ADAM LINDER

FULL SERVICE
06/02/2019 - 03/03/2019
Share
 

Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean aims to present contemporary art in all its forms. Adam Linder: Full Service is an experimental project that takes place in the galleries over a period of four weeks. During this time each of the five services in the cycle will be performed, gradually overlapping and eventually superseding one another, reminiscent of a moving exhibition with continuously changing content. Created by classically trained dancer and choreographer Adam Linder (*1983), this iteration of the work will be the first presentation in Europe of the complete choreographic cycle of all five services. 

Adam Linder, Service No. 5: Dare to Keep Kids Off Naturalism, Kunsthalle Basel, 2017. Performers : Leah Katz, Justin F. Kennedy, Noha Ramadan, Stephen Thompson © Photo : Nicolas Gysin / Kunsthalle Basel

Made between 2013 and 2017, the Choreographic Services are a performative group of projects devised for presentation in museums and art galleries, and are aimed at questioning the representation of the body, its relationship to physical language and addressing head on the role and value of performance in contemporary art. 

In his services, Adam Linder's working raw material is the body of a dancer, and more precisely the physical labour of the body as reinvented based on the modi operandi of the service based economy. Any museum or gallery that chooses to present the services must sign a contract providing a full and accurate description of the relationship between the performers (the dancers), the choreographic service they provide (the dance), and the cost of their work (dancing). In combination, this group of variables determines the duration of each service and the overall cost of the project. 

The Adam Linder: Full Service exhibition is the result of a collaboration between the Mudam Luxembourg - Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean and the CCA Wattis Institute for Contemporary Arts in San Francisco. 

Biographical note 

Adam Linder (born in Sydney in 1983) is a dancer and choreographer based in Berlin. After completing his studies in classical dance, he worked at the Royal Ballet of London, the Michael Clark Company and Meg Stuart's Damaged Goods. 

He has put together several stage works, including Kein Paradiso, which earned him the prestigious Mohn Award at the Hammer Museum's Made in L.A. Biennale in 2016. Also that year, he participated in the Biennale of Sydney and the Liverpool Biennial. His choreographic services were recently presented at the Serralves Foundation in Porto (2018), the South London Gallery in London (2018), the Kunsthalle Basel (2017), the Schinkel Pavilion in Berlin (2016) and the Institute of Contemporary Art in London (2015). A monograph published by the Hammer Museum entitled Who Is Surfing Who: Adam Linder has been available since March 2018.

Performances

Mudam Luxembourg has hired all five services, giving an overview of Adam Linder’s singular approach to dance and performance. Each one is presented over the course of four weeks, across one gallery. Each service is performed successively, but they also overlap in different combinations, creating new hybrids and juxtapositions of bodies and movements.

Full Service is a survey exhibition of all five Choreographic Services by Adam Linder. Dancers are working on Wednesdays from 16h00 to 21h00 (from 14h00 to 18h00 on 06.02.2019) and from Thursday to Sunday from 12h00 to 18h00 (13h00 to 18h00 for Service nº 5).

Service nº 1: Some Cleaning (2013)

Choreographic Service No. 1: Some Cleaning, 2013. Duration variable, one dancer. Pictured at Kunstverein Hannover. Performer: Enrico Ticconi

Service Nº 1: Some Cleaning (2013)
06.02 - 10.02.2019
A dancer is hired to choreographically clean a specific location using a toolbox of actions that physically and symbolically organise, dust, calibrate and restructure the space.

Service nº 2: Some Proximity (2014)

Choreographic Service No. 2: Some Proximity, 2014. Duration variable, two dancers and a writer. Pictured at Museum of Modern Art, Warsaw. Performer: Justin Kennedy © Bartosz Stawiarski. A project of Silberkuppe, Berlin and Live, Frieze, London

Service Nº 2: Some Proximity (2014)
06.02 - 24.02.2019

An art writer produces real time critical reflections at the location of hire whilst two dancers become a conduit for this criticism by translating the text into vocal and physical flows.

Service nº 3: Some Riding (2015)

Choreographic Service No. 3: Some Riding, 2015. Duration variable, two dancers. Pictured at Institute of Contemporary Arts, London. Performers: Frances Chiaverini, Adam Linder © Mark Blower. Commissioned by ICA, London

Service Nº 3: Some Riding (2015)
13.02 - 17.02.2019

Two dancers generate a theoretical and contextual understanding for the Choreographic Services series from within the performance itself. They deploy an ‘adagio-esque Popping’ to physically punctuate two essays written by Sarah Lehrer-Graiwer and Catherine Damman.

Service nº 4: Some Strands of Support (2016)

Choreographic Service No.4: Some Strands of Support, 2016.Duration variable, two dancers. Pictured at Wattis Institute. Performers: Andrew Hardwidge, Adam Linder © Allie Foraker. Commissioned by Schinkel Pavillon, Berlin 

Service Nº 4: Some Strands of Support (2016)
20.02 - 24.02.2019

Emphasizing that sculptures may not be as resilient or assured as inanimate objects are often presumed to be, two dancers work in partnership to provide ‘Hair Care’ for a suitably upright sculpture or statue in the form of oscillatory movement aided by the use of hair prostheses.

Service nº 5: Dare to Keep Kids Off Naturalism (2017)

Choreographic Service No.5: Dare to Keep Kids Off Naturalism, 2017.Duration variable, four dancers. Pictured at Wattis Institute. Performers: Stephen Thompson, Noha Ramadan © Allie Foraker. Commissioned by Kunsthalle Basel, co-produced by Kunsthalle Basel and South London Gallery

Service Nº 5: Dare to Keep Kids Off Naturalism (2017)*
27.02 - 03.03.2019

Choreographic Service No. 5 (2017) Four performers occupy an empty white space wearing modular costumes to create eight everchanging fictive situations. They reconsider and challenge the relationship between their theatrical sensibilities and the exhibition space.
*Parental advisory: This performance includes some nudity.

Danseurs
Andrew Hardwidge, Josh Johnson, Leah Katz, Justin F. Kennedy, Adam Linder, Robert Malmborg, Noha Ramadan, Brooke Stamp, Enrico Ticconi et Stephen Thompson

Dispositif d’affichage
conçu et réalisé par Shahryar Nashat

Les critiques d’art
pour la performance Some Proximity :
Hannah Gregory et Jonathan P. Watts

Prêt d’oeuvre
pour la performance Some Strands of Support :
Luc Wolff, Starter Kit, 2001
Courtesy Lëtzebuerg City Museum

Remerciements
Anthony Huberman, Leila Grothe, Shahryar Nashat, Andrea Niederbuchner, Anna von Glasenapp et Guy Thewes

Adam Linder: Full Service is presented in collaboration with CCA Wattis Institute for Contemporary Arts, San Francisco

Curators:
Vincent Crapon
Anna Loporcaro

ADAM LINDER

FULL SERVICE
06/02/2019 - 03/03/2019
Share
 

Ziel des Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean ist es, zeitgenössische Kunst in all ihren Erscheinungsformen zu präsentieren. So würdigt das Museum als erste Institution in Europa die fünf Choreografic Services des Tänzers und Choreografen Adam Linder. Adam Linder: Full Service ist ein experimentelles Projekt, mit dem die Galerien des Mudam vier Wochen lang bespielt werden. In dieser Zeit folgen und überlagern die „Services“ einander wie eine Ausstellung, deren Inhalt sich fortlaufend weiterentwickelt.

Adam Linder, Service No. 5: Dare to Keep Kids Off Naturalism, Kunsthalle Basel, 2017. Performers : Leah Katz, Justin F. Kennedy, Noha Ramadan, Stephen Thompson © Photo : Nicolas Gysin / Kunsthalle Basel

Bei den zwischen 2012 und 2017 entstandenen Choreografic Services handelt sich um diverse Projekte, die für Kunsträume und -galerien entwickelt wurden, um die Bedeutung und Darstellung des Körpers und der Performance in der Gegenwartskunst kritisch zu hinterfragen. 

Bei diesen Services ist Adam Linders Arbeitsmaterial der Körper des Tänzers oder, um genauer zu sein, die Arbeit dieses Körpers, die hier in Anlehnung an die Funktionsweisen der Servicegesellschaft unter einem neuen Blickwinkel interpretiert wird. So muss jede Institution, die die Services präsentieren will, einen Vertrag unterzeichnen, in dem das Verhältnis zwischen den Darstellenden (den Tänzern), der choreografischen Dienstleistung, die sie erbringen (dem Tanz) und den Kosten ihrer Arbeit (des Tanzens) genau definiert wird. 

Die Ausstellung Adam Linder: Full Service ist das Ergebnis einer Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean und dem CCA Wattis Institute for Contemporary Arts in San Francisco. 

Kurzbiografie 

Adam Linder wurde 1983 in Sydney geboren. Er ist Tänzer und Choreograf und lebt in Berlin. Nach seiner klassischen Tanzausbildung war er Mitglied des Royal Ballet in London, der Michael Clark Company und der Kompanie Meg Stuart’s Damaged Goods. Zu seinen Arbeiten gehören diverse Bühnenstücke, darunter die Performance Kein Paradiso, für die er 2016 bei der Biennale Made in LA mit dem renommierten Mohn Award ausgezeichnet wurde. Im selben Jahr nahm er an den Biennalen von Sydney und Liverpool teil. Seine choreografic services waren unlängst in der Fondation Serralves in Porto (2018), in der South Gallery in London (2018) und in der Kunsthalle Basel (2017) zu sehen, außerdem im Schinkel Pavillon in Berlin (2016) und im Institute of Contemporary Art in London (2015). Im März 2018 publizierte das Hammer Museum eine Linder gewidmete Monografie mit dem Titel Who is Surfing Who: Adam Linder.

Performances

Mit der Buchung aller fünf Services bietet das Mudam Luxembourg einen Überblick über Adam Linders einzigartigen Tanz- und Performanceansatz. Jede „Dienstleistung” wird in einem Zeitraum von vier Wochen in einer Galerie gezeigt. Die Services werden nacheinander ausgeführt, überschneiden sich aber auch in verschiedenen Kombinationen und lassen so neue Hybride und Gegenüberstellungen von Körpern und Bewegungen entstehen.

„Full Services” ist eine Gesamtschau aller fünf choreografischen Dienstleistungen, der „Choreographic Services” von Adam Linder. Die Tänzer arbeiten mittwochs von 16h00 bis 21h00 (von 14h00 bis 18h00 am 06.02.2019) und donnerstags bis sonntags von 12h00 bis 18h00 (13h00 bis 18h00 für Service nº 5).

Service nº 1: Some Cleaning (2013)

Choreographic Service No. 1: Some Cleaning, 2013. Duration variable, one dancer. Pictured at Kunstverein Hannover. Performer: Enrico Ticconi

Service Nº 1: Some Cleaning (2013)
06.02 - 10.02.2019

Ein Tänzer wird zur choreografischen Reinigung eines bestimmten Ortes engagiert. Dazu bedient er sich wie aus einer Toolbox gewisser Handlungen, die den Ort physisch und symbolisch ordnen, entstauben, kalibrieren und neu strukturieren.

Service nº 2: Some Proximity (2014)

Choreographic Service No. 2: Some Proximity, 2014. Duration variable, two dancers and a writer. Pictured at Museum of Modern Art, Warsaw. Performer: Justin Kennedy © Bartosz Stawiarski. A project of Silberkuppe, Berlin and Live, Frieze, London

Service Nº 2: Some Proximity (2014)
06.02 - 24.02.2019

Ein Kunstautor verfasst am Auftragsort Kritiken in Echtzeit, die von Tänzern unmittelbar in sprachliche oder tänzerische Elemente übersetzt werden.

Service nº 3: Some Riding (2015)

Choreographic Service No. 3: Some Riding, 2015. Duration variable, two dancers. Pictured at Institute of Contemporary Arts, London. Performers: Frances Chiaverini, Adam Linder © Mark Blower. Commissioned by ICA, London

Service Nº 3: Some Riding (2015)
13.02 - 17.02.2019

Zwei Tänzer erzeugen aus der Performance heraus ein theoretisches und kontextuelles Verständnis für die Reihe Choreographic Services. Dabei bringen sie zwei Essays von Sarah Lehrer-Graiwer und Catherine Damman durch „adagio-esques Popping” körperlich zum Ausdruck.

Service nº 4: Some Strands of Support (2016)

Choreographic Service No.4: Some Strands of Support, 2016.Duration variable, two dancers. Pictured at Wattis Institute. Performers: Andrew Hardwidge, Adam Linder © Allie Foraker. Commissioned by Schinkel Pavillon, Berlin 

Service Nº 4: Some Strands of Support (2016)
20.02 - 24.02.2019

Dass Skulpturen womöglich weniger robust oder sicher sind als gemeinhin bei unbelebten Objekten angenommen, zeigen zwei als Pfleger zusammenarbeitende Tänzer, die einer aufrechtstehenden Skulptur bzw. Statue anhand von oszillierenden Bewegungen und Haarteilen „Haarpflege” angedeihen lassen.

Service nº 5: Dare to Keep Kids Off Naturalism (2017)

Choreographic Service No.5: Dare to Keep Kids Off Naturalism, 2017.Duration variable, four dancers. Pictured at Wattis Institute. Performers: Stephen Thompson, Noha Ramadan © Allie Foraker. Commissioned by Kunsthalle Basel, co-produced by Kunsthalle Basel and South London Gallery

Service Nº 5: Dare to Keep Kids Off Naturalism (2017)*
27.02 - 03.03.2019

Vier Darsteller in modularen Kostümen bespielen einen leeren weißen Raum, in dem sie acht ständig wechselnde, fiktive Situationen hervorbringen. Sie überdenken und hinterfragen das Verhältnis zwischen ihren Empfindungen als Darsteller und dem Ausstellungsraum.
*Hinweis für Erziehungsberechtigte: Dieser Auftritt beinhaltet eine Nacktszene.

Danseurs
Andrew Hardwidge, Josh Johnson, Leah Katz, Justin F. Kennedy, Adam Linder, Robert Malmborg, Noha Ramadan, Brooke Stamp, Enrico Ticconi et Stephen Thompson

Dispositif d’affichage
conçu et réalisé par Shahryar Nashat

Les critiques d’art
pour la performance Some Proximity :
Hannah Gregory et Jonathan P. Watts

Prêt d’oeuvre
pour la performance Some Strands of Support :
Luc Wolff, Starter Kit, 2001
Courtesy Lëtzebuerg City Museum

Remerciements
Anthony Huberman, Leila Grothe, Shahryar Nashat, Andrea Niederbuchner, Anna von Glasenapp et Guy Thewes

Adam Linder: Full Service is presented in collaboration with CCA Wattis Institute for Contemporary Arts, San Francisco

Kuratoren:  
Vincent Crapon
Anna Loporcaro