MUDAM Logo

2011

I’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt About

I’VE DREAMT ABOUT

COLLECTION MUDAM

23/11/2011 - 04/03/2012

Artists never stop reinventing our relationship to reality. From Tomás Saraceno’s “realist utopias” to the models of urban expansion by François Roche, artists are positioning themselves in the outposts of new researches. Thus these sweet dreamers and visionaries sketch out new ways of being in the world. As sounding boards of numerous utopias, they nontheless cast a critical gaze on our past experiments and know how to detect the conflicts that tomorrow heralds.

Mondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habités

MONDES INVENTÉS, MONDES HABITÉS

08/10/2011 - 15/01/2012

Mondes inventés, Mondes habités unveils the singularity of universes developed by artists who are in turn thinkers, engineers and architects investigating the forces and flux that control and make up our universe, as well as the dynamics that animate it. Attentive to the mechanics of the world, sensitive to its potential energy, as well as to the streams of thought which irrigate it and define it, their work tackles questions of a scientific and metaphysical nature.

Recovering

RECOVERING

SOUNDSCAPES & VIEWS

30/07/2011 - 08/10/2011

In the summer of 2011, the Park Dräi Eechelen will be revitalised by the project RECOVERING - Soundscapes & Views: four sound installations created specifically for this venue by the Luxembourg composer and artist Steve Kaspar and live interventions with music, dance and performances every second Saturday will encourage visitors to take walks, go on day trips, have picnics and make exciting discoveries.

Thomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas Pausz

THOMAS PAUSZ

HORTUS PRAXIS

15/07/2011 - 07/08/2011

Mudam invites designer Thomas Pausz (*1978) for a series of open air activities throughout the summer. Pausz treats his design practice like a garden from which participants are invited to collect what has been sown during shared experiences. He acts softly, his means are economic an ecological. A slow pace and a sense of community are at the center of his activity program spread across several intra and extra-muros sites.

Out of Storage IIIOut of Storage IIIOut of Storage IIIOut of Storage III

OUT OF STORAGE III

REPLAY

18/06/2011 - 18/09/2011

The cinematic staging and the editing of shots and sequences are borrowed from the cinematic arts by contemporary artists whose work questions the notions of temporality, reconstruction, the realistic character of documentary and the tyranny of credulity of the filmed image. The exhibition is highlighting the gap always existing between reality and fiction in an era dominated by the media and all sorts of images.

Melvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin Moti

MELVIN MOTI

THE INNER SELF IN OUTER SPACE

18/06/2011 - 18/09/2011

Like a detective using scientific methods, Melvin Moti patiently constructs visual plots by taking anecdotes as a starting point. Somewhere between real events, imagination and fiction, Moti’s reconstructions call on our memory, precisely to make up for the “black holes” which deliberately remain. The slowness, the denuded and indexical nature of images at the limits abstraction confers a snatched and hypnotic beauty on Moti’s films.

Mac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac Adams

MAC ADAMS

18/06/2011 - 11/09/2011

“How to write a story starting with two or three images, or a situation based on a minimal number of objects?” Mac Adams’ photographs and installations are marked by a carefully composed dramatic tension and are characterized by the economy of narrative means employed. The disturbing impression of only having access to snippets of stories is reinforced by the subjects depicted: news items, crime scenes, detective mysteries...

John StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn Stezaker

JOHN STEZAKER

18/06/2011 - 11/09/2011

The works that the British artist John Stezaker has been creating since the mid-1970s make use of film stills and portraits of actors found in secondhand bookshops, pictures taken from vintage books, and old postcards. At their root lies the fascination that the found image can wield, thus reversing the usual hierarchy between artist and artwork. “Images find me rather than the other way round.” His collages and image fragments are hallmarked by minimal modes of intervention.

Pascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine Tayou

PASCALE MARTHINE TAYOU

BLACK FOREST

18/06/2011 - 11/09/2011

The works by artist Pascale Marthine Tayou place dominators and dominated, North and South, creator and viewer back to back. Tayou nonchalantly presents pieces that brutality translate the evils of the world. The artwork of this self-taught artist is an experience which needs to be lived rather than described. He is known for his assemblages, drawings, installations and texts, the raw material of which is provided by the detritus of society.

Walking Through...Walking Through...Walking Through...Walking Through...Walking Through...Walking Through...

WALKING THROUGH...

MUDAM COLLECTION

27/04/2011 - 06/11/2011

The exhibition is an invitation to travel through the landscapes in Mudam Collection. It may be oversized, pixelated then deployed like a panorama as in the works of Xavier Veilhan, it may be more intimate, like outlined in the graphic variations of Cy Twombly, it may also be fantasised as in the luminous paintings by Christian Hidaka: in all the cases, the landscape seems to be a territory of research with fluctuating horizons.

Out-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-Sync

OUT-OF-SYNC

THE PARADOXES OF TIME

17/02/2011 - 22/05/2011

The exhibition focuses on works in which different temporalities are combined, developing a paradoxical relation of time. One of the purposes is to simultaneously consider the key role that this notion has played in the work of a number of artists who started their career in the 60s, including Bruce Nauman, Dan Graham and Valie Export, and its presence in the practice of the younger generation, such as Manon de Boer, Laurent Montaron and Anri Sala.

Suchan KinoshitaSuchan KinoshitaSuchan KinoshitaSuchan KinoshitaSuchan KinoshitaSuchan Kinoshita

SUCHAN KINOSHITA

STICK EMPATHY

17/02/2011 - 22/05/2011

Suchan Kinoshita first worked for the theatre, as an actress, director and as a decorator. She uses this experience, as well as her musical background, to produce installations which invite the public to an interactive experience. These installations, apart from their distinctive poetry, always take in account the surroundings they are put in, while mixing sound, screening and construction.

Suzanne LafontSuzanne LafontSuzanne LafontSuzanne LafontSuzanne LafontSuzanne LafontSuzanne Lafont

SUZANNE LAFONT

SITUATION COMEDY

17/02/2011 - 22/05/2011

Suzanne Lafont presents her "Comedy Situation" project. The starting point of this project is a work of art by General Idea "Manipulating the Self Pamphlet" (1971), for which the Canadian artists' collective had passed an advertisement instructing people to carry out a distorsion - to seize your cheek, your neck or your chin with the hand, while passing your arm behind your neck - and the request for a photographic documentation in return.

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

2011

I’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt About

I’VE DREAMT ABOUT

COLLECTION MUDAM

23/11/2011 - 04/03/2012

Unser Bezug zur Realität wird von Künstlern ständig neu erfunden. Von den „realistischen Utopien” Tomás Saracenos bis zu den urbanen Expansionsmodellen François Roches sind die Künstler dabei stets als Pioniere derartiger Untersuchungen tätig und skizzieren als sanfte Träumer oder Visionäre neue Möglichkeiten des Seins. Als Resonanzkörper zahlreicher Utopien werfen sie auch einen kritischen Blick auf unsere Vergangenheit und machen dabei auch den Missklang kommender Tage hörbar.

Mondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habités

MONDES INVENTÉS, MONDES HABITÉS

08/10/2011 - 15/01/2012

Mondes inventés, Mondes habités zeigt die Einzigartigkeit der Welten, wie sie von Künstlern ersonnen werden: Sie setzen sich mal als Denker, mal als Ingenieure oder Architekten mit den Kräften auseinander, die unsere Welt ausmachen. Mit Gespür für die Mechanik der Welt und ihr Energiepotenzial, aber auch für die sie belebenden und definierenden Gedankenströme gehen sie Fragen wissenschaftlicher und metaphysischer Ordnung nach.

Recovering

RECOVERING

SOUNDSCAPES & VIEWS

30/07/2011 - 08/10/2011

Im Sommer 2011 wird der Park Dräi Eechelen durch das Projekt RECOVERING - Soundscapes & Views neu erschlossen: Vier spezifisch für diesen Ort geschaffene Klanginstallationen des Luxemburger Komponisten und Künstlers Steve Kaspar und Live-Interventionen mit Musik, Tanz und Performances an jedem zweiten Samstag laden zu Spaziergängen, Ausflügen, Picknicks und spannenden Entdeckungen ein.

Thomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas Pausz

THOMAS PAUSZ

HORTUS PRAXIS

15/07/2011 - 07/08/2011

Mudam hat den Designer Thomas Pausz (*1978) eingeladen den Museumsbesuchern einer Reihe von Aktionen im Freien anzubieten. Design ist für Pausz wie ein Garten, in dem jeder das ernten kann, wofür er einen aktiven Beitrag geleistet hat. Dabei stehen sanfte Methoden, sparsam und umweltverträglich eingesetzte Mittel, das Gemeinschaftliche und die Entschleunigung im Mittelpunkt.

Out of Storage IIIOut of Storage IIIOut of Storage IIIOut of Storage III

OUT OF STORAGE III

REPLAY

18/06/2011 - 18/09/2011

Filmische Inszenierung, Filmschnitt und Sequenzmontage gehören zu den Mitteln aus der Filmkunst, derer sich zeitgenössische Künstler bedienen, um sich mit dem Konzept von Zeitlichkeit, Rekonstruktion, dem veristischen Charakter des Dokumentarischen und der Glaubwürdigkeit hinsichtlich des gefilmten Bildes auseinanderzusetzen. Der Ausstellungsschwerpunkt liegt auf der Diskrepanz zwischen Realem und Fiktion in einer von Medien und Bildern beherrschten Zeit.

Melvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin Moti

MELVIN MOTI

THE INNER SELF IN OUTER SPACE

18/06/2011 - 18/09/2011

Gleich einem Detektiv stellt Melvin Moti visuelle Erzählungen zusammen, für die er als Ausgangspunkt Anekdoten verwendet. Zwischen Tatsachen, Fantasie und Fiktion wenden sich Motis Rekonstruktionen an unser Gedächtnis, um dort die „schwarzen Löcher” zu stopfen, die wir absichtlich hinterlassen haben. Die Langsamkeit und Schmucklosigkeit ihrer fast abstrakten Bilder verleihen den Filmen von Moti eine hypnotische Schönheit.

Mac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac Adams

MAC ADAMS

18/06/2011 - 11/09/2011

„Wie kann man eine Geschichte über zwei, drei Bilder oder mittels weniger Gegenstände erzählen?” Typisch für Mac Adams' Fotografien und Installationen, ist der sparsame Einsatz erzählerischer Mittel. Der verstörende Eindruck, allein auf Bruchstücke von Geschichten zurückgeworfen zu sein, wird durch die dargestellten Sujets noch verstärkt: vermischte Meldungen, Verbrechensschauplätze, Kriminalgeschichten...

John StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn Stezaker

JOHN STEZAKER

18/06/2011 - 11/09/2011

Der britische Künstler John Stezaker ist fasziniert von der Macht der Bilder. Ausgehend von Standfotos aus Filmklassikern, alten Postkarten und Buchillustrationen erstellt er Collagen, die den alten Bildern eine neue Bedeutung verleihen. Durch die Anpassung, Umkehrung und Kombination der unterschiedlichen Bilder ergründet Stezaker in seinen einzigartigen Collagen die subversive Kraft des gefundenen Materials.

Pascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine Tayou

PASCALE MARTHINE TAYOU

BLACK FOREST

18/06/2011 - 11/09/2011

In den Installationen, Skulpturen und Zeichnungen des Kameruner Künstlers Pascale Marthine Tayou werden Herrschende und Beherrschte, Nord und Süd, Schöpfer und Betrachter gleichermaßen kritisiert. Mit einer unglaublichen Nonchalance bringt Tayou Werke hervor, in denen er die Übel der Welt ganz brutal zur Schau stellt. Das Werk des Autodidakten lässt sich nur schwer erklären, man muss es erfahren.

Walking Through...Walking Through...Walking Through...Walking Through...Walking Through...Walking Through...

WALKING THROUGH...

MUDAM COLLECTION

27/04/2011 - 06/11/2011

Die Ausstellung lädt ein zur Reise in die Landschaften der Sammlung des Mudam. Ob sie nun überdimensioniert ist, gepixelt und zum Panorama entfaltet wird, wie bei Xavier Veilhan, ob sie auf persönliche Weise gezeichnet wird, wie in den grafischen Variationen von Cy Twombly, oder ob sie der Fantasie entspringt, wie in den leuchtenden Gemälden von Christian Hidaka: immer scheint die Landschaft ein Untersuchungsgegenstand, dessen Grenzen verschwimmen.

Out-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-Sync

OUT-OF-SYNC

THE PARADOXES OF TIME

17/02/2011 - 22/05/2011

Les paradoxes du temps zeigt Kunstwerke, die unterschiedliche Zeitebenen miteinander kombinieren und so einen oftmals paradoxen Bezug zur Zeit herstellen. Die Ausstellung untersucht die Bedeutung des Schlüsselbegriffs der Zeit sowohl bei Künstlern, deren Karriere Ende der sechziger Jahre begann, wie z.B. Bruce Nauman, Dan Graham und Valie Export, als auch bei Künstlern der Gegenwart, wie Manon de Boer, Laurent Montaron und Anri Sala.

Suchan KinoshitaSuchan KinoshitaSuchan KinoshitaSuchan KinoshitaSuchan KinoshitaSuchan Kinoshita

SUCHAN KINOSHITA

STICK EMPATHY

17/02/2011 - 22/05/2011

Zuerst hat Suchan Kinoshita fürs Theater gearbeitert, als Schauspielerin, Regisseurin und auch Bühnenbildnerin. Diese Erfahrung, genauso wie ihre musikalische Ausbildung, spiegelt sich in ihren Installationen wider. Diese laden das Publikum meist zu einer interaktiven Erfahrung ein. Von außerordentlicher Poesie, berücksichtigen diese Installationen immer ihr Umfeld und vermischen Ton, Projektion und Konstruktion.

Suzanne LafontSuzanne LafontSuzanne LafontSuzanne LafontSuzanne LafontSuzanne LafontSuzanne Lafont

SUZANNE LAFONT

SITUATION COMEDY

17/02/2011 - 22/05/2011

Suzanne Lafont präsentiert die Serie „Situation Comedy”. Ausgangspunkt dieses Projektes ist ein Werk von General Idea „Manipulating the Self Pamphlet” (1971). Hierfür schaltete das kanadische Künstlerkollektiv eine Anzeige, mit einer Anweisung zur Körperverbiegung - mit dem Arm hinter dem Nacken, eine Backe, den Hals oder das Kinn in die Hand nehmen - und der Bitte diese Aktion fotografisch zu dokumentieren.