08/10/2011 - 15/01/2012
Vernissage 07/10/2011 18h00

The technical object cannot be dissociated from human history, but the relationship between Man and Technology remains complex. As a synonym of progress, in western eyes, the technical object is at once desired and suspect, arousing by turns hope, wonder, and disillusion. The exhibition Mondes inventés, Mondes habités (“Invented Worlds, Inhabited Worlds”) broaches the issue of technology transcended by artistic genius. It highlights the special relationship of creative people, those “technical poets” who, rather than restricting themselves to the utilitarian aspect, base their research on an understanding of existence and the beauty of machines. So through the works of some twenty artists of different generations and with different outlooks, the exhibition offers glimpses of the capacity for invention and wonder, daring and curiosity, hallmarking the human and artistic adventure.

Conrad Shawcross : The Nervous Systems (Inverted), 2011, Courtesy de l’artiste et galerie Victoria Miro, Londres, Commande et Production Mudam Luxembourg avec la collaboration de la galerie Victoria Miro, Londres © Photo : Andres Lejona

The exhibition focuses first and foremost on the specific figure of the inventor and the imagination which fuels his research. A whole mythology has in fact developed down the centuries around the artist-cum-inventor, whose guardian figure is indisputably Leonardo da Vinci, an artistic and visionary genius if ever there was, as much an architect and engineer as a painter and musician.

With the emergence of modern science and motorization, the 19th century left behind a literature studded with demiurge figures, crazy scholars and other daredevils, with an absolute faith in science and its potential. It is these colourful personalities who seem to inspire the filmmaker Jan Švankmajer in his film Leonardo’s Diary and his drawings of unlikely erotic machines, as hilarious as they are disquieting, when the machine appears to hold sway over people and dictate their doings and gestures.

Robert & Shana ParkeHarrison : Kingdom, 2000, Courtesy Jack Shainman Gallery, New York © Photo : Eric Chenal / Blitz

Similar mixed feelings come to the fore in the seemingly outdated photographs of Robert and Shana ParkeHarrison. These artists present a character fitted with prostheses and other cobbled together exploratory instruments, who has a close, not to say fusional relationship with the world, anxious about the planet’s future challenges. The borderline between the marvellous and the apocalyptic is thin and fragile.

The relationship between the individual and nature is also present in Panamarenko’s work, in particular through his Knikkebeen, a “bipedal” prosthesis, no less, inspired by the camel’s gait. For the artist, the machine can - and must - be the go-between in a harmonious development with our environment.

Panamarenko : Knikkebeen, 2011, Courtesy Mulier Mulier, Knokke-Le-Zoute & Collection privée, Belgique © Photo : Andres Lejona

Paul Granjon, who exercises much fantasy but is determinedly trivial, makes robots with an anthropological behaviour. He has devised them as gendered and gives them a playground in the form of an arena. They bump into each other, sniff each other, copulate and rest… and swear. Contrasting with them, Paul Laffoley’s complex and fascinating diagrams have an almost mystical character, well removed from anything prosaic. His visions and conceptions of the future world result from a mix of philosophy, esotericism, and technology.

The second part of the show underscores the beauty of experience and the accomplishment of forms resulting from the observation and understanding of physical phenomena or natural forces. Taking existing phenomena into account is thus part and parcel of Roman Signer’s work. Water, earth, fire and air are, in a way, his materials. “I have an almost magical relationship to Nature. [...] The final form of the sculpture emerges of its own accord. This is an aspect that actually runs through all my work - that I do not do everything myself, but give the last word to the natural forces that are involved here” (1), says the artist.

He shares with Panamarenko this art of nature observation and examination. This latter devises and produces all sorts of things that can be regarded as so many extensions of his own body. They propel him across the ground, as well as in air, water and - the ultimate dream - space. This, obviously enough, is the whole beauty of experience - in no way burdened by failure -, the poetry of danger and the risk inherent in all inventions that we are offered by Panamarenko and Roman Signer.

Nancy Rubins : Table and Airplne Parts, 1990, Collection Frac Bourgogne, Dijon © Photo : Andres Lejona

In this same spirit of transcending and going beyond physical restrictions, Chris Burden’s work The Frictionless Sled makes it possible to experiment with the elimination of the force of friction at the root of resistance to motion. His Mexican Bridge, a veritable construction work, is also a demonstration of confidence in the ingenious mind and man’s ability to tame nature. It reflects the artist’s fascination with challenges, those consisting in negotiating obstacles, connecting people and increasing possibilities of displacement.

Because understanding them helps us to free ourselves from them, others prefer to juggle with the laws of physics. In this respect, the works of Vincent Ganivet and Nancy Rubins represent actual feats which defy the rules of statics. Made up of heavy, bulky materials like breeze blocks and pieces of aircraft fuselage, they rise up and develop heightwise. Cocking a snook at gravity, but answering to elementary construction principles, they remain balanced, and mind-bogglingly light.

Björn Dahlem : (au centre) Schwarzes Loch (M-Spharen), 2007, Collection Saatchi, Londres © Photo : Andres Lejona

The third part extends the boundaries of our world and the perception we may have of it. Here the artists appropriate that part of the dream intrinsic to the discovery and exploration of worlds, but also to the understanding of the living which scientific and technological advances have made possible by making them visible.

The infinite depth of the cosmos, with the shimmering of stars, comes delicately across in Vija Celmins’s hyper-realist and subtle prints. At times, these glittering landscapes rub shoulders with a perspectival drawing by the Italian Quattrocento master Paolo Uccello, whose technical mastery is so amazing that it vies happily with present-day digital tools. Black holes, cosmic constellations and distant planets also form the essence of Björn Dahlem’s sculptures. Fascinated by the latest progress in astrophysics, he comes up with original models imbued with a surrealist poetry. His mysterious sculptures form a dreamlike landscape which he incites us to cross.

David Altmejd : The Vessel, 2011, Courtesy de l’artiste et galerie Andrea Rosen, New York © Photo : Rémi Villaggi

The application and spatialization of scientific theories lie precisely at the root of Conrad Shawcross’s research, with his light piece Slow Arc in a Cube IV playing almost hypnotically with two- and three-dimensional planes, giving us the sensation of an endless space in perpetual motion.

Focusing on the question of the living, the works of David Altmejd and Theo Jansen are concerned with properties of transformation and regeneration. In the former’s work titled The Vessel, transparency plays a major part. It permits us to enter the heart of a vitalized world, made up of a tangle of changing organic forms. Theo Jansen’s film, for its part, presents the research of a demiurge that, for more than twenty years, has been successfully striving to give life to his creatures made in a rough-and-ready way with PVC. Henceforth fitted with an almost autonomous operation, these latter move about on the beaches of the North, fuelling themselves with wind.

Isa Melsheimer : Garten für einen glücklosen Schatten, 2011, détail, Courtesy de l’artiste, Commande et Production Mudam Luxembourg © Photo : Rémi Villaggi

The fourth and final part of the exhibition mainly includes artistic representations of worlds organised by human activity. All of Miguel Palma’s research is underpinned by this “universalist” approach, in contrast with specialization. He thus prefers spontaneity and intuition to a knowledge which he deems at times abstruse. “In my work, I think it’s extremely important that people understand the object’s construction process, in a basic almost geological manner.” (2) His work Carbono 14 combines his interest in mechanics and motorized things with a line of thinking about ecosystems. The many geological strata which form them plunge us into the depths of a buried world. As often in his approach, the installation is not without irony and gives glimpses of social criticism.

Isa Melsheimer’s remote approach is also distant when she focuses on a given context. Here, her work directly echoes the configuration of the venue. Her project is part of an already existing space, the spiral staircase, a real piece of bravura in Mudam’s architecture by Ieoh Ming Pei. She is intrigued by the imperious nature of the architectural gesture, and subtly shifts the outlines and boundaries, deeply transforming it and lending it a new poetic charge.

Human activity pierces the seething mass of connections and mesh of networks which inform León Ferrari’s maze-like drawings. The fascination felt when faced with the complexity of urban developments nevertheless quickly gives way to a feeling of suspicion in front of models which leave the individual with not very much freedom. Above all, the graphic tracery work gives glimpses of the beauty and fragility of existence.

This tension crops up, too, in the work of Bodys Isek Kingelez, who projects us into futuristic and utopian African cities, and whose ideas may wind up this exhibition: “The pleasures of this terrestrial world depend on the people who live in it. They have an obligation to deploy all their talents to fashion and refashion it in such a way as to make it more wonderful than ever.” (3)

Bodys Isek Kingelez : (Avant-plan) Maman Isek Mbo Bendele, 2000, Collection Fondation Cartier pour l’Art Contemporain, Paris. (Arrière-plan) New Manhattan (Manhattan City 3021), 2002, C.A.A.C. - Collection Pigozzi, Genève © Photo : Rémi Villaggi

(1) Roman Signer in Roman Signer, Phaidon, 2006, pp. 47-48
(2) Miguel Palma in Osmosis, MP_PAPERS, 2009, p. 73
(3) Bodys Isek Kingelez in Bodys Isek Kingelez, Kunstverein in Hamburg, 2001, p. 101

Marie-Noëlle Farcy
Clément Minighetti



Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

Nous trouver

+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

MUDAM Logo

MONDES INVENTÉS, MONDES HABITÉS

08/10/2011 - 15/01/2012
Vernissage 07/10/2011 18h00
Share
 

L’objet technique est indissociable de l’histoire humaine, mais la relation entre l'Homme et la technique reste complexe. Synonyme de progrès selon la conception occidentale, l’objet technique est à la fois désiré et suspect, suscitant tour à tour espérance, émerveillement et désillusion. L’exposition Mondes inventés, Mondes habités aborde la question de la technique transcendée par le génie artistique. Elle met en avant des créateurs, des « poètes techniques », qui, plutôt que de se limiter à l’aspect utilitaire, basent leur recherche sur la compréhension de l’existence et la beauté des machines. Ainsi, à travers les œuvres d’une vingtaine d’artistes de différentes générations et aux horizons divers, transparaissent la capacité d’invention et d’émerveillement, l’audace et la curiosité qui caractérisent l’aventure humaine, artistique et technique.

Conrad Shawcross : The Nervous Systems (Inverted), 2011, Courtesy de l’artiste et galerie Victoria Miro, Londres, Commande et Production Mudam Luxembourg avec la collaboration de la galerie Victoria Miro, Londres © Photo : Andres Lejona

Dans le Grand Hall, le visiteur est tout d'abord invité à contempler au plus près le spectacle du ballet mécanique de la machine à toronner de Conrad Shawcross. L’exposition s'articule ensuite autour de quatre parties. Dans la première, elle s'attache à la figure singulière de l’inventeur et à l’imaginaire qui nourrit ses recherches. Toute une mythologie s’est en effet développée au fil des siècles autour de l’artiste-inventeur dont la figure tutélaire est sans conteste Léonard de Vinci, génie artistique et visionnaire par excellence, tout autant architecte et ingénieur que peintre et musicien.

Avec l’apparition de la science moderne et de la motorisation, le 19e siècle a laissé une littérature riche en personnages démiurges, savants fous et autres risque-tout, ayant une foi absolue dans la science et son potentiel. Ce sont ces personnalités hautes en couleur qui semblent inspirer le cinéaste Jan Švankmajer dans son film Leonardo’s Diary et ses dessins d’improbables machines érotiques, tout aussi hilarantes qu’inquiétantes lorsque la machine paraît prendre le pas sur l’homme et lui dicter ses faits et gestes.

Robert & Shana ParkeHarrison : Kingdom, 2000, Courtesy Jack Shainman Gallery, New York © Photo : Eric Chenal / Blitz

De mêmes sentiments mélangés affleurent dans les photographies, en apparence surannées, de Robert et Shana ParkeHarrison. Celles-ci mettent en scène un personnage équipé de prothèses et autres instruments exploratoires bricolés, qui entretient une relation étroite voire fusionnelle avec le monde, inquiet des enjeux futurs de la planète. La frontière entre le merveilleux et l’apocalyptique semble ici tenue et fragile.

La relation entre l’individu et la nature est également présente chez Panamarenko à travers notamment son Knikkebeen, véritable prothèse « bipédique » inspirée de la marche des chameaux. Pour l’artiste, la machine peut - et doit - être le médiateur d’un développement harmonieux avec notre environnement.

Panamarenko : Knikkebeen, 2011, Courtesy Mulier Mulier, Knokke-Le-Zoute & Collection privée, Belgique © Photo : Andres Lejona

Aussi fantaisiste mais résolument trivial, Paul Granjon fabrique des robots au comportement anthropologique. Il les a conçus sexués et leur procure une aire de jeu sous forme d’arène. Ils se croisent, se flairent, s’accouplent, se reposent... et jurent. À l’opposé, les diagrammes complexes et fascinants de Paul Laffoley revêtent un caractère quasi mystique, détaché de tout prosaïsme. Ses visions et conceptions d’un monde futur relèvent d’un mélange de philosophie, d’ésotérisme et de technologie.

La deuxième partie de l’exposition souligne la beauté de l’expérience ainsi que l’accomplissement des formes qui découlent de l’observation et de la compréhension de phénomènes physiques ou de forces naturelles. La prise en compte de phénomènes existants fait ainsi partie intégrante du travail de Roman Signer. L’eau, la terre, le feu et l’air sont en quelque sorte ses matériaux.

« J’ai un rapport presque magique à la Nature. [...] La forme finale de la sculpture émerge de son propre accord. C’est un aspect qui se retrouve dans tous mes travaux. Je ne fais pas tout moi-même, je laisse le dernier mot aux forces naturelles qui sont impliquées » (1), déclare l'artiste. Il partage avec Panamarenko cet art de l’observation et de l’étude de la nature. Ce dernier conçoit et réalise toutes sortes d’engins qui peuvent être considérés comme autant d’extensions de son propre corps. Ils le propulsent sur terre mais aussi dans l’air, l’eau et - rêve ultime - l’espace. C’est évidemment avant tout la beauté de l’expérience - nullement obérée par l’échec -, la poésie du danger et du risque inhérent au pari de toute invention que nous proposent Panamarenko et Roman Signer.

Nancy Rubins : Table and Airplne Parts, 1990, Collection Frac Bourgogne, Dijon © Photo : Andres Lejona

Dans ce même esprit de transcendance et de dépassement des contraintes physiques, l’œuvre The Frictionless Sled de Chris Burden permet d’expérimenter l’élimination de la force de friction à l’origine de la résistance au mouvement. Véritable ouvrage d’art, son Mexican Bridge est également la démonstration de la confiance en l’esprit ingénieux de l’homme et sa capacité à domestiquer la nature. Il reflète la fascination de l’artiste pour les défis, ceux qui consistent à franchir les obstacles, connecter les gens, démultiplier les possibilités de déplacement. Et puisque les comprendre permet de s’en affranchir, d’autres préfèrent se jouer des lois de la physique. À ce titre, les œuvres de Vincent Ganivet et Nancy Rubins constituent de véritables tours de force qui défient les règles de la statique. Composées de matériaux lourds et volumineux tels que des parpaings ou des pièces provenant de fuselages d’avions, elles s’élèvent et se déploient en hauteur. Faisant fi de la gravité mais répondant à des principes de construction élémentaires, elles tiennent en équilibre, stupéfiantes de légèreté.

Björn Dahlem : (au centre) Schwarzes Loch (M-Spharen), 2007, Collection Saatchi, Londres © Photo : Andres Lejona

Le troisième volet étend les limites de notre univers et la perception que nous pouvons en avoir. Les artistes s’y approprient cette part de rêve intrinsèque à la découverte et à l’exploration de mondes mais aussi à la compréhension du vivant que les avancées scientifiques et technologiques ont rendu possibles en les rendant visibles.

La profondeur infinie du cosmos, le scintillement des étoiles transparaissent délicatement dans les subtiles gravures hyperréalistes de Vija Celmins. Parfois, ces paysages étincelants côtoient un dessin perspectiviste du maître italien du Quattrocento Paolo Uccello, dont la maîtrise technique est tellement surprenante qu’elle n’a rien à envier aux outils numériques actuels.

Trous noirs, constellations cosmiques, planètes lointaines forment également l’essence des sculptures de Björn Dahlem. Fasciné par les dernières avancées de l’astrophysique, il en propose des modélisations originales empreintes d’une poésie surréaliste. Ses sculptures mystérieuses composent un paysage onirique qu’il nous invite à parcourir.

David Altmejd : The Vessel, 2011, Courtesy de l’artiste et galerie Andrea Rosen, New York © Photo : Rémi Villaggi

L’application et la spatialisation de théories scientifiques sont précisément à l’origine des recherches de Conrad Shawcross dont la pièce lumineuse Slow Arc in a Cube IV joue, de manière presque hypnotique, avec les plans bi- et tridimensionnels, nous donnant la sensation d’un espace infini en perpétuel mouvement.

Centrés sur la question du vivant, les travaux de David Altmejd et Theo Jansen s’intéressent aux propriétés de transformation et de régénération de la matière. Dans l’œuvre du premier, intitulée The Vessel (« Le Vaisseau »), la transparence joue un rôle majeur. Elle nous permet de pénétrer au cœur d’un monde vitalisé, composé d’un enchevêtrement de formes organiques en mutation. Le film de Theo Jansen présente quant à lui les recherches d’un démiurge qui, depuis plus de vingt ans, s’ingénie avec succès à donner vie à ses créatures sommairement composées de tuyaux en plastique. Désormais dotées d’un fonctionnement presque autonome, celles-ci parcourent les plages du Nord, se nourrissant du vent.

Isa Melsheimer : Garten für einen glücklosen Schatten, 2011, détail, Courtesy de l’artiste, Commande et Production Mudam Luxembourg © Photo : Rémi Villaggi

La quatrième et dernière partie de l’exposition se penche sur les représentations artistiques d’univers organisés par l’activité humaine. Toutes les recherches de Miguel Palma sont sous-tendues par cette approche « universaliste » en opposition à la spécialisation. Il préfère ainsi la spontanéité et l’intuition à un savoir qu’il juge par moments abscons. « Dans mon travail, précise-t-il, je pense qu’il est très important que les gens comprennent le processus de construction de l’objet, d’une manière basique, presque géologique. » (2) Son oeuvre Carbono 14 conjugue son intérêt pour la mécanique et les engins motorisés avec une réflexion sur les écosystèmes. Les multiples strates géologiques qui le composent nous plongent au plus profond d’un monde enfoui. Comme souvent dans son approche, sa pièce n’est pas dénuée d’ironie et laisse poindre une critique sociale.

Distanciée, l’approche d'Isa Melsheimer l’est également lorsqu’elle se penche sur un contexte donné. Son intervention fait ici directement écho à la configuration du lieu. Son projet s’immisce dans un espace préexistant, le grand escalier en colimaçon, véritable morceau de bravoure dans l’architecture du Mudam signée Ieoh Ming Pei. Intriguée par le caractère impérieux du geste architectural, elle en déplace subtilement les contours et les limites, le transforme en profondeur et lui confère une charge poétique nouvelle.

L’activité humaine perce à travers le fourmillement des connexions, le maillage des réseaux qui animent les dessins labyrinthiques de León Ferrari. La fascination éprouvée devant la complexité des développements urbains fait cependant rapidement place à un sentiment de méfiance face à des modèles laissant peu de liberté à l’individu. Avant tout, ses entrelacs graphiques laissent poindre la beauté et la fragilité de l’existence.

Cette tension se retrouve chez Bodys Isek Kingelez qui nous projette dans des villes africaines futuristes et utopiques et dont les propos peuvent conclure l’exposition : « Les plaisirs de ce monde terrestre dépendent des hommes qui l’habitent. Ils ont l’obligation de mettre tous leurs talents à le façonner et refaçonner de manière à le rendre plus merveilleux que jamais. » 

Bodys Isek Kingelez : (Avant-plan) Maman Isek Mbo Bendele, 2000, Collection Fondation Cartier pour l’Art Contemporain, Paris. (Arrière-plan) New Manhattan (Manhattan City 3021), 2002, C.A.A.C. - Collection Pigozzi, Genève © Photo : Rémi Villaggi

(1) Roman Signer in Roman Signer, Phaidon, 2006, p. 47 - 48
(2) Miguel Palma in Osmosis, MP_PAPERS, 2009, p. 73
(3) Bodys Isek Kingelez in Bodys Isek Kingelez, Kunstverein in Hamburg, 2001, p. 101

Commissaires
Marie-Noëlle Farcy
Clément Minighetti

Partenaire

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970