19/06/2010 - 19/09/2010

For the exhibition Sketches of Space, Mudam has invited eight artists to occupy the museum with projects specifically conceived for the occasion. Presented in all the rooms devoted to temporary shows, the installations enhance different approaches to the notion of space through their diversity.

Simone Decker : Second Life, 2010, Production Mudam Luxembourg, avec la participation de Prefalux et avec la collaboration du MNHA, © Photo : Andrés Lejona

Physical intervention to the architecture of Ieoh Ming Pei, game of construction and deconstruction, relating the interior to the exterior of the building, immersive environment, installation disorientating the viewer, response to the institutional context... Each of these propositions sketches another perception of the museum by redrawing its contours.

German artist Michael Beutler intervenes in two places in the museum. For his installation Flip, presented in one of the ground floor galleries, the walls built after the museum’s opening (for the requirements of temporary exhibitions) are cut out and displaced by using steel structures in the shape of semicircles the size of the walls. Reclining flat on the structures, the walls now horizontally divide the space. In counterpoint to Flip, the artist has also modified the access to the rooms devoted to Mudam Collection by erecting (with the help of a lift-up table) walls of plaster and pieces of coloured paper produced in situ.

Zilvinas Kempinas : Ballroom, 2010, Production Mudam Luxembourg, © Photo : Zilvinas Kempinas

Faithful to her usual approach which consists of taking the context of her intervention as a starting point, Luxembourg artist Simone Decker has come up with a large-scale installation for the Grand Hall that echoes the previous exhibition, Brave New World (from the perspective of Mudam Collection). A tower, mostly composed of storage cases for artworks from the museum’s collection, allows visitors to climb to the heights of the Grand Hall and reach the summit of the atrium. From here, they may discover a new point of view on the building and the exterior, as well as on the collection and, generally, the museum as an institution.

Numerous artworks by Belgian artist Ann Veronica Janssens explore the limits of perception of time and space using “immaterial” and evanescent elements such as light, sound or fog. “What interests me”, says the artist, “is what escapes, not to fix it in its escape but, on the contrary, to experience the ungraspable. The installation she has dreamed up for the exhibition takes the form of a large screen crossing the gallery on which are inscribed, by back projection, luminous beams of different colours producing a rapid, almost hypnotic pulsation, liable to provoke retinal persistance in the eye of the viewer.

Peter Kogler : Untitled (Mudam), 2010, Composition sonore : Franz Pomassl, Commande, Production et Collection Mudam Luxembourg, © Photo : Andrés Lejona

Lithuanian artist Zilvinas Kempinas has worked for several years with magnetic tapes from analogic recording materials to develop installations which, by extending the research of kinetic art and op art in the 1960s, play with our spatial perception. White Noise is composed of a multitude of magnetic tapes arranged in the space so as to form a screen which, lit from behind and animated by air currents, produces vibration effects that recall the “white noise” that appeared on badly tuned television screens. In his installation Ballroom, visitors are invited to move through an environment featuring red and blue lights, magnetic tapes and reflective surfaces put in motion by suspended ventilators in such a way that spatial bearings are disturbed.

In his video installations, Austrian artist Peter Kogler superimposes onto exhibition spaces virtual spaces in which recurring motifs (ants, rats, abstract shapes...) proliferate and invade the walls, floor and ceiling. His installation for Sketches of Space is composed of a 360° projection, covering all the gallery wallspace, thus presenting a virtual environment in which viewers are invited to immerse themselves. The initial motif in this case is an abstract grid, composed of a mesh of ligns in perpetual movement, in which organic shapes appear and disappear. The space progressively dissolves through the transformations.

Vincent Lamouroux : Prodrome, 2010, Production Mudam Luxembourg, avec le soutien de Prefalux, © Photo : Andrés Lejona

The installation by French artist Vincent Lamouroux takes as a starting point a series of fictional architectural structures described by Edgar Allan Poe in three texts written in 1840, The Domain of Arnheim, Landor’s Cottage and The Philosophy of Furniture, that his first French translator, Charles Baudelaire, aimed to bring together in a collection with the evocative title Habitations imaginaires (Imaginary Dwellings). The modules created by Vincent Lamouroux from these descriptions dialogue with the particularly stated style of Pei’s architecture.

Since 2002, Italian artists Raffaella Spagna and Andrea Caretto have developed a joint practice that explores the relationships that link humans to their natural environment. Their projects, which are often long term ones, give rise to installations presenting their recent investigations and experiments concerning questions including the transformation of matter, the notion of ecosystems, the process of morphogenesis, the domestication of natural elements and the relationship between wilderness and cultivation. For Sketches of Space, Raffaella Spagna and Andrea Caretto are presenting an installation conceived as a network of “isles”, mainly concerning shapes generated in an autonomous way by certain natural elements, be they organic or mineral.

Avant-plan : Michael Beutler : pilF (Fuma Na Banja), 2005/2010, Production Mudam Luxembourg
Arrière-plan : Cindy Sherman : Untitled # 318 (Mask), 1996, Collection Mudam Luxembourg
© Photo : Andrés Lejona

Marie-Noëlle Farcy
Christophe Gallois
Enrico Lunghi
Clément Minighetti

In partnership with


Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

Nous trouver

+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

SKETCHES OF SPACE

19/06/2010 - 19/09/2010
Share
 

Für die Ausstellung Sketches of Space lädt Mudam acht KünstlerInnen ein, das Museum mit speziell für diese Gelegenheit konzipierten Projekten zu bespielen. Ihre Installationen werden in den für Wechselausstellungen vorgesehenen Sälen zu sehen sein und werden, aufgrund ihrer Vielfalt, unterschiedliche Herangehensweisen an den Begriff des Raumes demonstrieren.

Simone Decker : Second Life, 2010, Production Mudam Luxembourg, avec la participation de Prefalux et avec la collaboration du MNHA, © Photo : Andrés Lejona

Direkter Eingriff in die Architektur des Ieoh Ming Pei, Spielerei der Konstruktion und der Dekonstruktion, Verbindung zwischen dem Gebäudeinneren und der Außenwelt, Raum virtueller Immersion, Herausforderung an die Sehgewohnheiten der Besucher, Infragestellung des institutionellen Kontextes... In jedem dieser Projekte wird die Wahrnehmung des Museums auf ganz eigene Weise skizziert und neu umrissen.

Der deutsche Künstler Michael Beutler greift an zwei Orten ins Museum ein. Für seine Installation Flip zerlegt er die Wände, die nach der Museumseröffnung für Wechselausstellungen in einer der Galerien eingebaut worden waren, um sie anschließend mithilfe von wandhohen, bogenförmigen Eisenstrukturen zu kippen. Die auf diesen Strukturen liegenden Wände werden den Raum horizontal teilen. An anderer Stelle modifiziert der Künstler als Kontrapunkt zu Flip den Zugang zu den Ausstellungssälen der Sammlung des Mudam, indem er mithilfe eines Klapptisches Wände errichtet, die vor Ort aus Gips und farbigem Papier hergestellt werden.

Zilvinas Kempinas : Ballroom, 2010, Production Mudam Luxembourg, © Photo : Zilvinas Kempinas

Getreu ihrer üblichen Vorgehensweise, vom Kontext ihrer Intervention auszugehen, hat die Luxemburger Künstlerin Simone Decker für den Grand Hall eine großformatige Installation erdacht, mit der sie auf die vorangehende Ausstellung Schöne Neue Welt (aus Sicht der Mudam Sammlung antwortet. Über einen Turm, der hauptsächlich aus den Transportkisten der Werke der Mudam Sammlung besteht, können die Besucher in den gläsernen Turm des Grand Hall hinaufsteigen. Hier eröffnet sich ihnen eine ganz neue Perspektive auf das Gebäude und sein Äußeres, aber auch auf die Sammlung und die Institution des Museums im Allgemeinen.

Die belgische Künstlerin Ann Veronica Janssens erkundet in zahlreichen Werken mithilfe „immaterieller” und flüchtiger Elemente wie Licht, Ton oder Nebel die Grenzen der Wahrnehmung von Zeit und Raum. „Was mich interessiert”, so die Künstlerin, „ist das flüchtige, jedoch nicht, weil ich es in seinem Entgleiten aufhalten wollte, sondern, im Gegenteil, um mit diesem ‚Ungreifbaren’ zu experimentieren.” Für die Ausstellung hat sie eine quer durch den Raum verlaufende große Leinwand konzipiert, auf der mittels Rückprojektion verschiedenfarbige Bündel schnell pulsierenden Lichts zu sehen sind, die in ihrer nahezu hypnotischen Wirkung Nachbildeffekte auf der Netzhaut der Betrachter auslösen können.

Peter Kogler : Untitled (Mudam), 2010, Composition sonore : Franz Pomassl, Commande, Production et Collection Mudam Luxembourg, © Photo : Andrés Lejona

Der litauische Künstler Zilvinas Kempinas arbeitet seit einigen Jahren mit Magnetbändern für Videoaufnahmen, um daraus Installationen zu entwickeln, die in einer Fortführung der Methoden der kinetischen Kunst und der Op-Art der 1960er Jahre mit unserer Raumwahrnehmung spielen. White Noise besteht aus einer Vielzahl von Magnetbändern, die so im Raum angeordnet sind, dass sie einen Bildschirm bilden, der, von hinten angestrahlt und von Luftströmen bewegt, vibriert und einen Effekt hervorruft, der an das „weiße Rauschen” erinnert, das man von schlecht eingestellten Fernsehbildschirmen kennt. Mit seiner Installation Ballroom bietet er dem Besucher die Gelegenheit, eine Umgebung aus blauem und rotem Licht und zahlreichen, durch Ventilatoren in Bewegung versetzten Magnetbändern und Spiegelflächen zu erleben, das die für die Raumwahrnehmung üblichen Bezugspunkte durcheinander wirbelt.

In seinen Videoinstallationen überlagert der österreichische Künstler Peter Kogler Ausstellungsräume durch virtuelle Räume, in denen es von seinen immer wiederkehrenden Motiven der Ameisen, der Ratten und abstrakter Motive wimmelt, die Wände, Böden und Decken besiedeln. Seine Installation für Sketches of Space besteht aus einer 360-Grad-Projektion, die sich über alle Wände des Raumes erstreckt und den Besucher zum Eintauchen in eine virtuelle Umgebung einlädt. Das Grundmotiv besteht hier aus einem abstrakten Raster, einer Netzstruktur sich ständig bewegender Linien, in der schließlich auch organische Formen auftauchen und wieder verschwinden. Im Verlauf dieser Verwandlungen scheint sich der Raum nach und nach aufzulösen.

Vincent Lamouroux : Prodrome, 2010, Production Mudam Luxembourg, avec le soutien de Prefalux, © Photo : Andrés Lejona

Die Installation des französischen Künstlers Vincent Lamouroux beruht auf einer Reihe fiktiver architektonischer Strukturen, die von Edgar Allan Poe in den 1840er Jahren in den drei Abhandlungen Das Gut zu Arnheim, Landors Landhaus und Die Philosophie der Einrichtung beschrieben wurden und die Charles Baudelaire, sein erster französischer Übersetzer, in einer Sammlung mit dem vielsagenden Titel Habitations imaginaires (Imaginäre Wohnungen) zusammentragen wollte. Die von Vincent Lamouroux auf der Grundlage dieser Beschreibungen geschaffenen Elemente stehen im Dialog zum besonders klaren Stil der Architektur I. M. Peis.

Die italienischen Künstler Raffaella Spagna et Andrea Caretto arbeiten seit 2002 an einer gemeinsamen künstlerischen Methode zur Erkundung der Beziehungen, die den Menschen mit seiner natürlichen Umgebung verbinden. Bei ihren häufig langfristig angelegten Projekten präsentieren sie in Installationen ihre neusten Recherchen und Experimente rund um Themen wie die Umwandlung von Materie, den Begriff des Ökosystems, den Prozess der Morphogenese, die Zähmung der Naturgewalten und die Beziehung zwischen dem Natürlichen, Wilden und dem Kultivierten. Für Sketches of Space haben Raffaella Spagna und Andrea Caretto eine Installation nach dem Prinzip eines Netzwerks aus „kleinen Inseln” konzipiert, bei der ihr Interesse vor allem den Formen gilt, die von bestimmten organischen, aber auch mineralischen Elementen der Natur auf autonome Weise hervorgerufen werden.

Avant-plan : Michael Beutler : pilF (Fuma Na Banja), 2005/2010, Production Mudam Luxembourg
Arrière-plan : Cindy Sherman : Untitled # 318 (Mask), 1996, Collection Mudam Luxembourg
© Photo : Andrés Lejona

Kuratoren
Marie-Noëlle Farcy
Christophe Gallois
Enrico Lunghi
Clément Minighetti

In Zusammenarbeit mit

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von
Musée national d’histoire et dart Luxembourg