SUKI SEOKYEONG KANG

BALOISE ART PRIZE – MUDAM COLLECTION
31/08/2019 - 01/02/2020
Share
 

Part of the presentation of recent acquisitions to the Mudam Collection displayed in autumn 2019, in the museum's Sculpture Garden, Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand- Duc Jean presents a series of sculptures by Suki Seokyeong Kang (*1977), the winner of the 2018 Baloise Art Prize. In her practice Seokyeong Kang combines sculpture, painting, weaving, video and performance. Working within these different mediums she creates evolving installations for a space in which the body plays a key role when considered in terms of its position and movement. The sculptures Grandmother Tower – tow #18-01 and Rove and Round – face, mat, belly, #18-01, are the focus of this display that are conceived and devised specifically for the spaces of Mudam. 

Suki Seokyeong Kang, Grandmother Tower – tow #18-01, 2018. Collection Mudam Luxembourg, Donation 2018 – Baloise Group © Photo : Suki Seokyeong Kang 

Donated to Mudam by the Groupe Baloise, the two sculptures are the start to a series that Seokyeong Kang continues to develop today, a series which draws upon personal and family memories. Using a formal graphic vocabulary of lines, surface planes, colours and textures she makes connections between various registers of sensitivity, at once visual, musical and choreographic. In her creative process the artist incorporates the know-how of traditional Korean culture: be it painting, which Seokyeong Kang studied and from which elements of her physical engagement originate, or Jeongganbo, an ancient Korean music scoring system set out in the form of a grid. While Suki Seokyeong Kang's works are each conceptually autonomous, the artist arranges them meticulously within the space, focusing on a general harmony that is activated and set in physical or visual motion by the intervention of the performer or by the use of video. 

Biographical note 

Suki Seokyeong Kang was born in 1977, she lives and works in Seoul. She has had several solo exhibitions and projects including at the ICA Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (2018), Pearl Lam Galleries, Hong Kong (2016), Audioviual, Seoul (2015), Gallery Factory, Seoul, and at Space Can, Seoul (2013). Her work was included in group exhibitions at MAK Center for Art and Architecture, LA (2018), Tensta Konsthall, Stockholm (2018), Contemporary Art Center, Seoul (2017), as well as at Sungkok Art Museum, Seoul (2015). She participated in the Liverpool Biennial (2018) and in the Gwangju Biennale (2016). She was awarded with the Art Basel Prize in 2018, the 13th Songeun Art Award in 2013, and the Bloomberg New Contemporaries in 2012. Her work is held in the collections such as the National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Korea, Samsung Medical Center, Seoul and Seoul Museum of Art, Korea, as well as National Art Bank, Seoul.

Suki Seokyeong Kang, Rove and Round - face, mat, belly #18-01, 2018. Collection Mudam Luxembourg, Donation 2018 – Baloise Group © Photo: Suki Seokyeong Kang

Curator:
Marie-Noëlle Farcy

SUKI SEOKYEONG KANG

PRIX BALOISE – COLLECTION MUDAM
31/08/2019 - 01/02/2020
Share
 

En parallèle d’une présentation des récentes acquisitions et donations, qui prend place à l’automne dans la galerie Est du niveau -1, la lauréate du Prix Baloise 2018 investit le jardin des sculptures. La pratique de Suki Seokyeong Kang (*1977), artiste d’origine sud-coréenne, associe étroitement sculpture, peinture, tissage, vidéo et performance. Jouant de ces divers médiums, elle compose dans l’espace des installations évolutives dans lesquelles le corps, tant par son positionnement que son déplacement, joue un rôle primordial. Les sculptures Grandmother Tower – tow #18-01 et Rove and Round – face, mat, belly, #18-01, entrées à cette occasion dans la collection du musée, constitueront le coeur de cette présentation pensée spécifiquement pour l’espace. 

Suki Seokyeong Kang, Grandmother Tower – tow #18-01, 2018. Collection Mudam Luxembourg, Donation 2018 – Baloise Group © Photo : Suki Seokyeong Kang 

Ces deux oeuvres, déterminantes pour l’artiste qui a notamment puisé dans ses souvenirs familiaux, ont été le point de départ de séries qu’elle continue aujourd’hui de développer. À partir d’un vocabulaire formel de nature graphique – lignes, surfaces, couleurs, textures –, elle tisse des correspondances entre divers registres du sensible : visuel, musical et chorégraphique. Elle intègre par ailleurs dans son processus de création des savoir-faire issus de la culture traditionnelle coréenne qu’il s’agisse de la peinture, à laquelle elle a été formée et dont elle retient l’engagement corporel total du peintre en train de créer, ou encore le Jeongganbo, un ancien système de notation musicale coréen organisé sous forme de grille. Si les oeuvres de Suki Seokyeong Kang sont chacune formellement et conceptuellement autonomes, l’artiste les dispose dans l’espace de façon minutieuse, privilégiant une harmonie générale susceptible d’être mise en mouvement physiquement par l’intervention d’un performeur ou visuellement par l’utilisation de la vidéo. 

Note biographique 

Suki Seokyeong Kang est née en 1977, elle vit et travaille à Séoul. Son travail a fait l’objet de plusieurs expositions individuelles, notamment à l’Institut d’art contemporain (ICA) de Philadelphie (Pennsylvanie) en 2018, aux Pearl Lam Galleries, Hong Kong (2016), à l' Audiovisual de Séoul (2015) ainsi que à la Gallery Factory de Séoul et à l’espace Space Can, toujours à Séoul (2013). Ses oeuvres ont été présentées à l’occasion d’expositions collectives au MAK Center for Art and Architecture, de Los Angeles (2018), au Tensta Konsthall de Stockholm (2018), au Centre des Arts Contemporains de Séoul (2017), ainsi qu’au Musée d’art de Sungkok, à Séoul (2015). Elle a participé à la Liverpool Biennial (2018), à la Gwangju Biennale (2016) et est lauréate du Baloise Art Prize 2018, du 13e Prix « Songeun Art Award » (2013), et du Prix Bloomberg New Contemporaries (2012). Ses oeuvres figurent dans les collections du Musée national d’art moderne et contemporain de Séoul, du Samsung Medical Center de Séoul, du Musée des beaux-arts de Séoul et de la National Art Bank de Séoul.

Suki Seokyeong Kang, Rove and Round - face, mat, belly #18-01, 2018. Collection Mudam Luxembourg, Donation 2018 – Baloise Group © Photo: Suki Seokyeong Kang

Commissaire :
Marie-Noëlle Farcy