MUDAM Logo

MUSEUMSMILE

A big smile for a small mile

There are a surprising number of museums and art centres in the small capital of Luxembourg. Luckily for the visitors they cover a total distance of slightly less than a full mile.

Visiting these museums is easy because of this short distance. However, it is the variety and uniqueness of the seven cultural institutions, strung out in an arch-like (smile-like) pattern in the fragmented topography on the city, that constitute the real attraction enticing visitors to simply “go and see”.

Five of the institutions are within walking distance in the city centre of Luxembourg. Visitors can enjoy ancient masterpieces of painting in the Villa Vauban, a 19th century bourgeois building with a new contemporary extension located in the heart of a city park, face the archaeological and historical heritage of the country and discover the State art collections from the Middle Ages to the present day (15th to 21st century) in the National Museum of History and Art near the former fish market, explore the Museum of the History of the City of Luxembourg also located in the heart of the old city, get acquainted the latest trends in the international art scene at Casino Luxembourg and go “down to the valley” to experience a refreshing perspective on natural history, evolution and biodiversity in the National Museum of Natural History (to be reached by lift).

At only a 15 minutes walking distance from city centre or a short bus ride away (with the alternative of a difficult but beautiful climb up the wooded slope of the Kirchberg from the Grund), there is the new Park Dräi Eechelen hosting two museums next to each other: on one side, the Musée Dräi Eechelen devoted to the world cultural heritage site of Luxembourg's fortifications, on the other, the Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean - Mudam Luxembourg with its contemporary art collection and temporary exhibitions.

The walking paths, cycle paths and bus routes relaxingly lead the visitors from one museum to the next, passing in front of numerous art galleries, boutiques, restaurants and cafés and offering excellent scenic views.

Experience the cultural side of the city... and (s)mile!

Contact

Museum Association of Luxembourg-City
B.P. 345
L-2013 Luxembourg
www.statermuseeen.lu
info@statermuseeen.lu

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

MUDAM Logo

MUSEUMSMILE

A big smile for a small mile

Le grand nombre de musées et de centres d’art concentrés dans la petite capitale luxembourgeoise peut étonner. Heureusement pour le promeneur, la distance entre les différents lieux d’art, ne correspond pas véritablement à un « mile » (lieue).

Plus encore que leur proximité, ce sont surtout la diversité et le caractère singulier des sept institutions qui constituent l’attrait de ce parcours - parcours qui s’inscrit en forme d’arc (smile) à travers la topographie accidentée de la ville - et invitent à venir les découvrir.

Situés en plein centre de la ville de Luxembourg, cinq de ces établissements sont facilement accessibles à pied. Ainsi, la Villa Vauban, bâtisse cossue du 19e siècle située au milieu du parc municipal, rénovée et agrandie d’une annexe à l’architecture contemporaine, abrite les peintures des anciens maîtres ; le Musée national d’histoire et d’art au Marché-aux-Poissons présente l’héritage historique et archéologique du Luxembourg, ainsi que les collections d’art nationales (15e-21siècle) ; non loin de là, le Musée d’Histoire de la Ville de Luxembourg retrace l’histoire de la capitale luxembourgeoise ; un aperçu des nouvelles tendances de l’art contemporain est offert au Casino Luxembourg et, dans le quartier du Grund situé dans la ville basse (accessible par ascenseur), le Musée national d’histoire naturelle propose une approche insolite de l’histoire naturelle, de l’évolution et de la biodiversité.

À 15 minutes à pied du centre-ville ou, après un court trajet en bus (alternative à la difficile mais plaisante ascension à pied des côtes boisées du Kirchberg à partir du Grund), le visiteur se retrouve dans le tout nouveau Park Dräi Eechelen abritant deux musées adjacents : d'une part, le Musée Dräi Eechelen consacré au patrimoine mondial que constitue la Forteresse du Luxembourg ; de l'autre le Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean - Mudam Luxembourg avec sa collection d’art contemporain et ses expositions temporaires.

Chemins, pistes cyclables et bus permettent de se déplacer aisément sur cette « route des musées », par ailleurs bordée de nombreuses galeries d’art et de boutiques et agrémentée de vues imprenables.

Venez vivre la culture à Luxembourg... and (s)mile.

Contact

Groupement des Musées de Luxembourg-Ville
B.P. 345
L-2013 Luxembourg
www.statermuseeen.lu
info@statermuseeen.lu

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970