MICHEL MAJERUS

The painter Michel Majerus (1967-2002) built an international reputation for himself during his short career. Drawing freely for inspiration from the art of the twentieth century, especially from Pop Art, but also from digital iconography, the world of advertising as well as the vocabulary of gestural painting, he had a predilection for large formats and installations that play with spaces. For Majerus, all the elements in his paintings had equal value. Paying no heed to hierarchy, he used them like numbers, symbols loaded with history and the meanings of what they represent. 

Halbzeit

Halbzeit by Luxemburg artist Michel Majerus (1967-2002) is a gestural painting which seems to have been rapidly executed. The violet layer, nervously scratched into wet paint, covers and effaces a previous composition. Two inscriptions and a logo complete this work which seems ready to be “consumed” as quickly as it was produced. The effect is immediate and visceral as in the slogan Thirst – juice, Desire – product is the rhythm which links consumer and advertisement and represents the minimum of time required to bypass thought.

Michel Majerus
Halbzeit, 2002
Acrylic on canvas
220 x 200 cm
Collection Mudam Luxembourg
Acquisition 2002
© Photo: Galerie Max Hetzler

Running in Cycles

View of the exhibition Michel Majerus, Mudam Luxembourg, 09/12/2006 - 07/05/2007
© Photo : Jens Ziehe, Berlin
Michel Majerus
Running in Cycles, 2001
Serigraphy colour on PVC
500 x 750 cm
Collection Mudam Luxembourg
Acquisition 2002
© Photo: Jens Ziehe, Berlin

Untitled (Violet)

Michel Majerus
Untitled (Violet), 1997
Acrylic painting on canvas
300 x 320 cm
Collection Mudam Luxembourg
Donation 2006 - Les Amis des Musées d’Art and d’Histoire Luxembourg
© Photo: Jens Ziehe, Berlin

A non-figurative and gestural painting like Untitled (Violet) (1997) seems at first glance to fall within Abstract Expressionism. However, Majerus adopted a certain irony. He deliberately confined the area of pictorial action to the upper corner of the canvas while highlighting the splashes of paint, that is to say, the traces of the artistic process. Rather than the abstract painting itself, he offers the viewer the image of an abstract painting and thus subverting artistic convention.

.art

D’Wierk Halbzeit vum lëtzebuerger Kënschtler Michel Majerus an der Emissioun .art op RTL.

Michel Majerus(1967-2002) s’est créé, malgré la brièveté de sa carrière, une réputation internationale. Puisant librement ses sources d’inspiration dans l’art du vingtième siècle, surtout dans le Pop Art, mais aussi dans l’iconographie numérique, le monde de la publicité ainsi que dans le vocabulaire de la peinture gestuelle, il a une prédilection pour les grands formats et les installations jouant avec les espaces. Pour Majerus, tous les éléments dont il se sert en peinture ont la même valeur. Les affrichissant de toute hiérarchie, il les utilise comme des chiffres, des symboles chargés de l’histoire et des significations de ce qu’ils représentent.

Halbzeit

La toile intitulée Halbzeit de Michel Majerus (1967-2002), peintre luxembourgeois à qui Mudam a consacré une grande rétrospective en 2007, est une peinture gestuelle qui semble avoir été rapidement brossée. La couche violette, griffée nerveusement dans la couleur encore fraîche, recouvre et efface une composition antérieure. Deux inscriptions et un logo (peints avec application dans un véritable souci de reproduction des caractères typographiques) viennent parachever cette œuvre qui semble prête à être « consommée » aussi vite qu’elle a été produite. L’effet recherché est immédiat, viscéral, comme dans le slogan Thirst – juice. Désir – produit, c’est le rythme qui lie consommateur et publicité : ce minimum de temps nécessaire à court-circuiter la réflexion.

Michel Majerus
Halbzeit, 2002
Acrylique sur toile
220 x 200 cm
Collection Mudam Luxembourg
Acquisition 2002
© Photo : Galerie Max Hetzler

Running in Cycles

Vue de l’exposition Michel Majerus, Mudam Luxembourg, 09/12/2006 - 07/05/2007
© Photo : Jens Ziehe, Berlin
Michel Majerus
Running in Cycles, 2001
Sérigraphie couleur sur PVC
500 x 750 cm
Collection Mudam Luxembourg
Acquisition 2002
© Photo : Jens Ziehe, Berlin

Untitled (Violet)

Michel Majerus
Untitled (Violet), 1997
Peinture acrylique sur toile
300 x 320 cm
Collection Mudam Luxembourg
Donation 2006 - Les Amis des Musées d’Art et d’Histoire Luxembourg
© Photo : Jens Ziehe, Berlin

Un tableau non figuratif et gestuel comme Untitled (Violet) de 1997 peut, de prime abord, s’inscrire dans la filiation de la peinture abstraite expressionniste. Pourtant, Majerus use d’une certaine ironie. Il cantonne ainsi volontairement le champ de l’action picturale dans un coin supérieur de la toile, tout en mettant en valeur les projections de peinture, et donc les traces du processus artistique. Plutôt que le tableau abstrait lui-même, il offre au visiteur l’image d’une peinture abstraite et subvertit, par cette distanciation, les conventions. 

.art

D’Wierk Halbzeit vum lëtzebuerger Kënschtler Michel Majerus an der Emissioun .art op RTL.