23/03/2013 - 08/09/2013
Vernissage 22/03/2013 18h00

Inspired by the work of the German writer W. G. Sebald, the exhibition L’Image papillon (The Butterfly Image) addresses the complex relations that link image and memory. It gathers together sixteen artists whose work, like Sebald’s, explores the realms of memory and history through the concepts of experience and overlapping temporalities.

Moyra Davey : L'image fantôme, Production Mudam Luxembourg © Photo : Rémi Villaggi

Borrowing its title from a recent essay on Sebald’s work by the writer and literary researcher Muriel Pic, the exhibition uses the figure of the ‘butterfly image’ to examine the questions this kind of relation to the past asks in the context of the visual arts. Tracing its recurrence in Sebald’s books, Pic considers the butterfly as the allegorical image of a dialectical relation to memory – on the one hand the scientific gesture of collecting and archiving, in which the past is frozen or ‘pinned down’, and on the other hand a more emphatic relation to the past, which sees memory as the place of experience, of an ‘observation of the past as movement’. Or as Pic describes it, ‘we follow the memory with the gaze, it twirls like a butterfly.’

Felix Gonzalez-Torres
Avant-plan : “Untitled”, 1991, Collection Walker Art Center, Minneapolis, T. B. Walker Acquisition Fund, 1991
Au milieu : “Untitled” (North), 1993, Collection Marieluise Hessel, Hessel Museum of Art, Center for Curatorial Studies, Bard College, Annandale-on-Hudson, New-York
Arrière-plan : “Untitled” (Revenge), 1991, Courtesy Collection Barbara & Howard Morse, New York
© Photo : Rémi Villaggi

One of the characteristics of the four works of fiction Sebald published between 1990 and 2001 – Vertigo, The Emigrants, The Rings of Saturn and Austerlitz – is the presence, in the main body of the text, of uncaptioned black-and-white images of mostly imprecise origin and nature, which act like memories punctuating the narrative as it unfolds. Similar to these images, the works in this exhibition explore different possibilities to materialise the images of the past in the realm of experience. They share several key motifs of Sebald’s books, including the crossing of temporalities, a sensible relation to documents and archives, the interweaving of personal and collective history, destruction, the fragment and the trace.

The exhibition takes the shape of fifteen monographic presentations, each comprising a group of works or a large-scale installation and introduced by an image from Sebald’s books. Through the connections they establish with the works on display, these images attempt to emulate two modes of relation that lie at the heart of Sebald’s writing – montage and coincidence – in the exhibition.

Jochen Lempert : Oiseaux-Vögel, 1997-2004, Courtesy ProjecteSD, Barcelone © Photo : Rémi Villaggi

Christophe Gallois


Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

Nous trouver

+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

MUDAM Logo

L'IMAGE PAPILLON

23/03/2013 - 08/09/2013
Vernissage 22/03/2013 18h00
Share
 

Puisant son inspiration dans l’œuvre de l’écrivain allemand W. G. Sebald, l’exposition L’Image papillon s’intéresse aux relations complexes qui lient l’image et la mémoire. Elle regroupe seize artistes dont les œuvres, à l’instar des livres de Sebald, abordent les champs de la mémoire et de l’histoire sur le mode de l’expérience et de l’enchevêtrement des temps.

Moyra Davey : L'image fantôme, Production Mudam Luxembourg © Photo : Rémi Villaggi

Empruntant son titre au récent ouvrage de Muriel Pic sur l’œuvre de Sebald, l’exposition reprend la figure de « l’image-papillon » pour explorer les enjeux que soulève, dans le champ des arts visuels, ce type de rapport au passé. Traçant ses apparitions répétées dans les livres de Sebald, Muriel Pic voit dans le papillon l’image allégorique d’une relation dialectique à la mémoire : d’un côté le geste scientifique de la collecte, de l’archivage, dans lequel le passé se voit figé, « épinglé » ; de l’autre un rapport plus empathique au passé, qui voit dans la mémoire le lieu d’une expérience, d’une « observation du passé comme mouvement ». « On suit le souvenir du regard, il virevolte comme un papillon », précise Muriel Pic.

Felix Gonzalez-Torres
Avant-plan : “Untitled”, 1991, Collection Walker Art Center, Minneapolis, T. B. Walker Acquisition Fund, 1991
Au milieu : “Untitled” (North), 1993, Collection Marieluise Hessel, Hessel Museum of Art, Center for Curatorial Studies, Bard College, Annandale-on-Hudson, New-York
Arrière-plan : “Untitled” (Revenge), 1991, Courtesy Collection Barbara & Howard Morse, New York
© Photo : Rémi Villaggi

L’un des traits caractéristiques des quatre récits qu’a publiés Sebald entre 1990 et 2001 – Vertiges, Les Émigrants, Les Anneaux de Saturne et Austerlitz – est l’utilisation qu’il y fait d’images en noir et blanc non légendées, de provenance et de nature souvent imprécises, insérées au sein du texte telles des souvenirs venant ponctuer le cheminement de la narration. À l’exemple de ces images, les œuvres dans l’exposition explorent différentes possibilités de faire affleurer, dans le champ de l’expérience, les images du passé. S’y retrouvent un certain nombre de motifs centraux aux ouvrages de Sebald : l’entrecroisement des temporalités, une relation sensible au document et à l’archive, l’imbrication de la mémoire personnelle et de l'histoire collective, la destruction, le fragment, la trace...

L’Image papillon est articulée en quinze présentations monographiques, chacune composée d’un ensemble de pièces ou d’une installation d’envergure et introduite par une image extraite du corpus de Sebald. Par les liens qu’elles tissent avec les œuvres présentées, ces images tentent de rejouer, au sein de l’exposition, deux modes de relation qui se situent au cœur de l’écriture de Sebald : le montage et la coïncidence.

Jochen Lempert : Oiseaux-Vögel, 1997-2004, Courtesy ProjecteSD, Barcelone © Photo : Rémi Villaggi

Commissaire
Christophe Gallois

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970