MUDAM Logo

2014

Art & MeArt & MeArt & MeArt & MeArt & MeArt & Me

ART & ME

COLLECTION MUDAM

08/11/2014 - 15/02/2015

Aiming to encourage a plurality of viewpoints on contemporary production, Mudam constantly rejigs the presentation of the artworks in its collection with new themes and concepts. A gallery of the museum will thus be devoted to an exhibition devised by the Mudam communication department, taking the (old or young) visitor's relationship with the art as a starting point. Conceived as a fun route through a selection of pieces from the collection, the exhibition emphasizes the viewer and his or her role in the museum.

Rui MoreiraRui Moreira

RUI MOREIRA

I AM A LOST GIANT IN A BURNT FOREST

08/11/2014 - 08/02/2015

Fed by various sources including Caretos Portuguese rituals, sky charts and trips made ​​in parts of the world such as India and the Sahara, the drawings of the Portuguese artist Rui Moreira combine geometric and abstract decorative motifs with figures evoking mythical figures and deities. They are “inner landscapes” in which the repetition of simple gestures and “internal and external movements and rhythms” lends the work a physical dimension.

Solides FragilesSolides FragilesSolides FragilesSolides FragilesSolides FragilesSolides Fragiles

SOLIDES FRAGILES

04/10/2014 - 08/02/2015

The exhibition Solides Fragiles brings together different generations of artists for whom the intrinsic quality of an artwork lies in its aptitude to resonate with the exhibition space. Environment, atmosphere and light are not merely external factors but are essential elements of the work. As ambient and active substances, they reveal the artwork. Reciprocally, the artwork in turn unveils the space, making us aware of unexpected aspects.

Damage ControlDamage ControlDamage ControlDamage ControlDamage ControlDamage ControlDamage ControlDamage ControlDamage Control

DAMAGE CONTROL

ART AND DESTRUCTION SINCE 1950

12/07/2014 - 12/10/2014

Damage Control: Art and Destruction Since 1950 is organized by the Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, DC in association with Mudam Luxembourg and Universalmuseum Joanneum / Kunsthaus Graz, and is curated by Kerry Brougher and Russel Ferguson. Artists: Roy Arden, John Baldessari, Mircea Cantor, Thomas Demand, Ori Gersht, Jack Goldstein, Yves Klein, Steve McQueen, Yoko Ono, Pipilotti Rist, Jean Tinguely, Andy Warhol...

Martine Feipel & Jean Bechameil: Many Dreams

MARTINE FEIPEL & JEAN BECHAMEIL: MANY DREAMS

LOCATION: PARK DRÄI EECHELEN

11/07/2014 - 21/09/2014

This summer, the esplanade in the Draï Eechelen park features the artwork Many dreams by the Luxembourg artist duo Martine Feipel & Jean Bechameil. It is the first time this major sculpture will be presented in Luxembourg. Taking the form of a shell of a 1950s bus in a synthetic material with the look of stone, the work merges in with the verdant park environment (that offers a panoramic view of Luxembourg city centre) as if time had gradually fossilized it. It invites us to experience the feelings that overcome us “when we are alone in front of the sea or a vast landscape.” 

István CsákányIstván CsákányIstván Csákány

ISTVÁN CSÁKÁNY

COLLECTION MUDAM

28/06/2014 - 25/01/2015

István Csákány is a young Hungarian artist whose installation Ghost Keeping was much lauded when presented in Kassel during Documenta in 2013. Bernsteinzimmer (2010), a piece of the Mudam Collection, evokes the famous Amber Room offered by King Frederick-Wilhelm of Prussia to Peter the Great and which only exists today as a reconstruction.

Heimo ZobernigHeimo ZobernigHeimo ZobernigHeimo Zobernig

HEIMO ZOBERNIG

26/04/2014 - 07/09/2014

Since the late 1970s, Austrian artist Heimo Zobernig has developed a radical body of work centered on a critical approach to abstraction, questioning its history and testing its vocabulary, limitations and autonomy. Often drawing on sources from outside the field of art – a way for the artist to “circumvent conventions” – Heimo Zobernig’s artworks are characterised both by their formal and conceptual coherence and by the diversity of practices they encompass.

... of Sounds, Words, Turtles & You

... OF SOUNDS, WORDS, TURTLES & YOU

MUDAM SUMMER PROJECT

31/07/2014 - 31/08/2014

For their summer project at Mudam, Katharina Bihler and Stefan Scheib, the Liquid Penguin Ensemble, will be presenting a sound installation in which visitors can participate. Between 31 July and 21 August, with the help of museum guests, they will collect acoustic material or, to be more precise, words in the various languages of the visitors, who will speak them into a “word container” through a microphone, along with a short explanation for their choice.

Audiolab . Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

AUDIOLAB . RONAN & ERWAN BOUROULLEC

COLLECTION MUDAM

21/05/2014 - 27/07/2014

The Audiolab project is a coming together of architecture and sound design. The long collective process – involving the talents of four designers and a diversified medley of musicians, sound artists and engineers – gathers design, music and art into an experience that works on many levels. Audiolab 2 was created by Ronan and Erwan Bouroullec, two designers who also designed the structure of Mudam Café.

Never for Money, Always for LoveNever for Money, Always for LoveNever for Money, Always for LoveNever for Money, Always for LoveNever for Money, Always for LoveNever for Money, Always for LoveNever for Money, Always for Love

NEVER FOR MONEY, ALWAYS FOR LOVE

DESIGN CITY 2014 - LXBG BIENNALE

03/04/2014 - 15/06/2014

Curated by Anna Loporcaro and Portuguese designer Bruno Carvalho within the framework of Design City 2014, the exhibition Never for Money, Always for Love questions the validity of the methodologies and traditional production methods employed in the field of design to meet new challenges posed by the contemporary political and social context, including the economic crisis and dwindling natural resources. Conceived as a platform for exchange between two art scenes, the exhibition brings together fourteen designers from Portugal and Luxembourg.

Design City 2014 – LXBG BiennaleDesign City 2014 – LXBG Biennale

DESIGN CITY 2014 – LXBG BIENNALE

INTO THE PROCESS

23/04/2014 - 15/06/2014

Dedicated to the issue of design in public space and also to its integration in every-day life, the Design City biennial is intended to be a laboratory for ideas, a promotional tool and an experimental platform for the participation of designers in the development of the city. This third edition of Design City will result in two exhibitions (one at Mudam, the other in the public space of Luxembourg), a conference programme plus an “off” route of the city’s designers, traders and partner institutions.

NY-LUXNY-LUXNY-LUXNY-LUXNY-LUXNY-LUX

NY-LUX

EDWARD STEICHEN AWARD 2004-2014

14/02/2014 - 09/06/2014

The Edward Steichen Award was established in 2004, in honour of the American photographer and curator Edward Steichen who was born in 1879 in Luxembourg, with the aim of contributing to the dialogue between the art scenes in Europe and the United States, of which Steichen was one of the main instigators in the early twentieth century. Awarded every two years to a young artist from the Greater Region, the award offers the winner a residency of six months in New York.

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

2014

Art & MeArt & MeArt & MeArt & MeArt & MeArt & Me

ART & ME

COLLECTION MUDAM

08/11/2014 - 15/02/2015

In der Absicht, die Vielfalt der Blicke auf die zeitgenössische Kunst zu fördern, bringt das Mudam Werke seiner Sammlung immer wieder mit veränderten Thematiken oder neuen Konzepten ins Spiel. Eine Galerie des Museums wird so einer Ausstellung gewidmet, die von der museumspädagogischen Abteilung, dem „Service des publics” gestaltet wurde und die den Besucher, klein oder groß, und seine Beziehung zum Kunstwerk als Ausgangspunkt nimmt.

Rui MoreiraRui Moreira

RUI MOREIRA

I AM A LOST GIANT IN A BURNT FOREST

08/11/2014 - 08/02/2015

Inspiration für seine Zeichnungen findet der portugiesische Künstler Rui Moreira in den unterschiedlichsten Quellen, etwa in den portugiesischen Caretos-Ritualen, in Himmelskarten oder bei seinen Reisen nach Indien oder in die Sahara. In seinen Arbeiten kombiniert er abstrakte oder geometrische dekorative Motive mit Figuren, die an mythologische Gestalten oder Gottheiten erinnern.

Solides FragilesSolides FragilesSolides FragilesSolides FragilesSolides FragilesSolides Fragiles

SOLIDES FRAGILES

04/10/2014 - 08/02/2015

Die Ausstellung Solides Fragiles versammelt Künstler verschiedener Generationen, für die die wesentliche Eigenschaft eines Werkes in seinem Vermögen besteht, mit dem umgebenden Raum in einen Dialog zu treten. Für sie sind Umgebung, Atmosphäre oder Licht nicht einfache äußere Faktoren, sondern konstitutive Elemente der Arbeit. Als umgebendes und agierendes Medium enthüllen sie das Werk, und wechselweise enthüllt das Werk den Raum.

Damage ControlDamage ControlDamage ControlDamage ControlDamage ControlDamage ControlDamage ControlDamage ControlDamage Control

DAMAGE CONTROL

ART AND DESTRUCTION SINCE 1950

12/07/2014 - 12/10/2014

Damage Control: Art and Destruction Since 1950 wurde organisiert vom Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, DC in Zusammenarbeit mit Mudam Luxembourg und Universalmuseum Joanneum / Kunsthaus Graz. Kuratoren: Kerry Brougher und Russel Ferguson. Künstler: Roy Arden, John Baldessari, Mircea Cantor, Thomas Demand, Ori Gersht, Jack Goldstein, Yves Klein, Steve McQueen, Yoko Ono, Pipilotti Rist, Jean Tinguely, Andy Warhol...

Martine Feipel & Jean Bechameil : Many Dreams

MARTINE FEIPEL & JEAN BECHAMEIL : MANY DREAMS

ORT: PARK DRÄI EECHELEN

11/07/2014 - 21/09/2014

In diesem Sommer wird auf der Esplanade des Parks Draï Eechelen das Werk Many dreams des Luxemburger Künstlerduos Martine Feipel & Jean Bechameil zu sehen sein. Eingebettet in das Grün des Parks, der einen Panoramablick auf die Luxemburger Altstadt freigibt, ist Many dreams das aus Kunststoff gefertigte Skelett eines Busses aus den 1950er-Jahren, das durch die steinerne Optik seines Material wirkt, als wäre es über die Zeit langsam zu einem Fossil geworden.

István CsákányIstván CsákányIstván Csákány

ISTVÁN CSÁKÁNY

COLLECTION MUDAM

28/06/2014 - 25/01/2015

Die Installation Ghost Keeping des jungen ungarischen Künstlers István Csákány sorgte auf der Dokumenta 2013 in Kassel für Aufsehen. Mit seinem Werk Bernsteinzimmer (2010), das sich in der Sammlung des Mudam befindet, nimmt er Bezug auf das legendäre Bernsteinzimmer, das der preußische König Friedrich Wilhelm I. an den russischen Zaren Peter den Großen verschenkte und von dem es heute nur noch eine originalgetreue Nachbildung gibt.

Heimo ZobernigHeimo ZobernigHeimo ZobernigHeimo Zobernig

HEIMO ZOBERNIG

26/04/2014 - 07/09/2014

Heimo Zobernigs radikales Werk entwickelt sich seit Ende der 1970er-Jahre aus seiner kritischen Auseinandersetzung mit der Abstraktion. Er nimmt ihre Geschichte und ihre Sprache in den Blick, lotet ihre Grenzen aus, stellt ihre Eigenständigkeit auf den Prüfstand. Für seine Werke arbeitet der Österreicher häufig mit Materialien aus Quellen jenseits des Kunstkontextes, um auf diesem Wege „Konventionen auf den Kopf zu stellen”.

... of Sounds, Words, Turtles & You

... OF SOUNDS, WORDS, TURTLES & YOU

MUDAM SUMMER PROJECT

31/07/2014 - 31/08/2014

Katharina Bihler und Stefan Scheib, das Liquid Penguin Ensemble, stellen für ihr Sommer-Projekt im Mudam eine Klanginstallation mit Publikumsbeteiligung vor. Zwischen dem 31. Juli und dem 21. August sammeln sie mit Hilfe der Museumsbesucher akustisches Material, genauer gesagt Worte in den Sprachen der Besucher, die diese über ein Mikrophon in einen „Wortcontainer” sprechen und auch eine kurze Erklärung zu ihrer Wahl hinzufügen.

Audiolab . Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

AUDIOLAB . RONAN & ERWAN BOUROULLEC

COLLECTION MUDAM

21/05/2014 - 27/07/2014

Im Audiolab-Projekt trifft Architektur auf Sound-Design. Der lange gemeinsame Prozess, bei dem die Talente von vier Designern und einer Vielzahl der unterschiedlichsten Musiker zusammengebracht wurden, bündelt Design, Musik und Kunst zu einer Erfahrung, die auf mehreren Ebenen wirkt. Audiolab 2 wurde von Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec entworfen, den Designern der Struktur des Mudam Cafés.

Never for Money, Always for LoveNever for Money, Always for LoveNever for Money, Always for LoveNever for Money, Always for LoveNever for Money, Always for LoveNever for Money, Always for LoveNever for Money, Always for Love

NEVER FOR MONEY, ALWAYS FOR LOVE

DESIGN CITY 2014 - LXBG BIENNALE

03/04/2014 - 15/06/2014

Kuratoren der Ausstellung Never for Money, Always for Love im Rahmen von Design City 2014 sind Anna Loporcaro und der portugiesische Designer Bruno Carvalho. Ihr zentrales Thema ist die Auseinandersetzung mit den traditionellen Ansätzen im Design vor dem Hintergrund der gesellschaftspolitischen Herausforderungen, seien es Wirtschaftskrisen oder knapper werdende natürliche Ressourcen. Die Ausstellung ist gedacht als kommunikative Plattform zweier Kunstszenen: Sie versammelt vierzehn Designer aus Portugal und Luxemburg.

Design City 2014 – LXBG BiennaleDesign City 2014 – LXBG Biennale

DESIGN CITY 2014 – LXBG BIENNALE

INTO THE PROCESS

23/04/2014 - 15/06/2014

Thema der Biennale Design City ist Design im öffentlichen Raum sowie seine Integration im alltäglichen Leben. Sie begreift sich als kreatives Labor, als Werbung und als experimentelle Plattform für die Teilhabe von Designern an der Stadtentwicklung. Anlässlich der dritten Auflage von Design City wird es zwei Ausstellungen – eine im Mudam, eine im öffentlichen Raum –, ein Vortragsprogramm und einen Rundweg mit Zwischenstopps bei Designern, Einzelhändlern der Stadt und Partnerinstitutionen geben.

NY-LUXNY-LUXNY-LUXNY-LUXNY-LUXNY-LUX

NY-LUX

EDWARD STEICHEN AWARD 2004-2014

14/02/2014 - 09/06/2014

Der Edward Steichen Award, der im Jahr 2004 als Hommage für den 1879 in Luxemburg geborenen Edward Steichen geschaffen wurde, hat den Anspruch, den Dialog zwischen der europäischen Kunstszene und derjenigen der Vereinigten Staaten zu unterstützen. Der alle zwei Jahre an einen jungen Künstler aus der Großregion verliehene Preis ermöglicht es seinem Gewinner, ein sechsmonatiges Stipendium am ISCP (International Studio and Curatorial Programm) in New York wahrzunehmen.