MUDAM Logo

DARREN ALMOND

TIMESCAPE
11/02/2017 - 14/05/2017
Vernissage 10/02/2017 18h00
Share
 

With its astonishing formal diversity and great conceptual coherence, the practice of British artist Darren Almond is informed by concerns such as time, space, history and landscape. Exploring how these different dimensions intersect and how we “inhabit” them, many of his works testify to his interest in subjective, liminal experiences that exceed all immediate apprehension and thus play on the foundations of our perception and knowledge.

Vue de l’exposition Darren Almond . Timescape, 2017, Mudam Luxembourg. De gauche à droite : Darren Almond, Present Form: Aon, 2013, Courtesy l’artiste / Jay Joplin, White Cube, Londres ; Present Form Exposed, 2013 (détail), Collection Johannes & Helene Huth, Aurach © Photo : Aurélien Mole / Mudam Luxembourg

Deploying all facets of his practice – photographs, sculptures, video installation, along with textual works and paintings – his exhibition at Mudam Luxembourg combines motifs that all, in one way or another, concern the inscription of the individual in the world and in the universe. Whether they relate to the cycles of the day and the seasons, the ties that connect us to the Earth or the exploration of the solar system, whether they are interested in polar glaciers, the megalithic site of Callanish in Scotland or Chand Baori, an ancient stepwell in Rajasthan, his works situate us in a complex, sometimes contradictory, relationship with the elements and the phenomena that surround us. A certain fascination and the experience of the sublime are combined with the perception of active and dynamic links; our desire to understand and master the world is mingled with the impression of belonging to the flows that pass through it.

Borrowing its title from a recent series of abstract paintings inspired by representations of the cosmos, Almond’s exhibition presents itself to the viewer as a “temporal landscape.” Each artwork opens onto a singular temporality and together they describe a horizon in which different time scales come into resonance: sensory experience is anchored in geological time, the present confronts infinity, human history encounters cosmic time, the rhythm of life is attuned to the cycles that animate the world.

Darren Almond, All Things Pass, 2012, Courtesy l’artiste / Galerie Max Hetzler, Berlin © Photo : Aurélien Mole / Mudam Luxembourg

Curator:
Christophe Gallois

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

MUDAM Logo

DARREN ALMOND

TIMESCAPE
11/02/2017 - 14/05/2017
Vernissage 10/02/2017 18h00
Share
 

D’une étonnante diversité formelle et d’une grande cohérence conceptuelle, la pratique de l’artiste anglais Darren Almond est parcourue par des questions telles que le temps, l’espace, l’histoire et le paysage. Explorant la manière dont ces différentes dimensions s’entrecroisent et celle dont nous les « habitons », nombre de ses œuvres témoignent de l’intérêt qu’il porte aux expériences subjectives, liminales, qui excèdent toute appréhension immédiate et remettent ainsi en jeu les fondements de nos perceptions et de nos connaissances.

Vue de l’exposition Darren Almond . Timescape, 2017, Mudam Luxembourg. De gauche à droite : Darren Almond, Present Form: Aon, 2013, Courtesy l’artiste / Jay Joplin, White Cube, Londres ; Present Form Exposed, 2013 (détail), Collection Johannes & Helene Huth, Aurach © Photo : Aurélien Mole / Mudam Luxembourg

Déployant toutes les facettes de sa pratique – photographies, sculptures, installations vidéos, mais aussi œuvres textuelles et peintures –, son exposition au Mudam Luxembourg associe des motifs qui tous, d’une manière ou d’une autre, ont à voir avec l’inscription de l’individu dans le monde et dans l’univers. Qu’elles évoquent les cycles du jour et des saisons, les liens qui nous connectent à la Terre ou l’exploration du système solaire, qu’elles s’intéressent aux glaciers polaires, au site mégalithique de Calanais en Écosse ou au Chand Baori, puits à degrés millénaire du Rajasthan, toutes ses œuvres situent l’homme dans une relation complexe, parfois contradictoire, aux éléments et aux phénomènes qui l’entourent. La fascination, l’expérience du sublime se conjuguent avec la perception de liens dynamiques et actifs ; notre souhait de comprendre et de maîtriser le monde se mêle à l’impression d’appartenir aux flux qui le traversent.

Empruntant son titre à une récente série de peintures abstraites inspirées des représentations du cosmos, l’exposition de Darren Almond s’offre alors au spectateur tel un « paysage temporel ». Chacune des œuvres ouvre vers une temporalité singulière et, ensemble, elles dessinent un horizon dans lequel différentes échelles de temps entrent en résonance : l’expérience sensible s’ancre dans un temps géologique, le présent se confronte à l’infini, l’histoire humaine croise le temps cosmique, le rythme vital s’accorde avec les cycles qui animent le monde.

Darren Almond, All Things Pass, 2012, Courtesy l’artiste / Galerie Max Hetzler, Berlin © Photo : Aurélien Mole / Mudam Luxembourg

Commissaire :
Christophe Gallois

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970