MUDAM Logo

QUIZ 2 - BASED ON AN IDEA BY ROBERT STADLER

PART OF DESIGN CITY – LXBG BIENNALE 27/04 - 22/05/2016
20/02/2016 - 22/05/2016
Vernissage 19/02/2016 18h00
Share
 

In 2013, the City of Nancy gave carte blanche to the designer Robert Stadler. He joined Alexis Vaillant, then curator at the CAPC Contemporary Art Museum in Bordeaux, to curate an exhibition made of unrecognisable objects and titled Quiz, based on an idea by Robert Stadler. In this exhibition, the selected objects overshot the usual formulas “art or design?” / “art and design?”. While resisting the classical typologies of traditional sculpture, product or furniture, they make palpable the gradual dissipation of divisions between contemporary art and design.

Vues de l’exposition Quiz 2 - sur une idée de Robert Stadler, 20.02.2016 - 22.05.2016, Mudam Luxembourg © Photo : Eric Chenal / Mudam Luxembourg

Two years later, Mudam Luxembourg proposed Robert Stadler and Alexis Vaillant to imagine a sequel to this exhibition. They decided to bring together some emblematic works of Nancy’s QUIZ exhibition, and to combine them with some ambivalent “things”. These things are ambivalent since they have as much assumed the dissolution of the border between art and design in progress since the 1960s as they are revealing the paradoxical persistence of art and design as autonomous hubs of activity. Art and Design are two domains that see emerge, each in their own way, things and ideas that feed on each other without ever amalgamating.

On the occasion of this exhibition, Robert Stadler and Alexis Vaillant brought together thirty texts in a digest entitled On Things as Ideas. Written between 1790 and today, these texts published in English address the economic, cultural and philosophical aspects of the “thingness of the thing”.

Curators:
Robert Stadler
Alexis Vaillant

Exhibition design:
Studio Robert Stadler

Featuring works by:
Cyril Afsa
Tomás Alonso
Hope Atherton
Aldo Bakker
Vincent Beaurin
Mario Bellini
Erwan & Ronan Bouroullec
Robert Breer
Marc Camille Chaimowicz
Toby Christian
Pierre Charpin
Paul Cocksedge
Claudia Comte
Aaron Curry
Björn Dahlström
Naoto Fukasawa
Laureline Galliot
Francisco Gomez Paz
Konstantin Grcic
Thomas Grünfeld
Zaha Hadid
Pablo Helguera
Herby Industries
Roger Hiorns
Yngve Holen
Donald Judd
Shiro Kuramata
Mathieu Lehanneur
Ross Lovegrove
Enzo Mari
Mathieu Mercier
Bruno Munari
David Musgrave
Ron Nagle
Philip Newcombe
Normal Studio
Jérôme Olivet
Giò Ponti
Gerwald Rockenschaub
Karin Ruggaber
Trevor Shimizu
Ettore Sottsass
Robert Stadler
Philippe Starck
Superstudio
Blair Thurman
Pierre Vadi
Marcel Wanders
Nicole Wermers
Heimo Zobernig

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

MUDAM Logo

QUIZ 2 - SUR UNE IDÉE DE ROBERT STADLER

RÉALISÉE DANS LE CADRE DE DESIGN CITY – LXBG BIENNALE 27/04 - 22/05/2016
20/02/2016 - 22/05/2016
Vernissage 19/02/2016 18h00
Share
 

En 2013, la Ville de Nancy confie une carte blanche au designer Robert Stadler. Il s’associe à Alexis Vaillant, alors curateur au CAPC musée d’art contemporain de Bordeaux, pour assurer avec lui le commissariat d’une exposition faite d’objets méconnaissables intitulée Quiz, sur une idée de Robert Stadler. Les objets réunis dans cette exposition dépassent les formules « art ou design ? » / « art et design ? ». Ils résistent aux typologies classiques de sculpture, produit ou meuble, en rendant palpable la dissipation progressive des clivages entre art contemporain et design.

Vues de l’exposition Quiz 2 - sur une idée de Robert Stadler, 20.02.2016 - 22.05.2016, Mudam Luxembourg © Photo : Eric Chenal / Mudam Luxembourg

Deux ans plus tard, le Mudam propose à Robert Stadler et Alexis Vaillant d’imaginer une suite à cette exposition. Ils décident alors de réunir autour de certaines œuvres emblématiques de l’exposition QUIZ de Nancy des « choses » dont l’ambivalence assumée interroge autant la dissolution de la frontière entre art et design en marche depuis les années 1960 que la persistance – paradoxale par rapport à ce mouvement toujours en cours – des spécificités des champs de l’art et du design. Deux champs qui voient émerger, chacun à leur manière, des choses et des idées qui se nourrissent mutuellement sans pour autant s’amalgamer.

À l’occasion de cette exposition, Robert Stadler et Alexis Vaillant ont réuni une trentaine de textes dans un digest intitulé On Things as Ideas. Ecrits entre 1790 et aujourd’hui, ces textes ici publiés en anglais abordent les aspects économiques, culturels et philosophiques de la « choséité de la chose ».

Commissaires :
Robert Stadler
Alexis Vaillant

Scénographie :
Studio Robert Stadler

Avec des pièces de :
Cyril Afsa
Tomás Alonso
Hope Atherton
Aldo Bakker
Vincent Beaurin
Mario Bellini
Erwan & Ronan Bouroullec
Robert Breer
Marc Camille Chaimowicz
Toby Christian
Pierre Charpin
Paul Cocksedge
Claudia Comte
Aaron Curry
Björn Dahlström
Naoto Fukasawa
Laureline Galliot
Francisco Gomez Paz
Konstantin Grcic
Thomas Grünfeld
Zaha Hadid
Pablo Helguera
Herby Industries
Roger Hiorns
Yngve Holen
Donald Judd
Shiro Kuramata
Mathieu Lehanneur
Ross Lovegrove
Enzo Mari
Mathieu Mercier
Bruno Munari
David Musgrave
Ron Nagle
Philip Newcombe
Normal Studio
Jérôme Olivet
Giò Ponti
Gerwald Rockenschaub
Karin Ruggaber
Trevor Shimizu
Ettore Sottsass
Robert Stadler
Philippe Starck
Superstudio
Blair Thurman
Pierre Vadi
Marcel Wanders
Nicole Wermers
Heimo Zobernig

Dans le cadre de

www.designcity.lu

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970