2013

Lee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee Bul

LEE BUL

05/10/2013 - 09/06/2014

Lee Bul is one of South Korea’s most active artists on the international contemporary art scene. She began her career in the eighties with a series of street performances in which she wore prosthetic dresses – morphological extensions with which she transformed her appearance. More recently, Bul’s work has gravitated towards architecture. After subjecting the human body to distortions and manipulations, the artist is now transfiguring our built environment and undermining our perception of space.

Audiolab . Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

AUDIOLAB . RONAN & ERWAN BOUROULLEC

COLLECTION MUDAM

12/12/2013 - 18/05/2014

The Audiolab project is a coming together of architecture and sound design. The long collective process – involving the talents of four designers and a diversified medley of musicians, sound artists and engineers – gathers design, music and art into an experience that works on many levels. Audiolab 2 was created by Ronan and Erwan Bouroullec, two designers who also designed the structure of Mudam Café.

Lutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & Guggisberg

LUTZ & GUGGISBERG

THE FOREST

06/07/2013 - 30/03/2014

Andres Lutz, also cabaret artist, and Anders Guggisberg, musician, have worked together as an artistic duo since 1996, creating a wide variety of works. Their repertoire includes not only paintings, sculptures, installations, video and photography, but also performances and their constantly growing fake library. Based in Zurich, Lutz & Guggisberg are rooted in the tradition of Dadaism, which was invented in the city, and the work of another famous Zurich artistic duo, Fischli/Weiss.

Thea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea Djordjadze

THEA DJORDJADZE

OUR FULL

22/06/2013 - 30/03/2014

Created using humble materials from traditional sculpture or found in the everyday environment, such as wood, clay, plaster, glass, fabrics and steel, Thea Djordjadze’s sculptures and installations are characterised by their fragile, temporary and transitory nature. Seemingly produced on the spur of the moment – the artist likes to keep her works open, and often finalises them when installing the exhibition –, they are a crystallisation of both the process of their production and their possible alteration through time.

Elmar TrenkwalderElmar TrenkwalderElmar Trenkwalder

ELMAR TRENKWALDER

05/10/2013 - 16/03/2014

The phantasmagorical work of the austrian artist, Elmar Trenkwalder, celebrates the exalted and hallucinated part of the human spirit. Referring to the tradition of sexual transgression developed by the Viennese Actionists, it is also reminiscent of a fantastical medieval era, as well as of the grotesque style. Moved by an erotic and vital energy, this audacious project appears to arise from obsessive visions of magical forms.

Chen Chieh-jenChen Chieh-jenChen Chieh-jenChen Chieh-jen

CHEN CHIEH-JEN

FACTORY, THE ROUTE, EMPIRE’S BORDERS I & II

05/10/2013 - 19/01/2014

Chen Chieh-jen, foremost figure of the Taiwanese art scene, makes movies on political and social matters, mainly focusing on the conditions of life of marginalised populations. For his last film, Happiness Building I (2012), the artist paid a more particular attention to the “internal exiled people”, as he described them, of the economic policy of Taiwan. The exhibition of Chen Chieh-jen at Mudam will allow the European audience to discover some of the last movies of the artist.

J'ouvre les yeux et tu es làJ'ouvre les yeux et tu es làJ'ouvre les yeux et tu es là

J'OUVRE LES YEUX ET TU ES LÀ

COLLECTION MUDAM

05/10/2013 - 19/01/2014

The exhibition J’ouvre les yeux et tu es là (I open my eyes and you are there) gathers about fifteen artworks from the Mudam Collection, including several recent acquisitions. The works show the fragile movement of appearing and disappearing images: ephemeral shadow images, the appearance of an image on a sheet of paper or a canvas, the reflection, the projection, the inception of mental images... The title of the exhibition is borrowed from a painting by Rémy Zaugg, who questions our gaze, appearance and invisibility.

Robert Knoth & Antoinette de Jong

ROBERT KNOTH & ANTOINETTE DE JONG

POPPY - TRAILS OF AFGHAN HEROIN

23/03/2013 - 02/06/2013

Within the framework of the fourth edition of European Month of Photography, which begins on 24 April 2013, Mudam in collaboration with Café Crème presents the multimedia installation POPPY – Trails of Afghan Heroin by Robert Knoth and Antoinette de Jong. By highlighting the dark and complex side of globalization, this multimedia installation thus exposes the context and consequences of the shipment of heroin from East to West, by revealing along the way conflicts, diseases, and crimes as well as the extreme poverty that afflicts these countries.

L'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillon

L'IMAGE PAPILLON

23/03/2013 - 08/09/2013

Inspired by the work of the German writer W. G. Sebald, the exhibition L’Image papillon (The Butterfly Image) addresses the complex relations that link image and memory. It gathers sixteen artists whose work, like Sebald’s, explores the realms of memory and history. Borrowing its title from an essay on Sebald’s work by Muriel Pic, the exhibition uses the figure of the ‘butterfly image’ to examine the questions this kind of relation to the past asks in the context of the visual arts.

Folkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de Jong

FOLKERT DE JONG

ACTUS TRAGICUS

23/03/2013 - 08/09/2013

At first glance, the three-dimensional pictures by the Dutch artist Folkert de Jong appear seductive and disturbing in equal measure. De Jong generally turns the exhibition space into a theatre stage, for which he designs sceneries made, with great virtuosity, from polyurethane foam, an unusual material in sculpture. Often inspired by historic facts, real persons or memorable episodes from art history, his works unfold in complex compositions that confront the viewer with extremely tangible directness.

Art Orienté Objet (Marion Laval-Jeantet et Benoît Mangin)

ART ORIENTÉ OBJET (MARION LAVAL-JEANTET ET BENOÎT MANGIN)

COLLECTION MUDAM

23/03/2013 - 08/09/2013

The Mudam Collection grows steadily with the years and presently counts over 550 works. About twenty works are presented in a permanent way in the museum and the park, whereas temporary exhibitions allow the visitors to regularly discover diverse pieces from the collection. With Unrooted Tree (Arbre sans racines) ou la Machine à faire parler les arbres, Mudam exhibits a work form the french artists duo Art Orienté Objet which recently entered the collection.

Yuri SuzukiYuri SuzukiYuri SuzukiYuri SuzukiYuri Suzuki

YURI SUZUKI

LOOKS LIKE MUSIC

03/08/2013 - 26/08/2013

Looks Like Music is an installation by Yuri Suzuki centered around his sound piece Colour Chaser: a miniature robot that detects and follows a black line while reading crossing coloured lines and translating this data into sound. Visitors are free to draw on paper and simultaneously compose music, thus creating a large scale picture and a sound piece at the same time.

Audiolab . Laurent MassalouxAudiolab . Laurent Massaloux

AUDIOLAB . LAURENT MASSALOUX

COLLECTION MUDAM

31/08/2013 - 01/12/2013

The Mudam Collection grows steadily with the years and presently counts over 550 works. About twenty works are presented in a permanent way in the museum and the park, whereas temporary exhibitions allow the visitors to regularly discover diverse pieces from the collection. The Audiolab project gathers design, music and art into an experience that works on many levels.

Katinka Bock

KATINKA BOCK

COLLECTION MUDAM

23/03/2013 - 28/07/2013

The Mudam Collection grows steadily with the years and presently counts over 550 works. About twenty works are presented in a permanent way in the museum and the park, whereas temporary exhibitions allow the visitors to regularly discover diverse pieces from the collection related to exhibition themes or through isolated presentations. This spring, the new acquisition Atlantic, Personne by Katinka Bock was exhibited in the sculpture garden.

2013

Lee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee Bul

LEE BUL

05/10/2013 - 09/06/2014

Lee Bul ist eine der produktivsten südkoreanischen Künstlerinnen. Den Beginn ihrer Laufbahn markierten ihre Straßenperformances in den 1980er-Jahren, für die sie in Ganzkörperkostüme mit prothetischen Auswüchsen schlüpfte, um sich so eine ganz und gar neue Gestalt zu verleihen. Seit einiger Zeit hat die Südkoreanerin sich der Architektur zugewandt. Nachdem sie sich ausführlich der Deformationen des Körpers gewidmet hat, manipuliert sie nun unsere Wahrnehmung des Raumes.

Audiolab . Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

AUDIOLAB . RONAN & ERWAN BOUROULLEC

COLLECTION MUDAM

12/12/2013 - 18/05/2014

Im Audiolab-Projekt trifft Architektur auf Sound-Design. Der lange gemeinsame Prozess, bei dem die Talente von vier Designern und einer Vielzahl der unterschiedlichsten Musiker zusammengebracht wurden, bündelt Design, Musik und Kunst zu einer Erfahrung, die auf mehreren Ebenen wirkt. Audiolab 2 wurde von Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec entworfen, den Designern der Struktur des Mudam Cafés.

Lutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & Guggisberg

LUTZ & GUGGISBERG

THE FOREST

06/07/2013 - 30/03/2014

Andres Lutz, der Kabarettist und Anders Guggisberg, der Musiker, arbeiten seit 1996 gemeinsam als Künstlerduo und schaffen Werke der vielfältigsten Art: Malerei, Skulptur, Installation, Video und Fotografie gehören ebenso zu ihrem Repertoire wie Performances oder eine kontinuierlich anwachsende falsche Bibliothek. In Zürich ansässig, stehen Lutz & Guggisberg in der Tradition des dort erfundenen Dadaismus oder des anderen berühmten Zürcher Künstlerduos, Fischli/Weiss.

Thea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea Djordjadze

THEA DJORDJADZE

OUR FULL

22/06/2013 - 30/03/2014

Thea Djordjadzes Installationen und Skulpturen entstehen aus einfachen Materialien, die die Künstlerin im Bereich der Skulptur oder in ihrem alltäglichen Umfeld findet, wie Holz, Ton, Gips, Glas, Stoff oder Stahl. Ihre Arbeiten scheinen von zerbrechlicher, vergänglicher Natur zu sein, wie für den Moment geschaffen, mit einer gewissen Offenheit, der die Künstlerin erst im Moment der Ausstellung ihren letzten Schliff gibt, so dass sich in ihnen der Prozess ihrer Herstellung wie auch ihre Zeitlichkeit abzeichnen.

Elmar TrenkwalderElmar TrenkwalderElmar Trenkwalder

ELMAR TRENKWALDER

05/10/2013 - 16/03/2014

Das im Fantastischen verortete Werk des Elmar Trenkwalder ist Ausdruck der exaltierten, entrückten Seite des menschlichen Geistes. Angesichts seiner sexuellen Grenzüberschreitungen steht es der Tradition des Wiener Aktionismus nah, lässt jedoch gleichzeitig Bezüge zu fantastischen mittelalterlichen Welten und dem Grotesken erkennen. In den eigenwilligen Werken von überbordender erotischer Vitalität scheinen faszinierende Visionen magischer Formen Gestalt anzunehmen.

Chen Chieh-jenChen Chieh-jenChen Chieh-jenChen Chieh-jen

CHEN CHIEH-JEN

FACTORY, THE ROUTE, EMPIRE’S BORDERS I & II

05/10/2013 - 19/01/2014

Chen Chieh-jen ist eine der zentralen Figuren der taiwanesischen Kunstszene. Seit den frühen 2000er-Jahren macht er Filme, die insbesondere die Lebensumstände gesellschaftlicher Randgruppen in den Blick nehmen. Ausgangspunkt für seinen jüngsten Film, Happiness Building I (2012), waren junge arbeitslose Erwachsene, die Chen Chieh-jen als „innere Exilanten“ der nationalen Wirtschaftspolitik in Taiwan bezeichnet.

J'ouvre les yeux et tu es làJ'ouvre les yeux et tu es làJ'ouvre les yeux et tu es là

J'OUVRE LES YEUX ET TU ES LÀ

COLLECTION MUDAM

05/10/2013 - 19/01/2014

Die Ausstellung J’ouvre les yeux et tu es là, in der fünfzehn Werke aus der Mudam Sammlung gezeigt werden, präsentiert Arbeiten, die das Erscheinen und Verschwinden von Bildern an der Wahrnehmungsschwelle auf subtile Art und Weise zum Thema machen: ephemere Schattenbilder, das kaum sichtbare Auftauchen von bildhaften Formen auf einem Zeichenblatt oder einer Leinwand, Spiegelungen und Projektionen oder auch das Auslösen geistiger Bilder.

Robert Knoth & Antoinette de Jong

ROBERT KNOTH & ANTOINETTE DE JONG

POPPY - TRAILS OF AFGHAN HEROIN

23/03/2013 - 02/06/2013

Im Rahmen des vierten Europäischen Monats der Fotografie präsentiert das Mudam in Zusammenarbeit mit Café Crème die Multimedia-Installation POPPY – Trails of Afghan Heroin von Robert Knoth und Antoinette de Jong. Von den grellbunten Blumenfeldern Afghanistans bis in die Straßen der Londoner Innenstadt verfolgt Poppy den durch 12 verschiedene Länder führenden Herstellungs- und Handelsweg von Heroin. Die Installation zeigt die dunklen, vielschichtigen Seiten der Globalisierung.

L'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillon

L'IMAGE PAPILLON

23/03/2013 - 08/09/2013

Angeregt vom Werk des deutschen Schriftstellers W. G. Sebald, richtet die Ausstellung L’Image papillon (Das Schmetterlingsbild) das Augenmerk auf die komplexen Beziehungen, die Bild und Gedächtnis miteinander verbinden. Es wurde ein Ensemble von sechzehn Künstlern zusammengestellt, deren Arbeiten sich, genau wie Sebalds Bücher auch, mit den Bereichen Gedächtnis und Geschichte hinsichtlich der Erfahrung und der Verwicklung der Zeiten auseinandersetzen.

Folkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de Jong

FOLKERT DE JONG

ACTUS TRAGICUS

23/03/2013 - 08/09/2013

Die dreidimensionalen Bilder des Folkert de Jong erscheinen auf den ersten Blick ebenso verführerisch wie verstörend. De Jong macht den Ausstellungsraum zur theatralischen Bühne, für die er Szenerien entwirft, die in dem für die Skulptur ungewöhnlichen Material Hartschaum angefertigt werden. Oftmals von historischen Ereignissen inspiriert, entfalten sich seine Werke in komplexen Kompositionen, denen sich der Betrachter in einer spürbaren Unmittelbarkeit gegenüber sieht.

Art Orienté Objet (Marion Laval-Jeantet et Benoît Mangin)

ART ORIENTÉ OBJET (MARION LAVAL-JEANTET ET BENOÎT MANGIN)

COLLECTION MUDAM

23/03/2013 - 08/09/2013

Die Mudam Sammlung erweitert sich ständig im Laufe der Jahre und besteht aktuell aus mehr als 550 Werken. Etwa 20 Werke sind im Museum und im Park permanent ausgestellt. Wechselausstellungen stellen den Besuchern verschiedene Aspekte der Sammlung regelmäßig vor. Mit Unrooted Tree (Arbre sans racines) ou la Machine à faire parler les arbres, stellt Mudam ein Werk des französischen Künstlerduos Art Orienté Objet aus, welches vor kurzem in die Mudam Sammlung aufgenommen wurde.

Yuri SuzukiYuri SuzukiYuri SuzukiYuri SuzukiYuri Suzuki

YURI SUZUKI

LOOKS LIKE MUSIC

03/08/2013 - 26/08/2013

Looks Like Music ist eine Installation von Yuri Suzuki ausgerichtet auf eine seiner Toneinrichtungen mit dem Titel Colour Chaser: ein Roboter in Miniaturformat der sowohl eine schwarze Linie wahrnimmt, der er nachfolgt, sowie bunte Querstreifen die er in Ton umsetzt. Besucher können frei auf Papier malen und dabei gleichzeitig Musik komponieren, die dabei entstehende Zeichnung ist zugleich eine Tongestaltung.

Audiolab . Laurent MassalouxAudiolab . Laurent Massaloux

AUDIOLAB . LAURENT MASSALOUX

COLLECTION MUDAM

31/08/2013 - 01/12/2013

Die Mudam Sammlung erweitert sich ständig im Laufe der Jahre und besteht aktuell aus mehr als 550 Werken. Etwa 20 Werke sind im Museum und im Park permanent ausgestellt. Wechselausstellungen erlauben den Besuchern, verschiedene Aspekte der Sammlung regelmäßig zu entdecken. Das Audiolab-Projekt bündelt Design, Musik und Kunst zu einer Erfahrung, die auf mehreren Ebenen wirkt.

Katinka Bock

KATINKA BOCK

COLLECTION MUDAM

23/03/2013 - 28/07/2013

Die Mudam Sammlung erweitert sich ständig im Laufe der Jahre und besteht aktuell aus mehr als 550 Werken. Etwa 20 Werke sind im Museum und im Park permanent ausgestellt, während Wechselausstellungen den Besuchern erlauben, verschiedene Aspekte der Sammlung regelmäßig zu entdecken. Diesen Frühling wurde das neuere Werk Atlantic, Personne von Katinka Bock im Skulpturengarten ausgestellt.