JUTTA KOETHER

TOUR DE MADAME
16/02/2019 - 12/05/2019
Vernissage 15/02/2019 18h00
Share
 

Tour de Madame is the first major retrospective dedicated to the painting of Jutta Koether (*1958, Cologne, Germany). Long associated with writing, music and performance, Koether’s painterly oeuvre shown in this densely sweeping presentation highlights her pictorial and conceptual approach to painting over four decades. Koether’s painting constantly confronts the conditions of its own production, as a site of reflection on the act of looking and the perspectives such an act might bring to bear according to who is looking, how and when. The exhibition crucially highlights the historical significance of Koether’s oeuvre as a counter-history to the (male-dominated) canons of modernism and post-modernism, and the understanding of painting in our contemporary world as part of a dynamic set of historical, cultural and social relations.

Jutta Koether , Starry Night II, 1988. Courtesy de l'artiste et de la Galerie Buchholz, Berlin/Cologne/New York © Jutta Koether

The exhibition at Mudam is organised as three moments. In the west gallery, a retrospective view of 45 paintings created between 1983 and 2016 is presented in a salon style of double hanging that references collectors’ cabinets, and the memory of the first retrospective exhibition staged by Pablo Picasso in Paris in 1932. Presented in the east gallery is the eponymous Tour de Madame, a cycle of 15 paintings made by Koether for the exhibition. In the pavilion gallery, Koether presents her creative universe as a dynamically orchestrated audio-visual environment.

The installation of paintings in the west gallery spans Koether’s beginnings in Cologne in the 1980s, her move to New York in the 1990s, and paintings from the 2000s. The evolution from the small format, tightly composed canvases to more graphically lyrical and open pictorialism on a large scale is evident, as are recurring narrative, pictorial and conceptual themes. They include the use of colour, a dialogue with the history of painting and its conventions, music and the performative dimension of painting, together with motifs such as the sphere, stars and planets, the bruised grid, and the human body.

From 1987, Koether used the colour red as a conceptual prism through which she explored female representations in art, popular culture and media. Ganz (100% Malerei-Niemand ist eine Frau), 1991, presents several symbols that are emblematic for the artist: a woman’s face projected on to a globe emerging from a bountiful composition made of conflicting energies.

The large-scale paintings presented in the centre of the gallery, beginning with The Inside Job painted in 1992, mark Koether’s arrival in New York and that was followed by a series of important exhibitions at the Pat Hearn Gallery. Their gestural exuberance and densely worked surfaces give way in the second half of that decade to the monumental unstretched canvas paintings (Lappenbilder) in which motifs of explosive stars and waterflows are rendered in yellow, gold and black. The chromatic emphasis on particular colours, such as red, but also yellow, and black finds continued refrain in works of varying scales and facture in paintings such as WB I (William Burroughs), 1997, and Unganzheitsymbole: K(Hommage an Kenneth Anger), 2004.

In these as in many of Koether’s paintings, language, in the form of words or annotated phrases, is omnipresent, an allusion to the importance of both writing and drawing for the artist, as well as to the idea of painting as a form of script or text. Music is another important influence for Koether who visually transposes rhythms borrowed from rock and jazz, song titles and lyrics that evoke the aesthetics of Heavy Metal, Techno and Punk music, in the so-called ‘Liquid Glass’ paintings that combine fashion accessories and chains caught in layers of poured resin.

Throughout her career Koether has engaged in an evolving dialogue with the history of painting, its narratives and its formal conventions. Subjects and compositional motifs from classical and modern painting are present in paintings dating from the 1980s through to the more recent works of the late 2000s and 2010s. An insight into these sources and their juxtaposition with images from contemporary culture and Koether’s direct life experiences is revealed in the multi-channel projection in the pavilion gallery. A quasi-architectural moment of pause in the installation, the ‘Bruised Grids’ serve as motifs for micro-contemplation within Koether’s larger compositions and continue her dialogue with a more recent history of painting, in particular, the grids of Agnes Martin as a form of ‘storing time’.

In the east gallery, Koether’s most recent cycle of 15 paintings, Tour de Madame, offers a retrospective view of her painterly practice and resumes preoccupations that characterise her oeuvre since the 1980s. The intersecting curved, glass supports for the paintings are a reference to the disposition designed by Cy Twombly for the permanent installation of his painting cycle Lepanto in the Brandhorst Museum, Munich, reflecting Koether’s interest in the presentation of the conditions of painting. The transparent layering of support and canvas relates to painting under the digital conditions of our image-flooded present. The title plays on the word ‘tour’ which has literary associations for Koether with the 16th century writer Michel de Montaigne, and to the idea of making a tour – the Grand Tour, that was part of the necessary formation for any European painter in the 18th century, and the movement of ideas, bodies and of course painting, across space and time.

The multichannel installation Cosmos of Images presents reproductions of Koether’s painting series Fresh Aufhebung (not presented at Mudam), a video of the performance, Touch and Resist, made with Amy Granat, and digitised images, preparatory sketches, texts, and photographs from Koether’s notebooks. Together, they offer insight into Koether’s creative universe. 

Biographical note 

Jutta Koether was born in Cologne in 1958. She lives and works in Berlin and New York. Her work has been the subject of recent exhibitions at the Museum Brandhorst in Munich (2018), PRAXES Center for Contemporary Art in Berlin (2013), Arnolfini in Bristol (2013), Dundee Contemporary Arts in Dundee (2013), the Moderna Museet in Stockholm (2011), the Van Abbemuseum in Eindhoven (2009), among others. Her works are part of collections displayed at major international museums, such as the Whitney Museum of American Art in New York, the MoMA in New York, the MOCA in Los Angeles, the Nationalgalerie in Berlin, the City of Paris’ Museum of Modern Art, the Art Institute of Chicago and Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean.

Curators:
Suzanne Cotter, assisted by Vincent Crapon 

Exhibition design:
METAFORM architects

The exhibition Tour de Madame is organised in collaboration with Museum Brandhorst, Munich.

The organisation of the exhibition has benefitted from funding by the German Federal Cultural Foundation.

Publication

Jutta Koether . Tour de Madame 
Éditeurs : Achim Hochdörfer, Tonio Kröner
Publié par : Mudam Luxembourg, Museum Brandhorst et Walther König
Auteurs : Manuela Ammer, Benjamin H. D. Buchloh, Julia Gelshorn, Achim Hochdörfer, Branden W. Joseph, Tonio Kröner, Michael Sanchez, Anne Wagner
Direction artistique : Joseph Logan, Katy Nelson
Version EN : ISBN 978-3-96098-360-6
Version DE : ISBN 978-3-96098-359-0
371 pages
Prix : 40€

JUTTA KOETHER

TOUR DE MADAME
16/02/2019 - 12/05/2019
Vernissage 15/02/2019 18h00
Share
 

Tour de Madame ist die erste bedeutende Retrospektive, die der Malerei der 1958 in Köln geborenen Jutta Koether gewidmet ist, einer Künstlerin, die man lange Zeit eher mit Texten, Musik und Performance in Verbindung gebracht hatte. Die vier Jahrzehnte umfassende Präsentation der Bildwelten Koethers hebt ihren vor allem malerischen und konzeptuellen Zugang zu dieser Disziplin hervor. Koethers Malerei befragt beständig die Bedingungen ihrer eigenen Herstellung; sie ist ein Ort der Reflexion über das Schauen und darüber, wer wie und wann schaut. Die Ausstellung unterstreicht die historische Bedeutung von Koethers Werk als eines gegenläufigen zummeist männlich dominierten Kanon der Moderne und der Postmoderne, wie auch ihre Vorstellung von der zeitgenössischen Malerei als eingebunden in ein Geflecht aus sozialen, kulturellen und historischen Bezügen.

Jutta Koether , Starry Night II, 1988. Courtesy de l'artiste et de la Galerie Buchholz, Berlin/Cologne/New York © Jutta Koether

Die Ausstellung im Mudam gliedert sich in drei Teile. Die Westgalerie bietet einen retrospektiven Blick auf 45 Gemälde aus der Zeit von 1983 bis 2016, die, in einer salonartigen Hängung präsentiert, sowohl an das Kabinett eines Kunstliebhabers erinnern, als auch an die erste Retrospektive von Pablo Picasso 1932 in Paris. Das im Titel der Ausstellung erwähnte Werk Tour de Madame ist eine Reihe von 15 eigens hierfür realisierten Bildern, die in der Ostgalerie zu sehen sind. Im Pavillon präsentiert Koether ihr kreatives Universum in Form einer dynamischen audio-visuellen Installation.

Die Installation von Gemälden in der Westgalerie umfasst Werke aus Koethers künstlerischer Anfangszeit im Köln der 1980er Jahre, aus ihrer New Yorker Zeit in den ’90ern und Gemälde aus der Zeit seit 2000. Die Entwicklung von der kleinformatigen, straff komponierten Leinwand hin zu einem grafischeren Lyrismus, zu einer offenen Bildhaftigkeit im großen Format ist nicht zu übersehen, ebenso wie wiederkehrende narrative, malerische oder konzeptuelle Themen. Zu ihnen gehören neben der Verwendung der Farbe auch der Dialog zwischen der Geschichte der Malerei und ihren Konventionen, die Musik, die performative Dimension der Malerei, wie auch Motive wie die Kugel, Sterne und Planeten, das sog. „bruised grid” und der menschliche Körper.

Seit 1987 verwendet Koether die Farbe Rot als konzeptuelles Prisma, durch das sie die Darstellung des Weiblichen in Kunst, Popkultur und in den Medien untersucht. In ganz (100% Malerei-Niemand ist eine Frau) (1991) sieht man beispielsweise mehrere für die Künstlerin typische Symbole: ein auf eine Rundform projiziertes weibliches Gesicht inmitten einer Komposition aus widerstreitenden Energien.

Die in der Mitte des Saales gezeigten großformatigen Gemälde, allen voran The Inside Job von 1992, markieren den Beginn ihrer Zeit in New York, die von einer Reihe wichtiger Ausstellungen in der Pat Hearn Gallery geprägt war. Ihre gestische Fülle und die dichten Oberflächen sollten in der zweiten Hälfte des Jahrzehnts zu den ungespannten Leinwänden der sog. „Lappenbilder” führen, in denen Motive von explodierenden Sternen und Wasserströmen in Gelb, Gold und Schwarz dargestellt sind. Die Konzentration auf bestimmte Farben, auf Rot, aber auch auf Gelb und Schwarz findet sich wiederholt in Bildern von unterschiedlichem Format und unterschiedlicher Faktur wieder, wie bei WB I (William Burroughs) (1997) oder bei Unganzheitsymbole: K (Hommage an Kenneth Anger) (2004).

In diesen wie in zahlreichen anderen Gemälden Jutta Koethers findet sich Sprache in Form von Worten oder kurzen Sätzen, eine Anspielung auf die Bedeutung sowohl des Schreibens, als auch des Zeichnens im Werk der Künstlerin, für die Malen auch eine Art von Schreiben ist. Auch die Musik ist von großem Einfluss auf die Künstlerin, die Rhythmen aus Jazz und Rock visuell umsetzt und Songtitel und -texte aus Heavy Metal, Techno und Punk-Musik in die sog. „Liquid Glass”-Bilder umsetzt, in denen sie Modeaccessoires und Ketten in Schichten von Kunstharz fixiert.

Jutta Koether hat sich während ihrer gesamten Karriere beständig mit der Geschichte der Malerei auseinandergesetzt, mit ihren Erzählweisen und formalen Regeln. Themen und Kompositionen aus klassischen und modernen Gemälden sind bei ihr in Gemälden der 1980er Jahre und bis in die jüngere Vergangenheit zu finden. Einen Überblick über diese Quellen und eine direkte Gegenüberstellung mit Bildern des zeitgenössischen kulturellen Geschehens sowie mit Koethers direktem Lebensumfeld bietet die Multiprojektion im Pavillon des Museums. Als quasi-architektonisches Element in der Installation und in ihren Gemälden sind die „Bruised Grids” („Blaufleckige Gitter”) hervorzuheben, die als Motiv zur Mikrokontemplation in den größeren Kompositionen der Künstlerin dienen und einen Dialog mit der jüngeren Kunstgeschichte unterhalten, insbesondere den Gittern in den Bildern von Agnes Martin, für die sie eine Möglichkeit waren, „Zeit zu lagern”.

In der Ostgalerie bietet Koethers jüngste Reihe der fünfzehn Gemälde von Tour de Madame eine Rückschau auf ihre malerische Praxis und fasst ihre Beschäftigung mit Themen zusammen, mit denen sie sich seit den 1980er Jahren auseinandersetzt. Die geschwungenen Glaswände als Träger für die Gemälde bilden eine Referenz zu der von Cy Twombly selbst konzipierten Hängung seines Zyklus Lepanto im Brandhorst Museum, München, und verweisen auf Koethers Interesse an der Präsentation von Malerei als eine ihrer notwendigen Bedingungen. Die Transparenz in der Schichtung von Träger und Leinwand verweist auf die Malerei im digitalen Zeitalter der gegenwärtigen Bilderflut. Der Titel spielt mit dem Wort „Tour”, mit dem Koether auf den Philosophen des 16. Jahrhunderts, Michel de Montaigne, verweist sowie auf die Idee einer Tour, der Grand Tour, die im europäischen 18. Jahrhundert Teil der Ausbildung der Maler war und Ideen, Körper und natürlich auch Malerei durch Raum und Zeit beförderte.

Die Mehrkanalinstallation Cosmos of Images präsentiert Reproduktionen der Gemälde von Koethers Reihe Fresh Aufhebung (wird nicht im Mudam gezeigt), ein Video der gemeinsam mit Amy Granat realisierten Performance Touch and Resist, sowie digitalisierte Bilder, Skizzen, Texte und Fotos aus Koethers Notizbüchern, die Einblicke in ihr kreatives Universum gewähren.

Kurzbiografie 

Jutta Koether (*1958, Köln), lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und New York. Ihre Arbeit wurde in jüngerer Zeit an Orten wie dem Brandhorst Museum, München (2018) gezeigt, dem PRAXES Center for Contemporary Art in Berlin (2013), dem Arnolfini in Bristol (2013), dem Dundee Contemporary Arts (2013), dem Moderna Museet in Stockholm (2011) oder dem Van Abbemuseum in Eindhoven (2009). Ihre Werke wurden in bedeutende Sammlungen internationaler Museen aufgenommen, wie dem Whitney Museum of American Art in New York, dem MoMA in New York, dem MOCA in Los Angeles, der Nationalgalerie in Berlin, dem Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, dem Art Institute in Chicago und dem Mudam Luxemburg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean.

Kuratoren:
Suzanne Cotter, assistiert von Vincent Crapon 

Ausstellungdesign: 
METAFORM architects

Die Ausstellung Tour de Madame ist in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Museum Brandhorst, München, organisiert.

Die Organisation der Ausstellung wurde von der Kulturstiftung des Bundes gefördert.

Publikation

Jutta Koether . Tour de Madame 
Éditeurs : Achim Hochdörfer, Tonio Kröner
Publié par : Mudam Luxembourg, Museum Brandhorst et Walther König
Auteurs : Manuela Ammer, Benjamin H. D. Buchloh, Julia Gelshorn, Achim Hochdörfer, Branden W. Joseph, Tonio Kröner, Michael Sanchez, Anne Wagner
Direction artistique : Joseph Logan, Katy Nelson
Version EN : ISBN 978-3-96098-360-6
Version DE : ISBN 978-3-96098-359-0
371 pages
Prix : 40€