CRISTINA LUCAS

TRADING TRANSCENDENCE
08/10/2016 - 14/05/2017
Share
 

Cristina Lucas, a Spanish artist born in 1973 in Jaén, is interested in the mechanisms of power. Her works start with an analysis of the principal political and economic structures, which she dissects in order to reveal the contradictions between official history, the real story, and the collective memory.

Cristina Lucas, Clockwise, 2016 (détail)Courtesy l’artiste © Photo : Aurélien Mole

Taking up the entire lower level of the museum, her exhibition will be organised around the ideas of capitalism and globalisation at the beginning of the 21st century, including the video installation Philosophical Capitalism (2014-2016). This major work takes the form of ten projections of interviews carried out by Cristina Lucas, in which she asks her interviewees about the philosophical ideas that relate to their various professional fields. For example, what does the concept of Beauty represent to a cosmetic surgeon, or that of Space to an estate agent, or that of Truth to a public notary? By inserting these philosophical questions into a journalistic interview, the artist skilfully grasps the relationships that exist between a concept and an economic activity, as well as the way in which the capitalist system, using companies as intermediaries, colonises the objects of our thoughts and thus influences the way in which we apprehend the world.

Wishing to anchor her work in a local context, the artist decided to pursue this project – which was originally conceived in 2014 for the Matadero arts centre (Madrid) – in Luxembourg, carrying out five new interviews here with an architect, a journalist, a lawyer, a watchmaker and a politician.

Cristina Lucas, Purple, 2016 (détail) © Cristina Lucas

In addition to this important video installation, the public will be able to encounter new works specially conceived for the exhibition at Mudam. As a way of bringing to light the consequences of capitalism for our vision of the world, Cristina Lucas will present an environment that questions our perception of time, and an installation about the tendency of the capitalist system to transform everything, right down to the set of chemical elements known so far, into merchandise governed by the law of supply and demand.

With the support of: 

In collaboration with:
OK Offenes Kulturhaus Oberösterreich, Linz

Curator:
Clément Minighetti

In the framework of this exhibition, a catalogue will be published in collaboration with the OK Offenes Kulturhaus Oberösterreich, Linz and the Sala Alcalá 31, Madrid.

With the participation of:
Círculo Cultural Español Antonio Machado

Catalogue

MUDAM Logo

CRISTINA LUCAS

TRADING TRANSCENDENCE
08/10/2016 - 14/05/2017
Share
 

Cristina Lucas, artiste espagnole née en 1973 à Jaen, s’intéresse aux mécanismes du pouvoir. Ses œuvres sont construites à partir de l’analyse attentive des principales structures politiques et économiques, qu’elle dissèque afin de faire apparaître les contradictions qui existent entre l’histoire officielle, l’histoire réelle et la mémoire collective.

Cristina Lucas, Philosophical Capitalism, 2014 © Photo : Cristina Lucas

Occupant l’ensemble du niveau inférieur du musée, son exposition au Mudam s’articulera autour des notions de capitalisme et de globalisation au (début du) 21e siècle, avec notamment l’installation vidéo Philosophical Capitalism (2014-2016). Cette œuvre majeure se présente sous la forme de dix projections d’entretiens menés par l’artiste, au cours desquels Cristina Lucas questionne des personnes issues de différents domaines d’activités sur des notions philosophiques ayant trait à leur profession. Par exemple, que représente le concept de Beauté pour une clinique de chirurgie esthétique, celui d’Espace pour une agence immobilière ou bien celui de Vérité pour une étude de notaire ? En insérant ces questions philosophiques dans une interview de type journalistique, l’artiste saisit habilement les relations qui existent entre un concept et une activité économique, ainsi que la manière dont le système capitaliste, par l’intermédiaire des entreprises, colonise les objets de notre pensée et influence ainsi notre manière d’appréhender le monde. 

Souhaitant ancrer son œuvre dans un contexte local, l’artiste a décidé de poursuivre ici ce projet initialement conçu pour le centre culturel Matadero (Madrid) en 2014, et a réalisé cinq nouveaux entretiens avec des acteurs de la société luxembourgeoise : un architecte, un journaliste, un juriste, un horloger et un homme politique.

En plus de cette importante installation vidéo, le public pourra découvrir de nouvelles productions spécialement conçues pour l’exposition au Mudam. Poursuivant sa démarche de mise en lumière des conséquences du capitalisme sur notre vision du monde, Cristina Lucas proposera notamment un environnement questionnant notre perception du temps et une installation sur la tendance du système capitaliste à transformer toute chose en une marchandise soumise à la loi de l’offre et de la demande, jusqu’à l’ensemble des éléments chimiques connus à ce jour.

Avec le soutien de :

En collaboration avec :
OK Offenes Kulturhaus Oberösterreich, Linz

Commissaire :
Clément Minighetti

Dans le cadre de cette exposition, un catalogue sera publié en collaboration avec le OK Offenes Kulturhaus Oberösterreich, Linz et la Sala Alcalá 31, Madrid.

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970