ARCIPELAGO BERT THEIS

IN DIFFERENT LOCATION IN LUXEMBOURG AND STRASBOURG
29/03/2019 - 25/08/2019
Share
 

At once poetic and engaged, conceptual and sensitive, personal and collective, the work of Luxembourg artist Bert Theis (1952-2016) grew out of a reflection on the role art can play in society. Most notably it led to the creation of “platforms” and “pavilions” in various cities across Europe and Asia that were intended to be taken over by visitors, passers-by and locals; these were spaces for rest, contemplation, exchange or action, spaces where the idea of a “concrete utopia” takes shape.

On the occasion of the retrospective exhibition dedicated to his work running from 30 March to 25 August, 2019, Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean joins forces with various cultural partners to showcase an ensemble of works, both existing or recreated, and create a “Bert Theis Archipelago” in Luxembourg and beyond. Thanks to their diversity, these projects bring to life the many facets of Bert Theis’ oeuvre and testify to the significance of his legacy.

Bert Theis. KB Project, 2004. Collection Mariette Schiltz

Programme

Exhibition
Bert Theis. 
Building Philosophy – Cultivating Utopia
Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean
30.03 – 25.08.2019 
Opening: Vendredi 29.03.2019, 18h00 – 20h30
Curator: Enrico Lunghi
In collaboration with: Christophe Gallois
Assisted by: Marion Vergin
Mudam Luxembourg presents the first retrospective exhibition dedicated to Bert Theis. Through models, documents, photographs and videos, Building Philosophy – Cultivating Utopia offers a broad overview of the projects in the public realm that brought him to fame. The exhibition also sheds light on some of the lesser-known aspects of his work, the collages, the conceptual works that question history of art, painting and the status of images, as well as his text works.

Book Launch
Bert Theis, Building Philosophy – Cultivating Utopia
29.03.2019 | 17h00
Mudam Auditorium | EN
Conversation between Enrico Lunghi, Mariette Schiltz and the authors of the publication, Gerald Raunig, Marco Scotini and Elvira Vannini.
Moderation: Christophe Gallois
In English
Free admission
No booking required

Concert
Mark Uncle Band (vintage rock, Milan)
29.03.2019 | 20h00
European Pentagon, Safe & Sorry Pavilion, Place de l’Europe – Kirchberg
Free admission
No booking required

Performance
Isola Reunion
21.06.2019 | 18h00
European Pentagon, Safe & Sorry Pavilion, Place de l’Europe – Kirchberg 
Musical performance by Steve Piccolo and Gak Sato, inspired by John Cage’s and Marcel Duchamp’s sonorous chess game Reunion (1968).
Within the framework of the Fête de la musique
Free admission
No booking required

Workshop
UTOPISTAS
The Everyday of Earthly Delights
10.07 — 25.08.2019
A project by the 2001 architecture bureau
Participatory activities related to the question of public space and the transformation of urban space.
Detailed programme soon on: www.mudam.com

Guided tour
Art at noon
A personal view of the Bert Theis exhibition
17.06 – 23.08.2019 | 12h30 – 13h00
Throughout the summer, Nora Blaise, the artist’s niece and a student of cultural guidance, offers a special guided tour of the exhibition.
Mondays: DE | Wednesdays: FR | Thursdays: LU | Fridays: EN
Additional tour on Wednesdays from 19h00 to 19h30 in Luxembourgish.
For individual visitors and small groups (up to 5 people)
Free visit, museum admission excluded 
No booking required

Philosophical Platform
Place des Hauts Fourneaux, Avenue du Rock’n’Roll, Belval
Outdoor work visible at any time
From 22.04.2019
In collaboration with: Le Fonds Belval (fonds-belval.lu)
Installation recreated in 2019 by the Fund, with the participation of Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d'art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean

Vue de l’installation, Skulptur Projekte Münster, 1997 © Roman Mensig

Freely inspired by the staircase found in the famous School of Athens (1509–1510) fresco by Raphael, the Philosophical Platform was created in 1997 for the Skulptur Projekte in Münster, an international event dedicated to public art, and met with great critical and popular success. A newly recreated version of this major work has been made possible by the Fonds Belval and its Public Art Experience program and has been installed at the heart of the Belval site.
Bert Theis, Philosophical Platform, 1997, reconstruction 2019 | Sound: in collaboration with Raphaël Rippinger | Technical conception: Rob Engel | Reproduction: Fonds Belval with the contribution of Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean | Le Fonds Belval | Courtesy Mariette Schiltz

OUT (Office for Urban Transformation)
30.03 — 26.07.2019
LUCA Luxembourg Center for Architecture 
1, rue de l’Aciérie L-1112 Luxembourg 
Practical infos: luca.lu
Opening: Saturday 30.03.2019, 17h30
16h00 : Roundtable Fight Specific
With: Gerald Raunig (philosopher and art theorist), Marco Scotini (curator, author and art critic), Angelo C astucci (architect and cura tor), Elvira Vannini (art historian and curator)
Moderation : Enrico Lunghi ((art historian and co-curator of the retrospective Bert Theis. Building Philosophy – Cultivating Utopia)
In English and Italian
Free entry

Image © Ilmari Kalkkinen, Mamco

Travelling to different countries around the world between 2002 and 2014, from Italy to Mexico via Albania, Switzerland and Korea, the OUT project takes the form of an “office” dedicated to the question of urban transformation. A collection of documents, objects and visual materials, it is also conceived as a space that can accommodate “situations” of exchange, work and reflection. Several roundtables will take place during the exhibition at LUCA.

Tuesday 04.06.2019, 18h30
Building Utopia
With: Federica Gatta (architect, urban planner, doctor of space planning and author of the book (Contre)pouvoirs urbains ? Éléments pour une critique anthropologique de l’urbanisme participatif)), Doina Petrescu (Professor of architecture and design activism at the University of Sheffield) and Constantin Petcou (architect specializing in strategic design and semiotics, both founders of AAA (self-managed architecture workshop)), Eugenio Cosentino (architect and co-founder of the Parasite 2.0 collective)
Moderation: Philippe Nathan (architect and founder of the bureau 2001)
In English
Free admission
No booking required

Tuesday 02.07.2019, 18h30
Lieux infinis
With: Nicola Delon (architect and co-founder of the Encore Heureux collective and curator of the French Pavilion “Lieux infinis”, of the 16th Venice Biennale of architecture, 2018)
Introduction: Anna Loporcaro (in charge of the cultural programme at Mudam)
In French
Free admission
No booking required

In collaboration with: LUCA Luxembourg Center for Architecture
Curators: Angelo Castucci, Anna Loporcaro 
Coproduction of the exhibition: Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean 

F(l)ight Sketches – For Bert Theis
30.03 — 05.05.2019
Cercle Cité
Place d’Armes, Entrée rue du Curé, L-2012 Luxembourg
Practical infos: cerclecite.lu 
Opening: Saturday 30.03.2019, 11h30
13h00 – 13h30 : Musical performance by Steve Kaspar and Nataša Grujović
Guided Tours : Every Saturday at 15h00. Free entry. Free tours

Image © Angelo Castucci / Studioamatoriale

This exhibition brings together artists who gravitate around the Isola Art Center in Milan, friends of Bert Theis and conceptual or political approaches close to the artist’s.Artists: Barbara Barberis, Common Wealth (curated by Claudia Passeri), Irene Coppola,Simone Decker, Paola di Bello, Edna Gee,Karolina Markiewicz & Pascal Piron, Edmond Oliveira, Edith Poirier, Jeff Weber, avec la contribution de Renk Ozer Sarp et de Serio CollectiveProduction: Cercle CitéCurators: Angelo Castucci, Enrico Lunghi

Stirner Prothese
Parc municipal, Luxembourg 
(Between the avenue Monterey and avenue Marie-Thérèse, near the lake)
From April 2019 – 25.08.2019
In collaboration with: Ville de Luxembourg
Practical infos: vdl.lu

Image : Dessin préparatoire, Collection Mariette Schiltz

Created in 2000 for the Tutzing Evangelical Academy in Germany, the Stirner Prothese was never installed. During the Bert Theis retrospective at Mudam, the City of Luxembourg presents this “foreign object derived from the functional world of navigation, railroads and industry” for the first time in the heart of the Municipal Park, allowing viewers to “enjoy a moment of solitude”.
Bert Theis, Stirner Prothese, 2000/2019 | Technical conception: Rob Engel | Co-produced by: Ville de Luxembourg | Collection Mariette Schiltz

Utopian City
30.03 – 25.08.2019
Outdoor work visible at any time
Rotondes
Place des Rotondes, L-2448 Luxembourg
Practical info: rotondes.lu
Opening: Saturday 30.03.2019, 18h30
In collaboration with: Rotondes

Created for the façade of the Secession building in Vienna on the occasion of the group exhibition Utopian Pulse – Flares in the Darkroom (2014), this monumental collage features a 19th century painting by Jakob Alt depicting the Austrian capital as its backdrop. Relocated to the seaside by Theis, the urban space pictured becomes, in the words of the artist, the theater of “fragments and moments for new utopias”. Utopian City spreads over one of the walls of the Rotondes’ Black Box building.
Bert Theis, Utopian City, 2014 | Impression digitale sur vinyle | 340 x 900 cm | Copie d’exposition produite par Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean | Courtesy Mariette Schiltz | Collection Mariette Schiltz

The true artist…
Permanent installation
Musée national d’histoire et d’art Luxembourg
Marché-aux-Poissons, L-2345 Luxembourg
Practical info: mnha.lu
Formule Renc’Art
Bert Theis honored in May: In addition to traditional regular visits, Renc'Art offers the chance to explore a specific work every month.  luxembourgeois. Entrée libre pour ces visites.
Thursday 02.05, 19h00 (FR) | Tuesday 07.05, 12h30 (FR) | Thursday 09.05, 19h00 (DE) | Tuesday 14.05, 12h30 (DE) | Thursday 16.05, 19h00 (EN) | Tuesday 21.05, 12h30 (EN) | Thursday 23.05, 19h00 (PT) | Tuesday 28.05, 12h30 (LU)
Guided tours
On request (for groups larger than 10 people)
Booking: +352 47 93 30 214, servicedespublics@mnha.etat.lu
In collaboration with: Musée national d’histoire et d’art Luxembourg

Image © MNHA, Tom Lucas

Installed since 2003 in the staircase of the historical building of the Musée national d’histoire et d’art, The true artist... takes the form of a stained glass window that combines a conceptual approach with Art Deco aesthetics. This is a pivotal work in Bert Theis’s oeuvre, through which a formal vocabulary was put in place that the artist would regularly return to. The true artist... installation is permanently on display in the museum and can be admired from one of the galleries (Old Masters) located on the third floor of the main building.
Bert Theis, The true artist…, 2003 | Vitrail | 226 x 213 cm | Installation permanente, Musée national d’histoire et d’art Luxembourg | Collection Musée national d’histoire et d’art Luxembourg

European Pentagon, Safe & Sorry Pavilion
Permanent installation
Place de l’Europe, Luxembourg-Kirchberg
Outdoor work visible at any time
In collaboration with: Fonds Kirchberg
During the exhibition, the European Pentagon will host several events.
Detailed programme: mudam.com

http://www.mudam.com

Image © André Morin

Produced on the occasion of the Luxembourg Presidency of the Council of the European Union in 2005, the European Pentagon was first exhibited on the roof of the BOZAR – Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brussels, before being permanently installed in Place de l’Europe in Luxembourg. The words safe and sorry – that can be read from within the pavilion – are derived from the expression “better safe than sorry”. “A European pentagon that is small in size, translucent, fragile and built out of the words safe and sorry invites us obviously to reflect on the international political situation,” commented Bert Theis. 
Bert Theis, European Pentagon, Safe & Sorry Pavilion, 2005 | Acier, verre semi-transparent, bois, structure métallique | Pavillon : 564 x 1094 x 973 cm | Plateforme : 30 x 2715 x 1260 cm | Conception technique : en collaboration avec Rob Engel | Installation permanente, Place de l’Europe, Luxembourg (depuis 2007) | Produit en 2005 comme installation temporaire pour le toit du BOZAR – Palais des Beaux-Arts, Bruxelles, dans le cadre de la Présidence luxembourgeoise du Conseil de l’Union Européenne, 2005 | Collection Ministère de la Culture, Luxembourg

Warburg Spirale. Un monument aux vivants
Completion of restoration: Summer 2019
Place de la République, Strasbourg
Outdoor work visible at any time from the summer 2019
In collaboration with: La Communauté Urbaine de Strasbourg, currently Eurométropole, and the Ministère de la Culture

Image © André Morin

Located in the Place de la République in the heart of Strasbourg, the Warburg Spirale pays tribute to Jewish intellectuals, notably the German art historian Aby Warburg. A sort of “bench” in the form of an ascending spiral this “monument to the living” invites passersby to idleness. “You don’t find spirals in urban centers because they waste time. Whoever enters one has to retrace their steps to get out again,” said Bert Theis. Inaugurated in 2002, the Warburg Spirale is the object of a restoration project in 2019, the completion of which coincides with the Bert Theis retrospective at Mudam.

With the support of:

A collaboration of:

ARCIPELAGO BERT THEIS

AN VERSCHIEDENEN ORTEN IN LUXEMBURG UND STRASBURG
29/03/2019 - 25/08/2019
Share
 

Zentraler Beweggrund für Bert Theis und sein gleichsam poetisches wie engagiertes, konzeptuelles und sinnliches, persönliches und kollektives Werk war die Auseinandersetzung mit der Frage, welche Bedeutung Kunst in der Gesellschaft haben kann. Dies führte zur Gründung von „Plattformen“ und „Pavillons“ in verschiedenen europäischen und asiatischen Städten, die Besuchern, Passanten und Bewohnern offenstehen, um sich auszuruhen, nachzudenken, sich auszutauschen oder gemeinsam aktiv zu werden, von Orten, an denen die Konturen einer „konkreten Utopie“ Form annehmen konnten.

Anlässlich der Retrospektive, die das Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean vom 30. März bis 25. August Bert Theis’ Werk widmet, schließt sich das Museum mit verschiedenen Kulturinstitutionen zusammen, um aus einem Ensemble von – bestehenden oder neuen – Werken ein „Archipel Bert Theis“ entstehen zu lassen, das sich über ganz Luxemburg und gar über seine Grenzen hinaus erstreckt. Die verschiedenen Beiträge lassen in ihrer Vielseitigkeit die zahlreichen Facetten der Arbeit von Bert Theis aufscheinen und zeugen von der Bedeutung seines Erbes.

Bert Theis. KB Project, 2004. Collection Mariette Schiltz

Programm

Ausstellung
Bert Theis. 
Building Philosophy – Cultivating Utopia
Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean
30.03 – 25.08.2019 
Vernissage: Vendredi 29.03.2019, 18h00 – 20h30
Kurator: Enrico Lunghi
In Zusammenarbeit mit: Christophe Gallois
Assistiert von: Marion Vergin
Als erstes Museum würdigt das Mudam Luxembourg Bert Theis mit einer Retrospektive. Entlang von Modellen, Dokumenten, Fotografien und Videos bietet Building Philosophy – Cultivating Utopia einen umfassenden Überblick über Theis’ Projekte im öffentlichen Raum, die ihn berühmt gemacht haben. Weiterhin eröffnet sie den Besuchern Einblicke in weniger bekannte Aspekte seines Schaffens, etwa seine Collagen und seine konzeptuellen Werke, in denen der Luxemburger Künstler sich der kritischen Auseinandersetzung mit der Kunstgeschichte, der Malerei und dem Status des Bildes widmete, weiterhin auch einen Teil seiner text works.

Book Launch
Bert Theis, Building Philosophy – Cultivating Utopia
29.03.2019 | 17h00
Mudam Auditorium | EN
Gespräch zwischen Enrico Lunghi, Mariette Schiltz und den Autoren der Publikation, Gerald Raunig, Marco Scotini und Elvira Vannini.
Moderation: Christophe Gallois.
Auf Englisch
Eintritt frei
Keine Anmeldung erforderlich

Konzert
Mark Uncle Band (vintage rock, Milan)
29.03.2019 | 20h00
European Pentagon, Safe & Sorry Pavilion, Place de l’Europe – Kirchberg
Eintritt frei
Keine Anmeldung erforderlich

Performance
Isola Reunion
21.06.2019 | 18h00
European Pentagon, Safe & Sorry Pavilion, Place de l’Europe – Kirchberg 
Musik-Performance von Steve Piccolo und Gak Sato, inspiriert an der akustischen Schach-Performance Reunion (1968) von John Cage und Marcel Duchamp.
Im Rahmen der Fête de la musique
Eintritt frei
Keine Anmeldung erforderlich

Workshop
UTOPISTAS
The Everyday of Earthly Delights
10.07 — 25.08.2019
Ein Projekt des Architekturbüros 2001
Partizipative Aktivitäten, bei denen es um Fragen des öffentlichen Raums und um die Transformation urbaner Räume geht.
Detailliertes Programm ab dem 15.06.2019 auf: www.mudam.com

Führung
Kunst zu Mittag
Ein persönlicher Blick auf die Ausstellung von Bert Theis
17.06 – 23.08.2019 | 12h30 – 13h00
Im Sommer bietet Nora Blaise, die Nichte des Künstlers und Studentin der Kulturvermittlung, täglich spezielle Führungen in der Ausstellung.
Montags: DE | Mittwochs: FR | Donnerstags: LU | Freitags: EN
Zusätzliche Führung Mittwochs von 19h00 bis 19h30 auf Luxemburgisch.
Für Einzelbesucher und Kleingruppen (bis max. 5 Personen)
Keine zusätzlichen Kosten neben der Eintrittsgebühr
Keine Anmeldung erforderlich

Philosophical Platform
Place des Hauts Fourneaux, Avenue du Rock’n’Roll, Belval
Werk im öffentlichen Raum 
Jederzeit sichtbar ab dem 22.04.2019
In Zusammenarbeit mit: Le Fonds Belval (fonds-belval.lu)
Durch den Fonds, mit Beteiligung des Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d'Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean, im Jahr 2019 wiederbelebte Installation

Vue de l’installation, Skulptur Projekte Münster, 1997 © Roman Mensig

Die Philosophical Platform entstand 1997 in loser Anlehnung an die Treppe in Raffaels berühmtem Fresko Die Schule der Athener (1509–1510) für die Skulptur Projekte Münster und fand auf dieser Ausstellung von Skulpturen und Plastiken im öffentlichen Raum großen Anklang, sowohl bei der Kritik als auch bei den Besuchern. Im Rahmen seines Programms Public Art Experience hat der Fonds Belval eine neuerliche Realisation dieses bedeutenden Werkes von Bert Theis sowie seine Präsentation am Standort Belval ermöglicht.
Bert Theis, Philosophical Platform,1997, Rekonstruktion 2019 | Ton: in Zusammenarbeit mit Raphaël Rippinger | Technische Umsetzung: Rob Engel | Produktion: Le Fonds Belval mit Unterstützung des Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean | Le Fonds Belval | Courtesy Mariette Schiltz

OUT (Office for Urban Transformation)
30.03 — 26.07.2019
LUCA Luxembourg Center for Architecture 
1, rue de l’Aciérie L-1112 Luxembourg 
Praktische Informationen: luca.lu
Vewrnissage: Samstag 30.03.2019, 17h30
16h00 : Rundtischgespräch Fight Specific
Mit: Gerald Raunig (Philosoph und Kunsttheoretiker), Marco Scotini (Kurator, Autor und Kunstkritiker), Angelo Castucci (Architekt und Kurator), Elvira Vannini ((Kunsthistorikerin und Kuratorin)
Moderation: Enrico Lunghi (Kunsthistoriker und Ko-Kurator der Retrospektive Bert Theis. Building Philosophy – Cultivating Utopia)
Auf Englisch und Italienisch
Eintritt frei

Image © Ilmari Kalkkinen, Mamco

Bei dem Projekt OUT, das von 2002 bis 2014 weltweit – unter anderem in Italien, Mexiko, Albanien, der Schweiz und Korea – präsentiert wurde, handelt es sich um ein „Büro”, das sich mit Fragen urbaner Transformation beschäftigt. Dort sind Dokumente, Objekte und Bildmaterial versammelt, und es ist auch gedacht als Gelegenheit zum Austausch, zur Arbeit und zur Reflexion. Während der Ausstellung im LUCA werden diverse offene Gesprächsrunden stattfinden.

Dienstag 04.06.2019, 18h30
Building Utopia
Mit: Federica Gatta (Architektin, Stadtplanerin, Doktor der Raumgestalltung und Autorin des Buches (Contre)pouvoirs urbains ? Éléments pour une critique anthropologique de l’urbanisme participatif), Doina Petrescu (Professorin für Architektur und Designaktivismus an der University of Sheffield) und Constantin Petcou (Architekt  spezialisiert auf strategisches Design und Semiotik, beide Gründer der AAA (selbstverwaltete Architekturwerkstatt)), Eugenio Cosentino (Architekt und Mitbegründer des Parasite 2.0 Kollektivs)
Moderation: Philippe Nathan (Architekt und Gründer des bureau 2001)
Auf Englisch
Eintritt frei
Keine Reservierung notwendig

Dienstag 02.07.2019, 18h30
Lieux infinis
Mit: Nicola Delon (Architekt und Mitbegründer des Encore Heureux Kollektivs und Kurator des französischen Pavillons „Lieux infinis” auf der 16. Architekturbiennale in Venedig, 2018)
Vorwort: Anna Loporcaro (zuständig für das kulturelle Programm im Mudam)
Auf Französisch
Eintritt frei
Keine Reservierung notwendig

 

In Zusammenarbeit mit: LUCA Luxembourg Center for Architecture
Kuratoren: Angelo Castucci, Anna Loporcaro 
Koproduktion der Ausstellung: Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean

F(l)ight Sketches – For Bert Theis
30.03 — 05.05.2019
Cercle Cité
Place d’Armes, Entrée rue du Curé, L-2012 Luxembourg
Praktische Infos: cerclecite.lu 
Vernissage: Samstag 30.03.2019, 11h30
13h00 – 13h30 : Musikperformance von Steve Kaspar und Nataša Grujović
Führungen: Jeden Samstag um 15h00. Eintritt frei. Kostenlose Führung

Image © Angelo Castucci / Studioamatoriale

Ausstellung mit Künstlern, die aus dem Umfeld des Isola Art Center in Mailand oder dem Freundeskreis von Bert Theis kommen oder ähnliche konzeptuelle oder politische Ansätze verfolgen wie Bert Theis.Künstler: Barbara Barberis, Common Wealth (curated by Claudia Passeri), Irene Coppola,Simone Decker, Paola di Bello, Edna Gee,Karolina Markiewicz & Pascal Piron, Edmond Oliveira, Edith Poirier, Jeff Weber, avec la contribution de Renk Ozer Sarp et de Serio CollectiveProduktion: Cercle CitéKuratoren: Angelo Castucci, Enrico Lunghi

Stirner Prothese
Parc municipal, Luxembourg 
(Between the avenue Monterey and avenue Marie-Thérèse, near the lake)
From April 2019 – 25.08.2019
In collaboration with: Ville de Luxembourg
Practical infos: vdl.lu

Image : Dessin préparatoire, Collection Mariette Schiltz

Bert Theis schuf die Stirner Prothese im Jahr 2000 für den Park der Evangelischen Akademie im bayerischen Tutzing, wo sie jedoch nicht aufgestellt werden konnte. Für die Dauer der Retrospektive Bert Theis im Mudam präsentiert die Stadt
Bert Theis, Stirner Prothese, 2000/2019 | Technical conception: Rob Engel | Co-produced by: Ville de Luxembourg | Collection Mariette Schiltz

Utopian City
30.03 – 25.08.2019
Werk im öffentlichen Raum
Jederzeit sichtbar
Rotondes
Place des Rotondes, L-2448 Luxembourg
Practical info: rotondes.lu
Vernissage: Samstag 30.03.2019, 18h30
In Zusammenarbeit mit: Rotondes

Diese monumentale „Collage” für die Fassade der Wiener Secession entstand anlässlich der Gruppenausstellung Utopian Pulse – Flares in the Darkroom (2014). Als Hintergrundbild dient ein Gemälde aus dem 19. Jahrhundert von Jakob Alt, das die österreichische Hauptstadt zeigt. Darauf ist sie am Meer verortet, sodass der städtische Raum zur Bühne für, wie der Künstler es formulierte, „Fragmente und Momente neuer Utopien” wird. In den Rotondes wird die Utopian City auf einer Wand des Gebäudes Black Box präsentiert.
Bert Theis, Utopian City, 2014 | Impression digitale sur vinyle | 340 x 900 cm | Copie d’exposition produite par Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean | Courtesy Mariette Schiltz | Collection Mariette Schiltz

The true artist…
Dauerausstellung
Musée national d’histoire et d’art Luxembourg
Marché-aux-Poissons, L-2345 Luxembourg
Praktische Infos: mnha.lu
Formule Renc’Art
Bert Theis zu Ehren im Mai: Ergänzend zu den üblichen, regelmäßig stattfindenden Führungen besteht im Rahmen von Renc’Artdie Möglichkeit, im monatlichen Wechsel ein bestimmtes Werk genauer kennenzulernen. 
Donnerstag 02.05, 19h00 (FR) | Dienstag 07.05, 12h30 (FR) | Donnerstag 09.05, 19h00 (DE) | Dienstag 14.05, 12h30 (DE) | Donnerstag 16.05, 19h00 (EN) | Dienstag 21.05, 12h30 (EN) | Donnerstag 23.05, 19h00 (PT) | Dienstag 28.05, 12h30 (LU)
Führungen
Auf Anfrage (für Gruppen >10 Personen)
Buchung: +352 47 93 30 214, servicedespublics@mnha.etat.lu
In Zusammenarbeit mit: Musée national d’histoire et d’art Luxembourg

Image © MNHA, Tom Lucas

Das Werk The true artist… befindet sich seit 2003 im Treppenhaus des historischen Gebäudes des Musée national d’histoire et d’art. In dem Fensterbild vermählen sich Elemente der Konzeptkunst mit der Ästhetik des Art déco. Das Werk markiert einen Wendepunkt in der Arbeit von Bert Theis, mit dem der Künstler ein formales Vokabular etablierte, auf das er von da an immer wieder zurückgriff. Bei der Installation The true artist… handelt es sich um ein Dauerexponat des Museums, das man von einem Ausstellungssaal im dritten Stock (Alte Meister) des Hauptgebäudes aus bewundern kann.
Bert Theis, The true artist…, 2003 | Vitrail | 226 x 213 cm | Installation permanente, Musée national d’histoire et d’art Luxembourg | Collection Musée national d’histoire et d’art Luxembourg

European Pentagon, Safe & Sorry Pavilion
Dauerausstellung
Place de l’Europe, Luxembourg-Kirchberg
Werk im öffentlichen Raum
Jederzeit sichtbar
In Zusammenarbeit mit: Fonds Kirchberg
Während der Ausstellung finden im European Pentagon mehrere Events statt.
Detailliertes Programm: mudam.com

Image © André Morin

Das anlässlich der luxemburgischen EU-Ratspräsidentschaft 2005 entstandene Werk European Pentagon wurde zunächst auf dem Dach des BOZAR – Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brüssel ausgestellt und im Anschluss dauerhaft auf der Place de l’Europe in Luxemburg installiert. Die vom Pavillon aus lesbaren Wörter „safe” und „sorry” verweisen auf die englische Redewendung „better safe than sorry” [Vorsicht ist besser als Nachsicht]. „Ein europäisches Pentagon in verkleinertem Maßstab, das – durchsichtig und fragil – aus den Worten ‚safe’ und ‚sorry’ konstruiert ist, ist eine offensichtliche Aufforderung, über die internationale politische Situation nachzudenken”, so Bert Theis. 
Bert Theis, European Pentagon, Safe & Sorry Pavilion, 2005 | Acier, verre semi-transparent, bois, structure métallique | Pavillon : 564 x 1094 x 973 cm | Plateforme : 30 x 2715 x 1260 cm | Conception technique : en collaboration avec Rob Engel | Installation permanente, Place de l’Europe, Luxembourg (depuis 2007) | Produit en 2005 comme installation temporaire pour le toit du BOZAR – Palais des Beaux-Arts, Bruxelles, dans le cadre de la Présidence luxembourgeoise du Conseil de l’Union Européenne, 2005 | Collection Ministère de la Culture, Luxembourg

Warburg Spirale. Un monument aux vivants
Fertigstellung der Restaurierung: Sommer 2019
Place de la République, Strasbourg
Werk im öffentlichen Raum
Jederzeit sichtbar ab Sommer 2019
In Zusammenarbeit mit: La Communauté Urbaine de Strasbourg, aktuell Eurométropole, und dem Ministère de la Culture

Image © André Morin

Mit der Warburg Spirale auf der Place de la République mitten im Zentrum von Straßburg setzte Bert Theis den jüdischen Intellektuellen und insbesondere dem deutschen Kunsthistoriker Ay Warburg ein Denkmal. Es handelt sich um eine Art Bank in Gestalt einer Spirale, gedacht als „Denkmal für die Lebenden”, die die Passanten zum Müßiggang einlädt: „Urbane Ensembles sind normalerweise nicht spiralförmig angelegt, weil sie dann Zeit kosten: Wer hineingeht, muss auf selbem Wege wieder hinausgehen”, so Bert Theis. Die 2002 eingeweihte Warburg Spirale wird in diesem Jahr restauriert. Die Arbeiten werden zur Ausstellung von Bert Theis im Mudam abgeschlossen.

Mit Unterstützung von:

Eine Zusammenarbeit von: