Of our faces (and our bodies)

For suddenly there had swarmed up from those round chambers underground a ghastly troop of monsters. Hideously masked or painted out of all semblance of humanity, they had tramped out a strange limping dance round the square. (1)

Vue de l'exposition Le meilleur des mondes
À gauche Gilbert & George : Twenty-Eight Streets, 2003
Collection Mudam Luxembourg, © Photo : Andrés Lejona

Historical art and modern art museums are full of human representations which, transposed into real life, provoke dread: can you imagine being face to face with one of the Colossus of the Sistine Chapel of Michelangelo or with a cubist personage by Picasso? The beauty of a work of art is therefore not necessarily that of the reality and the Mudam collection spills over with figures of a monstrous charm (Katharina SieverdingCindy Sherman).

But even without distortions, the faces and bodies which people contemporary art transport us into a strange universe and transform the real subjects into elusive icons: the monumentality and the photographic precision of a portrait by Franz Gertsch render the face of a girl just as abstract as an ancient goddess; the intimacy with which Nan Goldin captures scenes of her friends from life transforms these marginal instants and enhances them to the rank of archetypes of urban life; the intensity of the performances by Marina Abramović in which she compares the expectations created by the artistic canons sometimes confer on her the aura of a martyr.

Of course, humour, irony and self-derision are rarely absent at roll call, and show themselves sometimes palpably (Gilbert & George), sometimes disturbingly (Alain Declercq), sometimes through cinematographic references (Edgar Honetschläger). Or, it’s simply a matter of observing and understanding something which appears to speak for itself but which, upon reflection, proves to be an eminently more complex subject: this can be said of western cultural practices (Thomas Struth) or of the urgent budding of adolescence (Katrin Freisager).

And even when the representation seems only to reflect the reality of a testimony, artificiality is present, through the organisation of the work of art or through the technique of the actors: the face is both the first truth and the first lie of a human being (Gerard Byrne).

(1) Aldous Huxley, Brave New World, 1932

Von unserem Antlitz (und unserem Körper)

Denn aus den runden unterirdischen Kammern schwärmte plötzlich eine gespenstische Schar von Ungeheuern hervor. Grässlich maskiert oder so stark bemalt, dass alle Ähnlichkeit mit menschlichen Wesen verschwunden war, stampften sie in sonderbar hinkendem Tanz rund um den Platz. (1)

Vue de l'exposition Le meilleur des mondes
À gauche Gilbert & George : Twenty-Eight Streets, 2003
Collection Mudam Luxembourg, © Photo : Andrés Lejona

Museen alter und moderner Kunst sind voll von Darstellungen vom Menschen, die, wenn man sie sich im wirklichen Leben vorstellen würde, Schrecken hervorriefen. Was würden wir fühlen im Angesicht der Riesen der Sixtinischen Kapelle von Michelangelo, oder angesichts einer Person aus der kubistischen Malerei Picassos? Die Schönheit eines Werkes ist also nicht notwendigerweise an die Wirklichkeit gebunden – und die Sammlung des Mudam versammelt viele menschliche Darstellungen mit dem Charme von Ungeheuern (Katharina SieverdingCindy Sherman).

Aber selbst ohne Deformationen versetzen die Gesichter und Körper, die sich in der zeitgenössischen Kunst tummeln, uns in merkwürdige Welten und verwandeln wirklichkeitsgetreue Darstellungen in ungreifbare Ikonen: die Monumentalität und fotografische Präzision der Porträts von Franz Gertsch lassen das Gesicht des Mädchens ebenso abstrakt erscheinen wie eine antike Göttin; die intime Vertrautheit, mit der Nan Goldin Details aus dem Leben ihrer Freunde dokumentiert, verwandelt diese so unbedeutenden Augenblicke zu Archetypen des städtischen Lebens; die Intensität der Performances von Marina Abramović, in denen sie sich mit den vom künstlerischen Kanon verursachten Erwartungen auseinander setzt, verleiht ihr augenblicksweise die Aura einer Märtyrerin.

Sicher, auch Humor und (Selbst-)Ironie fehlen meist nicht und sind mitunter geradezu greifbar (Gilbert & George), manchmal beunruhigend (Alain Declercq), und manchmal versteckt in Filmzitaten zu finden (Edgar Honetschläger). Oder es geht einfach nur ums Beobachten und darum, von scheinbar selbstverständlichen Dingen zu berichten, die aber, wenn man es sich genauer überlegt, doch von enormer Komplexität sind: zum Beispiel so manche Kulturpraktiken des Westens (Thomas Struth) oder das unaufhaltsame Sichentfalten der Jugend (Katrin Freisager).

Und selbst wenn eine Inszenierung nur als Zeugnis verstanden werden soll – sie ist kunstvoll, sei dies durch die Gestaltung des äußeren Rahmens oder durch das Spiel der Schauspieler: das Gesicht wird dabei oft zum Spiegel tieferer Wahrheiten oder menschlicher Lügen (Gerard Byrne).

(1) Aldous Huxley, Brave New World, 1932