DIDIER MARCEL

10/10/2009 - 03/01/2010
Share
 

Curator: Clément Minighetti

It’s a question of admitting that art is not life and that art is always a difference produced between a real thing and its translation.
Didier Marcel

Sans titre (torso), 2009
Courtesy de l’artiste et galerie Michel Rein, Paris. Produit avec le soutien de Mudam Luxembourg.

A profound artistic curiosity for sculptural questions concerning shape, size, texture and presentation is combined in the work of Didier Marcel with the know-how of an artist capable of orchestrating craftsmen specialised in contemporary materials to conceive sophisticated results.

Sans titre (citron), 2006
Collection privée. Courtesy galerie Michel Rein, Paris.

The often mundane motifs of the works of Didier Marcel draw from the lands of his immediate environment. The tree trunk moulds in polyester resin adopt the position of supporting columns whose fibrous surfaces perfectly reflect the ornamental character of the bark. The presentations in relief of ploughed pieces of earth, objects pulled out of their context through their artificial reproduction or through their presentation on strange devices lend his work an enigmatic distance which the miniature, dilapidated buildings, reduced to sculptures also give.
Extracts of imaginary landscapes or elements of images in space, his works represent the details of a reality whose alienation underlines how the ideas that one has about nature are a cultural production

Sans titre (labours), 2006-2007
Collection Mudam Luxembourg

Didier Marcel is as much interested in plays of scale as he is in the sophisticated framing of his works. The very particular plinth structures, or the production in a sales showroom style, underlines the artificial character of the situation. It is with a certain elegance that the artist refers to art history without, however, citing it too explicitly. Thus, the rangy trunks of Didier Marcel have something of the works of Giacometti, and in his installation, Sans titre (Champ de blé aux corbeaux) (2008), he combines
allusions to one of the last paintings of Van Gogh with a wink to Marcel Duchamp. Didier Marcel responds to the sometimes nostalgic tones of his works with an impeccable technical perfection and surprising coloured accents.

Sans titre (champ de blé aux corbeaux), 2008
Courtesy de l’artiste et galerie Michel Rein, Paris

Vues de l’exposition Didier Marcel
Mudam Luxembourg 10.10.2009 – 03.01.2010
© Photos : Andrés Lejona

DIDIER MARCEL

10/10/2009 - 03/01/2010
Share
 

Kurator: Clément Minighetti

Man muss anerkennen, dass die Kunst nicht das Leben ist und dass die Kunst immer einen Abstand beschreibt zwischen einer wirklichen Sache und ihrer Übersetzung.
Didier Marcel

Sans titre (torso), 2009
Courtesy de l’artiste et galerie Michel Rein, Paris. Produit avec le soutien de Mudam Luxembourg.

In Didier Marcels Werk verbindet sich ein genuin künstler-isches Interesse an bildhauerischen Fragestellungen nach Form, Größe, Oberfläche und Präsentation mit der zeitgenössischen Produktionsweise eines Künstlers, der ein Team von spezialisierten Handwerkern und den Einsatz modernster Technologien orchestrieren und zu präzisen Ergebnissen führen kann.

Sans titre (citron), 2006
Collection privée. Courtesy galerie Michel Rein, Paris.

Didier Marcel bezieht die oft bodenständigen und erdverbundenen Motive seiner Arbeiten aus seiner unmittelbaren Umgebung. Die Polyesterabgüsse säulenhafter Baumstämme von architektonischer Qualität, deren aufwändig beflockte Oberflächen das Ornamenthafte der Rinden betont, die reliefhaft in Szene gesetzten Abbildungen gepflügter Erdschollen und die durch Reproduktion und befremdliche Präsentation aus ihrem Zusammenhang gerissenen Objekte ebenso wie auch die zu Skulpturen verkleinerten, verfallenden Gebäude geben seinem Werk eine rätselhafte Distanz. Als Ausschnitte imaginärer Landschaften oder Bestandteile räumlicher Bilder sind sie Details einer Wirklichkeit, deren Verfremdung umso deutlicher werden lässt, dass selbst die Natur einem kultivierenden Blick unterliegt.

Sans titre (labours), 2006-2007
Collection Mudam Luxembourg

Didier Marcel interessiert sich dabei ebenso sehr für das Spiel mit unterschiedlichen Größenverhältnissen wie für die ausgeklügelte „Einrahmung“ seiner Werke, deren eigenwillige Sockelstrukturen oder verkaufsmessenhafte Präsentation die Künstlichkeit der Situation nur unterstreichen. Dabei schöpft er mit Leichtigkeit aus dem Fundus der Kunstgeschichte. Die Installation Sans titre (Champ de blé aux corbeaux) (2008) vereint Anspielungen auf eines der letzten Bilder Van Goghs mit Elementen der Kunst Marcel Duchamps, während der Künstler selbst in den langen Silhouetten der Baumstämme Anklänge an die schreitenden Figuren Alberto Giacomettis sieht. Dem mitunter leicht nostalgischen Unterton seiner Arbeiten begegnet Didier Marcel mit technischer Perfektion und überraschenden farblichen Akzenten.

Sans titre (champ de blé aux corbeaux), 2008
Courtesy de l’artiste et galerie Michel Rein, Paris

Vues de l’exposition Didier Marcel
Mudam Luxembourg 10.10.2009 – 03.01.2010
© Photos : Andrés Lejona