MUDAM Logo

YURI SUZUKI

LOOKS LIKE MUSIC
03/08/2013 - 26/08/2013
Vernissage 02/08/2013 18h00
Share
 

Mudam Publics Summer Project

For its summer project, Mudam’s Publics Department invited the Japanese creator Yuri Suzuki to conceive Looks Like Music, an audiovisual installation based on his work Colour Chaser. This consists of a miniature robot which detects and follows a circuit – a black line traced in marker pen – interspersed with coloured reference points that the device translates in sound. The public is invited to actively contribute to the development of the installation in the exhibition space by extending the circuit drawn on paper. Visitors thus participate in the creation of a large-scale artwork and enrich a collectively composed sound piece. A series of events and workshops accompanies the project during the month of August.

© Photo : Mudam Luxembourg

Yuri Suzuki is a sound artist, designer and electronic musician whose recent work explores the physical and technological characteristics of sound production, an interest that has arisen since the loss of the music library stocked in his laptop when the hard drive crashed.

For his Royal College of Art graduation show in 2008, he presented work which involved an innovative way of playing conventional vinyl records, including Sound Chaser (a miniature electric circuit constructed from pieces of old records on which small cars circulate and transmit sound) and the Finger Player, a transmitter handled like a thimble, enabling the physical experience of the retransmission of sound by running a finger along a record.

Suzuki’s intention is ‘‘to raise public awareness of the way in which sound and music is produced’’ and in most cases this occurs through performances and workshops requiring public participation. For Mudam Summer Project he is therefore presenting workshops led by invited artists and creators that tackle a variety of themes such as learning the basic principles of electronic music and the creation of sound pieces using transformed objects.

Yuri Suzuki was born in Tokyo in 1980 and now lives in London and Stockholm. His installations and sound pieces have been presented in exhibitions around the world. Between 1999 and 2005 he collaborated with the art department of the Japanese firm Maywa Denky where he became interested in music and technology. He moved to London in 2005 for his studies at the Royal College of Art, during which he undertook projects for Yamaha and Moritz Waldemeyer. After graduating in 2008, he founded his own firm in London. In 2011, he became guest designer and artist of the Teenage Engineering collective in Stockholm. In 2013, he launched Dentaku Ltd, a research and development consultancy working for companies such as Widen+Kennedy, KK Outlet and AIAIAI.

Curator
Nadine Erpelding

Organised within the framework of the Mudam Publics Summer Project, with the support of Sappi Fine Paper Europe.

Agenda

WEDNESDAYS@MUDAM : Yuri Suzuki
31/07/2013 
6-8.30pm LIVE!
07, 21 & 28/08/2013 
6-8.30pm Playlists

PAVAN invité par Yuri Suzuki
14/08/2013 
6-8.30pm LIVE!

CELLULAR SOUNDS
Workshop by Dentaku Ltd.
For adults and young people
03/08/2013
2-3pm & 4-5pm

EVERYDAY ORCHESTRA
Workshop by Oscar Diaz
For 6 to 12 year-olds
10/08/2013
2-4pm

DESIGN SOME NOISE!
Workshop for 13 to 21 year-olds
14/08/2013
2-5pm

SOUND & VISION
Workshop by Mark McKeague and Naomi Elliott
For adults and young people
24/08/2013
2-4.30pm

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

MUDAM Logo

YURI SUZUKI

LOOKS LIKE MUSIC
03/08/2013 - 26/08/2013
Vernissage 02/08/2013 18h00
Share
 

Mudam Publics Summer Project

Pour son projet d’été, le département des publics du Mudam invite le créateur japonais Yuri Suzuki à concevoir le projet Looks Like Music, une installation sonore et visuelle qui s’articule autour de sa pièce Colour Chaser. Celle-ci consiste en un robot miniature qui détecte et suit un circuit – une ligne noire tracée au feutre – entrecoupé par des repères colorés que l’engin reproduit en sons. Le public est invité à contribuer activement au développement de l’installation dans l’espace d’exposition, en prolongeant à la main le circuit dessiné sur papier. Il participe ainsi à la création d’une oeuvre à grande échelle et à enrichir une pièce sonore composée collectivement. Une série d’événements et de workshops accompagne le projet durant le mois d’août.

© Photo : Mudam Luxembourg

Yuri Suzuki est un artiste sonore, designer et musicien électronique dont les récents travaux s’intéressent aux caractéristiques physiques et technologiques de la production sonore, un intérêt qu’il développe depuis la perte de sa librairie musicale stockée sur son ordinateur portable à la suite de la défaillance de son disque dur.

En 2008, pour son projet de fin d’études au Royal College of Art, il présente des travaux permettant de jouer d’une manière innovante des disques vinyles conventionnels, tel que le Sound Chaser, un circuit électrique miniature fabriqué à partir de morceaux de vieux disques sur lesquels des petites voitures circulent et transmettent du son ; ou encore le Finger Player, un émetteur à manipuler à l’instar d’un dé à coudre et qui permet de ressentir physiquement la retransmission de son en passant avec le doigt sur un vinyle.

L’intention de Suzuki est « de sensibiliser le public sur la manière dont sont produits les sons et la musique » et ce, dans la plupart des cas, par le biais de performances et d’ateliers qui demandent la participation du public. Pour le projet d’été du Mudam, il propose ainsi quatre workshops menés par des artistes et créateurs invités qui abordent des thématiques variées comme l’apprentissage des bases de la musique électronique ou la création de pièces sonores à partir d’objets transformés.

Né à Tokyo en 1980, Yuri Suzuki vit à Londres et à Stockholm. Ses installations et pièces sonores ont été présentées dans des expositions à travers le monde. Entre 1999 et 2005 il collabore au département artistique de l’entreprise japonaise Maywa Denky, où il développe ses intérêts pour la musique et la technologie. En 2005 il s’installe à Londres pour des études au Royal College of Art pendant lesquelles il réalise aussi des projets pour Yamaha et Moritz Waldemeyer. Diplômé en 2008, il fonde son propre bureau à Londres. En 2011, il devient designer et artiste invité du collectif Teenage Engineering à Stockholm. En 2013, il lance Dentaku Ltd, une agence de conseil en recherche et développement oeuvrant pour des compagnies comme Widen+Kennedy, KK Outlet et AIAIAI. Actuellement il travaille sur un projet pour Disney.

Commissaire
Nadine Erpelding

Ce projet est organisé dans le cadre de Mudam Publics Summer Project, avec le soutien de Sappi Fine Paper Europe.

Agenda

WEDNESDAYS@MUDAM : Yuri Suzuki
31/07/2013 
18-20h30 LIVE !
07, 21 & 28/08/2013 
18-20h30 Playlists

PAVAN invité par Yuri Suzuki
14/08/2013 
18-20h30 LIVE !

CELLULAR SOUNDS
Workshop Par Dentaku Ltd. 
Pour adultes et adolescents
03/08/2013
14-15h & 16-17h

EVERYDAY ORCHESTRA
Workshop par Oscar Diaz
Pour enfants de 6 à 12 ans
10/08/2013
14-16h

DESIGN SOME NOISE!
Workshop pour jeunes de 13 à 21 ans
14/08/2013
14-17h

SOUND & VISION
Workshop par Mark McKeague et Naomi Elliott
Pour adultes et adolescents
24/08/2013
14-16h30

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970