MARTIN EDER

PSYCHIC
17/06/2017 - 03/09/2017
Vernissage 16/06/2017 18h00
Share
 

As a painter and musician Martin Eder, who is a charismatic figure from the Berlin art scene, develops a pictorial work that combines kitsch, eroticism and mythological figures.

Vue de l’exposition Martin Eder . Psychic, 17.06.2017 - 03.09.2017, Mudam Luxembourg. Martin Eder, Exorcism, 2017 & Antiquity, 2017 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017 / Martin Eder, photo : Remi Villaggi / Mudam Luxembourg

Known for his brightly coloured paintings of pets or girls in suggestive poses, he portrays a singular universe in which his realistic style and classical compositions are combined in a dream world which is often disturbing.

Like his last exhibition, whose title La vida es sueño (Life Is a Dream) was borrowed from the famous metaphysical play by Calderón, his most recent work explores the relationship between dream and reality and states of consciousness that oscillate between these two dimensions.

As a founding member of the black metal group Ruin, Martin Eder reveals a darker side in his musical performances of doom-laden sounds, like the hidden face of his pictorial universe. His exhibition P5IGYKC at Mudam Luxembourg will bring together these different aspects of his practice.


Curator:
Anna Loporcaro

Vinyl

MUDAM Logo

MARTIN EDER

PSYCHIC
17/06/2017 - 03/09/2017
Vernissage 16/06/2017 18h00
Share
 

Figure charismatique de la scène artistique berlinoise, à la fois peintre et musicien, Martin Eder développe une oeuvre picturale où se mêlent kitch, érotisme et figures mythologiques.

Vue de l’exposition Martin Eder . Psychic, 17.06.2017 - 03.09.2017, Mudam Luxembourg. Martin Eder, Exorcism, 2017 & Antiquity, 2017 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017 / Martin Eder, photo : Remi Villaggi / Mudam Luxembourg

Connu pour ses toiles aux couleurs acidulées représentant des animaux domestiques ou des jeunes filles aux attitudes suggestives, il déploie un monde singulier dans lequel son style réaliste et ses compositions classiques se conjuguent à un univers onirique, souvent inquiétant.

À l’instar de sa dernière exposition, dont le titre, La vida es sueño (La vie est un songe), était emprunté à la célèbre pièce métaphysique de Calderón, ses oeuvres les plus récentes explorent la relation entre rêve et réalité et les états de conscience qui oscillent entre ces deux dimensions.

Membre fondateur du groupe black metal Ruin, Martin Eder révèle dans ses performances musicales aux sonorités doom un visage plus obscur, comme la face cachée de son univers pictural. Son exposition P5IGYKC au Mudam Luxembourg rassemblera ces différents aspects de sa pratique.

Vue de l’exposition Martin Eder . Psychic, 17.06.2017 - 03.09.2017, Mudam Luxembourg. Martin Eder, Erkenntnis / El conocimiento, 2016 ; Erinnerung / La memoria, 2016 ; Der Wind vertreibt die Wolken / El viento disipa las nubes, 2016 ; There Is a Crack in Everything, 2016 ; Ich bin der sanfte Regen im Herbst / Yo soy la ligera lluvia de otoño, 2016 ; Ich bin der diamantene Schein / Yo soy los destellos de diamante en la nieve, 2016 ; Abschied, Strahlen des Lichtes / Adiós a los rayos de luz, 2016 ; Aether / Éter, 2016, Collection privée, Courtesy Galerie EIGEN + ART Leipzig/Berlin © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017 / Martin Eder, photo : Rémi Villaggi / Mudam Luxembourg

 

Commissaire :
Anna Loporcaro

Vinyl

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970