WORLDS IN MOTION

MUDAM COLLECTION
14/09/2019 - 01/05/2020
Share
 

Worlds in Motion is a thematic presentation of paintings, sculptural installations, photography and film by some 15 contemporary artists from the Mudam Collection that address or embody movement as a physical and perceptual event. 

Conrad Shawcross, Slow Arc Inside a Cube IV, 2009, Collection Mudam Luxembourg, Acquisition 2011 © Photo : Conrad Shawcross

The attentive eye of photographer Jochen Lempert (*1958) extracts beauty from its most unassuming manifestations, such as a glow worm in flight becoming a luminous, blurry trail on a black background, while Robert Breer (1926-2011), a pioneer of experimental animated film, accelerates the succession of images and drawings, testing the limits of our perceptive capacity. The Jump (1978) by Jack Goldstein (1945- 2003) embraces rotoscopy, a cinematographic technique that emerged at the end of the 19th century, to transform the filmed jump of a diver into a mechanical image, wrested from reality. 

The light installation Slow Arc Inside a Cube IV (2009) by Conrad Shawcross (*1977) recalls the kinetic experiments of European and Latin American artists of the 1950s, such as Gianni Colombo, or Soto, as well as the animated sculpture of Zilvinas Kempinas (*1969), that seems to challenge the laws of gravity with lightness and poetry. The movement of the world and more broadly of the cosmos emerges from the works of Francisco Tropa (*1968) and Attila Csörgo (*1965). Working across the boundaries of science and art, Csörgo conceives a fragile puppet theatre in which various geometric shapes, all symbols of the physical elements and the cosmos, appear and disappear in a carefully calibrated choreography.

WORLDS IN MOTION

MUDAM SAMMLUNG
14/09/2019 - 01/05/2020
Share
 

Worlds in Motion ist eine thematische Präsentation von Gemälden, skulpturalen Installationen sowie fotografischen und filmischen Werken von rund 15 zeitgenössischen Künstlern aus der Mudam Sammlung, deren Thema Bewegung als physikalisches Ereignis oder Gegenstand der Wahrnehmung ist. 

Conrad Shawcross, Slow Arc Inside a Cube IV, 2009, Collection Mudam Luxembourg, Acquisition 2011 © Photo : Conrad Shawcross

Das aufmerksame Auge des Fotografen Jochen Lempert (*1958) offenbart die Schönheit der alltäglichsten Erscheinungen, etwa im Flug eines Glühwürmchens, der zu einer leuchtenden, flirrenden Spur auf schwarzem Grund gerät, während Robert Breer (1926-2011), einer der Pioniere des experimentellen Trickfilms, in rasender Folge Bilder und Zeichnungen aneinanderreihet, um die Kapazitäten unserer Wahrnehmung auf die Probe zu stellen. Für sein Werk The Jump (1978) arbeitete Jack Goldstein (1945-2003) mit dem Verfahren der Rotoskopie, das Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts aufkam, um den Sprung eines Turmspringers in ein mechanisches Bild zu verwandeln, das der Realität gänzlich enthoben ist. 

Die Lichtinstallation Slow Arc Inside a Cube IV (2009) von Conrad Shawcross (*1977) erinnert an die kinetischen Experimente europäischer und südamerikanischer Künstler wie Gianni Colombo oder Soto in den 1950er-Jahren. Gleiches gilt für die bewegte Skulptur von Zilvinas Kempinas (*1969), die sich den Gesetzen der Schwerkraft mit Leichtigkeit und Anmut zu entziehen scheint. Die Bewegtheit der Welt oder – weiter gefasst – des Kosmos ist Gegenstand der Werke von Francisco Tropa (*1968) und Attila Csörgo (*1965). Letzterer bewegt sich an der Grenze zwischen Wissenschaft und Kunst. In seinem fragilen Marionettentheater haben diverse geometrische Formen ihren Auftritt, die allesamt symbolhaft für physische Elemente und den Kosmos stehen und deren Auftauchen und Verschwinden nach den Vorgaben einer sorgsam komponierten Choreografie erfolgt.