Of our faces (and our bodies)

For suddenly there had swarmed up from those round chambers underground a ghastly troop of monsters. Hideously masked or painted out of all semblance of humanity, they had tramped out a strange limping dance round the square. (1)

Vue de l'exposition Le meilleur des mondes
À gauche Gilbert & George : Twenty-Eight Streets, 2003
Collection Mudam Luxembourg, © Photo : Andrés Lejona

Historical art and modern art museums are full of human representations which, transposed into real life, provoke dread: can you imagine being face to face with one of the Colossus of the Sistine Chapel of Michelangelo or with a cubist personage by Picasso? The beauty of a work of art is therefore not necessarily that of the reality and the Mudam collection spills over with figures of a monstrous charm (Katharina SieverdingCindy Sherman).

But even without distortions, the faces and bodies which people contemporary art transport us into a strange universe and transform the real subjects into elusive icons: the monumentality and the photographic precision of a portrait by Franz Gertsch render the face of a girl just as abstract as an ancient goddess; the intimacy with which Nan Goldin captures scenes of her friends from life transforms these marginal instants and enhances them to the rank of archetypes of urban life; the intensity of the performances by Marina Abramović in which she compares the expectations created by the artistic canons sometimes confer on her the aura of a martyr.

Of course, humour, irony and self-derision are rarely absent at roll call, and show themselves sometimes palpably (Gilbert & George), sometimes disturbingly (Alain Declercq), sometimes through cinematographic references (Edgar Honetschläger). Or, it’s simply a matter of observing and understanding something which appears to speak for itself but which, upon reflection, proves to be an eminently more complex subject: this can be said of western cultural practices (Thomas Struth) or of the urgent budding of adolescence (Katrin Freisager).

And even when the representation seems only to reflect the reality of a testimony, artificiality is present, through the organisation of the work of art or through the technique of the actors: the face is both the first truth and the first lie of a human being (Gerard Byrne).

(1) Aldous Huxley, Brave New World, 1932

MUDAM Logo

DE NOS VISAGES (ET DE NOS CORPS)

Tout à coup avait surgi en essaim du fond de ces chambres rondes souterraines une troupe effrayante de monstres. Hideusement masqués, ou bariolés à perdre tout aspect humain, ils s’étaient mis à danser autour de la place, en frappant des pieds sur le sol, une danse étrange et boitillante.(1)

Vue de l'exposition Le meilleur des mondes
À gauche Gilbert & George : Twenty-Eight Streets, 2003
Collection Mudam Luxembourg, © Photo : Andrés Lejona

Les musées d’art ancien et moderne sont remplis de représentations humaines qui, transposées dans la vie réelle, provoqueraient l’effroi : imagine-t-on se retrouver face-à-face avec l’un des colosses de la chapelle Sixtine de Michel-Ange ou avec un personnage cubiste de Picasso ? La beauté d’une oeuvre d’art n’est donc pas nécessairement celle de la réalité et la collection Mudam regorge de figures d’un charme monstrueux (Katharina Sieverding, Cindy Sherman).

Mais même sans déformations, les visages et les corps qui peuplent l’art contemporain nous transportent dans des univers étranges et transforment les sujets réels en icônes insaisissables : la monumentalité et la précision photographique d’un portrait de Franz Gertsch rendent le visage de la jeune fille aussi abstrait qu’une déesse antique ; l’intimité avec laquelle Nan Goldin saisit sur le vif des scènes de la vie de ses amis transfigure ces instants marginaux et les rehausse au rang d’archétypes de la vie urbaine ; l’intensité des performances de Marina Abramović dans lesquelles elle se confronte aux attentes créées par les canons artistiques lui confère par moments l’aura d’une martyre.

Bien sûr, l’humour, l’ironie et l’autodérision manquent rarement à l’appel, et se manifestent de manière parfois palpable (Gilbert & George), parfois inquiétante (Alain Declercq), parfois à travers des références cinématographiques (Edgar Honetschläger). Ou alors, il s’agit simplement d’observer et de rendre compte de ce qui paraît aller de soi mais qui, à la réflexion, s’avère être un sujet éminemment complexe : cela peut se dire des pratiques culturelles occidentales (Thomas Struth) ou de l’impérieux bourgeonnement de l’adolescence (Katrin Freisager).

Et même lorsque la représentation ne semble que refléter la réalité d’un témoignage, l’artifice est présent, par le dispositif de l’oeuvre ou par le jeu des acteurs : le visage est, à la fois, la première vérité et le premier mensonge d’un être humain (Gerard Byrne).

(1) Aldous Huxley, Brave New World, 1932

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970