MUDAM Logo

ELMAR TRENKWALDER

05/10/2013 - 16/03/2014
Share
 

The Austrian artist Elmar Trenkwalder turned to ceramics in 1986, a field that now plays a clearly dominant role in his work alongside painting and drawing. Trenkwalder is not so much a sculptor as a plastic artist. Using additive methods based on the artistic material clay, his work has reached dimensions and a degree of freedom that are limited only by the structural characteristics of the unfired material. The artist’s works, which are mostly precisely prepared by means of drawings and models, now tower to impressive heights. They are highly complex ensembles made up of numerous individual components, each tailored to the format of the kiln, whose exact interplay bears witness to the artist’s experience and virtuosic handling of the shrinking process of the material as it cooks.

Vue de l'exposition ELMAR TRENKWALDER du 05/10/2013 au 09/03/2014 au Mudam Luxembourg - Musée d'Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean © photo : Rémy Villaggi

Always characterised by strict structural symmetry, Trenkwalder’s works fascinate the viewer not just with their wealth of minute detail, but also with their ambiguity. In their formal associations, they are redolent of Art Brut, Mannerism, Rococo and Art Nouveau, while the glazed ceramic architectures recall Hindu or Khmer temples and other structures that reach up heavenwards, or structures from science fiction or fantasy worlds, without ever referring to them expressly. Upon closer examination, their basic forms and details reveal themselves often quite independently to be explicit or highly allusive erotic motifs whose function is mostly ornamental and that appear frozen in a kind of organic metamorphosis, uniting the male-phallic and the female-folded in a peaceful, joyful and perhaps ironic co-existence. Trenkwalder’s formal vocabulary is that of the fantastic and dreamlike. The fusion of abstract and figurative forms in such abundance has something obsessive about it. The excessive combination of ornament and Eros contains a note of transgression and subversion. His work “provides access to previously unexplored continents of the suppressed, the taboo and the unfamiliar, thus allowing insights into the sublime spaces of the human soul.” (H.-P. Wipplinger)

Trenkwalder’s interest is genuinely artistic in nature: the sensuous directness of the production in the way the material is treated is followed by the sensuousness in the perception of his works, whose colourful glazes, surface structure and sheer size speak straight to the viewer. His focus lies on the issue of space that has always been central to sculpture, on the exploration of the relationship between architecture and ornament and on the question of the function of detail. The relationship between the extravagantly designed frames and the image space is also interrogated. Trenkwalder’s sumptuous art is of a great formal and conceptual complexity. It provides viewers with an intensive viewing experience and allows them to feel (in a purely visual sense, naturally) and comprehend its characteristic universe.

Elmar Trenkwalder was born in 1959 in Weißenbach am Lech (Austria). He lives and works in Innsbruck. 

Curator
Clément Minighetti

With the support of

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

MUDAM Logo

ELMAR TRENKWALDER

05/10/2013 - 16/03/2014
Share
 

C’est en 1986 que l’artiste autrichien Elmar Trenkwalder se tourne vers la céramique, mode d’expression qui, aux côtés de la peinture et du dessin, domine aujourd’hui clairement ses créations. Ainsi, Elmar Trenkwalder est peut-être davantage plasticien que sculpteur : à travers le procédé d’accumulation du matériau artistique qu’est l’argile, son travail atteint des libertés et des dimensions que seules les propriétés statiques de la matière non cuite semblent limiter. D’une ampleur impressionnante, ses œuvres se dressent en ensembles extrêmement complexes qui, généralement précédés de croquis et maquettes d’une grande précision, réunissent de nombreux éléments individuels adaptés au format du four utilisé. Leur assemblage parfait témoigne du savoir-faire de l’artiste et de sa connaissance du processus de rétraction lors de la cuisson.

Vue de l'exposition ELMAR TRENKWALDER du 05/10/2013 au 09/03/2014 au Mudam Luxembourg - Musée d'Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean © photo : Rémy Villaggi

D’une symétrie structurelle étonnamment rigoureuse, les pièces d’Elmar Trenkwalder déconcertent non seulement par l’abondance de détails mais aussi par les nombreuses pistes d’interprétation qu’elles offrent. De multiples associations formelles viennent spontanément à l’esprit, qu’il s’agisse de l’art brut, du maniérisme, du rococo ou même de l’art nouveau. Les architectures  en terre cuite émaillée évoquent des temples khmers ou hindous, mais aussi des éléments de science-fiction, issus de mondes mystérieux sans qu’une référence directe ne soit clairement affirmée pour autant. L’observation plus attentive, tant des ensembles que des parties, permet de reconnaître, souvent sans effort, des motifs érotiques explicites ou des formes suggestives. Remplissant une fonction généralement ornementale, ces figures semblent s’être figées au cours d’une sorte de métamorphose organique, réunissant les principes masculin phallique et féminin plissé dans une coexistence pacifique, heureuse… et peut-être même ironique. Le langage qu’emploie Elmar Trenkwalder est celui du fantastique et du rêve. La fusion de l’abstrait et du figuratif dans la profusion présentée a quelque chose d’obsessionnel. L’intrication de l’ornement et de l’éros véhicule la transgression et la subversion. Son travail « offre un accès vers des continents jusqu’ici inexplorés du refoulé, du tabou et de l’inconnu et permet par ce biais de découvrir les sublimes espaces de l’âme humaine ». (H.-P. Wipplinger)

L’intérêt de l’artiste est purement artistique : à l’immédiateté sensorielle inhérente au travail de la matière succède la sensualité propre à la perception de ses œuvres dont les glaçures colorées, la variété des surfaces et les dimensions majestueuses interpellent d’emblée l’observateur. Le thème de l’espace, une question récurrente en sculpture, tout comme la réflexion sur la relation entre architecture et ornement ou encore l’examen de la fonction du détail occupent pareillement une place prédominante dans sa démarche. Fruits d’un minutieux travail, les cadres sont eux aussi étudiés sous l’angle de leur rapport à l’espace de l’image. L’art exubérant d’Elmar Trenkwalder ouvre une multitude de niveaux d’appréhension, tant sur le plan formel que conceptuel. Il invite le visiteur à une observation papillonnante mais intense, qui mène à la compréhension de son univers singulier.

Elmar Trenkwalder est né en 1959 à Weißenbach am Lech (Autriche). Il vit et travaille à Innsbruck.

Commissaire
Clément Minighetti

Avec le soutien de 

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970