Exhibitions

2019
 
 
 

PAINTINGS FROM THE 1980S AND 1990S

MUDAM COLLECTION

29/09/2018 - 31/03/2019

Starting in the autumn of 2018, Mudam launches a new cycle unveiling the museum’s collection and its history. This first chapter features a rich selection of paintings from the 1980s and 1990s. It presents the diversity of possibilities offered by the medium in terms of a history of painting.

Paintings from the 1980s and 1990s

ART & CRAFT

05/10/2018 - 10/03/2019

Inventive and displaying considerable freedom, the six artists gathered in this exhibition re-explore the field of traditional arts and revisit various means of expression from the fields of applied arts and architecture.

Art & Craft

NAIRY BAGHRAMIAN

PRIVILEGED POINTS

19/01/2019 - 22/09/2019

Following the 2018 acquisition of Privileged Points - a monumental sculpture work by Iranian artist Nairy Baghramian (*1971) - into the Mudam Collection, Mudam Luxembourg - Musee d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean is proud to invite Baghramian to present her work for the launch of the Park Dräi Eechelen new sculpture programme.

Nairy Baghramian

SUBJECTS OF LIFE

PHOTOGRAPHY IN THE MUDAM COLLECTION

31/01/2019 - 22/09/2019

As part of the ongoing series of presentations dedicated to the Mudam Collection, Subjects of Life highlights a selection of emblematic artworks from the museum’s collection of photography. This selection encourages a reflection on the medium through questions of representation and the effects of the image on our perception of reality, notions of territory, and the represented subject.

Subjects of Life

ADAM LINDER

FULL SERVICE

06/02/2019 - 03/03/2019

Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean aims to present contemporary art in all its forms. Adam Linder: Full Service is an experimental project that takes place in the galleries over a period of four weeks.

Adam Linder

JUTTA KOETHER

TOUR DE MADAME

16/02/2019 - 12/05/2019

Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean presents a major exhibition of Jutta Koether (*1958), a retrospective dedicated to her paintings co-organised with the Brandhorst Museum, Munich.

Jutta Koether

ARCIPELAGO BERT THEIS

IN DIFFERENT LOCATION IN LUXEMBOURG AND STRASBOURG

29/03/2019 - 25/08/2019

On the occasion of the retrospective exhibition dedicated to his work running from March 30 to August 25, 2019, the Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean joins forces with various cultural partners to showcase an ensemble of works, both existing or assembled for the first time, and create a “Bert Theis Archipelago” in Luxembourg and beyond. Thanks to their diversity, these projects bring to life the many facets of Bert Theis’ oeuvre and testify to the significance of his legacy.

Arcipelago Bert Theis

BERT THEIS

BUILDING PHILOSOPHY – CULTIVATING UTOPIA

30/03/2019 - 25/08/2019

In spring of 2019, Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean presents the first retrospective exhibition of Luxembourg artist Bert Theis (1952-2016).

Bert Theis

Ausstellungen

2019
 
 
 

GEMÄLDE DER 1980ER- UND 1990ER-JAHRE

MUDAM COLLECTION

29/09/2018 - 31/03/2019

Im Herbst 2018 beginnt im Mudam ein neuer Ausstellungszyklus, bei dem die Museumssammlung und ihre Geschichte mittels wechselnder Exponate vorgestellt werden. Der erste Abschnitt vereint eine umfangreiche Auswahl an Werken aus den 1980er- und 1990er-Jahren. Diese macht ganz unterschiedliche Formen der Möglichkeiten der Malerei mit Blick auf ihre Geschichte sichtbar.

Gemälde der 1980er- und 1990er-Jahre

ART & CRAFT

MUDAM COLLECTION

05/10/2018 - 10/03/2019

Mit reichlich Erfindungsreichtum und viel künstlerischer Freiheit widmen sich die sechs ausgewählten Künstler den traditionellen Künsten und erproben Ausdrucksformen aus dem Bereich des Kunsthandwerks oder der Architektur.

Art & Craft

NAIRY BAGHRAMIAN

PRIVILEGED POINTS

19/01/2019 - 22/09/2019

Als Neuzugang in der Mudam Sammlung ist die Iranerin Nairy Baghramian mit ihrer monumentalen Skulptur Privileged Points zu Gast im Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean, um die aus insgesamt drei Skulpturen bestehende Serie vorzustellen. Die Neuerwerbung wird im Grand Hall zu sehen sein, während die beiden anderen Arbeiten einen Platz auf der Esplanade des Parks Dräi Eechelen erhalten und damit den Auftakt für das neue Museumsprogramm außerhalb der Mauern des Mudam bilden. 

Nairy Baghramian

SUBJECTS OF LIFE

FOTOGRAFIE IN DER MUDAM SAMMLUNG

31/01/2019 - 22/09/2019

Als Teil einer Reihe von Sammlungspräsenta­tionen des Mudam zeigt Themen des Lebens eine Auswahl bedeutender Arbeiten aus dem Bereich der Fotografie. Als Anregung zum Nachdenken über das Medium der Fotografie mag die Auswahl auch Fragen danach stellen, welchen Einfluss bestimmte Darstellungen und Bildeffekte auf unsere Wahrnehmung von Wirklichkeit haben.

Subjects of Life

ADAM LINDER

FULL SERVICE

06/02/2019 - 03/03/2019

Ziel des Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean ist es, zeitgenössische Kunst in all ihren Erscheinungsformen zu präsentieren. So würdigt das Museum als erste Institution in Europa die fünf Choreografic Services des Tänzers und Choreografen Adam Linder.

Adam Linder

JUTTA KOETHER

TOUR DE MADAME

16/02/2019 - 12/05/2019

Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean präsentiert die bislang umfangreichste Retrospektive des malerischen Werks von Jutta Koether. Die Ausstellung Tour de Madame, die zuvor im Museum Brandhorst in München zu sehen war, nimmt Gemälde aus insgesamt vier Jahrzehnten in den Blick.

Jutta Koether

ARCIPELAGO BERT THEIS

AN VERSCHIEDENEN ORTEN IN LUXEMBURG UND STRASBURG

29/03/2019 - 25/08/2019

Anlässlich der Retrospektive, die das Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean vom 30. März bis 25. August Bert Theis’ Werk widmet, schließt sich das Museum mit verschiedenen Kulturinstitutionen zusammen, um aus einem Ensemble von – bestehenden oder neuen – Werken ein „Archipel Bert Theis” entstehen zu lassen, das sich über ganz Luxemburg und gar über seine Grenzen hinaus erstreckt. Die verschiedenen Beiträge lassen in ihrer Vielseitigkeit die zahlreichen Facetten der Arbeit von Bert Theis aufscheinen und zeugen von der Bedeutung seines Erbes.

Arcipelago Bert Theis

BERT THEIS

BUILDING PHILOSOPHY – CULTIVATING UTOPIA

30/03/2019 - 25/08/2019

Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean widmet das gesamte Erdgeschoss der ersten Retrospektive des luxemburgischen Künstlers Bert Theis (1952–2016), bei der über 100 Werke zu sehen sein werden.

Bert Theis