SUKI SEOKYEONG KANG

BALOISE ART PRIZE – MUDAM COLLECTION
31/08/2019 - 01/02/2020
Share
 

Part of the presentation of recent acquisitions to the Mudam Collection displayed in autumn 2019, in the museum's Sculpture Garden, Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand- Duc Jean presents a series of sculptures by Suki Seokyeong Kang (*1977), the winner of the 2018 Baloise Art Prize. In her practice Seokyeong Kang combines sculpture, painting, weaving, video and performance. Working within these different mediums she creates evolving installations for a space in which the body plays a key role when considered in terms of its position and movement. The sculptures Grandmother Tower – tow #18-01 and Rove and Round – face, mat, belly, #18-01, are the focus of this display that are conceived and devised specifically for the spaces of Mudam. 

Suki Seokyeong Kang, Grandmother Tower – tow #18-01, 2018. Collection Mudam Luxembourg, Donation 2018 – Baloise Group © Photo : Suki Seokyeong Kang 

Donated to Mudam by the Groupe Baloise, the two sculptures are the start to a series that Seokyeong Kang continues to develop today, a series which draws upon personal and family memories. Using a formal graphic vocabulary of lines, surface planes, colours and textures she makes connections between various registers of sensitivity, at once visual, musical and choreographic. In her creative process the artist incorporates the know-how of traditional Korean culture: be it painting, which Seokyeong Kang studied and from which elements of her physical engagement originate, or Jeongganbo, an ancient Korean music scoring system set out in the form of a grid. While Suki Seokyeong Kang's works are each conceptually autonomous, the artist arranges them meticulously within the space, focusing on a general harmony that is activated and set in physical or visual motion by the intervention of the performer or by the use of video. 

Biographical note 

Suki Seokyeong Kang was born in 1977, she lives and works in Seoul. She has had several solo exhibitions and projects including at the ICA Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (2018), Pearl Lam Galleries, Hong Kong (2016), Audioviual, Seoul (2015), Gallery Factory, Seoul, and at Space Can, Seoul (2013). Her work was included in group exhibitions at MAK Center for Art and Architecture, LA (2018), Tensta Konsthall, Stockholm (2018), Contemporary Art Center, Seoul (2017), as well as at Sungkok Art Museum, Seoul (2015). She participated in the Liverpool Biennial (2018) and in the Gwangju Biennale (2016). She was awarded with the Art Basel Prize in 2018, the 13th Songeun Art Award in 2013, and the Bloomberg New Contemporaries in 2012. Her work is held in the collections such as the National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Korea, Samsung Medical Center, Seoul and Seoul Museum of Art, Korea, as well as National Art Bank, Seoul.

Suki Seokyeong Kang, Rove and Round - face, mat, belly #18-01, 2018. Collection Mudam Luxembourg, Donation 2018 – Baloise Group © Photo: Suki Seokyeong Kang

Curator:
Marie-Noëlle Farcy

SUKI SEOKYEONG KANG

BALOISE ART PRIZE – MUDAM SAMMLUNG
31/08/2019 - 01/02/2020
Share
 

Zeitgleich zur Präsentation der jüngsten Erwerbungen und Schenkungen, die im Herbst in der Ostgalerie im Geschoss -1 stattfinden wird, bespielt Suki Seokyeong Kang (*1977), die Gewinnerin des Baloise Kunst-Preises 2018, den Skulpturengarten des Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean. Die aus Südkorea stammende Künstlerin vereint in ihrer Praxis Skulptur, Malerei, Web- und Videokunst sowie Performance. Im Spiel mit diesen Medien komponiert sie evolutive Installationen im Raum, in denen der Körper sowohl durch seine Positionierung als auch durch seine Bewegungen eine zentrale Rolle spielt. Die Skulpturen Grandmother Tower – tow #18-01 und Rove and Round – face, mat, belly, #18-01, die das Museum anlässlich der Ausstellung für seine Sammlung erworben hat, bilden das Herzstück dieser eigens für die Schau im Mudam entwickelten Präsentation. 

Suki Seokyeong Kang, Grandmother Tower – tow #18-01, 2018. Collection Mudam Luxembourg, Donation 2018 – Baloise Group © Photo : Suki Seokyeong Kang 

Diese beiden wichtigen Werke, für die die Künstlerin vor allem aus Familienerinnerungen schöpfte, dienten als Ausgangspunkt für Serien, die Kang gegenwärtig noch weiter fortsetzt. Mithilfe ihres formalen grafischen Vokabulars , mit Linien, Oberflächen, Farben und Texturen, lässt sie die Zusammenhänge zwischen den verschiedenen Registern des sinnlich Wahrnehmbaren visueller, musikalischer und choreografischer Natur, entstehen. Weiterhin greift sie in ihrem Schaffensprozess auf traditionelle gestalterische Techniken der koreanischen Kultur zurück – sei es die Malerei, in der sie ausgebildet wurde und von der ihr das körperliche Engagement des im kreativen Prozess verhafteten Malers geblieben ist, oder das Jeongganbo, ein altes koreanisches Notationssystem in Form eines Rasters. Obgleich die Werke von Suki Seokyeong Kang formal und konzeptuell unabhängig voneinander sind, ordnet die Künstlerin sie minutiös im Raum an, um so zu einer grundlegenden Harmonie zu finden, die jederzeit physisch durch einen Performanceakt oder visuell durch eine Videoprojektion in Bewegung versetzt werden kann. 

Kurzbiografie 

Suki Seokyeong Kang wurde 1977 geboren, sie lebt und arbeitet in Seoul. Ihrer Arbeit wurden zahlreiche monografische Ausstellungen und Projekte gewidmet, in Institutionen wie dem ICA Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (2018), Pearl Lam Galleries, Hong Kong (2016), Audioviual, Seoul (2015), Gallery Factory, Seoul und Space Can, Seoul (2013). Sie nahm teil an Gruppenausstellungen im MAK Center for Art and Architecture, Los Angeles (2018), in der Tensta Konsthall, Stockholm (2018), im Contemporary Art Center, Seoul (2017) sowie im Sungkok Art Museum, Seoul (2015). Sie nahm auch teil an der Liverpool Biennial (2018) und der Gwangju Biennale (2016). Suki Seokyeong Kang ist die Gewinnerin des Baloise Art Prize, 2018, des 13. Songeun Art Award, 2013 und des Bloomberg New Contemporaries, 2012. Ihre Werke befinden sich u.a. in den Sammlungen des National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Seoul, des Samsung Medical Center, des Seoul und Seoul Museum of Art, Korea, sowie der National Art Bank, Seoul.

Suki Seokyeong Kang, Rove and Round - face, mat, belly #18-01, 2018. Collection Mudam Luxembourg, Donation 2018 – Baloise Group © Photo: Suki Seokyeong Kang

Kurator:
Marie-Noëlle Farcy