09/10/2010 - 22/05/2011
Vernissage 08/10/2010 18h00

The exhibition by Daniel Buren in the Grand Hall of Mudam is the fruit of a joint invitation to the artist from Mudam and Centre Pompidou-Metz to create a specific installation in relation to their respective spaces. As it is often the case with his work, the installation the artist has conceived for Mudam is concerned with “frames” - be they aesthetic, architectural or institutional - which condition any exhibited art by rendering certain aspects visible.

The work that Daniel Buren has developed over the last forty years is particularly familiar to a lot of Luxembourgers thanks to a series of outdoor pieces titled D’un cercle à l’autre  Le paysage emprunté (From One Circle to Another - Borrowed Landscape) installed since 2001 in different locations in the city of Luxembourg. Taking the form of square panels, striped with orange and white bands and pierced with large round openings, it directs our attention towards different picturesque views of the the city, by presenting a framed “image”. The stripes were long considered by the artist to be a “visual tool”: without any particular meaning, but emblematic of his work, they act as a sign, basically serving to attract attention and direct the gaze. With time, they have also become the signature of the artist.

Through his installation at Mudam, Daniel Buren addresses the most symbolic “frame” of the museum, namely the architecture of Ieoh Ming Pei, while subverting, not without a certain irony, the invitation to exhibit in the central space of the Grand Hall (which in itself sums up the most important aspects of Pei’s architectural discourse). In response to these “constraints”, Daniel Buren is shifting an entire architectural fragment into the Grand Hall: his installation taking the life-size form of the museum pavilion (which has the same type of atrium as the Grand Hall).

By exhibiting the architecture within the architecture through this installation of rare proportions, Daniel Buren is not only emphasizing certain architectural characteristics of the museum, he is also highlighting the function of the building as an “envelope” for art. It is not for the first time that Daniel Buren is subverting museum architecture like this. As in some of his previous interventions, he is exhibiting the museum within the museum here, thus drawing attention to the limits between interior and exterior, not just of the building, but of art itself.

Beyond this critical reading of artistic “frames”, Daniel Buren’s recent pieces are also distinguished by essentially pictorial considerations, which may evoke his early work of the 1960s when he adopted the most immediate possible approach to painting, signifying nothing other than itself. By using colour and light, two basic materials of pictorial art, Buren creates, with this coloured atrium, a sort of 3d painting which is only completed by the attentive gaze of viewers wandering through the space. It is the visual experience of the viewer that is of central interest to the artist.

Photos : Daniel Buren : Architecture, contre-architecture : transposition, 2010, Travail in situ, Production Mudam Luxembourg © Photo : Andrés Lejona

Enrico Lunghi

In collaboration with

Joined invitation to Daniel Buren - Exhibition at Centre Pompidou-Metz from May 8, 2011.

With the support of

Mech géif mol interesséieren

Explikatiounen iwwer dem Daniel Buren seng Installatioun am Mudam an der Emissioun Mech géif mol interesséieren, wat dat hei ass? um Radio 100,7.


Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

Nous trouver

+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

MUDAM Logo

DANIEL BUREN

« ARCHITECTURE, CONTRE-ARCHITECTURE : TRANSPOSITION » TRAVAIL IN SITU
09/10/2010 - 22/05/2011
Vernissage 08/10/2010 18h00
Share
 

L’exposition de Daniel Buren dans le Grand Hall du Mudam est le fruit d’une invitation qui lui a été faite conjointement par le Mudam et le Centre Pompidou-Metz à imaginer une installation spécifique en réponse à leurs espaces respectifs. Comme souvent dans son œuvre, l’installation que l’artiste a conçue pour le Mudam s’intéresse aux « cadres » - qu’ils soient esthétiques, architecturaux ou institutionnels - qui conditionnent tout art exposé, en en rendant visibles certains aspects.

Le travail que Daniel Buren développe depuis plus de quarante ans est familier à beaucoup de Luxembourgeois grâce à la série d’œuvres extérieures, intitulée D’un cercle à l’autre - Le paysage emprunté, installée depuis 2001 à différents endroits dans la ville de Luxembourg. Prenant la forme de panneaux carrés, rayés de bandes oranges et blanches et percés de grandes ouvertures rondes, elle pointe notre attention vers différentes vues pittoresques sur la ville, en proposant une « image » encadrée. Les rayures ont pendant longtemps été considérées par l’artiste comme un « outil visuel » : sans signification propre mais emblématiques de son œuvre, elles font office de signalétique, servant essentiellement à attirer l’attention et à orienter les regards. Au fil du temps, elles sont également devenues la signature de l’artiste.

Avec son installation au Mudam, Daniel Buren s’attaque au « cadre » le plus symbolique du musée, à savoir l’architecture d’Ieoh Ming Pei, tout en détournant, non sans une certaine ironie, l’invitation à exposer dans l’espace central du Grand Hall, qui condense à lui seul le discours architectural de Pei. En réponse à ces « contraintes », Daniel Buren déplace dans le Grand Hall un fragment entier de l’architecture : son installation reprend à l’échelle 1 : 1 la forme du pavillon du musée, qui partage avec le Grand Hall le même type de verrière.

En exposant, avec cette installation d’une envergure rare, l’architecture dans l’architecture, Daniel Buren ne souligne pas seulement certaines caractéristiques architecturales du musée, il met également l’accent sur la fonction du bâtiment comme « enveloppe » de l’art. Ce n’est pas la première fois que Daniel Buren détourne ainsi l’architecture muséale. Comme dans certaines de ses interventions passées, il expose ici le musée dans le musée, mettant l’accent sur les limites entre intérieur et extérieur, non seulement du bâtiment, mais aussi de l’art lui-même.

Au delà de cette lecture critique des « cadres » artistiques, se distinguent également dans les œuvres récentes de Daniel Buren des considérations davantage picturales, qui peuvent évoquer ses premiers travaux, lorsque, dans les années 1960, il s’est approché d’une peinture la plus immédiate possible, n’ayant d’autre signification qu’elle-même. En utilisant la couleur et la lumière, deux matériaux de base de l’art pictural, Buren crée, avec cette verrière colorée, une sorte de peinture tridimensionnelle qui ne s’accomplit qu’à travers le regard attentif des spectateurs déambulant dans l’espace. C’est l’expérience visuelle du spectateur qui est ici au centre de l’intérêt de l’artiste.

Photos : Daniel Buren : Architecture, contre-architecture : transposition, 2010, Travail in situ, Production Mudam Luxembourg © Photo : Andrés Lejona

Commissaire
Enrico Lunghi

En collaboration avec

Invitation conjointe à Daniel Buren - Exposition au Centre Pompidou-Metz à partir du 8 mai 2011.

Avec le soutien de

Mech géif mol interesséieren

Explikatiounen iwwer dem Daniel Buren seng Installatioun am Mudam an der Emissioun Mech géif mol interesséieren, wat dat hei ass? um Radio 100,7.

Edu Box

Téléchargez nos ressources pour enseignants :
Edu Box Daniel Buren

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970