2012

Dieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de Havanes

DIEU EST UN FUMEUR DE HAVANES

COLLECTION MUDAM

21/11/2012 - 16/06/2013

Dieu est un fumeur de Havanes is an exhibition interested in the notions of faith and fetishism. It closes the cycle of the Mudam Collection exhibitions, which was inaugurated in 2010 with the exhibition Brave New World followed by Premier étage, Second degré (2010), Walking through... (2011), I've dreamt about (2011) and Les Détours de l'abstraction (2012). What could belong to a myth, what is an idol nowadays? What about our contemporary faiths?

Thomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas Hirschhorn

THOMAS HIRSCHHORN

FLUGPLATZ WELT / WORLD AIRPORT

21/11/2012 - 26/05/2013

World Airport by Thomas Hirschhorn presents a metaphorically connected world that is feeded by multiple networks but stays intrinsically heterogeneous. His monumental installation, consisting of poor and multiple materials, underlines how much these days interconnections are granted. It is more a question of collisions than encounters, confrontations than communication.

Michel PaysantMichel Paysant

MICHEL PAYSANT

ONLAB

13/10/2012 - 10/03/2013

OnLAB (Laboratoire d’Oeuvres Nouvelles), brainchild of the artist Michel Paysant, is a research project in which art, science and technology overlap. One of its major realisations are highly innovative, nanoscopic (millionths of a millimetre) and microscopic artworks. Produced in partnership with Giancarlo Faini and Christian Ulysse, researchers at the Photonics and Nanostructures Laboratory at the French centre for scientific research CNRS, these are truly groundbreaking works in the fields of art and science.

Atelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier Luxembourg

ATELIER LUXEMBOURG

THE VENICE BIENNALE PROJECTS 1988-2011

13/10/2012 - 24/02/2013

For Luxembourg Atelier, five Luxembourg museum institutions are collaborating to present a glimpse of creative activity in Luxembourg from 1945 to the present day. This vast panorama brings back to life the struggles of innovative artists living in a country that was for a long time situated on the margins of dominant artistic trends but which, since the end of the 20th century, has found its place in European artistic development.

Les MLes MLes MLes M

LES M

SENSORIUM

12/07/2012 - 27/08/2012

Mudam welcomes the designers Céline Merhand and Anaïs Morel under the label The M. They intend to surprise us in a space devoted to the five senses. For The M, design is a way of revisiting daily rituals and questioning our sensory habits.

Emily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily Bates

EMILY BATES

THE SKY IS GLOWING WITH THE SETTING SUN

02/06/2012 - 23/09/2012

Combining photography, video and audio elements, the installations of English artist Emily Bates are the fruit of long-term research in specific geographical contexts, often marked by the transition from traditional cultures to modernity. Her Love Scenes project, presented in 2008 at Casino Luxembourg, thus addressed the Naxi minority culture in China, while The Nurturing Island concerns a tropical island in the south of Japan. Emily Bates was invited to create a new project for her exhibition at Mudam.

Filipa CésarFilipa CésarFilipa CésarFilipa CésarFilipa César

FILIPA CÉSAR

1975

02/06/2012 - 23/09/2012

Filipa César examines a particularly important period in the recent history of her homeland, Portugal: the end of the authoritarian Salazar regime and decolonisation of Guinea-Bissau. Three films based on contemporary documents or interviews with activists of the time - Porto, Le Passeur and The Embassy - form the core of the exhibit, which also includes a facsimile of Aimé Césaire’s book Discurso sobre o colonialismo and related posters.

Simon EvansSimon EvansSimon EvansSimon EvansSimon EvansSimon Evans

SIMON EVANS

HOW TO BE ALONE WHEN YOU LIVE WITH SOMEONE

02/06/2012 - 23/09/2012

The graphic compositions by the British artist Simon Evans combine drawings with fragments of words and relate to diaries, automatic writing, collage, lists, inventories, encyclopedias, diagrams, cartography, cosmology...

Steven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. Harvey

STEVEN C. HARVEY

VEHICLES

02/06/2012 - 23/09/2012

The futuristic vehicles which feature in the work of Steven C. Harvey, who is based in Athens, describe the contours of a “dystopian” world. The artist sees in his pieces “lamentations on the contradictions of the western world and the over-consumption of world ressources, a crisis of which our vehicles are only a symptom”. His extremely precise graphite drawings evoke the universe of a science fiction writer like J. G. Ballard.

Sanja IvekovićSanja IvekovićSanja IvekovićSanja IvekovićSanja IvekovićSanja IvekovićSanja Iveković

SANJA IVEKOVIĆ

WAITING FOR THE REVOLUTION

02/06/2012 - 16/09/2012

Sanja Ivekovic, a central figure on the Croatian art scene, has developed an engaged artistic practice since the early 1970s, animated by questions of genre, media, identity, and the public and private spheres. Her exhibition at Mudam – a decade after her unprecedentedly controversial public space project Lady Rosa of Luxembourg, which addressed the often-overlooked role of women in wartime – will present a large panorama of her works realised from 1975 to the present.

Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012

DESIGN CITY 2012

13/04/2012 - 03/06/2012

Design City is concerned with design for its contribution to quality of life, a decisive factor in the locating of companies and an important element of differenciation and tourist attraction. Design City 2012 is presenting a series of events which focus on multidisciplinary work of designers. On this occasion, public space will host the exhibition Index: Award 2011, presenting a selection from the 60 finalists nominated for this big international design prize.

Les Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstraction

LES DÉTOURS DE L'ABSTRACTION

COLLECTION MUDAM

21/03/2012 - 04/11/2012

History recorded Kandinsky’s shock when, in 1896, he found himself in front of the series of Monet’s Meules/Haystacks, an experience which he turned into the ground-breaking birth of abstraction. More than a century later, while the theoretical not to say political challenges which have gone hand in hand with the adventure of abstraction no longer have any currency, the fact remains that abstract art is still diversifying. It is this feature which the exhibition is intent on emphasizing, focusing on the dissolution of the motif and the appearance of forms.

Sarah SzeSarah SzeSarah SzeSarah Sze

SARAH SZE

FIXED POINTS FINDING A HOME

11/02/2012 - 16/09/2012

Sarah Sze creates ephemeral in situ sculptures, in which a host of everyday objects are painstakingly assembled to form light and fragile structures which invade space. Her works are invariably conceived in response to the architecture of exhibition venues, and invite spectators to move among different scales, ranging from humble to monumental, micro- and macroscopic. Mudam has invited Sara Sze to make a new installation for the Museum Pavilion.

FabricaFabricaFabricaFabricaFabricaFabrica

FABRICA

11/02/2012 - 10/06/2012

Next Cabane and Riot Act are projects of Fabrica. This think tank of the company Benetton is an applied creativity laboratory, a talent incubator, a studio of sorts in which young artists are invited to develop innovative projects and explore new directions, from design, music and film to photography, publishing and the Internet. These artist-experimenters are accompanied along their research path by leading figures, blurring the boundaries of culture and language.

Maurizio Galante & Tal LancmanMaurizio Galante & Tal LancmanMaurizio Galante & Tal LancmanMaurizio Galante & Tal LancmanMaurizio Galante & Tal LancmanMaurizio Galante & Tal LancmanMaurizio Galante & Tal Lancman

MAURIZIO GALANTE & TAL LANCMAN

TRANSVERSAL DESIGN. HAUTE COUTURE - DESIGN - ARCHITECTURE

11/02/2012 - 13/05/2012

Maurizio Galante, a haute couture fashion designer, and Tal Lancman, underscore the close link between art and industry. From concept to making, the works on view illustrate their meetings with Baccarat, Boffi, Cerruti Baleri, Craft, the Fondation Cartier, Ithemba, the Mudam, Mussi… Merging past and future, craftsmanship and technology, Maurizio Galante and Tal Lancman describe for us the itinerary of their creations, from the “conception of the idea” to the finished products.

Tina GillenTina GillenTina GillenTina Gillen

TINA GILLEN

PLAYGROUND

11/02/2012 - 13/05/2012

The paintings of the Luxembourg artist Tina Gillen present figurative worlds offset by abstract forms. The back-and-forth movement between these two dimensions goes hand in hand with a shrewd balance between a great mastery of the pictorial vocabulary and a certain “slackening” in the execution. The Mudam show, made up of works created specifically for the occasion, will have the theme of the arboretum as its point of departure.

Børre SæthreBørre SæthreBørre SæthreBørre SæthreBørre Sæthre

BØRRE SÆTHRE

UNTITLED (WARDENCLYFFE TOWER)

11/02/2012 - 06/05/2012

The installations of the Norwegian artist Børre Sæthre take the shape of dreamlike environments, on the borderline between fairy tales and futuristic worlds, calling to mind the atmosphere of a film like 2001: A Space Odyssey by Stanley Kubrick. Like these scenes associating stuffed animals and high-tech environments, playing on the concertina-ing of eclectic worlds, they trigger in viewers an impression of uncanniness.

Victor ManVictor Man

VICTOR MAN

11/02/2012 - 06/05/2012

Combining paintings, sculptures, found objects, photographs and silkscreened works, the installations of Victor Man are hallmarked by their murky atmospheres, at once fascinating and disquieting. Often made with found images connected to a more or less recent past, which, removed from their initial context, take on other levels of meaning, his works exude melancholy, solitude, the violence of existence, desire, and a certain mysticism.

Conrad ShawcrossConrad ShawcrossConrad ShawcrossConrad ShawcrossConrad ShawcrossConrad Shawcross

CONRAD SHAWCROSS

THE NERVOUS SYSTEMS (INVERTED)

16/01/2012 - 06/05/2012

The interests of Conrad Shawcross are mainly focussed on scientific and philosophical questions. These disciplines combine in his artistic work to create pictures which make complicated connections or fundamental theoretical concepts visible so that people can experience them. The Nervous System, an installation designed for the Grand Hall of the Mudam, is similar to a number of other machines which produce rope and separate it into its individual strands again.

2012

Dieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de Havanes

DIEU EST UN FUMEUR DE HAVANES

COLLECTION MUDAM

21/11/2012 - 16/06/2013

Mit Dieu est un Fumeur de Havanes, einer Ausstellung die sich mit den Begriffen Glaube und Fetichismus auseinandersetzt, schließt Mudam den Zyklus der Ausstellungen rund um die Mudam Sammlung ab. Dieser Zyklus wurde 2010 mit der Ausstellung Schöne Neue Welt eingeweiht, gefolgt von Premier étage, Second degré (2010), Walking through... (2011), I've dreamt about (2011) und Les Détours de l'abstraction (2012). Was gehört zum Mythos, was ist heutzutage ein Idol? Wie ist es um unseren modernen Glauben bestimmt?

Thomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas Hirschhorn

THOMAS HIRSCHHORN

FLUGPLATZ WELT / WORLD AIRPORT

21/11/2012 - 26/05/2013

Mit World Airport präsentiert Thomas Hirschhorn die Metapher einer vernetzten Welt, die trotz der zahlreichen Netzwerke, die sie umspannen, in ihrem Innersten von großen Unterschieden geprägt ist. Seine aus „armen” und unterschiedlichsten Materialien zusammengesetzte monumentale Installation unterstreicht, in welchem Maße unsere Zeit bereits vernetzt ist, dies jedoch mehr durch Konfrontation und Kollision als durch Begegnung und Kommunikation.

Michel PaysantMichel Paysant

MICHEL PAYSANT

ONLAB

13/10/2012 - 10/03/2013

OnLAB ist ein Forschungsprojekt des Künstlers Michel PAYSANT, welches Kunst, Wissenschaft und Technik miteinander verbindet. Es ermöglicht unter anderem das Entstehen innovativer mikro- und nanoskopischer Kunstwerke. Die Objekte sind in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Laboratoire de Photonique et de Nanostructures du Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS) entstanden. Das Projekt ist sowohl in der Kunst wie auch in der Wissenschaft zukunftsweisend.

Atelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier Luxembourg

ATELIER LUXEMBOURG

THE VENICE BIENNALE PROJECTS 1988-2011

13/10/2012 - 24/02/2013

Mit Atelier Luxembourg schließen sich fünf luxemburgische Museumsinstitutionen zusammen, um einen Überblick der Kunstproduktion in Luxemburg von 1945 bis heute zu präsentieren. Die Retrospektive vergegenwärtigt die Kämpfe, die innovative Künstler aus einem Land zu bestehen hatten, das in der europäischen Kulturlandschaft lange eine Außenseiterposition innehatte, sich jedoch seit Ende des 20. Jahrhunderts seinen Platz in dieser Kunstszene erobert hat.

Les MLes MLes MLes M

LES M

SENSORIUM

12/07/2012 - 27/08/2012

Hinter Les M verbergen sich die beiden Designerinnen Céline Merhand und Anaïs Morel. Sie sind im Mudam zu Gast, um das Publikum in einem ganz den fünf Sinnen gewidmeten Bereich zum Staunen zu bringen.

Emily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily Bates

EMILY BATES

THE SKY IS GLOWING WITH THE SETTING SUN

02/06/2012 - 23/09/2012

Die aus Fotografien, Videos und Klangelementen bestehenden Installationen von Emily Bates entwickeln sich aus ihren langfristig angelegten Untersuchungen in spezifischen geografischen Kontexten, die häufig geprägt sind vom Übergang traditioneller Lebensformen zu einem modernen Lebensstil. So beschäftigte sie sich für Love Scenes mit der Minderheitenkultur der Naxi in China, während eine kleine tropische Insel in Japans Süden den Rahmen The Nurturing Island bildete.

Filipa CésarFilipa CésarFilipa CésarFilipa CésarFilipa César

FILIPA CÉSAR

1975

02/06/2012 - 23/09/2012

Filipa César beschäftigt sich mit zwei prägenden Ereignissen für die jüngere Geschichte ihres Heimatlandes Portugal: mit dem Ende des Salazar-Regimes sowie der Entlassung der portugiesischen Kolonie Guinea-Bissau in die Unabhängigkeit. Herzstück der Ausstellung sind die Filme Porto, Le Passeur und The Embassy, deren Basis zeitgenössisches Dokumentarmaterial sowie Interviews mit Aktivisten jener Zeit bilden.

Simon EvansSimon EvansSimon EvansSimon EvansSimon EvansSimon Evans

SIMON EVANS

HOW TO BE ALONE WHEN YOU LIVE WITH SOMEONE

02/06/2012 - 23/09/2012

Die aus Zeichnungen und Wortfragmenten bestehenden grafischen Kompositionen des englischen Künstlers Simon Evans sind gleichzeitig Tagebuch, „Écriture automatique”, Collage, Liste, Inventarverzeichnis, Enzyklopädie und Diagramm, verweisen auf Kartografie und Kosmologie...

Steven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. Harvey

STEVEN C. HARVEY

VEHICLES

02/06/2012 - 23/09/2012

Die futuristischen Fahrzeuge, die die Werke des britischen Künstlers Steven C. Harvey bevölkern, lassen das Bild einer „dystopischen” Welt entstehen. Der Künstler betrachtet seine Werke als „Klagen über die Widersprüchlichkeiten der westlichen Welt und den überhöhten Verbrauch der auf der Erde vorhandenen Ressourcen und damit eine Krise, für die unsere Autos nichts weiter als ein Symptom sind”.

Sanja IvekovićSanja IvekovićSanja IvekovićSanja IvekovićSanja IvekovićSanja IvekovićSanja Iveković

SANJA IVEKOVIĆ

WAITING FOR THE REVOLUTION

02/06/2012 - 16/09/2012

Sanja Iveković entwickelt seit den frühen 1970er Jahren ein politisch engagiertes Werk, bei dem Fragen nach Gender, Erinnerung und Identität im Mittelpunkt stehen. Ein Jahrzehnt nach ihrem im öffentlichen Raum der Stadt Luxembourg organisierten Projekt Lady Rosa of Luxembourg, wird die Ausstellung Sanja Ivekovics im Mudam eine bedeutende Anzahl von Werken aus der Zeit von 1975 bis heute präsentieren.

Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012

DESIGN CITY 2012

13/04/2012 - 03/06/2012

Bei Design City geht es um den Beitrag von Design zur Lebensqualität, ein Aspekt, der für die Ansiedlung von Unternehmen entscheidend ist und maßgeblich zur Profilierung und Attraktivität des Landes beiträgt. Die Veranstaltungsreihe kreist um die multidisziplinäre Arbeit von Designern. Im öffentlichen Raum findet die Ausstellung Index: Award 2011 statt, bei der Arbeiten der 60 Finalisten dieses internationalen Designwettbewerbs zu sehen sind.

Les Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstraction

LES DÉTOURS DE L'ABSTRACTION

COLLECTION MUDAM

21/03/2012 - 04/11/2012

In der Kunstgeschichte markiert der Schock, den Kandinsky 1986 angesichts der Getreideschober-Serie von Claude Monet erlebte, den Beginn der Abstraktion. Heute, gehören die theoretischen und politischen Fragestellungen, die das Abenteuer der Abstraktion begleiteten, längst der Vergangenheit an, die abstrakte Kunst aber verbreitet sich beständig weiter. Im Mittelpunkt dieser Sammlungsausstellung stehen dabei das Verschwinden des Motivs und das Auftauchen der Formen.

Sarah SzeSarah SzeSarah SzeSarah Sze

SARAH SZE

FIXED POINTS FINDING A HOME

11/02/2012 - 16/09/2012

Sarah Sze schafft temporäre Skulpturen in situ, für die sie mit großer Sorgfalt eine Vielzahl von Alltagsgegenständen zu leichten, fragilen Strukturen zusammenfügt. Ihre Werke entstehen stets im Dialog mit der Architektur der Ausstellungsräume und konfrontieren den Betrachter mit verschiedensten Maßstäben, sind mal bescheiden, mal monumental, mal mikroskopisch klein oder auch überwältigend groß.

FabricaFabricaFabricaFabricaFabricaFabrica

FABRICA

11/02/2012 - 10/06/2012

Next Cabane und Riot Act sind Projekte von Fabrica, dem Kreativitäts-Think-Tank der Firma Benetton, der junge Künstler einlädt, an innovativen Projekten in den Bereichen Design, Musik, Film, Fotografie, Werbung und Internet zu arbeiten. Als „Brutkasten angewandter Kreativität” suchen die jungen künstlerischen Experimentatoren, begleitet von Spezialisten, die Grenzen ihrer Disziplinen zu überschreiten, um zukunftsweisende Ideen zu entwickeln.

Maurizio Galante & Tal LancmanMaurizio Galante & Tal LancmanMaurizio Galante & Tal LancmanMaurizio Galante & Tal LancmanMaurizio Galante & Tal LancmanMaurizio Galante & Tal LancmanMaurizio Galante & Tal Lancman

MAURIZIO GALANTE & TAL LANCMAN

TRANSVERSAL DESIGN. HAUTE COUTURE - DESIGN - ARCHITECTURE

11/02/2012 - 13/05/2012

Modeschöpfer Maurizio Galante und Trendsetter Tal Lancman heben die enge Verbindung zwischen Kunst und Industrie hervor. Die Exponate sind Ergebnisse von Kooperationen mit Baccarat, Boffi, Cerruti Baleri, Craft, der Fondation Cartier, Ithemba, Mudam, Mussi... In der Verschmelzung zwischen Vergangenheit und Zukunft, Handwerk und Technologie lassen Maurizio Galante und Tal Lancman uns an der Entstehung ihrer Werke vom Konzept/der Idee bis zum fertigen Produkt teilhaben.

Tina GillenTina GillenTina GillenTina Gillen

TINA GILLEN

PLAYGROUND

11/02/2012 - 13/05/2012

In den Bildern von Tina Gillen bilden abstrakte Formen einen Kontrapunkt zu gegenständlichen Universen. Neben dem Wechselspiel dieser Dimensionen herrscht eine eindrucksvolle Ausgewogenheit zwischen der Beherrschung des piktoralen Repertoires und einer gewissen „Nachlässigkeit” in der Umsetzung. Ausgangspunkt für die eigens für die Ausstellung im Mudam produzierten Werke ist das Motiv des Arboretums.

Børre SæthreBørre SæthreBørre SæthreBørre SæthreBørre Sæthre

BØRRE SÆTHRE

UNTITLED (WARDENCLYFFE TOWER)

11/02/2012 - 06/05/2012

Bei den Installationen des Børre Sæthre handelt es sich um an Träume erinnernde Environments, die im Grenzbereich zwischen Märchen und futuristischen Universen anzusiedeln sind und bisweilen an Filme wie 2001: Odyssee im Weltraum von Stanley Kubrick erinnern. In seinen Werken kombiniert Sæthre ausgestopfte Tiere mit High-Tech-Environments und fügt damit heterogene Universen ineinander, um im Betrachter ein Gefühl der Fremdheit hervorzurufen.

Victor ManVictor Man

VICTOR MAN

11/02/2012 - 06/05/2012

Victor Man kombiniert Gemälde, Skulpturen, gefundene Objekte, Fotos oder Siebdrucke. Charakteristisch für seine Werke ist die finstere - gleichermaßen faszinierende wie unheimliche - Atmosphäre, die sie auslösen. Ausgangspunkt der Arbeiten sind häufig gefundene Bilder, die Melancholie und Einsamkeit verströmen, aus ihnen sprechen die Unerbittlichkeit des Daseins, Sehnsucht und Mystizismus.

Conrad ShawcrossConrad ShawcrossConrad ShawcrossConrad ShawcrossConrad ShawcrossConrad Shawcross

CONRAD SHAWCROSS

THE NERVOUS SYSTEMS (INVERTED)

16/01/2012 - 06/05/2012

Im Mittelpunkt des Interesses von Conrad Shawcross stehen naturwissenschaftliche und philosophische Fragen. In seiner Arbeit begegnen sich diese Disziplinen und erzeugen Bilder, die komplizierte Zusammenhänge oder theoretische Grundlagen erfahrbar machen. The Nervous System, eigens für den Grand Hall des Mudam konzipiert, steht in einer Reihe ähnlicher Apparaturen, mit denen Shawcross Seile produziert und wieder in ihre Einzelfäden auflöst.