23/03/2013 - 08/09/2013
Vernissage 22/03/2013 18h00

At first glance, the three-dimensional pictures by the Dutch artist Folkert de Jong appear seductive and disturbing in equal measure. De Jong generally turns the exhibition space into a theatre stage, for which he designs sceneries made, with great virtuosity, from polyurethane foam, an unusual material in sculpture. Often inspired by historic facts, real persons or memorable episodes from art history, his works unfold in complex compositions that confront the viewer with extremely tangible directness.

Folkert de Jong : Actus Tragicus, 2013, Commande et production Mudam Luxembourg © Photo : Rémi Villaggi

In response to an invitation from Mudam, de Jong presents Actus Tragicus, an ensemble of new works that he has created especially for the Grand Hall. For the artist, this central space in the museum possesses the intimidating dominance of a cathedral or mausoleum, while also being perfect for theatrical presentations, with a balcony to observe from a distance. Ten larger than life figures, whose physiognomies, like a déjà-vu experience, remind the viewer of something familiar, dangle from the heights of the glass dome like marionettes (or hanged people). De Jong's source of inspiration for this bizarre dance of the figures, between which viewers have to make their way as if they were part of the performance, is the painting The Fight Between Carnival and Lent by Pieter Bruegel the Elder, painted in 1559. A crude mixture of allegory and realism, this crowd scene in the typical Bruegel manner contrasts vice and excess with virtue and abstinence in innumerable individual scenes.

The conflict between the extremes of human existence, between ascetic discipline and intemperate pleasure, which comprehends some of the existential questions of humankind that is torn between heaven and earth, is also the focus of de Jong's installation. From time immemorial, people have sought answers to questions regarding power and religion, eternity and finiteness, life and death. These questions are also evoked by Actus Tragicus, as in the early funeral cantata by Johann Sebastian Bach, also known under the title Gottes Zeit ist die allerbeste Zeit (God’s time is the very best time), that gives the work its name. Brought into a contemporary form using modern means and materials, the round dance of the figures involves the viewers in a drama to which each contributes with his or her own role. In this way, de Jong creates a tableau vivant in which the grotesque and the macabre alternate with the light and the airy.

Folkert de Jong was born in 1972 in Egmond aan Zee, Netherlands. He lives and works in Amsterdam.

Folkert de Jong : Actus Tragicus, 2013, Commande et production Mudam Luxembourg © Photo : Rémi Villaggi

Marie-Noëlle Farcy

With the support of


Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

Nous trouver

+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

FOLKERT DE JONG

ACTUS TRAGICUS
23/03/2013 - 08/09/2013
Vernissage 22/03/2013 18h00
Share
 

Die dreidimensionalen Bilder des niederländischen Künstlers Folkert de Jong erscheinen auf den ersten Blick ebenso verführerisch wie verstörend. Üblicherweise macht de Jong den Ausstellungsraum zur theatralischen Bühne, für die er Szenerien entwirft, die mit großer Virtuosität in dem für die Skulptur ungewöhnlichen Material Hartschaum angefertigt werden. Oftmals von historischen Ereignissen, realen Persönlichkeiten oder Episoden aus der Kunstgeschichte inspiriert, entfalten sich seine Werke in komplexen Kompositionen, denen sich der Betrachter in einer deutlich spürbaren Unmittelbarkeit gegenüber sieht.

Folkert de Jong : Actus Tragicus, 2013, Commande et production Mudam Luxembourg © Photo : Rémi Villaggi

Einer Einladung des Mudam folgend, stellt Folkert de Jong nun mit Actus Tragicus ein Ensemble neuer Werke vor, die er speziell für den Grand Hall realisiert hat. Der zentrale Raum des Museums ist für den Künstler von der einschüchternden Dominanz einer Kathedrale oder eines Mausoleums, gleichzeitig wie gemacht für theatralische Inszenierungen, mit einem Balkon, um aus der Distanz zu beobachten. Zehn weit überlebensgroße Gestalten, deren Physiognomien dem Betrachter wie ein Déjà-vu-Erlebnis Bekanntes in Erinnerung rufen, baumeln wie Marionetten (oder wie Gehenkte) von den Höhen der gläsernen Kuppel. De Jongs Inspirationsquelle für diesen bizarren Tanz der Figuren, zwischen die sich der Betrachter fügt, als wäre er Teil der Aufführung, ist das Gemälde von Pieter Bruegel d. Ä., Der Kampf zwischen Karneval und Fasten, von 1559. Auf diesem Vielfigurenbild werden in typisch bruegelscher Manier in einer kruden Mischung aus allegorischer und realistischer Darstellung in zahllosen Einzelszenen Laster und Exzess, aber auch Tugend und Verzicht gegeneinander geführt.

Der Widerstreit zwischen den Extremen menschlicher Existenz, zwischen asketischer Zucht und genussvoller Ausschweifung, mit denen einige der existentiellen Fragestellungen des zwischen Himmel und Erde hin- und hergerissenen Menschen umfasst werden, steht auch für de Jong im Mittelpunkt seiner Installation. Seit alters her sucht der Mensch Antworten auf Fragen nach Macht und Religion, nach Ewigkeit und Endlichkeit, nach Leben und Tod. Auch in Actus Tragicus klingen diese Fragen an, ähnlich wie bereits in der titelgebenden frühen Trauerkantate von Johann Sebastian Bach, die auch unter dem Titel Gottes Zeit ist die allerbeste Zeit bekannt ist. Mit modernen Mitteln und Materialien in eine zeitgenössische Form gebracht, verwickelt der Reigen der Figuren den Betrachter in ein Drama, zu dem jeder mit seiner eigenen Rolle beiträgt. De Jong inszeniert so ein Tableau vivant, in dem sich das Groteske und Makabre mit dem Leichten und Luftigen abwechselt.

Folkert de Jong wurde 1972 in Egmond aan Zee, Niederlande, geboren. Er lebt und arbeitet in Amsterdam.

Folkert de Jong : Actus Tragicus, 2013, Commande et production Mudam Luxembourg © Photo : Rémi Villaggi

Kuratorin
Marie-Noëlle Farcy

Mit Unterstützung von