SUBJECTS OF LIFE

PHOTOGRAPHY IN THE MUDAM COLLECTION
31/01/2019 - 29/09/2019
Share
 

As part of the ongoing series of presentations dedicated to the Mudam Collection, Subjects of Life highlights a selection of emblematic artworks from the museum’s collection of photography. This selection encourages a reflection on the medium through questions of representation and the effects of the image on our perception of reality, notions of territory, and the represented subject. Including works by twelve artists from Europe, Asia, the Middle East and North America, the presentation also underscores the varying approaches to photography within the broader scope of contemporary art practice.

Shirin Neshat, Guardians of Revolution, 1994. Collection Mudam Luxembourg, Apport Focuna © Photo : Christof Weber

Bernd and Hilla Becher (1931–2007 / 1934–2015) use rigorous shooting protocols that enable them to create an inventory of a disappearing industrial world. This archival dimension in the work of the Bechers is also present in the photographs of Luxembourg shop windows by Valérie Belin (*1968) whereas the photographs by Martin Parr (*1952) move between the world of reporting and visual art, and capture with acerbity aspects of contemporary life.

Operating somewhere between investigation and fiction, Sophie Calle (*1953) and Pasha Rafiy (*1980) exploit, through their respective tours around Venice and New York, the narrative potential of images, while the fanciful staging of anonymous fashion aficionados by Kyoichi Tsuzuki (*1956) recreates a new reality. His images, which reveal as much their personalities in a sensitive manner, find resonance in the intimist atmosphere of the portraits of Nan Goldin (*1953) and the lush images from the personal and global universe of Wolfgang Tillmans (*1968) that evoke painterly traditions of portraiture.

Nan Goldin, Käthe in the tub, West Berlin, 1984. Collection Mudam Luxembourg, Acquisition 1997 - Apport Focuna © Photo: Rémi Villaggi / Mudam Luxembourg

SUBJECTS OF LIFE

FOTOGRAFIE IN DER MUDAM SAMMLUNG
31/01/2019 - 22/09/2019
Share
 

Als Teil einer Reihe von Sammlungspräsenta­tionen des Mudam zeigt Themen des Lebens eine Auswahl bedeutender Arbeiten aus dem Bereich der Fotografie. Als Anregung zum Nachdenken über das Medium der Fotografie mag die Auswahl auch Fragen danach stellen, welchen Einfluss bestimmte Darstellungen und Bildeffekte auf unsere Wahrnehmung von Wirklichkeit haben. Die Ausstellung präsentiert zwölf Künstler aus Europa, Asien, dem Nahen Osten und Nordamerika, deren Arbeiten sich mit den Themen des Territoriums und der Figur im weiteren Sinne sowie mit ver­schie­denen Aspekten der zeitgenössischen fotografischen Praxis beschäftigen.

Shirin Neshat, Guardians of Revolution, 1994. Collection Mudam Luxembourg, Apport Focuna © Photo : Christof Weber

Bernd und Hilla Becher (1931–2007 / 1934–2015) folgten stets einem strengen foto­gra­fischen Protokoll, mit dem sie umfassende Inventare einer verschwindenden industriellen Welt erstellten. Dieser dokumentarische Anspruch im Werk der Bechers findet sich auch in den Fotos von luxemburgischen Schaufenster­auslagen von Valérie Belin (*1968), während sich die zwischen Reportage und Kunstfotografie bewegenden Fotos von Martin Parr (*1952) mit Schärfe einige der Aspekte des heutigen Lebens aufs Korn nehmen.

Sophie Calle (*1953) und Pasha Rafiy (*1980) schwanken auf ihren Reisen nach Venedig bzw. New York zwischen Reportage und Fiktion. Sie reizen das erzählerische Potenzial der Bilder aus, während die fantastischen Inszenierungen der Fashion-Victims von Kyoichi Tsuzuki (*1956) eine neue Wirklichkeit erschaffen. In seinen Arbeiten spiegelt sich auf subtile Weise die Persönlichkeit der Dargestellten, ebenso wie dies in den intimistischen Porträts von Nan Goldin (*1953) oder in den üppigen Bilderwelten von Wolfgang Tillmans (*1968) der Fall ist, dessen Porträts an Traditionen der Malerei anknüpfen.