Mudam Luxembourg - Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean

Mudam is the foremost museum dedicated to contemporary art in Luxembourg, and strives to be attentive to every discipline and open to the whole world. Its collection and programme reflect current artistic trends and appreciate the emergence of new artistic practices on a national and international scale.

I. M. Pei architect design © photo : Christian Aschman

The building, by famous Sino-American architect Ieoh Ming Pei, is a marvellous dialogue between the natural and historical environment. Standing against the vestiges of Fort Thüngen, it follows the course of the former surrounding walls, and is rooted in the Park Dräi Eechelen (planned by landscapist, Michel Desvigne) which offers magnificent views onto the old town just a short walk from the European district of Kirchberg.

The simple volumes and generous spaces of the building show the mastery of the architectural language by the famous architect in combining stone and glass. The skillful play between interior and exterior, multiplying the selected views onto the park environment whilst opening onto the sky thanks to the audacious glass canopy, is highlighted through the use of the covering in Magny Doré, a honey-coloured limestone which assumes, at any time of the day and in all seasons, subtle nuances depending on the light which it reflects. The museum is spread over three levels of 4,500 m2 of surface area dedicated to the visits. Its construction was begun in January 1999 and it was inaugurated on 1 July 2006.

The cultural project of Mudam is based on a conception of art seen at a poetical distance from the world. Its key words are freedom, innovation, a critical mind, and all this, not devoid of humour. The programme favours every vector of expression while questioning our habits and our representations. It aims to capture not only a way of contemporary thinking, but also the aesthetic language of an age to come.

Su-Mei Tse (en collaboration avec Jean-Lou Majerus) : Many Spoken Words, 2009, Collection Mudam Luxembourg © Photo : Christian Aschman

The Mudam Collection bares witness to contemporary creation in all its technical and aesthetic forms, while remaining open to every other artistic discipline: painting, drawing, sculpture, photography, as well as design, fashion, graphic design and new media are all put on show. Resolutely anchored in the contemporary, the collection endorses poetic variations from the great masters such as Bernd and Hilla Becher, Daniel Buren, Blinky Palermo or Cy Twombly. The museum’s interior and exterior furniture was entrusted to artists and designers such as Erwan and Ronan Bouroullec, Martin Szekely, Konstantin Grcic, Bert Theis, Andrea Blum or David Dubois). The Collection has been put together regarding the evolution of international creation while paying particular attention to the most significant national productions.

Mudam lives this adventure in relation with its public. The last-mentioned are invited to shed all preconceptions before entering the museum, to rid themselves of any prejudices and to apprehend art with a renewed look and in complete freedom. Numerous possibilities are offered in terms of the visit, from the most rigid to the most liberal, leaving a wide choice of exploration. A place for aesthetic discoveries, for reflection and contemplation, Mudam is also a place for conviviality in a restful environment (Mudam Café), and for finding treasures (Mudam Boutique).

The park

I. M. Pei Architect Design © Photo : Christian Aschman, 2009

The numerous works of contemporary art integrated into the Park Dräi Eechelen, together with its proximity to outstanding architecture, point up the entry to the Quartier Européen.

The Foundation

Created in 1998, the Fondation Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean is an organisation formed under civil law whose main patron is the State of Luxembourg.

The Foundation is administered by a Board of Directors chaired by S.A.R. la Grande-Duchesse Héritière de Luxembourg. Its mission is to manage the future Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean designed by Sino-American architect Ieoh Ming Pei.

Coming from the civil and public society, the members of the board were selected for their action in favour of contemporary art in Luxembourg and their role in the public structure (cultural, administrative and political) to develop the project of the Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean. Their presence and their action were and are essential for the developement of the Museum.


Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

Nous trouver

+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

MUDAM Logo

LE MUSÉE

Mudam Luxembourg - Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean

Le Mudam, musée d’art contemporain au Luxembourg, se veut attentif à toutes les disciplines artistiques et ouvert au monde. Sa collection et sa programmation reflètent les tendances de la création actuelle et rendent compte de l’émergence de nouvelles pratiques artistiques à l’échelon national et international.

I. M. Pei architect design © photo : Christian Aschman

Le bâtiment, œuvre de l’architecte sino-américain Ieoh Ming Pei, dialogue à merveille avec son environnement naturel et historique. Adossé aux vestiges du Fort Thüngen dont il épouse le tracé des anciens murs d’enceinte, il est implanté dans le Park Dräi Eechelen (aménagé par le paysagiste Michel Desvigne) qui offre des vues magnifiques sur la vielle ville à quelques pas du quartier européen du Kirchberg.

Les volumes simples et les espaces généreux du bâtiment manifestent la maîtrise du langage architectural alliant la pierre et le verre de son célèbre architecte. Le jeu savant entre intérieur et extérieur, multipliant les vues choisies sur le parc environnant tout en s’ouvrant sur le ciel grâce à de téméraires verrières, est souligné par l’emploi du revêtement en Magny Doré, une pierre calcaire couleur de miel qui se pare à toute heure du jour et en toutes saisons de nuances subtiles selon la lumière qu’il reflète. Le musée dispose sur trois niveaux de 4.500 m2 de surfaces dédiées à la visite. Son édification a débuté en janvier 1999 et il a été inauguré le 1er juillet 2006.

Le projet culturel de Mudam repose sur une conception de l’art vu comme distance poétique par rapport au monde. Ses maîtres mots sont liberté, innovation, esprit critique, le tout non dénué d’humour. Aussi, la programmation favorise tous les vecteurs d’expression tout en interrogeant nos habitudes et nos représentations. Elle tend à saisir non seulement un mode de pensée contemporain mais aussi le langage esthétique d’une époque en devenir. 

Su-Mei Tse (en collaboration avec Jean-Lou Majerus) : Many Spoken Words, 2009, Collection Mudam Luxembourg © Photo : Christian Aschman

La Collection Mudam est un témoin de la création contemporaine sous toutes ses formes techniques et esthétiques, et reste ouverte à toutes les disciplines artistiques : peinture, dessin, sculpture, photographie, mais aussi design, mode, graphisme et nouveaux médias sont mis en regard les uns des autres. Résolument ancrée dans la contemporanéité, la collection s’autorise des écarts poétiques du côté de grands maîtres tels que Bernd et Hilla Becher, Daniel Buren, Blinky Palermo ou Cy Twombly. Le mobilier intérieur et extérieur du musée a été confié à des artistes et designers tels que Erwan et Ronan Bouroullec, Martin Szekely, Konstantin Grcic, Bert Theis, Andrea Blum ou David Dubois. La collection se constitue par rapport à l’évolution de la création internationale tout en apportant une attention particulière aux productions régionales les plus significatives.

Cette aventure, Mudam la vit en relation avec son public. Ce dernier est invité à faire peau neuve en entrant au musée, à se débarrasser de ses préjugés pour appréhender l’art avec un regard renouvelé et en toute liberté. De nombreuses possibilités lui sont offertes en termes de visites, allant de la plus encadrée à la plus libre, lui laissant le choix de son questionnement. Lieu de découvertes esthétiques, de réflexion et de contemplation, le Mudam est aussi un lieu de convivialité dans un cadre apaisant (Mudam Café) et de coups de cœur (Mudam Boutique).

Le parc

I. M. Pei Architect Design © Photo : Christian Aschman, 2009

De nombreuses œuvres d’art contemporain intègrent le Park Dräi Eechelen et sa proximité immédiate à côté des architectures exceptionnelles marquant l’entrée de ville du Quartier européen.

La Fondation

Officiellement en place depuis juillet 1998, la Fondation Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean, Mudam, est une organisation de droit privé dont le mécène principal est l’État luxembourgeois.

Constituée d’un conseil d’administration présidé par S.A.R. la Grande-Duchesse Héritière de Luxembourg, elle a pour objet de gérer le Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean, Mudam Luxembourg.

Issus de la société civile et publique, les membres du conseil d’administration ont été choisis pour leur action en faveur de l’art contemporain au Luxembourg et leur rôle dans la structure publique (culturelle, administrative et politique) pour développer le projet du Musée. Leur présence et leur action ont été et sont indispensables au bon fonctionnement du Musée. Le bâtiment fut remis officiellement par l’État à la Fondation au moment de l’ouverture du musée.

Vous pouvez télécharger les rapports d'activités du Mudam.

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970