FLATLAND / ABSTRACTIONS NARRATIVES #2

07/10/2017 - 02/04/2018
Vernissage 06/10/2017 18h00
Share
 

In 1884, the British professor and theologian Edwin A. Abbott published Flatland: A Romance of Many Dimensions, an allegorical narrative against dogmatism, with protagonists who are geometric shapes. The narrator, a square from a world in two dimensions called Flatland, tells of his discovery of Spaceland, a world in three dimensions. Back in his country, the square finds it impossible to convince his community of the existence of a third dimension, which for them is inexorably unthinkable and invisible. He is declared a heretic and subsequently imprisoned and while in jail he tells of his revelation and of his misfortune.

Raphaël Zarka. Avant-plan : Prismatique (P11), 2013. Arrière-plan : Perspective n° 2, 2013. Collection Musée régional d’art contemporain Occitanie/Pyrénées-Méditerranée, Sérignan MS.2014.5.1. © Photo : Jean-Cristophe Lett

Flatland / Narrative Abstractions #2, the first part of which was presented at the MRAC Occitanie/Pyrénées-Méditerranée in Sérignan in 2016, brings together some twenty contemporary artists who doubly echo Abbott’s book: on the one hand, because they compose narratives from abstract forms; on the other hand, because by collating the notions of “abstraction” and “narration”, they may be considered heretical from the point of view of a certain history of art. Indeed, inseparable as it is from artistic modernity, abstraction has largely been based on the rejection of narration and symbolism in the field of visual art. To associate “abstraction” and “narration” could at first be seen as a contradiction in terms, an impossibility, even though this is questioned in a large number of contemporary productions.

The aim of this exhibition is to highlight one of the most original and paradoxical forms related to the return of narrative in contemporary art. Loaded with references to artistic as well as extra-artistic fields, undoing the autonomy of visual languages advocated by historical abstractions, the artworks in Flatland / Narrative Abstractions #2 are intentionally presented as silent narratives waiting to be activated by the viewer. It is thus a case of tracing the contours of a singular trend and highlighting the diversity of its manifestations and themes via a multitude of artists from Europe and the United States.

Artists:
Laëtitia Badaut Haussmann
Francis Baudevin
Philippe Decrauzat
Marie-Michelle Deschamps
Angela Detanico / Rafael Lain
Hoël Duret
Sylvie Fanchon
Liam Gillick
Mark Hagen
Christian Hidaka
Sonia Kacem
Tarik Kiswanson
Vera Kox
Sarah Morris
Reinhard Mucha
Damián Navarro
Camila Oliveira Fairclough
Bruno Peinado
Julien Prévieux
Eva Taulois
John Tremblay
Pierre Vadi
Elsa Werth
Raphaël Zarka

Curators:
Marianne Derrien
Sarah Ihler-Meyer

In collaboration with:
Musée régional d’art contemporain Occitanie/Pyrénées-Méditerranée (MRAC), Sérignan

With the support of:

MUDAM Logo

FLATLAND / ABSTRACTIONS NARRATIVES #2

07/10/2017 - 15/04/2018
Vernissage 06/10/2017 18h00
Share
 

En 1884, le professeur et théologien anglais Edwin A. Abbott publie Flatland, un récit allégorique contre le dogmatisme dont les protagonistes sont des formes géométriques. Le narrateur, un carré originaire de Flatland, un monde en deux dimensions, y raconte sa découverte de Spaceland, un monde en trois dimensions. De retour dans sa contrée, ce carré se confronte à l’impossibilité de convaincre sa communauté de l’existence d’une 3e dimension, pour elle inexorablement impensable et invisible. Déclaré hérétique, il est alors emprisonné, et c’est depuis sa geôle qu’il fait le récit de sa révélation et de son infortune.

Raphaël Zarka. Avant-plan : Prismatique (P11), 2013. Arrière-plan : Perspective n° 2, 2013. Collection Musée régional d’art contemporain Occitanie/Pyrénées-Méditerranée, Sérignan MS.2014.5.1. © Photo : Jean-Cristophe Lett

Second volet de l’exposition présentée au MRAC Occitanie/Pyrénées-Méditerranée à Sérignan en 2016, Flatland / Abstractions narratives #2 rassemble une vingtaine d’artistes contemporains faisant doublement écho au livre d’Abbott. D’une part, parce qu’ils composent des récits à partir de formes abstraites ; d’autre part, parce qu’en télescopant les notions d’« abstraction » et de « narration », ils peuvent être considérés comme hérétiques du point de vue d’une certaine histoire de l’art. En effet, inséparable de la modernité artistique, l’abstraction s’est en grande partie fondée sur le rejet de la narration et du symbolisme dans le champ des arts visuels. Associer « abstraction » et « narration » pourrait tout d’abord passer pour une contradiction dans les termes, voire une impossibilité pourtant remise en question par un grand nombre de productions contemporaines.

Aussi, l’enjeu de cette exposition est de mettre en avant l’une des formes les plus originales et paradoxales du retour de la narration dans l’art contemporain. Chargées de références à des champs artistiques tout autant qu’extra-artistiques, déjouant l’autonomie des langages plastiques prônée par les abstractions historiques, les oeuvres de Flatland / Abstractions narratives #2 se présentent intentionnellement comme des récits muets, en attente d’être activés par le regardeur. À travers une constellation d’artistes venus d’Europe et des États-Unis, il s’agit de tracer les contours d’une tendance singulière et de souligner la diversité de ses manifestations et de ses thématiques.

Artistes :
Laëtitia Badaut Haussmann
Francis Baudevin
Philippe Decrauzat
Marie-Michelle Deschamps
Angela Detanico / Rafael Lain
Hoël Duret
Sylvie Fanchon
Liam Gillick
Mark Hagen
Christian Hidaka
Sonia Kacem
Tarik Kiswanson
Vera Kox
Sarah Morris
Reinhard Mucha
Damián Navarro
Camila Oliveira Fairclough
Bruno Peinado
Julien Prévieux
Eva Taulois
John Tremblay
Pierre Vadi
Elsa Werth
Raphaël Zarka

Commissaires :
Marianne Derrien
Sarah Ihler-Meyer

En collaboration avec :
Musée régional d’art contemporain Occitanie/Pyrénées-Méditerranée (MRAC), Sérignan

Avec le soutien de :

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970