/10/2017 - 02/04/2018

Von ihren kosmopolitischen Ursprüngen zwischen Europa und Asien sowie von ihrem Interesse für die klangliche Dimension der Welt geprägt, wird die künstlerische Praxis von Su-Mei Tse von Themen wie Zeit, Erinnerung, Rhythmus oder auch Sprache durchdrungen. Ihre Werke, die die unterschiedlichsten Formen annehmen – Skulpturen, Videos, Fotografien, Installationen –, erschaffen jeweils Übergänge zwischen verschiedenartigen Bereichen.

Su-Mei Tse

JOÃO PENALVA

03/03/2018 - 16/09/2018

Der portugiesische Künstler João Penalva schafft poetische Fiktionen, die unsere Fantasie stimulieren. Seine visuellen Geschichten, ob kleine Arbeiten von persönlichem Charakter oder raumgreifende inszenierte Installationen, kombinieren Malerei, Fotografie, Vudeo und Dokumente; Bild, Text und Ton.

João Penalva

ANNE TERESA DE KEERSMAEKER / ROSAS: WORK/TRAVAIL/ARBEID

14/04/2018 - 15/04/2018

Was würde es bedeuten, wenn eine Choreographie wie eine Ausstellung präsentiert werden würde? Diese Frage bildet den Ausgangspunkt von Work/Travail/Arbeid.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas: Work/Travail/Arbeid

NO MAN’S LAND

NATURRÄUME, VERSUCHSFELDER

27/04/2018 - 09/09/2018

Die Errichtung von Sperr- und Schutzgebieten ist eine der vielen Reaktionen, die aus der Sorge um die Umwelt erwachsen. Sie entstehen in Bereichen, die ausdrücklich für diesen Zweck vorgesehen wurden, aber auch in ehemaligen politischen oder militärischen Sperrgebieten.

No Man’s Land

KATINKA BOCK

SMOG / TOMORROW’S SCULPTURE

27/04/2018 - 02/09/2018

Falten, einrollen, gießen, drücken, rubbeln, Gleichgewicht erzeugen, fallen… – die Skulpturen, die Katinka Bock aus Materialien wie Ton, Stein, Holz, Kupfer oder Bronze produziert, entstehen aus einfachen Gesten, die sich unmittelbar an der Form des Werkes ablesen lassen. 

Katinka Bock

SUSUMU SHINGU

SPACESHIP

17/05/2018 - 06/01/2019

Ohne Wind wäre die Kunst von Susumu Shingu nicht denkbar. Seine eleganten Skulpturen erwachen beim kleinsten Windhauch zum Leben, um auf diesem Wege das unfassbare Element Luft spürbar zu machen.

Susumu Shingu

GEMÄLDE DER 1980ER- UND 1990ER-JAHRE

MUDAM COLLECTION

29/09/2018 - 31/03/2019

Im Herbst 2018 beginnt im Mudam ein neuer Ausstellungszyklus, bei dem die Museumssammlung und ihre Geschichte mittels wechselnder Exponate vorgestellt werden. Der erste Abschnitt vereint eine umfangreiche Auswahl an Werken aus den 1980er- und 1990er-Jahren. Diese macht ganz unterschiedliche Formen der Möglichkeiten der Malerei mit Blick auf ihre Geschichte sichtbar.

Gemälde der 1980er- und 1990er-Jahre

JEFF WALL

APPEARANCE

05/10/2018 - 06/01/2019

Jeff Wall gehört seit Jahrzehnten zu den prägenden Persönlichkeiten des Kunstbetriebs. Seit den späten 1970er-Jahren widmet er sich einem Werk, das unser Verständnis von Fotografie maßgeblich verändert hat. Wall verortet seine Arbeit in einer größeren piktoralen Tradition und sieht sie in einem Kontext mit anderen Künste – vor allem Malerei, aber auch Film, Literatur und Theater. Auf diesem Wege definiert er das Wesen der Fotografie neu und eröffnet ihr neue Möglichkeiten. Im Rahmen dieser großen Ausstellung sind rund dreißig jüngere und ältere Werke des Künstlers zu sehen.

Jeff Wall
Page 1 Page 2 Next >