MUDAM Logo

ISTVÁN CSÁKÁNY

COLLECTION MUDAM
28/06/2014 - 25/01/2015
Vernissage 11/07/2014 18h00
Share
 

Bernsteinzimmer (2010) by the Romanian-born Hungarian artist István Csákány is a detailed and complex reconstruction, completely in wood, of a private atelier. The effect of artistic alienation brought about by the completely wooden construction gives the untidy cellar room, which seems to have been just recently abandoned, something of the effect of a metaphorical mise en abyme, a figurative repetition: an interior reflecting the everyday, ordered chaos of a man who takes refuge in his tinkering and who has portrayed his own prosaic reality at life size.

István Csákány : Bernsteinzimmer, 2010 (détail) © Photo : Rémi Villaggi

In fact, with this atelier, Csákány recalls that of his father, the memory of which is today as rough to him as the wooden design of the work. At the same time, this highly elaborate and skilfully built replica of a typical kind of refuge seems to move within the deep-blue space of the museum pavilion like an interstellar time capsule detached from space and time, which the viewer looks into as into a foreign world.

With Bernsteinzimmer, Csákány additionally underlines how important skilled artistic work carried out in a collective is for art, as he also does with the title's reference to the famous Amber Room. This masterpiece of Baroque craftsmanship, which has become almost legendary owing to its mysterious disappearance in the Second World War, was sent to Saint Petersburg from Berlin in 1716 as a present by the Prussian King Frederick William I to Czar Peter the Great. It was not just the perfect product of a masterly collaboration between now-forgotten amber carvers with its creator, Andreas Schlüter: its material and its history also gave the work a complicated temporal structure that was interesting for the Hungarian artist.

István Csákány was born in 1978 in Sepsiszentgyörgy (Sfântu Gheorghe), Romania. He lives and works in Berlin.

 
 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

MUDAM Logo

ISTVÁN CSÁKÁNY

COLLECTION MUDAM
28/06/2014 - 25/01/2015
Vernissage 11/07/2014 18h00
Share
 

Entièrement réalisée en bois, l’œuvre Bernsteinzimmer (2010) de l’artiste hongrois né en Roumanie István Csákány est la reconstitution, foisonnante et extrêmement minutieuse, d’un atelier. À travers la mise à distance créée par sa représentation grandeur nature, ce sous-sol sans fenêtre, dont le désordre semble avoir été quitté à l’instant même, devient une sorte de mise en abyme métaphorique, un redoublement figuratif : un intérieur reflétant le chaos organisé d’un homme qui, trouvant refuge dans le bricolage, a offert à sa réalité prosaïque une reproduction grandeur nature.

István Csákány : Bernsteinzimmer, 2010 (détail) © Photo : Rémi Villaggi

C'est notamment l'atelier de son père qu'évoque ici István Csákány, une pièce dont l'imprécision avec laquelle il s’en souvient aujourd'hui fait écho à la nature brute du travail du bois. Combinant sensibilité artistique et habileté artisanale, il s'agit de la réplique d'un endroit qui s'apparente à un lieu de retrait. Le bleu profond dont l'artiste a recouvert le sol et les murs du pavillon paraît d'ailleurs encapsuler l'œuvre. Semblant se détacher du temps et de l'espace, celle-ci s'offre à la vue du visiteur tel un monde inconnu.

Avec Bernsteinzimmer, István Csákány souligne par ailleurs l'importance que revêt l'exercice collectif du savoir-faire artisanal pour la création artistique – un thème également introduit par la célèbre Chambre d'ambre qui donne son titre à l'œuvre. Ce chef-d'œuvre d'artisanat baroque fut offert en 1716 par le roi de Prusse Frédéric-Guillaume Ier au tsar Pierre le Grand et transféré de Berlin à Saint-Pétersbourg. Véritable mythe depuis sa mystérieuse disparition pendant la seconde guerre mondiale, l'ouvrage extraordinaire naquit de la collaboration brillante de plusieurs tailleurs d'ambre, aujourd'hui tombés dans l'oubli, autour de son créateur, Andreas Schlüter. De par son matériau et son histoire singulière, il dénote d'une structure temporelle complexe à laquelle István Csákány porte un intérêt particulier.

István Csákány est né en 1978 à Sepsiszentgyörgy (Sfântu Gheorghe), Roumanie. Il vit et travaille à Berlin.

 

 

 
 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970