MUDAM Logo

THE BUILDING

The Fortress Metaphor

Ieoh Ming Pei visualised a museum that stands on the very rampart wall that surrounded the arrow shaped inner fortress.

The asymetrical V shape of the building, with 45 degree angles, rises over the ruins. Tucked into its fortified walls, the introverted shape of the fortress is still discernible in Pei’s new building. The geometry of the museum is, so to speak, an extension of the fortress. The contrast with the fortress is all the more interesting because Pei’s building has very geometrical volumes, and he opted for shapes that are both modern and classical. His architecture is formalist, while remaining sober and monumental.

On its south-western front the building of the Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean looks onto down town – the Grund, Clausen and the Pfaffenthal – while on its north side is the “Place de l’Europe” where the main entrance is situated. Access to the museum will be via two bridges that cross the dry moat and converge leading to the arrowhead that reflects the shape of the museum.

After the main reception area the visitor enters a space of light. As he moves forward he comes face to face with the Grand Hall, a glass structure 33 m high, made of a metallic frame surmounted by a bell-turret with a square top: this is the heart of the museum from which one can access its other spaces. A second glass structure on the right is as impressive: in response to the contour of the hall which stems from the original layout of the ancient foundations, I. M. Pei has designed a rounded and curved glass-structure. On the left, another glass structure, symmetrical to the one to the right but flattened, highlights the design of the different elements that make up the metallic structure.

The building also offers a subtle outlook on the neighbouring landscapes by providing an unexpected view of the forest and its surroundings. Uniquely, a balcony that overhangs the Grand Hall offers a view of the historical city centre, punctuated in the foreground by the “Dräi Eechelen” (Three Acorns).

Set back from the building is a small octagonal construction – the Henry J. and Erna D. Leir Pavilion – linked by a transparent footbridge. This pavilion is surmounted by a glass-structure with a bell-turret and gives another view over the “Park Dräi Eechelen”.

On the first floor, two large exhibition spaces can be accessed by the large staircase which starts in the Grand Hall, or by lateral staircases that are in themselves great architectonic feats. The sheds that we find in the first floor exhibition spaces allow natural and widespread lighting without shades or reflections. These sheds are made of architectonic concrete beams, with a maximum span of 29 m. The light is spread in the rooms through plate glass windows. The sheds remain invisible from the outside, below the level of the walls.

Level -1 introduces the visitor into a more intimate space where the overhead light gives way to a twilight appropriate to exhibit luminous works. The auditorium with 120 seats is also housed here, as well as the museum offices. The basement (level -2) houses the technical rooms and includes a room which can be used for art works and installations of exceptional dimensions. The gallery floors are in natural oak wood, the walls are out of plaster. The building is covered outside, as in the circulation points (entrance, Grand Hall, boutique...) with limestone, the “Magny doré”.

There are ceilings made from architectonic concrete, and through the frames one can see the grain of the softwood, Oregon pine, that was used to cast them. Graceful staircases, moulded out of architectural concrete, link one level to another.

The museum presents international exhibitions and projects from all areas of contemporary art. At the time when Pei was commissioned to design the museum, the collection of art works was only just beginning. This meant that the architect was unable to create tailormade rooms for specific works of art. Even though Pei’s design was not geared to specific works, it is nevertheless not neutral: just as the form of the building resulted from the situation in the location, the positioning of some of the works of art will result from the situation in the building. Art and architecture are automatically linked closely with each other. The architecture does not try to dominate art, it simply wants to provide it with a framework.

Architect I. M. Pei

© Dessin : J. C. Massinon, Mudam Luxembourg, 2006

Ieoh Ming Pei envisioned a new type of museum: a popular museum that allows the public to circulate freely while enjoying a pleasant visit.

Ieoh Ming Pei was born in Canton, China, in 1917. He moved to the United States in 1935 and studied at the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, then earned a degree from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in Cambridge, Boston, in 1940. He then followed the teachings of Walter Gropius and Marcel Breuer at the Harvard Graduate School of Design (master in 1942 and doctorate in 1946). In 1955 he became an American citizen and joined with Eason Leonard and Henry Cobb to form his own firm which was to become Pei, Cobb & Partners.

Pei worked on urban planning and innovative real estate projects right from the start of his career, but his international recognition mostly stemmed from the construction of buildings such as the J.F. Kennedy Library in Boston, the Dallas City Hall, the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center in New York, the Gateway Towers in Singapour and the Bank of China in Hong Kong. Today, his projects are numbered in the hundreds throughout the world. Over the entire span of his career, Pei has designed first class museums such as the Des Moines Center in Iowa, the East Wing of the National Gallery in Washington, the West Wing of the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston, the reorganisation of the Louvre in Paris and the extension of the Deutsches Historisches Museum in Berlin.

Pei has been honoured with a multitude of distinctions and prizes such as the prestigious Pritzker Prize in 1983. The jury’s reasons for granting Pei the Prize are as follows: “Ieoh Ming Pei’s work ranks amongst the most beautiful and important projects of this century. The import of his work stretches far beyond any purely formal considerations because he has always shown an interest in the fabric and context in which he works, and has refused to limit his work to solely architectural problems. The high degree of finish and the quality of his chosen materials bring his work close to poetry”. In 2006, Ieoh Ming Pei is opening three new museums: the Musée d‘Art Moderne Grand Duc Jean in Luxembourg, the Suzhou Museum in China, and the Museum of Islamic Art in Doha, Qatar.

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

MUDAM Logo

LE BÂTIMENT

Métaphore de la forteresse

Ieoh Ming Pei a imaginé un musée prenant appui sur les murs d’enceinte qui entouraient la forteresse intérieure conçue en forme de flèche.

La forme asymétrique en V, avec des angles à 45 degrés, s’élève sur les ruines du Fort Thüngen. La forme introvertie de la forteresse, repliée autour de ses murs de fortification, se retrouve dans le nouveau bâtiment de Pei. La géométrie du musée est ainsi une sorte de continuation de la forteresse. Le contraste avec celle-ci est d’autant plus intéressant que Pei compose son bâtiment avec des volumes très géométriques, adoptant des formes à la fois modernes et classiques. Son architecture est formaliste, tout en étant sobre et monumentale.

Le bâtiment, d’une superficie nette de 10.000 m2, dispose d’environ 4.800 m2 de surfaces publiques et d’exposition réparties sur trois niveaux. Les galeries hautes sont éclairées par un système d’éclairage zénithal invisible de l’extérieur du bâtiment. La façade nord a des ouvertures réduites sur la Place de l’Europe. La façade sud, toute en verre, est tournée vers les quartiers de Clausen et Pfaffenthal. L’accès au musée se fait par deux ponts convergents. Ces ponts surplombent les anciennes douves sèches de la forteresse et mènent vers la pointe de flèche qui dessine le bâtiment.

Après avoir traversé l’accueil, et laissé le vestiaire sur la gauche, le visiteur arrive dans un espace de lumière : le Grand Hall. C’est le noyau du bâtiment depuis lequel on accède aux différents espaces. Sa verrière de plus de 33 m de haut est réalisée à l’aide d’une trame métallique. Elle est aussi surmontée d’un clocheton à section carrée. Un balcon surplombant le Grand Hall ouvre une vue sur le centre historique de la ville, ponctuée en avant-plan par les « Trois Glands » – les « Dräi Eechelen » – du Fort Thüngen. Dans un espace situé à droite du grand hall se trouve une autre verrière tout aussi impressionnante : la courbe de cette salle induite par le tracé au sol des anciennes fondations a contraint Pei à réaliser une verrière bombée et courbe. C’est ici que se trouve le café, aménagé par les designers Erwan et Ronan Bouroullec. 

A gauche du Grand Hall, une autre verrière, le jardin de sculptures, symétrique à la précédente mais plane, met en évidence le dessin des différentes pièces constituant la structure métallique.

En retrait de l’ensemble du bâtiment, un petit édifice octogonal - le Pavillon Henry J. and Erna D. Leir - est relié à l’ensemble du bâtiment par une passerelle en verre. L‘accès se fait depuis le niveau de l‘accueil. Ce pavillon est lui aussi surmonté d’une verrière à clocheton et offre un autre point de vue sur l’extérieur.

Au premier étage, deux grandes galeries d’exposition sont accessibles par l‘escalier partant du Grand Hall ou par des escaliers latéraux constituant à eux seuls des prouesses architecturales. Ces espaces sont caractérisés par la présence de sheds qui permettent un éclairage naturel et diffus sans ombre ni reflet. Ces sheds sont constitués de poutres en béton architectonique d’une portée de plus de 29 m pour les plus longs. La lumière est diffusée dans ces salles par des baies uniformément vitrées. Les sheds restent invisibles de l’extérieur.

Le niveau -1 se présente comme un univers plus intimiste où la lumière zénithale fait place à une pénombre adaptée à des expositions d’œuvres lumineuses et d’installations vidéo ou de nouveaux médias. Il abrite aussi un atrium, une antichambre, un auditorium de 120 places ainsi que les bureaux. 

Au niveau -2, les sous-sols sont destinés aux locaux techniques.

Les sols des salles d’exposition sont en bois de chêne, les murs en plâtre. L’ensemble du bâtiment est revêtu à l’extérieur, comme dans les zones de circulation à l’intérieur, d’une pierre calcaire couleur miel, le Magny doré. Certains plafonds ont été réalisés en béton architectonique dont les coffrages laissent percevoir les nervures des bois souples – du pin d’orégon – utilisés pour leur mise en œuvre. Reliant les étages, se dévoilent d’admirables escaliers, moulés sur place en béton architectonique.

Le musée présente des expositions ouvertes à tous les domaines de la création actuelle. Au moment de la signature du contrat avec Ieoh Ming Pei, la collection était en début de constitution. L’architecte était donc dans l’impossibilité de concevoir des espaces sur mesure pour des œuvres précises. Mais même si le projet de Pei n’a pas pu être adapté à certaines œuvres particulières, il est loin d’être neutre : de même que la forme du bâtiment est née des contraintes de son emplacement, le placement de certaines œuvres dépend des contraintes du bâtiment. L’architecture de Pei n’essaie pas de dominer l’art, mais elle entend lui offrir un espace.

L’architecte I.M. Pei

© Dessin : J. C. Massinon, Mudam Luxembourg, 2006

Ieoh Ming Pei a imaginé un nouveau type de musée : un musée populaire qui permet au public de circuler librement et de passer un séjour agréable.

Il est né à Canton en Chine en 1917. Il arrive en 1935 aux États-Unis où il étudie à l’Université de Pennsylvanie, Philadelphie, puis au Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) à Cambridge, Boston, d’où il sort diplômé en 1940. Il suit ensuite l’enseignement de Walter Gropius et de Marcel Breuer à la Harvard Graduate School of Design (master en 1942 et doctorat en 1946). En 1955, il est naturalisé américain et fonde avec Eason Leonard et Henry Cobb sa propre agence qui deviendra l’agence Pei, Cobb & Partners. Pei réalise dès ses débuts des projets d’urbanisme et des programmes immobiliers novateurs.

Mais c’est surtout avec la construction d’édifices comme la J.F. Kennedy Library de Boston, l’hôtel de ville de Dallas, le Jacob K. Javits Convention Center de New York, les Gateway Towers de Singapour ou la Bank of China de Hongkong qu’il accède à la notoriété internationale. Ses projets se comptent aujourd’hui par centaines dans le monde entier. Il a conçu, durant toute sa carrière, des musées de premier plan, comme le Des Moines Center dans l’Iowa, l’Aile Est de la National Gallery de Washington, l’Aile Ouest du Museum of Fine Arts de Boston, le redéploiement du Louvre à Paris et l’extension du Deutsches Historisches Museum à Berlin. 

Pei a reçu une multitude de distinctions et de prix, dont, en 1983, le prestigieux Prix Pritzker pour lequel la motivation du jury se résume ainsi : « Les constructions de Ieoh Ming Pei comptent parmi les plus belles et importantes de ce siècle. La signification de son travail va bien au-delà de considérations purement formelles. Car l’architecte s’est toujours intéressé au tissu et au contexte dans lequel il intervient. Il a ainsi refusé de limiter son travail à des problèmes purement architecturaux. Le haut degré de finition et la qualité des matériaux choisis font de ses constructions des œuvres approchant la poésie ».

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970