19/06/2010 - 19/09/2010

For the exhibition Sketches of Space, Mudam has invited eight artists to occupy the museum with projects specifically conceived for the occasion. Presented in all the rooms devoted to temporary shows, the installations enhance different approaches to the notion of space through their diversity.

Simone Decker : Second Life, 2010, Production Mudam Luxembourg, avec la participation de Prefalux et avec la collaboration du MNHA, © Photo : Andrés Lejona

Physical intervention to the architecture of Ieoh Ming Pei, game of construction and deconstruction, relating the interior to the exterior of the building, immersive environment, installation disorientating the viewer, response to the institutional context... Each of these propositions sketches another perception of the museum by redrawing its contours.

German artist Michael Beutler intervenes in two places in the museum. For his installation Flip, presented in one of the ground floor galleries, the walls built after the museum’s opening (for the requirements of temporary exhibitions) are cut out and displaced by using steel structures in the shape of semicircles the size of the walls. Reclining flat on the structures, the walls now horizontally divide the space. In counterpoint to Flip, the artist has also modified the access to the rooms devoted to Mudam Collection by erecting (with the help of a lift-up table) walls of plaster and pieces of coloured paper produced in situ.

Zilvinas Kempinas : Ballroom, 2010, Production Mudam Luxembourg, © Photo : Zilvinas Kempinas

Faithful to her usual approach which consists of taking the context of her intervention as a starting point, Luxembourg artist Simone Decker has come up with a large-scale installation for the Grand Hall that echoes the previous exhibition, Brave New World (from the perspective of Mudam Collection). A tower, mostly composed of storage cases for artworks from the museum’s collection, allows visitors to climb to the heights of the Grand Hall and reach the summit of the atrium. From here, they may discover a new point of view on the building and the exterior, as well as on the collection and, generally, the museum as an institution.

Numerous artworks by Belgian artist Ann Veronica Janssens explore the limits of perception of time and space using “immaterial” and evanescent elements such as light, sound or fog. “What interests me”, says the artist, “is what escapes, not to fix it in its escape but, on the contrary, to experience the ungraspable. The installation she has dreamed up for the exhibition takes the form of a large screen crossing the gallery on which are inscribed, by back projection, luminous beams of different colours producing a rapid, almost hypnotic pulsation, liable to provoke retinal persistance in the eye of the viewer.

Peter Kogler : Untitled (Mudam), 2010, Composition sonore : Franz Pomassl, Commande, Production et Collection Mudam Luxembourg, © Photo : Andrés Lejona

Lithuanian artist Zilvinas Kempinas has worked for several years with magnetic tapes from analogic recording materials to develop installations which, by extending the research of kinetic art and op art in the 1960s, play with our spatial perception. White Noise is composed of a multitude of magnetic tapes arranged in the space so as to form a screen which, lit from behind and animated by air currents, produces vibration effects that recall the “white noise” that appeared on badly tuned television screens. In his installation Ballroom, visitors are invited to move through an environment featuring red and blue lights, magnetic tapes and reflective surfaces put in motion by suspended ventilators in such a way that spatial bearings are disturbed.

In his video installations, Austrian artist Peter Kogler superimposes onto exhibition spaces virtual spaces in which recurring motifs (ants, rats, abstract shapes...) proliferate and invade the walls, floor and ceiling. His installation for Sketches of Space is composed of a 360° projection, covering all the gallery wallspace, thus presenting a virtual environment in which viewers are invited to immerse themselves. The initial motif in this case is an abstract grid, composed of a mesh of ligns in perpetual movement, in which organic shapes appear and disappear. The space progressively dissolves through the transformations.

Vincent Lamouroux : Prodrome, 2010, Production Mudam Luxembourg, avec le soutien de Prefalux, © Photo : Andrés Lejona

The installation by French artist Vincent Lamouroux takes as a starting point a series of fictional architectural structures described by Edgar Allan Poe in three texts written in 1840, The Domain of Arnheim, Landor’s Cottage and The Philosophy of Furniture, that his first French translator, Charles Baudelaire, aimed to bring together in a collection with the evocative title Habitations imaginaires (Imaginary Dwellings). The modules created by Vincent Lamouroux from these descriptions dialogue with the particularly stated style of Pei’s architecture.

Since 2002, Italian artists Raffaella Spagna and Andrea Caretto have developed a joint practice that explores the relationships that link humans to their natural environment. Their projects, which are often long term ones, give rise to installations presenting their recent investigations and experiments concerning questions including the transformation of matter, the notion of ecosystems, the process of morphogenesis, the domestication of natural elements and the relationship between wilderness and cultivation. For Sketches of Space, Raffaella Spagna and Andrea Caretto are presenting an installation conceived as a network of “isles”, mainly concerning shapes generated in an autonomous way by certain natural elements, be they organic or mineral.

Avant-plan : Michael Beutler : pilF (Fuma Na Banja), 2005/2010, Production Mudam Luxembourg
Arrière-plan : Cindy Sherman : Untitled # 318 (Mask), 1996, Collection Mudam Luxembourg
© Photo : Andrés Lejona

Marie-Noëlle Farcy
Christophe Gallois
Enrico Lunghi
Clément Minighetti

In partnership with


Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

Nous trouver

+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

MUDAM Logo

SKETCHES OF SPACE

19/06/2010 - 19/09/2010
Share
 

Pour l’exposition Sketches of Space, Mudam invite huit artistes à investir ses espaces avec des projets conçus spécifiquement pour cette occasion. Présentées dans l’ensemble des espaces consacrés aux expositions temporaires, les installations mettent en valeur, par leur diversité, différentes approches de la notion d’espace.

Simone Decker : Second Life, 2010, Production Mudam Luxembourg, avec la participation de Prefalux et avec la collaboration du MNHA, © Photo : Andrés Lejona

Intervention physique sur l’architecture d'Ieoh Ming Pei, jeu de construction et déconstruction, mise en relation de l’intérieur du bâtiment avec l’extérieur, environnement immersif, installation faisant vaciller les repères des spectateurs, réponse au contexte institutionnel... Chacune de ces propositions esquisse une autre perception du musée, en redessine les contours.

L’artiste allemand Michael Beutler intervient à deux endroits dans le musée. Pour son installation Flip, les murs qui ont été construits après l’ouverture du musée, pour les besoins des expositions temporaires dans l’une des galeries du rez-de-chaussée, sont découpés puis basculés en utilisant des structures d’acier en forme de demi-roues, de la taille des murs. Reposant à plat sur les structures, les murs divisent maintenant l’espace horizontalement. Ailleurs dans le musée, en contrepoint à Flip, l’artiste modifie l’accès des salles consacrées à la Collection Mudam en érigeant, à l’aide d’une table à bascule, des parois fabriquées in situ, à partir de plâtre et de morceaux de papier colorés.

Zilvinas Kempinas : Ballroom, 2010, Production Mudam Luxembourg, © Photo : Zilvinas Kempinas

Fidèle à sa démarche habituelle consistant à prendre pour point de départ le contexte dans lequel elle est amenée à intervenir, l’artiste luxembourgeoise Simone Decker a imaginé pour le Grand Hall une installation de grande ampleur faisant écho à l’exposition précédente, Le Meilleur des Mondes (du point de vue de la Collection Mudam). Une tour, composée notamment des caisses des œuvres de la collection du musée, permet aux visiteurs de grimper dans les hauteurs du Grand Hall et d'atteindre le sommet de la verrière. Ils y découvrent un nouveau point de vue sur le bâtiment et sur l’extérieur, mais aussi sur la collection et, plus généralement, sur l'institution muséale.

De nombreuses œuvres de l’artiste belge Ann Veronica Janssens explorent, à partir d’éléments « immatériels » et évanescents tels que la lumière, le son ou le brouillard, les limites de la perception du temps et de l’espace. « Ce qui m'intéresse, énonce l’artiste, c’est ce qui échappe, non pas pour le figer dans son échappée mais au contraire pour expérimenter l'insaisissable ». L’installation qu’elle a imaginée pour l’exposition prend la forme d’un large écran traversant la galerie sur lequel viennent s’inscrire, en rétroprojection, des faisceaux lumineux de différentes couleurs produisant une pulsation rapide, presque hypnotique, susceptible de provoquer chez le spectateur des effets de persistance rétinienne.

Peter Kogler : Untitled (Mudam), 2010, Composition sonore : Franz Pomassl, Commande, Production et Collection Mudam Luxembourg, © Photo : Andrés Lejona

L’artiste lithuanien Zilvinas Kempinas travaille depuis plusieurs années avec des bandes magnétiques provenant de supports d’enregistrement analogique pour développer des installations qui, dans la continuité des recherches de l'art cinétique et de l'op art des années 1960, jouent avec notre perception spatiale. White Noise se compose d'une multitude de bandes magnétiques agencées dans l’espace pour former un écran qui, éclairé par l’arrière et animé par des courants d’air, produit des effets de vibration rappelant le « bruit blanc » qui apparaît sur les écrans de téléviseurs mal réglés. Dans son installation Ballroom, les visiteurs sont invités à parcourir un environnement mettant en scène des lumières rouges et bleues, des bandes magnétiques et des surfaces réfléchissantes mises en mouvement par des ventilateurs suspendus, si bien que les repères spatiaux sont perturbés.

Dans ses installations vidéos, l’artiste autrichien Peter Kogler superpose aux espaces d'exposition des espaces virtuels dans lesquels des motifs récurrents - fourmis, rats, formes abstraites... - prolifèrent et envahissent les murs, le sol, le plafond. Son installation pour Sketches of Space se compose d'une projection à 360°, recouvrant la totalité des murs de la galerie, proposant un environnement virtuel dans lequel le spectateur est invité à s'immerger. Le motif de départ est ici une trame abstraite, composée d'un maillage de lignes en perpétuel mouvement, dans lequel des formes organiques apparaissent et disparaissent. L'espace se dissout progressivement, au fil des transformations.

Vincent Lamouroux : Prodrome, 2010, Production Mudam Luxembourg, avec le soutien de Prefalux, © Photo : Andrés Lejona

L’installation de l’artiste français Vincent Lamouroux prend comme point de départ une série d’architectures fictives décrites par Edgard Allan Poe dans trois nouvelles écrites en 1840, Le Domaine d’Arnheim, Le Cottage Landor et La Philosophie de l’ameublement, que son premier traducteur, Charles Baudelaire, avait pour projet de rassembler dans un recueil au titre évocateur d’Habitations imaginaires. Les modules créés par Vincent Lamouroux à partir de ces descriptions dialoguent avec le style particulièrement affirmé de l’architecture de Pei.

Les artistes italiens Raffaella Spagna et Andrea Caretto développent depuis 2002 une pratique commune ayant pour champ d’investigation les relations qui lient l’homme à son environnement naturel. Leurs projets, souvent développés sur le long terme, donnent lieu à des installations présentant leurs récentes recherches et expérimentations autour de questions telles que la transformation de la matière, la notion d'écosystème, les processus de morphogénèse, la domestication des éléments naturels et les relations entre le sauvage et le cultivé. Pour Sketches of Space, Raffaella Spagna et Andrea Caretto proposent une installation pensée comme un réseau d’« îlots », s’intéressant notamment aux formes générées de manière autonome par certains éléments naturels, qu’ils soient organiques ou minéraux.

Avant-plan : Michael Beutler : pilF (Fuma Na Banja), 2005/2010, Production Mudam Luxembourg
Arrière-plan : Cindy Sherman : Untitled # 318 (Mask), 1996, Collection Mudam Luxembourg
© Photo : Andrés Lejona

Commissaires
Marie-Noëlle Farcy
Christophe Gallois
Enrico Lunghi
Clément Minighetti

Avec la participation de

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970