MUDAM Logo

I’VE DREAMT ABOUT

COLLECTION MUDAM
23/11/2011 - 04/03/2012
Vernissage 23/11/2011 18h00
Share
 

The societies we live in are the outcome of thinking; they take form, they are re-formed, they are transformed and they are revolutionized, above all by the mind. The idea of coming up with “realist utopias”, which may seem a paradoxical expression, is, indeed the feat achieved by those artists endowed with both daring and fantasy who invent worlds with unsuspected outlines, and whose works offset our most diehard habits.

Vue de l’exposition. Avant-plant : Michel Paysant : Nusquam, 2007, Composition sonore de Muadhib. Arrière-plan, droite : Tomás Saraceno : Space Elevator II (working title), 2009 & 1MW/Air-Port-City, 2007. Collection Mudam Luxembourg © Photo : Andrés Lejona

Tomás Saraceno has a go at the free flight game and imagines nomadic dwellings, inflatable structures which can be modulated and also make any idea of boundaries and circumscribed territories obsolete. Above the mere pleasure of conducting experiments, he invites us to shift the way we look at things, and think differently about the political world. Michel Paysant, for his part, metaphorically conjures up that space in the making which is the European Community, a burning issue if ever there was. For Peradam (project), he has thus pushed back the strictly administrative confines, and taken, sample-like, 55 bits of asphalt from different symbolic places, from Mitrovica bridge to the square where Frankfurt’s stock exchange stands, which he has then filmed in a slow continuous movement, like a changing organic entity.

We find the same moving dynamic, forever gestating and evolving, in François Roche’s experimental work, and the R&Sie(n) research platform he has initiated. His multi-facetted maquettes propose novel models of urban expansion. He replaces the principle of city planning applying pre-established rules, by the dynamic of an organic development in which forms produce themselves, and thus become, not the outcome of a concept, but something generated by a principle of energy. Stimulated by the most unexpected architectural experiments, François Roche, together with the artist Philippe Parreno, has responded to the invitation of Rirkrit Tiranavija and Kamin Lertchaiprasert - who have developed the The Land project in the very heart of Thailand, to wit a space of creation and life linked in with surrounding communities and connected to the whole world. They have duly come up with an open structure supplied with electricity by a buffalo’s power. A collective venture during which Tiravanija and Lertchaipasert’s utopian project, R&Sie(n)’s forward-looking architecture, and Parreno’s film with its bewitching atmospheric poetry, The Boy from Mars, all emerge in a connected way, and reciprocally enrich each other.

Julien Grossmann : If I Had Known, 2010, Collection Mudam Luxembourg © Photo : Andrés Lejona

The characters in Judith Walgenbach’s photographs seem informed by a similar spirit of quest and experiment, all given the distinctive signs of the perfect scholar as he appears in our collective imagination. Grey smock, the look on his face concentrated, and spectacles with severe frames, all at once alert to the world and isolated in their searches, they seem to focus on phenomena which the advances and techniques of science enable them to observe.

It is with the same ironical distance, with regard to the idea of scientific progress that, in 2009, Nikolay Polissky created the work Large Hadron Collider for the museum’s Grand Hall. Now on view outside, this sculpture with its fantastic cogs has lost nothing of its evocative power and its capacity to get us to dream. The series of drawings which preceded and went hand-in-hand with the execution of the project helps us to discover the many different developments of this machine which, though directly inspired by the same-named particle accelerator, and extremely complex, technologically speaking, bears the patina of time and is akin to certain rudimentary but fascinating ancient tools.

For their part, Steven C. Harvey’s surprisingly subtle drawings, teeming with details, plunge us into a future with at times apocalyptic overtones. His complex compositions represent so many scenes which draw as much from a collective fount as from fantastic projections. For this artist it is not a matter of being visionary, but of staging visions in which man finds himself confined within an organized, not to say authoritarian system. Chad McCail’s seemingly more larksome, if schematic drawings also plunge us into a world governed by coercive “natural” laws, and the way it is packaged is such that any escape from it seems illusory: the various stages inexorably follow on, one from the other, in a cold progression.

François Roche : I’ve heard about (Modèles de sécrétion), 2005, détail, Collection Mudam Luxembourg © Photo : Andrés Lejona

This disenchantment seems to permeate the work of Michael Ashkin, who develops in space what might be vast desolate urban expanses, as are to be found in American cities. Through an anarchic succession of standardized dwellings, the flaws and cracks of our societies are drawn, in the negative. These societies are revealed in all their harshness, in the raw light of the lens wielded by Paulo Nozolino, a longhaul traveller who never stops globetrotting unto the planet’s farthest flung nooks. His candid eye, which makes no concessions but is not without propriety and delicacy, reveals an extremely sensitive portrait of humankind.

Because, if various hope-inspiring utopias have informed our societies - Nous sommes tous indésirables (“We all are undesirable”) declares the work by Fernando Sánchez Castillo referring to May ’68 slogans in France - many of them have nevertheless been short-lived. Without counting those caught up in rigid ideological systems, which are themselves now vanished or contested. Filip Markiewicz’s Mao Dollar, the video The Partisan Songspiel. A Belgrade Story by Chto Delat? and Vyacheslav Akhunov’s collages involving the figure of Lenin all remind us of the not that distant era when the world was bipolar. So the exhibition I've dreamt about symbolically mingles Thomas More's city of Amaurote and Jerem  Bentham's Panopticon, proof of the complexity of our societies and above all of the significance of the challenges putting the focus on both the hope and the dark side of our projections.

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

I’VE DREAMT ABOUT

COLLECTION MUDAM
23/11/2011 - 04/03/2012
Vernissage 23/11/2011 18h00
Share
 

Unsere Gesellschaften gestalten sich aus dem Denken heraus. Motor ihres Zusammenkommens, ihrer Reformen, ihrer Veränderungen und ihrer Revolutionen ist der menschliche Geist. „Realistische Utopien” zu schaffen – diese auf den ersten Blick paradox klingende Herausforderung ist es, die manch mutige Künstler phantastische, aber uns fremde Universen erschaffen lässt, mit denen sie die uns vertraute Alltagserfahrungen untergraben.

Vue de l’exposition. Avant-plant : Michel Paysant : Nusquam, 2007, Composition sonore de Muadhib. Arrière-plan, droite : Tomás Saraceno : Space Elevator II (working title), 2009 & 1MW/Air-Port-City, 2007. Collection Mudam Luxembourg © Photo : Andrés Lejona

Tomás Saraceno sucht Grenzen zu überwinden, indem er aufblasbare, veränderliche nomadische Wohnstätten ersinnt, die Vorstellungen von Staatsgrenzen und -territorien überholt erscheinen lassen. Aus seinen Arbeiten spricht nicht nur die Experimentierfreude des Künstlers, sie sind auch eine Aufforderung an den Betrachter, die politische Welt aus dieser anderen Perspektive neu zu denken. Auf metaphorische Weise nähert sich auch Michel Paysant dem sich entwickelnden Raum einer europäischen Gemeinschaft - und damit einer der drängendsten Fragen der Gegenwart. Für Peradam (project) hat er die Grenzen aufgehoben und von symbolträchtigen Orten, wie der Brücke von Mitrovica und dem Frankfurter Börsenplatz, 55 Asphaltstücke zusammengetragen, die er in einer langsam gefilmten, kontinuierlichen Bewegung zeigt, in der sie wie sich beständig verändernde, organische Gebilde erscheinen.

Auch die experimentelle Arbeit von François Roche und seiner Forschungsplattform R&Sie(n) ist von dieser beständig sich weiterentwickelnden Dynamik geprägt. Mit seinen Modellen entwirft er innovative Stadtentwicklungskonzepte: Er ersetzt das Prinzip der Stadtplanung nach festgeschriebenen Regeln durch eine dynamische, organische Evolution, in der sich Formen nach einem energetischen Prinzip selbst hervorbringen, statt nach konkreten Plänen zu entstehen. Angeregt durch seine architektonischen Experimente, folgte François Roche gemeinsam mit dem Künstler Philippe Parreno einer Einladung Rirkrit Tiravanijas und Kamin Lertchaipraserts, sich an ihrem in Thailand entstehenden Projekt The Land zu beteiligen, einem mit seiner unmittelbaren Umgebung wie auch mit der übrigen Welt verbundenen kreativen Lebensort. Im Rahmen dieses Projekts schufen Roche und Parreno eine offene Struktur, deren Stromversorgung von der Muskelkraft eines Büffels abhängt. Mit dem Abenteuer dieser Zusammenarbeit konnten das utopische Projekt von Tiravanija und Lertchaiprasert, das zukunftsweisende Bauwerk von R&Sie(n) und die poetische Filmarbeit The Boy from Mars von Parreno sich in ihrer Entstehung gegenseitig bereichern.

Julien Grossmann : If I Had Known, 2010, Collection Mudam Luxembourg © Photo : Andrés Lejona

Die Personen auf den Fotografien von Judith Walgenbach scheinen beseelt von Forschergeist und Experimentierfreude und erscheinen wie „typische” Gelehrte unserer kollektiven Vorstellungswelten: Grauer Kittel, nüchternes Brillengestell und den Blick aufmerksam auf die Welt und konzentriert auf ihre Forschung gerichtet, scheinen sie sich mit Phänomenen zu beschäftigen, deren Beobachtung ihnen der technische Fortschritt der Wissenschaften ermöglicht. Von ähnlich ironischer Distanz zum wissenschaftlichen Fortschritt ist auch die fantastisch anmutende Arbeit Large Hadron Collider, die Nikolay Polissky 2009 für den Grand Hall des Mudam schuf und die mittlerweile ihren Platz in der Außenanlage des Museums gefunden hat und auch dort noch immer den Betrachter zum Träumen anzuregen vermag. Die zu diesem Projekt entstandenen Zeichnungen offenbaren die zahlreichen Entwicklungsphasen der Maschine, die - gleichwohl inspiriert durch den hoch komplexen Teilchenbeschleuniger gleichen Namens - inzwischen diverse Altersspuren trägt und an einfache und dennoch faszinierende altertümliche Apparaturen erinnert.

Die bis ins kleinste Detail mit äußerster Sorgfalt ausgearbeiteten Zeichnungen von Steven C. Harvey entführen den Betrachter in eine apokalyptische Zukunft. Die komplexen Kompositionen schöpfen aus kollektiven Bildwelten ebenso wie aus fantastischen Projektionen. Der Künstler versteht sich hier nicht mehr selbst als Visionär, vielmehr bringt er Visionen zu Papier, in denen der Mensch in einem organisierten oder gar autoritären System gefangen ist. Und selbst wenn Chad McCails schematische Zeichnungen auf den ersten Blick spielerischer erscheinen, tauchen auch sie den Betrachter ein in eine Welt unerbittlicher „Naturgesetze”: Unaufhaltsam spitzt die Situation sich zu, um dem Betrachter schließlich das Blut in den Adern gefrieren zu lassen.

François Roche : I’ve heard about (Modèles de sécrétion), 2005, détail, Collection Mudam Luxembourg © Photo : Andrés Lejona

Ein ähnliches Unbehagen ruft auch die Arbeit von Michael Ashkin hervor, dessen sich in den Raum entwickelnde Installationen an typisch amerikanische trostlose Vorstädte erinnern. Die anarchische Anordnung der standardisierten Wohnhäuser macht die Brüche und Risse unserer Gesellschaft sichtbar, die sich in aller Härte auch im brutalen Licht der Kamera von Paulo Nozolino offenbaren, einem unablässig die Welt durchstreifenden Globetrotter, der auch in ihre entlegensten Winkel vordringt und mit unbedingter Offenheit und der gebotenen Zurückhaltung ein ungeschminktes Porträt der Menschheit zeichnet.

Mögen auch verschiedene hoffnungsvolle Utopien unsere Gesellschaften befruchtet haben - die Slogans vom Pariser Mai ’68 bringt Fernando Sánchez Castillo mit seinem Werk Nous sommes tous indésirables („Wir sind alle unerwünscht”) eindrücklich in Erinnerung - viele von ihnen haben nicht lange überlebt. Ganz zu schweigen von denen, die in die Fänge rigid-ideologischer und heute längst vergessener oder diskreditierter Systeme gelangten: der Mao Dollar von Filip Markiewicz, das Video The Partisan Songspiel. A Belgrade Story von Chto Delat? oder auch die Collagen von Vyacheslav Akhunov rund um die Gestalt Lenins erinnern uns an eine noch nicht allzu lang vergangene Zeit, in der die Welt noch zweigeteilt war. So mischt die Ausstellung I’ve dreamt about auf symbolische Weise Thomas Morus Stadt Amaurotum und das Panoptikum von Jeremy Betham, was von der Komplexität unserer Gesellschaften zeugt und von der Bedeutung der Fragestellungen, an denen sich Licht und Schatten unserer Projektionen entzünden.