BEYOND KIOSK

MODES OF MULTIPLICATION
15/03/2009 - 13/09/2009
Share
 

Curator: Christoph Keller
Scenography: Martino Gamper


Initiated by Christoph Keller, publisher and designer who founded, at the beginning of the new millenium, Revolver editions, Beyond Kiosk – Modes of Multiplication is a travelling exhibition dedicated to independent publishing in the fields of contemporary art, design and graphic art. He is extending the Kiosk project, an ever evolving, travelling archive which today includes some 6,000 publications, artists’ books, magazines, videos and audio media linked to contemporary art, which has journeyed, since 2001, between over 20 institutions throughout the world, amongst which are the Frankfurter Kunstverein, Witte de With in Rotterdam, the ICA in London and Artists’ Space in New York. Kiosk is now presented, in a permanent manner, at the Kunstbibliothek, Stiftung Preußischer Kunstbesitz in Berlin.

Focused on approximately 700 works, Beyond Kiosk was conceived as a selection from this archive, aimed at presenting the most relevant examples of independent publishing in contemporary art. Christoph Keller views books as an instrument which can be approached as an artistic medium in itself, going far beyond simple documentation. Favouring modestly priced books which are easy to pick up, he accentuates, above all, the use of books and their circulation: “I’m not a book lover. I do not love to make books, smell books, feel books, own books, store books, touch books, sell books… What I do love though, is to use books. As a way of communicating, multiplying and distributing ideas, as a way to do art.”

For each presentation of Beyond Kiosk, the exhibition’s layout is entrusted to a different artist or designer. Mudam thus invited the designer Martino Gamper, recently noticed for his project, 100 Chairs in 100 Days, at the Design Museum in London in 2007, to imagine the exhibition design. Gamper’s scenography is devised as a platform of multilayered levels. Beyond Kiosk is accompanied by Double Pages, a project initiated by Christoph Keller, designer Jérôme Saint-Loubert Bié, and art historian Catherine de Smet, who invited around 50 graphic designers to photograph two double pages of works which, for them, represent an innovative dialogue between art and graphic design.

Views of the exhibition Beyond Kiosk – Modes of Multiplication
Mudam Luxembourg, 15.03.2009 - 13.09.2009
© Photos: Andres Lejona
Partner of the exhibition

BEYOND KIOSK

MODES OF MULTIPLICATION
15/03/2009 - 13/09/2009
Share
 

Kurator: Christoph Keller
Szenografie: Martino Gamper


Mit Beyond Kiosk – Modes of Multiplication hat der Herausgeber und Designer Christoph Keller, der zu Beginn des Millenniums den Revolver Verlag gründete, eine Wanderausstellung konzipiert, die unabhängigen Publikationen im Bereich der zeitgenössischen Kunst, des Design und der Grafik gewidmet ist. Die Ausstellung ist eine Ausweitung seines Projekts Kiosk, eines sich fortwährend entwickelnden Wanderarchivs, das inzwischen mehr als 6.000 Veröffentlichungen, Künstlerbücher, Zeitschriften, Videos und Tonträger umfasst, im Kontext der zeitgenössischen Kunst. Seit 2001 war das Archiv in mehr als zwanzig Kulturinstitutionen weltweit zu Gast, unter anderem beim Frankfurter Kunstverein, im Witte de With in Rotterdam, in der ICA in London und im Artists’ Space in New York. Gegenwärtig wird Kiosk als Dauerausstellung in der Kunstbibliothek der Stiftung Preußischer Kunstbesitz in Berlin gezeigt.

Beyond Kiosk umfasst rund 700 Werke aus dem Wanderarchiv. Ausgewählt wurden Exponate, die beispielhaft für unabhängige Publikationen im Bereich der zeitgenössischen Kunst sind. Christoph Keller begreift das Buch als Medium, als Mittel der Kunst an sich, dessen Bedeutung weit über den Zweck der schlichten Dokumentation hinausgeht, und bevorzugt Bücher, die preiswert und leicht zu handhaben sind. Ihm geht es vor allem um den Gebrauch und die Verbreitung von Büchern: „Ich bin kein Bücherliebhaber. Meine Leidenschaft gilt nicht dem Büchermachen, mir geht es nicht darum, Bücher zu machen, zu riechen, zu spüren, zu besitzen, anzuhäufen, zu berühren oder zu verkaufen… Mir gefällt es vielmehr, Bücher zu benutzen, mit ihnen Ideen zu kommunizieren und zu verbreiten und damit eine Form von Kunst zu schaffen.”

Jede Ausstellung von Beyond Kiosk wird von einem anderen Künstler oder Designer in Szene gesetzt. Mudam hat den Designer Martino Gamper, der zuletzt mit seinem 2007 im Design Museum in London präsentierten Projekt 100 Chairs in 100 Days für Aufsehen sorgte, eingeladen, diese Aufgabe zu übernehmen. Gamper hat die Ausstellung als Plattform mit vielfachen Ebenen konzipiert. Neben Beyond Kiosk präsentiert Mudam Double Pages, ein gemeinsames Projekt von Christoph Keller, dem Designer Jérôme Saint-Loubert Bié und der Kunsthistorikerin Catherine de Smet. Die drei haben rund 50 Grafiker aufgefordert, jeweils zwei Doppelseiten aus Werken zu fotografieren, in denen nach ihrem Empfinden ein innovativer Dialog zwischen Kunst und grafischer Gestaltung stattfindet.

Ansichten der Ausstellung Beyond Kiosk – Modes of Multiplication
Mudam Luxembourg, 15.03.2009 - 13.09.2009
© Fotos: Andres Lejona
Ausstellungspartner