17/11/2010 - 10/04/2011

Through the works in its collection, Mudam explores a spirit that, since Marcel Duchamp, continues to infuse contemporary artistic creation. The practices of misappropriation and irony serve the critical spirit of the artists and give them the distance and the filters necessary to bring a sense of play to the serious business of their quest.

Christoph Büchel : No Future, 2008, Collection Mudam Luxembourg

Since the end of the last century, subversion, appropriation and recuperation are all practices that numerous contemporary artists have indulged in with undisguised pleasure. First in line is Marcel Duchamp, an inveterate chess player who, with a magisterial stroke, forced a stalemate in art in 1917 by exhibiting a urinal signed R. Mutt. Above all, the Dada movement (a name chosen at random from a dictionary) invented a playful, anti-establishment artform in response to the rational madness of a society profoundly effected by a murderous world conflict. Whether they seek to critique our habits and certainties or are merely interested in the poetry of daily life, these artists (who are often endowed with a biting humour) share a taste for play and do not hesitate to demolish the codes of art and society.

View of the exhibition Premier étage – Second degré. Collection Mudam
© Photo: Andrés Lejona

General Idea was an artists’ collective in the 1980s that was emblematic of the art of subversion, mocking the shortcomings of a materialistic society by turning its own imagery against it, by way of corporate, publicity and press visuals. The Pasta Paintings are eloquant in this way as everybody can immediately recognize the Visa and Mastercard logos rendered in pasta.

The appropriation of media techniques and pratices in order to highlight their vacuousness is also characteristic of Claude Closky’s art. Guili-Guili lays out to infinity a series of drawings made up of pages taken from magazines, the original meaning of which is undermined by the artist. A comic effect arising from inoffensive balloons containing onomatopaeia and interjections is difficult to resist: “Argh”, “Tagada” and “Caramba” sanctimoniously exclaim the protagonists of this world of glossy images.

Beaurin Domercq : Beaurin Domercq, 1998, Collection Mudam Luxembourg

Some artists display a deliberately provocative or punk attitude, including Albert Oehlen with the Spanish title of his painting Bobo Alegre conjuring up the figure of the “Happy Imbecile”, John Giorno whose invectives are brazenly presented on coloured backgrounds, and Christoph Büchel who invited a quartet of charming eighty-year-olds to sing “God Save the Queen” by the Sex Pistols. No Future. Yes, but which one?

Other more zany ones don’t hesitate to put themselves in somewhat ridiculous situations such as Heimo Zobernig in his video N°24 where he faces (in a combat with heroic undertones) assaults from the colours red, green and blue which try to make him literally disappear. It is the artist fighting against abstract art in a way… The poetry of the absurd also permeates the “'pataphysical” films by João Maria Gusmão and Pedro Paiva in which the laws of physics seem to be abolished and the supernatural comes surreptitiously to the fore.

Avant-plan : Jürgen Drescher : Zu groß für übers Sofa, 1984, Collection Mudam Luxembourg

Another, more prosiac, sort of game using appropriated objects and pre-existing forms is deployed in the work of artists such as Tony Cragg and Jürgen Drescher. One “paints” with the help of found materials while the other rips out his kitchen floor and mounts it as a painting-sculpture. Moreover, subversion seems to intrude in all fields of creative activity: the designer Sam Baron takes up the production of traditional Portuguese earthenware and reinterprets vernacular forms while stylist Martin Margiela invents objects with multiple functions.

While the first floor of the museum is now devoted to the thematic presentation of the collection, the exhibition Premier étage - Second degré offers an introduction, without preconceptions, to artworks in which subversion and poetry, humour and criticism are mixed together and collide.

À gauche : Martin Margiela : Veste artisanale « Sac de Voyage » & Handbag, 2006. À droite : Walter Van Beirendonck : Terror Mask, 2003 - 2004

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

Nous trouver

+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

PREMIER ÉTAGE - SECOND DEGRÉ

MUDAM COLLECTION
17/11/2010 - 10/04/2011
Share
 

In vielen Werken der Mudam Sammlung spiegelt sich eine Geisteshaltung, die seit dem Schaf- fen Marcel Duchamps im zeitgenössischen Kunstgeschehen spürbar ist. Die Methoden des „Détournement”, d.h. der Umdeutung, und der Ironie verleihen der kritischen Haltung der Künstler die nötige Distanz und dienen ihnen als Filter für den spielerischen Teil ihrer erns- thaften Auseinandersetzungen.

Christoph Büchel : No Future, 2008, Collection Mudam Luxembourg

Seit dem Beginn des vergangenen Jahrhunderts sind die Verfahren des Détournements, der Appropriation oder auch des Recyclings Methoden, die zahlreiche zeitgenössische Künstler mit sichtbarem Vergnügen anwenden. Allen voran ist da Marcel Duchamp zu nennen, der als eingefleischter Schachspieler die Kunst mit einem meisterlichen Zug in ein Patt getrieben hat, als er im Jahr 1917 ein mit R. Mutt signiertes Urinoir ausstellte. Und dann erst recht die Dada-Bewegung, deren Name nach dem Zufallsprinzip aus einem Wörterbuch genommen wurde und deren Kunst voller spielerischem Protest war gegen den vernunftgesteuerten Wahnsinn einer Gesellschaft, die tief durch den ersten Weltkrieg verunsichert war. Ob all diese Künstler mit ihrem mitunter zerstörerischen Humor sich nun unserer Gewohnheiten und Gewissheiten annehmen oder ob sie sich einfach für das Poetische im Alltag interessieren, sie lieben das Spiel und zögern nicht, die Spielregeln der Kunst und unserer Gesellschaft auseinander zu nehmen.

Ansicht der Ausstellung Premier étage – Second degré. Collection Mudam
© Foto: Andrés Lejona

So war beispielsweise General Idea während der 80er Jahre eine für die Kunst der Subversion ganz typische Künstlergruppe, die sich über den Irrsinn der materialistischen Gesellschaft lustig machte, indem sie deren Markenikonen, Werbebilder und Pressezitate gegen sie verwandte. In dieser Hinsicht sind die Pasta Paintings aussagekräftig, denn jeder erkennt sofort in ihnen die Logos der Kreditkartenfirmen Visa und Mastercard, die hier aus Nudeln zusammen gesetzt sind.

Ein typischer Zug der Kunst von Claude Closky ist die Verwendung von Technologie und Methodik aus dem Bereich der Medien, deren Leere er voller Ironie deutlich macht. So ist Guili-Guili eine schier endlose Serie von Zeichnungen, bei der der Künstler den ursprünglichen Sinn der aus Zeitschriften geschnittenen Seiten unterhöhlt. In harmlosen Sprechblasen liest man lautmalerische Worte oder Ausrufe von entwaffnender Komik: „Argh”, „Tagada” oder „Caramba” rufen die scheinheiligen Bewohner aus dieser Hochglanzwelt.

Beaurin Domercq : Beaurin Domercq, 1998, Collection Mudam Luxembourg

Manche Künstler nehmen eine absichtlich provokative bzw. eine Punk-Haltung ein, wie zum Beispiel Albert Oehlen, dessen Bild mit dem spanischen Titel Bobo Alegre an den „Glücklichen Irren” erinnert. Oder John Giorno, dessen Beschimpfungen frech auf dunklem Hintergrund stehen, oder auch Christoph Büchel, der ein Quartett reizender Achtzigjähriger gebeten hatte, „God Save the Queen” von den Sex Pistols zu singen. No Future. Ja, aber welcher?

Andere, vielleicht noch verrückter, zögern nicht, sich der Lächerlichkeit preis zu geben, wie beispielsweise Heimo Zobernig in seinem VideoN°24, wo er in einem heroischen Kampf gegen die Farben Rot, Grün und Blau beinahe zum Verschwinden gebracht wird. Der Künstler, der gegen die abstrakte Kunst kämpft, vielleicht ist es das… Ähnlich findet man eine ebenso absurde Poesie in den „'pataphysischen” Filmen von João Maria Gusmão und Pedro Paiva, in denen die Gesetze der Physik aufgehoben zu sein scheinen und das Übernatürliche heimlich die Herrschaft übernommen zu haben scheint.

Avant-plan : Jürgen Drescher : Zu groß für übers Sofa, 1984, Collection Mudam Luxembourg

Ein anderes, vielleicht prosaischeres Spiel ist das der Aneignung bereits existierender Objekte oder Formen, die sich dann in Arbeiten von Künstlern wie Tony Cragg oder Jürgen Drescher wiederfinden. Der eine „malt” mit Recyclingmaterial, der andere nimmt seinen Küchenfußboden und verwandelt ihn in ein skulpturales Bild. Das Verfahren des Détournements scheint sich übrigens auch in anderen Bereichen kreativen Schaffens auszubreiten: so greift der Designer Sam Baron traditionelle portugiesische Fayencen auf und spielt mit diesen alten, einheimischen Formen, während der Modemacher Martin Margiela kuriose multifunktionale Objekte entwirft.

Während also nun das Obergeschoss des Museums dazu dient, die Sammlung unter thematischen Gesichtspunkten zu präsentieren, ermöglicht es die Ausstellung Premier étage - Second degré, dort auf unvoreingenommene Weise Kunstwerken zu begegnen, in denen Subversion und Poesie, aber auch Humor und Kritik aufeinander prallen und sich miteinander verbinden.

À gauche : Martin Margiela : Veste artisanale « Sac de Voyage » & Handbag, 2006. À droite : Walter Van Beirendonck : Terror Mask, 2003 - 2004