BEYOND KIOSK

MODES OF MULTIPLICATION
15/03/2009 - 13/09/2009
Share
 

Curator: Christoph Keller
Scenography: Martino Gamper


Initiated by Christoph Keller, publisher and designer who founded, at the beginning of the new millenium, Revolver editions, Beyond Kiosk – Modes of Multiplication is a travelling exhibition dedicated to independent publishing in the fields of contemporary art, design and graphic art. He is extending the Kiosk project, an ever evolving, travelling archive which today includes some 6,000 publications, artists’ books, magazines, videos and audio media linked to contemporary art, which has journeyed, since 2001, between over 20 institutions throughout the world, amongst which are the Frankfurter Kunstverein, Witte de With in Rotterdam, the ICA in London and Artists’ Space in New York. Kiosk is now presented, in a permanent manner, at the Kunstbibliothek, Stiftung Preußischer Kunstbesitz in Berlin.

Focused on approximately 700 works, Beyond Kiosk was conceived as a selection from this archive, aimed at presenting the most relevant examples of independent publishing in contemporary art. Christoph Keller views books as an instrument which can be approached as an artistic medium in itself, going far beyond simple documentation. Favouring modestly priced books which are easy to pick up, he accentuates, above all, the use of books and their circulation: “I’m not a book lover. I do not love to make books, smell books, feel books, own books, store books, touch books, sell books… What I do love though, is to use books. As a way of communicating, multiplying and distributing ideas, as a way to do art.”

For each presentation of Beyond Kiosk, the exhibition’s layout is entrusted to a different artist or designer. Mudam thus invited the designer Martino Gamper, recently noticed for his project, 100 Chairs in 100 Days, at the Design Museum in London in 2007, to imagine the exhibition design. Gamper’s scenography is devised as a platform of multilayered levels. Beyond Kiosk is accompanied by Double Pages, a project initiated by Christoph Keller, designer Jérôme Saint-Loubert Bié, and art historian Catherine de Smet, who invited around 50 graphic designers to photograph two double pages of works which, for them, represent an innovative dialogue between art and graphic design.

Views of the exhibition Beyond Kiosk – Modes of Multiplication
Mudam Luxembourg, 15.03.2009 - 13.09.2009
© Photos: Andres Lejona
Partner of the exhibition

MUDAM Logo

BEYOND KIOSK

MODES OF MULTIPLICATION
15/03/2009 - 13/09/2009
Share
 

Commissaire : Christoph Keller
Scénographie : Martino Gamper


Initié par Christoph Keller, éditeur et designer qui a fondé au début des années 2000 les éditions Revolver, Beyond Kiosk – Modes of Multiplication est une exposition itinérante consacrée à l’édition indépendante en art contemporain, design et graphisme. Il prolonge le projet Kiosk, une archive évolutive itinérante comportant à ce jour plus de 6000 publications, livres d’artistes, magazines, vidéos et supports audio liés à l’art contemporain, qui a voyagé depuis 2001 dans plus de vingt institutions à travers le monde, parmi lesquelles le Frankfurter Kunstverein, Witte de With à Rotterdam, l’ICA à Londres et Artists’ Space à New York. Kiosk est maintenant présenté de manière permanente à la Kunstbibliothek, Stiftung Preußischer Kunst-besitz à Berlin.

Centré sur environ 700 ouvrages, Beyond Kiosk a été pensé comme une sélection parmi cette archive, destinée à présenter les exemples les plus pertinents de l’édition indépendante en art contemporain. Christoph Keller conçoit le livre comme un medium pouvant être approché comme support artistique en tant que tel, au-delà de la simple documentation. Privilégiant les livres de prix modeste et de manipulation facile, il met avant tout l’accent sur leur usage et leur circulation : « Je ne suis pas un adorateur du livre. Je n’aime pas particulièrement faire des livres, les sentir, les toucher, les posséder, les stocker, les vendre… Ce que j’aime en revanche, c’est les utiliser. Comme moyen de communication, permettant de multiplier et de distribuer les idées. »

Pour chaque présentation de Beyond Kiosk, la mise en espace de l’exposition est confiée à un artiste ou un designer différent. Mudam a ainsi invité le designer Martino Gamper, récemment remarqué pour son projet 100 Chairs in 100 Days présenté en 2007 au Design Museum de Londres, à imaginer le dispositif de présentation. La scénographie de Gamper est conçue comme une plateforme multipliant les plans. Beyond Kiosk est accompagné par Double Pages, projet initié par Christoph Keller, le designer Jérôme Saint-Loubert Bié et l’historienne d’art Catherine de Smet, résultat d’une invitation faite à une cinquantaine de graphistes de photographier chacun deux doubles pages d’ouvrages qui, pour eux, représentent un dialogue innovant entre art et création graphique.

Vues de l’exposition Beyond Kiosk – Modes of Multiplication
Mudam Luxembourg, 15.03.2009 - 13.09.2009
© Photos : Andres Lejona
Partenaire de l’exposition
 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970