MUDAM Logo

SU-MEI TSE

NESTED
07/10/2017 - 08/04/2018
Vernissage 06/10/2017 18h00
Share
 

Marked by her cosmopolitan origins, between Europe and Asia, and by an attention to the sonorous dimension of the world, the practice of Su-Mei Tse involves issues such as time, memory, musicality, and language. Taking various forms – sculptures, videos, photographs, installations – her artworks always operate between different fields: between sound and image, nature and culture, mental space and sensory experience for example.

Su-Mei Tse, A Whole Universe (Pomegranate), 2017. Vue de l'exposition Elegy, Edouard Malingue Gallery, Hong Kong 2017 © Photo (détail) : Edouard Malingue Gallery, Hong Kong

Like the black ink that flows from the Many Spoken Words fountain, the question of the appearance of meaning, or its evanescence, is at the heart of the work of Tse. The simplicity of the forms the artist produces contrasts with their evocative power, with the plurality of the readings that emanate from them. Her works often seem to crystallise, in the guise of an “image”, an impression, an emotion or a remembrance – those intense and fleeting experiences, which, as in the title of one of her artworks, constitute the “dizziness of life”. In the same way, they also explore the ability of images, objects and sounds to trigger the imagination of the viewer.

This exhibition is the result of several years of research in different geographical contexts, starting with Italy and Asia. It brings together a large body of recent works and new productions, including a major installation for the museum’s Grand Hall. New directions are apparent in her work, including contemplation, our relation to the vegetable and the mineral, the multiplicity of modes of existence, and the possibility of a sensitive relationship with the past.

The exhibition was conceived to be like a notebook: a form that brings together impressions that have occurred in everyday life – be they visual, sound, or memory related – and blends them in a subjective and intuitive way, allowing a whole network of echoes and correspondences to be deployed.

Su-Mei Tse was born in 1973 in Luxembourg. She lives and works in Luxembourg and Berlin.

Curators:
Christophe Gallois
Katrin Weilenmann / Aargauer Kunsthaus

In collaboration with:
Aargauer Kunsthaus

Exhibition Partner:

Media partner:

The exhibition Su-Mei Tse . Nested is organised by Mudam Luxembourg and the Aargauer Kunsthaus in collaboration with the Yuz Museum Shanghai and the Taipei Fine Arts Museum.

International tour:

The international tour of the exhibition received generous funding from the National Cultural Fund, Luxembourg, and is made possible through significant support from Cargolux Airlines International.

Mudam Luxembourg
07/10/2017 - 08/04/2018
Aargauer Kunsthaus
(Aarau, Switzerland)
06/05 - 12/08/2018
Yuz Museum
(Shanghai, China)
10/2018 - 02/2019
Taipei Fine Arts Museum
(Taiwan)
04/2019 - 07/2019

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

MUDAM Logo

SU-MEI TSE

NESTED
07/10/2017 - 08/04/2018
Vernissage 06/10/2017 18h00
Share
 

Marquée par ses origines cosmopolites, entre l’Europe et l’Asie, et par l’attention qu’elle porte à la dimension sonore du monde, la pratique de Su-Mei Tse est traversée par des questions telles que le temps, le souvenir, la musicalité, ou encore le langage. Empruntant des formes variées – sculptures, vidéos, photographies, installations –, ses œuvres opèrent chaque fois des passages entre différents champs : entre le son et l’image, la nature et la culture, l’espace mental et l’expérience sensible par exemple.

Su-Mei Tse, A Whole Universe (Pomegranate), 2017. Vue de l'exposition Elegy, Edouard Malingue Gallery, Hong Kong 2017 © Photo (détail) : Edouard Malingue Gallery, Hong Kong

À la manière de l’encre noire qui s’écoule de sa fontaine Many Spoken Words, la question de l’apparition du sens, ou de son évanescence, se retrouve au coeur du travail de Su-Mei Tse. La simplicité des formes que l'artiste produit contraste avec leur pouvoir d’évocation, avec la pluralité des lectures qui en émanent. Ses œuvres semblent souvent cristalliser, sous les traits d’une « image », une impression, une émotion ou un souvenir – ces expériences à la fois intenses et fugaces qui constituent, pour reprendre le titre de l’une de ses oeuvres, les « vertiges de la vie ». Dans un même mouvement, elles explorent la capacité des images, des objets et des sons à déclencher, chez le spectateur, un imaginaire.

Fruit de plusieurs années de recherche dans différents contextes géographiques, à commencer par l’Italie et l’Asie, cette exposition rassemble un large corpus d’oeuvres récentes et de nouvelles productions, dont une installation d’envergure pour le Grand Hall du musée. S’esquissent dans cet ensemble de nouvelles directions au sein du travail de Su-Mei Tse, comme la contemplation, notre relation au végétal et au minéral, la multiplicité des modes d’existence, ou encore la possibilité d’une relation sensible au passé.

Abordant ces préoccupations comme autant de lignes tressées, l’exposition a été pensée sur le modèle d’un carnet de notes : une forme qui rassemble des impressions survenues dans le quotidien – qu’elles soient visuelles, sonores, ou mémorielles – et les mêle de manière subjective et intuitive, laissant s’y déployer tout un réseau d’échos et de correspondances.

Su-Mei Tse est née en 1973 à Luxembourg. Elle vit et travaille à Luxembourg et Berlin.

Commissaires :
Christophe Gallois
Katrin Weilenmann / Aargauer Kunsthaus

Partenaire de l’exposition :

Partenaire média :

L’exposition Su-Mei Tse . Nested est organisée par Mudam Luxembourg et le Aargauer Kunsthaus en collaboration avec le Yuz Museum Shanghai et le Taipei Fine Arts Museum.

Itinérance :

L’itinérance internationale de l’exposition bénéficie du financement généreux du Fonds culturel national, Luxembourg, et est réalisée grâce au soutien majeur de Cargolux Airlines International.

Mudam Luxembourg
07/10/2017 - 08/04/2018
Aargauer Kunsthaus
(Aarau, Suisse)
06/05 - 12/08/2018
Yuz Museum
(Shanghai, Chine)
10/2018 - 02/2019
Taipei Fine Arts Museum
(Taiwan)
04/2019 - 07/2019

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970