05/10/2013 - 19/01/2014

Since the 1980s, Chen Chieh-jen, born in Taiwan in 1960, has been developing a body of work that is closely connected with the history of his country. In it, he interrogates the structures of power, the writing of history and collective memory in a society that in his opinion has lost any form of identity under the autocratic rule of the Chinese nationalist Kuomintang (1949–1987) and the phase of neo-liberalism that has since replaced it. “Taiwanese society”, the artist says, “has been repeatedly forced to become one with historical amnesia and has lost the ability to imagine and reflect on the future from the context of the past.” His works, in which specific, mostly suppressed historical and present-day aspects of the current situation become visible, can be seen as a form of resistance against this forgetting.

Chen Chieh-Jen : Empire’s BordersⅡ–Western Enterprises, Inc, 2010 © Photo : Yang Chen-hao

Chen Chieh-jen’s artistic career began with illegal actions performed in the public sphere, before he turned to digital processing of archive photos, and for over a decade now, he has focused on the production of ambitious video works. These films, in which the artist directly addresses social and political issues connected with Taiwan’s current situation, broach issues such as the consequences of globalisation for the labour market (Factory), the complex relationships that Taiwan has with the two “empires”, the USA and the People’s Republic of China (Empire’s Borders I), the resistance in the workers’ movement (The Route) and the forgotten chapters in the recent history of his country (Empire’s Borders II – Western Enterprises, Inc.

Chen Chieh-jen’s works make visible both universal issues and individual fates. The artist regularly involves in the production of his films nonprofessional actors from social fringe groups that are the subject of his films: unemployed people, minorities, political opponents, activists. With their slow rhythm, Chen Chieh-jen’s films have retained something of a photographic character. The artist is less concerned with precise historical reconstruction than with exposing the emotions and feelings of his protagonists in a brief restoration of their community. 

The starting and central point of this exhibition, in which Chen Chieh-jen presents four films made from 2003 to 2010, is a specially created installation, a “temporary cinema” in which an excerpt from his most recent film, Happiness Building I (2012), is to be seen. The image of the eight young people who together, but without really belonging in a group, push a baggage trolley in a seemingly aimless and endless fashion becomes a metaphor for the contemporary society of his country.

Chen Chieh-Jen : Factory, 2003 © Photo : Chen Chieh-Jen

Enrico Lunghi

In collaboration with

With the support of
Chen Rong-Chuan


Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

Nous trouver

+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

MUDAM Logo

CHEN CHIEH-JEN

FACTORY, THE ROUTE, EMPIRE’S BORDERS I & II
05/10/2013 - 19/01/2014
Share
 

Né à Taïwan en 1960, Chen Chieh-jen développe depuis les années 1980 une œuvre intimement liée à l’histoire de son pays, interrogeant les structures du pouvoir, l’écriture de l’histoire et la construction de la mémoire collective dans une société qui, du régime autoritaire des Kuomintang (1949–1987) au contexte néolibéral contemporain, a selon lui perdu toute forme d’identité. « À plusieurs reprises, la société taïwanaise a été contrainte à une sorte d’amnésie historique. Elle a perdu la capacité de réfléchir et d’imaginer l’avenir à partir du passé », énonce-t-il. Rendant visibles des aspects de l’histoire et de la situation actuelle occultés, ses œuvres constituent des « actes de résistance » face à cet oubli. 

Chen Chieh-Jen : Empire’s BordersⅡ–Western Enterprises, Inc, 2010 © Photo : Yang Chen-hao

Si le début de sa carrière artistique a été marqué par l’organisation d’actions illégales dans l’espace public puis par un travail photographique à partir d’images d’archives, Chen Chieh-jen se consacre depuis une dizaine d’années à la réalisation d’œuvres vidéographiques ambitieuses. En prise directe avec les questions sociales et politiques soulevées par la situation actuelle de Taïwan, ses films abordent les conséquences de la libération du marché du travail (Factory), la complexité des relations qu’entretient Taïwan avec les deux « empires » des États-Unis et de la République populaire de Chine (Empire's Borders I), les mouvements de résistance des travailleurs (The Route), ou encore les pans oubliés de l’histoire récente de son pays (Empire's Borders II – Western Enterprises, Inc).

Les questionnements soulevés dans ses films relèvent autant de considérations universelles qu’ils évoquent des destins individuels. L’artiste implique généralement dans la production de ses films des acteurs non professionnels issus des mêmes groupes d’exclus – chômeurs, minorités, opposants politiques, activistes – que ceux auxquels il s’intéresse dans ses films. À travers la lenteur et le silence qui les caractérisent, ses films acquièrent une dimension photographique. Pour Chen Chieh-jen, il ne s’agit pas tant d’offrir des reconstructions historiques précises que de rendre palpable les expériences et les émotions des communautés de protagonistes qu’il réunit pour chacun de ses projets.

Rassemblant quatre films réalisés entre 2003 et 2010, l’exposition s’articule autour d’un « cinéma temporaire » installé dans l’espace central. Cette installation vidéo, spécialement conçue pour l’occasion, présente en boucle une scène extraite de son dernier film, Happiness Building I (2012), montrant huit jeunes gens qui, ensemble, mais sans vraiment former un groupe, poussent un chariot de bagages dans le vide – une image métaphorique de la société taïwanaise contemporaine. 

Chen Chieh-Jen : Factory, 2003 © Photo : Chen Chieh-Jen

Commissaire
Enrico Lunghi

En collaboration avec

Avec le soutien de
Chen Rong-Chuan

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970