MUDAM Logo

SAMUEL GRATACAP

EMPIRE
11/02/2017 - 14/05/2017
Vernissage 10/02/2017 18h00
Share
 

As a photographer whose work belongs both in the field of visual arts and photojournalism, Samuel Gratacap is interested in the phenomena of migration and transit areas generated by contemporary conflicts. His projects are the result of long periods of immersion, the time needed to understand the complexity of situations and to restore what, beyond numbers, flows, maps, geopolitical data, and media news, constitutes the heart: trajectories and personal experiences.

Samuel Gratacap, Sans titre 04, série Empire, Camp de réfugiés de Choucha, 2012-2014. Courtesy Galerie Les filles du calvaire © Samuel Gratacap

His ambitious Empire project is the result of several visits he made to the Choucha refugee camp, located in Tunisia, a few kilometres from the Libyan border, between 2012 and 2014. For several years (as of February 2011), this UNHCR (United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees) emergency camp received hundreds of thousands of people fleeing conflicts in neighbouring Libya, as well as those in West Africa and the Horn of Africa. Although it officially closed in June 2013, several hundred refugees and asylum-seekers have continued to live there, in a state of growing abandonment.

The images that make up Empire reflect moments of life, adaptation to the hostility of the environment, but also commitment. They include faces, gestures, pieces of desert, makeshift constructions, protest messages, “wandering souls” criss-crossing the camp. Together they sketch the outlines of a situation in suspense: “My work,” says the artist, “reflects the space-time specificities of this living place shaped by wait. Wait due to the different stages of asylum applications for refugees, combined with the tension of those suspended destinies in a same temporary site that became perennial by circumstances, to finally disappear.”

Stamped with a temporality that contrasts with that of the images on which the media feeds, Samuel Gratacap’s photographs also relate to a search for forms entirely driven by the desire to give substance, with accuracy, to singular experiences. Photographic prints in various formats are joined by series of polaroids, a set of images pasted directly to the wall, the transcription of testimonies, a map drawn by the artist, and video sequences. It is as though it were a question of trying to restore the singularity of Choucha’s voices through these multiple bursts: “There is not one story of Choucha,” says Gratacap, “but as many stories as the number of people who have lived there.”

Curators:
Paul di Felice, Pierre Stiwer (Café-Crème asbl)
Christophe Gallois

The exhibition Empire by Samuel Gratacap is organised in collaboration with Café-Crème asbl within the framework of the 6th edition of the European Month of Photography in Luxembourg. It was originally produced by LE BAL (Paris), where it was presented from 11 September to 4 October 2015. On this occasion, it received the support of Adagp, Copie Privée, SFR, Fonds de dotation agnès b., CNAP, FNAGP and Hugues Aubry.

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

MUDAM Logo

SAMUEL GRATACAP

EMPIRE
11/02/2017 - 14/05/2017
Vernissage 10/02/2017 18h00
Share
 

Photographe dont le travail s’inscrit à la fois dans le champ des arts visuels et celui du photojournalisme, Samuel Gratacap s’intéresse aux phénomènes de migration et aux lieux de transit générés par les conflits contemporains. Ses projets sont le fruit de longues périodes d’immersion, un temps nécessaire pour comprendre la complexité des situations et restituer ce qui, au-delà des nombres, des flux, des cartes, des données géopolitiques et de l’actualité médiatique, en constitue le cœur : des trajectoires et des expériences personnelles.

Samuel Gratacap, Sans titre 04, série Empire, Camp de réfugiés de Choucha, 2012-2014. Courtesy Galerie Les filles du calvaire © Samuel Gratacap

Son ambitieux projet Empire résulte de plusieurs séjours qu’il a faits entre 2012 et 2014 dans le camp de réfugiés de Choucha, situé en Tunisie, à quelques kilomètres de la frontière libyenne. Pendant plusieurs années, à partir de février 2011, ce camp créé dans l’urgence par le HCR (Haut-Commissariat des Nations unies pour les réfugiés) a vu transiter des centaines de milliers de personnes fuyant les conflits de la Libye voisine, mais aussi ceux de l’Afrique de l’Ouest et de la Corne d’Afrique. S’il a officiellement fermé en juin 2013, plusieurs centaines de réfugiés et demandeurs d’asile ont continué à y vivre, dans un abandon de plus en plus grand.

Les images qui composent Empire rendent compte de moments de vie, d’adaptation à l’hostilité de l’environnement, mais aussi d’engagement. Elles figurent des visages, des gestes, des morceaux de désert, des constructions de fortune, des messages de revendication, des « âmes errantes » sillonnant le camp. Ensemble, elles esquissent les contours d’une situation en suspens : « Mon travail, précise l’artiste, rend compte de l’espace-temps particulier de ce lieu de vie marqué par l’attente. L’attente liée aux différentes étapes des demandes d’asile déposées par les réfugiés qui se mêle à la tension de ces destins suspendus dans un lieu temporaire, devenu pérenne par la force des choses, pour finalement disparaître. »

Marquées par une temporalité qui contraste avec celle des images dont s’alimentent les médias, les photographies de Samuel Gratacap relèvent aussi d’une recherche de formes tout entière portée par le souhait de donner corps, avec justesse, à des expériences singulières. Aux tirages photographiques de différents formats s’ajoutent des séries de polaroïds, un ensemble d’images apposé au mur, la transcription de témoignages, un plan dessiné par l’artiste, des séquences vidéo. Comme s’il s’agissait, à travers ces multiples éclats, d’essayer de restituer la singularité des voix de Choucha : « Il n’y a pas une histoire de Choucha, dit Samuel Gratacap, mais autant d’histoires que le nombre de personnes qui y ont vécu. »

Commissaires :
Paul di Felice, Pierre Stiwer (Café-Crème asbl)
Christophe Gallois

L'exposition Empire de Samuel Gratacap est organisée en collaboration avec Café-Crème asbl dans le cadre de la 6e édition du Mois européen de la photographie au Luxembourg. Elle a été initialement produite par LE BAL (Paris), où elle a été présentée du 11 septembre au 4 octobre 2015. À cette occasion, elle a bénéficié du soutien de l’Adagp, de Copie Privée, de SFR, du Fonds de dotation agnès b., du Cnap, de la FNAGP et de Hugues Aubry.

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970